Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Never seen such bad diets as yesterday at the RIBBF

• 23-10-2011 9:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭

Just thought I'd have a quick vent.

Spent yesterday in The Helix at the RIBBF Bodybuilding comp as one of the locals was competing. The competitors were all in top condition but it was the audience that amazed me.

There were lots of fella's wandering around with huge arms and traps with the smallest t-shirts they could find on, and all they did was hammer chocolate bars, crisps and bottles of coke into them all day long.

It just amazed me that these guys obviously spent so much time working on their arms that they couldnt be arsed with a good diet. It just makes me appreciate those who do things right even more.

Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

If it works for them...

Haters_Gonna_Hate_15.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

...meanwhile in an alternate universe a skinny guy Who just can't build muscle logs onto boards to complain about how easy the big boys have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

diets are overrated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Dexters16

So do ye recommend us "skinny guys" to eat whatever we want??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

That's just an attitude some weight lifters (particularly power lifts / strong men) have "hawhaw anything to gain weight" while having a complete disregard for their health. It shouldn't concern you though, let them eat what they wanna eat.

But more likely the situation is that they were actually out with their friends and disregarded diet and acquired fun for the day. For most people their diet at an all day event would not reflect their actual diet.

"So do ye recommend us "skinny guys" to eat whatever we want??"
    no, eat well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

Dexters16 wrote: »
    all they did was hammer chocolate bars, crisps and bottles of coke into them all day long.

Gotta stay anabolic, get that insulin flowing :D

jive wrote: »
    But more likely the situation is that they were actually out with their friends and disregarded diet and acquired fun for the day. For most people their diet at an all day event would not reflect their actual diet.

100% this - a BB comp is a celebration of hard work, no different to a party really. I'm not surprised there were lads there enjoying themselves. And quite right too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭blah88

If they're on the right kind of drugs, would they even need a good diet? I'd imagine there's a good chance they're on something if they're at a bodybuilding show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Good standard at this years show! (except that chap who was at the show last year also in the novices, who is just taking the out of the sport! He should be banned from the event! [EMAIL="W@#ker"]W@#ker[/EMAIL]!).

Fair play to all the lads who got up and competed, serious discipline! A few friends took home trophies and too right if they want to indulge after 12 weeks of intense dieting!

Have to say i disagree with the judges choice of overall! The under 90's winner should have had it in the bag, but they gave it to the current mr Ireland. Bit of a farce in my opionion but fair play to him and all the best in the worlds!

blah88 wrote: »
    If they're on the right kind of drugs, would they even need a good diet? I'd imagine there's a good chance they're on something if they're at a bodybuilding show.

Not sure if serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭gavindublin

anybody got any results of it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,392 ✭✭✭COH

Good standard at this years show!

Really? I heard the standard over all was quite poor.

Anyone have any pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭blah88

Hanley wrote: »
    Not sure if serious.
    I wasn't attempting to troll. The OP specifically said these lads had particularly large traps. I have noticed that freakish traps seem to be the number 1 indicator of whether somoeone is juicing or not. Have you seen what happens to people's traps after they stop juicing? Two that spring to mind most recently are Brock Lesnar and Kurt Angle. brockco.jpg
    BrockLesnar.png

IMG_1868_650.jpg

kurt_angle.jpg&sa=X&ei=SF6kTqLgEI6LhQe1spj1BA&ved=0CAwQ8wc4Jg&usg=AFQjCNHIqPOxwgWNs-sYXDyNyPf2z20Xow

Anyway. Personally the last place I would find the urge to eat junk food would be at a bodybuilding show. I find that the company I'm with dictates how I feel about eating certain foods. I don't mind eating McDonalds when I'm with fat friends, but when I'm with people in good shape the junk food just doesn't appeal to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

I wasn't attempting to troll. The OP specifically said these lads had particularly large traps. I have noticed that freakish traps seem to be the number 1 indicator of whether somoeone is juicing or not. Have you seen what happens to people's traps after they stop juicing?

Tis true it due to the large number of androgen receptors in the traps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

I wasn't attempting to troll. The OP specifically said these lads had particularly large traps. I have noticed that freakish traps seem to be the number 1 indicator of whether somoeone is juicing or not. Have you seen what happens to people's traps after they stop juicing? Two that spring to mind most recently are Brock Lesnar and Kurt Angle.

Anyway. Personally the last place I would find the urge to eat junk food would be at a bodybuilding show. I find that the company I'm with dictates how I feel about eating certain foods. I don't mind eating McDonalds when I'm with fat friends, but when I'm with people in good shape the junk food just doesn't appeal to me.
    So, you're basically some kind of sheep at the mercy of peer pressure from whatever group surrounds you at a given time?

The traps thing... still not sure if serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Dexters16

Have to say i disagree with the judges choice of overall! The under 90's winner should have had it in the bag, but they gave it to the current mr Ireland. Bit of a farce in my opionion but fair play to him and all the best in the worlds!

Was that the lad in the red trunks?? If it was then he defo should have won.

I thought the heavy weight classes had very high standard!

The first timer category should have been split up, Far too many on stage.

I wasn't attempting to troll. The OP specifically said these lads had particularly large traps. I have noticed that freakish traps seem to be the number 1 indicator of whether somoeone is juicing or not. Have you seen what happens to people's traps after they stop juicing? Two that spring to mind most recently are Brock Lesnar and Kurt Angle.

Lesnar's flexing like hell in the first pic.

Angle has lost massive amounts of muscle EVERYWHERE in the second. You probably just don't have the eye to see it - look at his biceps and chest. The traps "stick out" a lot more than most muscle so any loss is pretty noticable.

...I could just as easily say "professional wrestlers lose a lot of muscle when they go off and do other things" from your pictures tho. They don't really "prove" anything.

But you've completely missed the point I was making anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

I do understand what the OP is surprised about - especially if it was your first time at a bb'ing show.

The fact is you do get some audience members making a point of eating 'junk' food just because of where they are.

I don't know maybe it's to tempt/tease the lads on stage with the wafting aroma of burgers & chips!:)

As for Kurt Angle - I saw TNA for the first time a few months back and was wondering who the hell that bloke was who looked like kurt angle! Lost a good 40lbs?

As for big traps. I thought the eyes gave it away! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

I wasn't attempting to troll. The OP specifically said these lads had particularly large traps. I have noticed that freakish traps seem to be the number 1 indicator of whether somoeone is juicing or not. Have you seen what happens to people's traps after they stop juicing? Two that spring to mind most recently are Brock Lesnar and Kurt Angle. brockco.jpg
    BrockLesnar.png

IMG_1868_650.jpg

kurt_angle.jpg&sa=X&ei=SF6kTqLgEI6LhQe1spj1BA&ved=0CAwQ8wc4Jg&usg=AFQjCNHIqPOxwgWNs-sYXDyNyPf2z20Xow

actually when in WWE a lot wrestlers are obliged via contract to maintain the "bodybuilder" look. I'm guessing the more acrobatic ones don't.
    So when they leave they do their own thing like Lesnar doing MMA and probably train very different so would alter the previous phyique.
    Check out pics of Batista now he runs an MMA gym and quyit WWE he is a lot different too. he was obliged to maintain a certain phyisque (or so he said in an interview I read in a mag - which I don't rem but I know it's one I picked up in an airport )

Juice is not the answer to all lifes "spot the difference" puzzles.

*just a point I don't know what angle is doing at the minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭O.P.H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

So when they leave they do their own thing like Lesnar doing MMA and probably train very different so would alter the previous phyique.

I have no idea why people are referign to Lesnar.
    Here's a pic of him in 2010, A few years or so after leaving pro wrestling. This was his first fight after returning from illness. Pretty serios immune system problems.

Small traps?
    lesnar-st.jpg

COH wrote: »
    Really? I heard the standard over all was quite poor.

Anyone have any pics?

The majority of the seniors were in good nick, legs is what let the standard down overall, seems like most of the competitors only focus on upper body! The standard at the nabba was better il admit.

Few standouts though, The winner of the juniors has a lot of potential, the lad was shredded(looks like the type that walks around in single figure bodfat% all year, lucky bastard!). And the winners of the under 80's and under 90s were both in serious nick! Would have thought it fair that the under 90s winner(Think his name was Dean) had won ovrall but thats just my opinion i guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 kieran dolan

Dolan Fitness's own Patrick Lowbridge won the U80kg class, Hugh o'Donovan won the heavyweight class plus the overall and dean won the U90kg class.

Here is a picture of Pa

303042_250039275043495_100001122736324_655595_1945558826_n.jpg

Dexters16 wrote: »
    Was that the lad in the red trunks?? If it was then he defo should have won.

Yeah Dean was his name, he won the under 80's in the NABBA too but was beaten in the overall by Hugh o'Donovan. He was in serious nick if i was on the judging panel he would have got it, but im not...:pac:
    Dolan Fitness's own Patrick Lowbridge won the U80kg class, Hugh o'Donovan won the heavyweight class plus the overall and dean won the U90kg class.

Here is a picture of Pa

303042_250039275043495_100001122736324_655595_1945558826_n.jpg

That lad was in great shape too! Clear winner for the under 80's! Phenomenal conditioning, fair play to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

It's good to see lads getting two shows close together - it's great IMO for someone to experience them so close as I would say in most cases the lads get better in the 2-3 weeks, plus it's still only the one diet!:)

Kieran - Pat looks good - excellent legs - how long has he been competing?