Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show - 22/10/'11

• 22-10-2011 12:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

Brendan will be joined this evening by the following guests;

- MTV Presenter, Laura Whitmore,
    - Author and Feminist, Germaine Greer
    - Author, Deric Henerson
    - Psychologist and Body Language Expert, Dr. Peter Collett
    - Music from Fionn Regan
    - Comedian, Oliver Callan
    Coming up on The Saturday Night Show, author and maverick thinker Germaine Greer discusses her part in the rise of feminism and what she thinks of the role of females today.

Bray native and MTV presenter Laura Whitmore tells us about mingling with the stars and the huge TV gig she's just landed herself. Author Deric Henderson reveals the truth behind one of the most infamous double murder cases in recent times and Dr Peter Collett explains what the body language of our 7 presidential candidates is really saying.

There'll be music from Fionn Regan, who performs a track from his latest album with the Staves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Can't wait :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

& Oliver Callan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Colmo52 wrote: »
    & Oliver Callan
    I hope someone alerted the makeup department :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

another shyte show so......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Who's the comedian on with Callan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Poly wrote: »
    Who's the comedian on with Callan?

That could actually be interesting Poly given the week's events...

Gardai probe GAA star Galvin’s pub bust-up with RTE impersonator Oliver Callan

There is no doubt Brendan will ask him about this..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Brendan O'Connor v Germain Greer could be interesting.

She does not suffer fools gladly, and if he winds her up it might get interesting.

She has a bit of previous here, she took Daniel O'Donnell to task on Miriam O'Callaghan's show a few years ago.

http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/independent-woman/celebrity-news-gossip/daniel-flips-over-greers-pancake-sneers-95277.html
    NORMALLY, Daniel O'Donnell wouldn't say boo to a goose.
    But when Australian feminist Germaine Greer took him to task over his comments on his wife's cooking skills, the Donegal crooner saw red.
    The extraordinary spat happened during filming for Miriam O'Callaghan's upcoming summer chat show in RTE studios.

Trouble arose when Daniel diplomatically said that cooking wasn't one of his wife Majella's strong points, adding that he was a big fan of his mother's pancakes.
    During the interval, an unimpressed Greer took him to task, insisting that it was not too difficult to make pancakes.
    O'Donnell hit back by retorting: "Well Germaine, your pancakes may be a bit bitter," prompting a wave of laughter from the audience.
    However, the light-hearted atmosphere disappeared rapidly once the interview resumed, as Greer made her feelings towards the singer all too clear.

In response to questions from O'Callaghan, O'Donnell spoke at length about his relationship with Majella and how he had discovered she was the right person for him.
    An audience member revealed: "It turned nasty so quickly. While Daniel was talking, Germaine started making faces behind his back to show how disgusted she was with his Mr Nice Guy image. "But Daniel could see everything on the monitor so he turned around and asked her: 'Do you have a problem with what I'm saying?' Everyone in the audience was stunned. No one had ever seen Daniel lose his cool before."
    The interview continued with O'Donnell discussing his split from Majella and his subsequent realisation that he really missed her and wanted to marry her.
    Behind him, Greer continued to show her disapproval, by wrinkling her nose in disgust.
    O'Donnell again turned around and confronted her, asking: "Do you find what I'm saying funny?"

An audience member explained: "It was such a fiery atmosphere. Germaine seemed to be eyeing him up from the start. Everyone was shocked because they'd never seen that side of Daniel before.
    "He didn't raise his voice but made it very clear that he wasn't very happy with her. And he also showed his human side because he obviously adores his wife." When the interview finished Daniel regained his composure enough to pose for a group picture before signing autographs for his fans in the audience.
    He also leaned across to Greer in an effort to show that he didn't harbour any grudges against her.

Greer appeared to be quite bemused by the gesture and afterwards declared: "He touched me at the end, it was awful."
    Speaking after the show had finished, presenter Miriam O'Callaghan commented: "Daniel came across really well."
    "He believed he was standing up for himself and I admire that in him."
    brilliantly as always."
    Last night a spokesman for Daniel admitted the star was not happy with Ms Greer's attitude during the recording of the show. It will be aired on RTE1 on Saturday, July 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭nc6000

Oliver Callan is on again!?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

nc6000 wrote: »

I was thinking the same but it should be interesting because didnt Paul Galvin have a fight with him in a pub last week.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gardai-probe-gaa-star-galvinrsquos-pub-bustup-with-rte-impersonator-oliver-callan-2913194.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

nc6000 wrote: »

Brendan O'Connor said he was going to be a regular guest this series, once a month.

I think that is a mistake - once a year is too often as far I am concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

Skid wrote: »
    Brendan O'Connor said he was going to be a regular guest this series, once a month.

I think that is a mistake - once a year is too often as far I am concerned.
    Agreed...... Hope Brendan has some balls to at least ask Callan about his handbags with Paul Galvin.

Paul Galvin will be not be happy with Brendan.

Lets see Paul Galvin take on Brendan.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Skid wrote: »

Very cushy for him.

How many other artists, comedians, performers get to plug their 'talents' once a month on a top rated live tv show ?

Who's this dried up spencer.

Bit awkward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

The feminist is p!ssed!!!

She has a rainforest:eek:

Who's this dried up spencer.

Daniel O'Donnell's biggest fan. ;)

monkey9 wrote: »
    The feminist is p!ssed!!!
    I was thinking along the same lines, she is all over the place.

She is demented already:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

fell asleep watching the late late last night :mad:(because i could not participate on thread)
    but im awake tonight:D

Lapin wrote: »
    Daniel O'Donnell's biggest fan. ;)
    She was really obnoxious that night, Daniel actually handled things very well.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I was thinking along the same lines, she is all over the place.

It's party time in that green room!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

The only one of them I've ever heard of is that awful Australian troll, who might have been a moderately interesting guest 30 years ago.

She's as píssed as a fart.

Seems to be a regular occurance on the show.

I'd love be a guest on there. :)

It's party time in that green room!!
    We are the ones that need the drink...

ive got mine had none last night as i had work today:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Shes right. all men are b*starts!

She is talking complete and utter sh1te :mad:

Maybe she should do a tour of Iran or Saudi Arabia.

im actually falling asleep here get that granny off

It is a shame that wee Daniel is not on the show this evening.

"It keeps ye happy".

Nice one Brendan :D:D

Im off to the toilet........

It is a shame that wee Daniel is not on the show this evening.

I know where you're coming from with that but no - It aint a shame Daniel isn't there.

I've just realised she's an Aussie. Always thought she was British!! I've only noticed her Aussie accent now!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

I've just realised she's an Aussie. Always thought she was British!! I've only noticed her Aussie accent now!!

a britt feminist would be much less agressive

She's sexy

Now i would eat that:D

jimmynokia wrote: »
    Now i would eat that:D
    She'd eat you for breakfast.

Fair play to her, she seems like a lovely girl.

She's sexy

....................until she starts talking

She'd eat you for breakfast.

not at all she be walking like john wayne when im finished with her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

God she's sounds like a machine gun. A high pitched machine gun. From Bray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Laura's lovely.
    No airs and graces about her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Kinda uncomfortable interview.

The guys in the audience randomly clapping are keeping me interested.

Oh_Noes wrote: »

They are out on day release.

Oh_Noes wrote: »

I think its one guy and he will be kicked out shortly, just rang RTE about him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

I think its one guy and he will be kicked out shortly, just rang RTE about him.

You did? You think maybe they didn't notice him there in studio but you did at home?