Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

iphone 4 broken repair or throw away

• 22-10-2011 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭

hi all im with vodafone , my iphone 4 looses signal, vodaphone sent away and rang me today to say apple wont repair as its 8 weeks out of warranty but will give me a new/refurb not sure which, iphone 4 ,for 180€, is this normal? or laod of horse ****, im stunned to think the phone only lasted 13 months with little use and disposeable, let me know what ye think, cheers:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭fuerte1976

You must nearly be due an upgrade with the length of time you have it? Their story sound well dodgy to me me lad.
    If you are near an upgrade tell em you want it or you'll p*ss off somewhere else.
    I'm with 3 and their packages are pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 lockman2

you should be due an upgrade from them you have a contract with them so tell them. as for repair there is a shop in Sallins main street Kildare beside Lidl traffic lights that repairs i phones , I got my screen replaced on my iphone 4 in two hours €120.00 and my friend got his sons ipod touch 4 screen repaired € 90.00 also they are very good you can contact them on 045 855699 or 086 3385129.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

chris1970 wrote: »
    hi all im with vodafone , my iphone 4 looses signal, vodaphone sent away and rang me today to say apple wont repair as its 8 weeks out of warranty but will give me a new/refurb not sure which, iphone 4 ,for 180€, is this normal? or laod of horse ****, im stunned to think the phone only lasted 13 months with little use and disposeable, let me know what ye think, cheers:mad:

8 weeks out of warranty isn't that long. I'd threaten with the Small Claims Court and see how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

2 months out of warranty is still out of warranty

You can look at it a couple of ways

An official apple repair is about 200 quid

This refurb which is essentially new is 180

A new payg is close to 600

An upgrade is 200 to 260 depending on price plan,

Given those options the refurb isn't too bad.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

14 months from a €600 phone isn't acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

"fit for purpose"

This is not. Push for a repair. If not legal action. I've pushed apple to repair and replace previous PowerBooks. They will pawn you off but if you stick to your guns they will do what they should have done in the first place.

Op never stated when the problems started, if he's been livIng with the problem while in warranty and didn't get it checked he's only himself to blame...if not he can try and fight it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭chris1970

Op never stated when the problems started, if he's been livIng with the problem while in warranty and didn't get it checked he's only himself to blame...if not he can try and fight it

problem started 2 week tomorrow, 5 days intermittent, iphone was 4 weeks out of warranty , its 6 weeks now, needless to say i rang this morning, tried my case , got nowhere,had enough, coughed up 180, phone will be here tues, i know i could small claims court but couple of months no phone, my contract up in feb, i know which way i'll turn. thanks for replys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

To be honest, you don't have to accept what Apple was offering. If you didn't want to pay you should have been making the case to Vodafone as the retailer as they are the ones you have the sale contract with. What happens between Vodafone and Apple at that point is entirely up to them, but they don't need Apple's approval to offer you anything different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/IPHONE-4-MIDFRAME-ASSEMBLY-BEZEL-HOUSING-OEM-MID-FRAME-/180696495202?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a1259b462#ht_1994wt_1185

kjl wrote: »

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/IPHONE-4-MIDFRAME-ASSEMBLY-BEZEL-HOUSING-OEM-MID-FRAME-/180696495202?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a1259b462#ht_1994wt_1185

All well and good if you're sure that solves the problem and can fit it yourself. But the op doesn't sound like that guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

problem started 2 week tomorrow, 5 days intermittent, iphone was 4 weeks out of warranty , its 6 weeks now, needless to say i rang this morning, tried my case , got nowhere,had enough, coughed up 180, phone will be here tues, i know i could small claims court but couple of months no phone, my contract up in feb, i know which way i'll turn. thanks for replys

This is the reason right here why a company/business will fob you off. if more people stuck to their guns and made an effort in regard to their consumer rights these companies would not be so inclined to fob everyone off expecting and knowing that you will give in easily and pay them more money.

but as most people say, i'm too busy to spend the time. too many lazy people out there that don't have a notion regarding their consumer rights.

all this o.p had to do was write a registered letter to apple headquarters company park with 10 day's to reply and they would have sorted your problem out.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

zenno wrote: »
    This is the reason right here why a company/business will fob you off. if more people stuck to their guns and made an effort in regard to their consumer rights these companies would not be so inclined to fob everyone off expecting and knowing that you will give in easily and pay them more money.

but as most people say, i'm too busy to spend the time. too many lazy people out there that don't have a notion regarding their consumer rights.

all this o.p had to do was write a registered letter to apple headquarters company park with 10 day's to reply and they would have sorted your problem out.

If OP bought from VF, then ts VF they should write to, as the contract is with VF, not Apple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

ffs lads did no one think this through you can sell your broken iPhone for 220 or more but not less than 150. use that to get the refurbished one.

whiterebel wrote: »
    If OP bought from VF, then ts VF they should write to, as the contract is with VF, not Apple

If that's the case then that's correct. he should have written a registered letter to vodafone company headquarters. there is no point in trying to settle a case by phone as this hardly ever works out. the pen is mightier than the sword and that's an excellent proven analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 shay2010

Threaten to go to O2 or 3, they will want to keep you as a customer and come to some compromise

shay2010 wrote: »
    Threaten to go to O2 or 3, they will want to keep you as a customer and come to some compromise

honestly vodafone don't really care, this kind of talk doesn't faze them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

ffs lads did no one think this through you can sell your broken iPhone for 220 or more but not less than 150. use that to get the refurbished one.
    Um, no. They take the broken phone back.

So I'd be curious to know when you guys think the warranty should end, Or is their a point to the warranty at all any more? Would you challenge it after 2 years? 3?

Just curious...

So I'd be curious to know when you guys think the warranty should end, Or is their a point to the warranty at all any more? Would you challenge it after 2 years? 3?

Just curious...

The electronic item should be fit for purpose and of merchantable quality. And the o.p's item obviously was not of merchantable quality. An electronic product produced should last you a few year's and not break-down after 1 year so o.p would have a case because of this non-merchantable quality.

with this alone a person would get a repair or if the repair is not successful then a replacement.

No electronic product should only have a shelf-life of 1 year/or 13 months as this goes against consumer law, the whole point of merchantable quality.

Just curious...

Not our opinions - Consumer Law. Warranty is in addition to your Statutory rights, not a replacement for them.