Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Times MRBI Poll 24/10/11 It's all over!

• 23-10-2011 8:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭

Gallagher on 40%
    Michael D on 25%

Only hope is 21% undecided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

bleg wrote: »
    Gallagher on 40%
    Michael D on 25%

Ahhh- You hope he gets 61%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

But of course I'd love Homer Simpson to get 61% of the vote :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Gallagher on 40%
    Michael D on 25%

Hopefully on the day people will see sense and give fianna fail two fingers and vote for the best man for the job Michael D Higgins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Hopefully on the day people will see sense and give fianna fail two fingers and vote for the best man for the job Michael D Higgins

Do you mean FF Higgins, FF Davis or FF Gallagher?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

foggy_lad wrote: »

There's no doubting Michael D is the best and most qualified man for the job but he's 69 and has trouble with his mobility as it is.

I really don't see the point of voting him in when all it is going to do is burden the country with the cost of another election in a few years when he admits he's not up to the job physically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Lemlin wrote: »
    There's no doubting Michael D is the best and most qualified man for the job but he's 69 and has trouble with his mobility as it is.

I really don't see the point of voting him in when all it is going to do is burden the country with the cost of another election in a few years when he admits he's not up to the job physically.
    Gallagher will burden the country even more with decades of pension entitlements as well as decades or having a Garda driver and a protection detail at his house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Since Gallagher is FF he is bound to make a right mess of the job....tents all over the Aras come summer time, maybe he will hold a few races there in the park as well. Galway races tent to the Aras 2012. Mehole is probably salivating at the thought of SG winning and then he will reveal his colours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I'm in the Cavan - Monaghan region and I haven't met a Gallagher supporter yet...I don't get it. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Happyman42 wrote: »
    I'm in the Cavan - Monaghan region and I haven't met a Gallagher supporter yet...I don't get it. :confused:

I assume they have all told you they are voting for McGuinness, people up there would be afraid of retribution if they said anything else, at least the ballot box is confidential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Same here, don't know one person who's voting for him. Although, the spice girls sold plenty of albums and I don't know one person who bought one

Godge wrote: »
    I assume they have all told you they are voting for McGuinness, people up there would be afraid of retribution if they said anything else, at least the ballot box is confidential.

You need to leave the grounds Godge, the gate is them big metal yokes at the end of the avenue! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Anybody have the results when they're not factored for undecided voters?

I think it's only about 12% in real terms between the two candidates...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I don't have anything against Gallagher, and his FF past is really irrelevant to me, but I really don't understand what people see in him. Perhaps someone can enlighten me?

I get the feeling too that he appeals most to younger voters. Given that they are generally the least likely to vote, could this have an impact on his chances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Wider Road

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    Since Gallagher is FF he is bound to make a right mess of the job....tents all over the Aras come summer time, maybe he will hold a few races there in the park as well. Galway races tent to the Aras 2012. Mehole is probably salivating at the thought of SG winning and then he will reveal his colours.

A bigger worry is that you actually believe what you type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    maybe he will hold a few races there in the park as well. Galway races tent to the Aras 2012.

Ironically enough the Phoenix Park racecourse, the best horse racing track in Ireland was ultimately replaced by an uncompleted Celtic Tiger apartment complex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

Einhard wrote: »
    I don't have anything against Gallagher, and his FF past is really irrelevant to me, but I really don't understand what people see in him. Perhaps someone can enlighten me?

Though a process of uncontroversial elimination one can arrive at Gallagher and Higgins being the most preferred. For there it's a matter of taste: Gallagher has the FF connections, Higgins has a history of tiresome ranting. Neither Gallagher and Higgins are overly insulting, and in fairness they do have some nice merits: Higgins his experience and intellectuality; Gallagher his stubbornly positive nature and can-do attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Though a process of uncontroversial elimination one can arrive at Gallagher and Higgins being the most preferred. For there it's a matter of taste: Gallagher has the FF connections, Higgins has a history of tiresome ranting. Neither Gallagher and Higgins are overly insulting, and in fairness they do have some nice merits: Higgins his experience and intellectuality; Gallagher his stubbornly positive nature and can-do attitude.

I don't often agree with Higgins, but his "rantings" are what make him appeal to me over Gallagher. He seems, to me anyway, as someone who got into politics because he wanted to change things and make the world a better, more fair place. I can admire that in a person, regardless of whether I share their views on everything.

Gallagher doesn't seem to have any strong opinions on any issues. It seems to me like he just chanced on the presidency as a nice little earner, or something to keep his profile high while his companies adjust to the economic malaise. Perhaps I'm being somewhat unfair, but at least Higgins has always stood passionately for what he believed in; one cannot say that for Gallagher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Wider Road

But of course I'd love Homer Simpson to get 61% of the vote :pac:

Sorry. He's not in the race.
    There is 7 others to vote for.
    Enjoy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭sarkozy

Surely it was Michael D's 'tiresome ranting', as you put it, that contributed to me and you enjoying the kinds of liberties he and others fought hard to win. Women's equality. Gender equality. Human rights.

Personally, I would say Higgins has all those traits you mention: experience, intelligence, a positive vision of Ireland, a hard-working pragmatist.

And another thing: the job involves carefully reading all legislation for its constutionality. This was shown clearly in the documentary on Mary McAleese the other night. Gallagher doesn't strike me as the sort of person who is suited to that kind of core role of a President.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Turnout is usually pretty low for these elections - if it is the 'young' giving Gallagher the nod in these polls, it may be some *hope that they don't turn out as is traditionally the case.

I say hope, even though I believe everyone should vote everytime, as his election would really be probably the end of my hope of this country ever changing from the horrible, gombeen cesspit it is.

Gallagher can stick that 'can-do' shytespeak up his aras while I'm at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

sarkozy wrote: »
    Surely it was Michael D's 'tiresome ranting', as you put it, that contributed to me and you enjoying the kinds of liberties he and others fought hard to win. Women's equality. Gender equality. Human rights.

Personally, I would say Higgins has all those traits you mention: experience, intelligence, a positive vision of Ireland, a hard-working pragmatist.

And another thing: the job involves carefully reading all legislation for its constutionality. This was shown clearly in the documentary on Mary McAleese the other night. Gallagher doesn't strike me as the sort of person who is suited to that kind of core role of a President.

This is the thing, he is the Homer Simpson/George Bush candidate. Vote for him, I'm just an average Joe, I'll got for a pint with you type person.

That is fine if your looking for a drinking buddy but I don't want it in a president. I don't see too many average Joe's reading legislation and I don't see Gallagher bothering his hole to if elected either.

Don't really think he has the speech making abilities one would expect a president to have either.

He is just massively under qualified after you ignore the whole FF connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

...but...but...you can see Gay Mitchell's house from the office....:rolleyes:

gambiaman wrote: »
    Turnout is usually pretty low for these elections - if it is the 'young' giving Gallagher the nod in these polls, it may be some *hope that they don't turn out as is traditionally the case.

I say hope, even though I believe everyone should vote everytime, as his election would really be probably the end of my hope of this country ever changing from the horrible, gombeen cesspit it is.

Gallagher can stick that 'can-do' shytespeak up his aras while I'm at it.

Which is exactly where Happyman is this Monday fecking morning! Another bad day looms for Ireland.:(

Do you leave your house in the Cavan - Monaghan region? I live in Cavan near the Meath border and the majority of the people I know from both counties are voting Gallagher.

Lemlin wrote: »
    Do you leave your house in the Cavan - Monaghan region? I live in Cavan near the Meath border and the majority of the people I know from both counties are voting Gallagher.

I was putting my young fella on a bus for swimming just 15 mins ago and there where about ten parents there and I found one who 'might' vote for him. Majority where MDH and a few McG. I'm thinking this poll is a bit skewed, Gallagher may be ahead but I don't think it will be by much.
    Expect knives to be out and sharp for the Front Line debate tonight.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,934 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

In 1997, didn't Adie Roach (or however you spell it) top the polls and them bomb out on election day?

I was putting my young fella on a bus for swimming just 15 mins ago and there where about ten parents there and I found one who 'might' vote for him. Majority where MDH and a few McG. I'm thinking this poll is a bit skewed, Gallagher may be ahead but I don't think it will be by much.
    Expect knives to be out and sharp for the Front Line debate tonight.;)

Are you in the Monaghan area or whereabouts? I'd expect McGuinness to get a strong vote in Monaghan but I think Gallagher is hoovering up most of the Cavan vote.

I still think Michael D is the strongest candidate but people are being, quite rightly IMO, put off by the fact that he is 69 but doesn't look a day under 85.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Gallagher is hoovering up most of the Cavan vote.

The same people who thought the Quinn family shat gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭Sparko

RichardAnd wrote: »
    In 1997, didn't Adie Roach (or however you spell it) top the polls and them bomb out on election day?

I'm open to corrections, but I think it was polls early in the campaign that had Adi Roche as the front runner and her figures declined over subsequent polls during the course of the campaign, as opposed to a poll days away from the election itself. Like I said though, I may be wrong with this.