Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FAI Ford Cup Final - Shelbourne FC v Sligo Rovers

• 21-10-2011 10:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭

Might as well get it started with what should be a nice surprise for the neutrals on the day..

I got the following email from the FAI ticket office in response to my query about changing the seating of my season tickets so that I'd be in with the Auld Reds and not the Rovers fans

Hi ,

Season Ticket holders will be issued paper tickets for the Premium level of the Aviva Stadium for the FAI Ford Cup Final. Unfortunately there is no Premium Level on the North stand therefore you will not be able to gain access this way.

Kind Regards,
    Ticket Office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

fúcking cúnts

I've access to a ST and wanted to go in with the Shels fans, now I have to pay these **** to get in because of that.

Bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

My sentiments exactly, Des.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

C'mon the Real Reds.

Still in disbelief of the unlikely set of circumstances that have led to me missing this game. I've given up seeing it abroad and am going to rely on the RTE player to watch it when I'm back. Undoubtedly though some mong will tell me the score while I'm on a beach somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Squelchy

There's no way you can have a neutral buy a ticket for the Shels section and then swap with you for the day, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Squelchy wrote: »
    There's no way you can have a neutral buy a ticket for the Shels section and then swap with you for the day, no?
    id be willing to do that. I'll be getting two maybe three tickets

Season Ticket holders will be issued paper tickets for the Premium level of the Aviva Stadium for the FAI Ford Cup Final

What is in the Premium Level?

Would it be worth it for a swap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Des wrote: »

Pretty nice in fairness. There are bars and you can watch the game from the bar area (great view in fairness) with a few pints but you can't bring the scoops out to your seat.

Was there for an Ireland game but wouldn't fancy having to stand behind the glass for a Rovers game.

Des wrote: »

Would it be worth it for a swap?
    ive been there before, seats are padded about 10 rows deep and obviously around middle height which is better a view of the pitch. but not a great atmostsphere. nothing else premium about it except the price.

stovelid wrote: »
    Pretty nice in fairness. There are bars and you can watch the game from the bar area (great view in fairness) with a few pints but you can't bring the scoops out to your seat.

Was there for an Ireland game but wouldn't fancy having to stand behind the glass for a Rovers game.
    wasnt any drink being served when i was at the croatia friendly. will there be because its not uefa?

adamski8 wrote: »
    wasnt any drink being served when i was at the croatia friendly. will there be because its not uefa?

I'm a thick bastard. It was actually vantage level tickets I had, not premium.

Sorry for the confusion.

So besides having a better view, is there any plus to being in the premium?

I'd imagine the reason the FAI are doing this is because the premium level is the only one that looked empty for the last final.

No matter what - I'll take a slightly worse view and atmosphere over a great view and the deadness of the premium level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

This is Alan Matthew's 6th Cup Final in 8 seasons. Great record.

I'd imagine the reason the FAI are doing this is because the premium level is the only one that looked empty for the last final.

No matter what - I'll take a slightly worse view and atmosphere over a great view and the deadness of the premium level.
    Like I said padded seats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Although not ideal for season ticket holders that are Pats or Shelbourne fans this is a brilliant initiative from the FAI and might draw a few more non LOI fans out if they are getting premium level tickets.

Pats fans?

Pats aren't in the cup final. Again. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

It's way for their 'freebies' to spend money in their bars and make some money from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Serves you all right, bleedin ole olers ;)

What are the bets the upper tier will be closed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Don't talk about bets, the Corkies will be creaming themselves with the potential for a dig

Ha, fook 'em. Internet rumours the lot of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

I look forward to watching Matthews win from the comfort of my premium level seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Not sure about this match, but for Irish matches, the main reason people seem to buy the tickets is alcohol, for UEFA events alcohol may not be served in General Admission seating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

What are the bets the upper tier will be closed?

Was open last year for it, that's where I was sitting.

I know yeah, I was up there too. I'm just thinking if the tickets weren't selling too well it wouldn't be surprising if the FAI closed off the top tier in order to make the lower tier look packed.

True, Sligos bangwagon was in full swing last year and I'd say it will be the same again this year, even the two muckers behind me and my mates were Sligo lads who hadn't a notion about football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

True, Sligos bangwagon was in full swing last year and I'd say it will be the same again this year, even the two muckers behind me and my mates were Sligo lads who hadn't a notion about football.

"The Sligo bandwagon!"! Jaysus!!! You'd swear you's were bigger than them or something!!

monkey9 wrote: »
    "The Sligo bandwagon!"! Jaysus!!! You'd swear you's were bigger than them or something!!

Hush now little junklet. We and the cup are finished with you for at least another season. Speak when spoken to.

monkey9 wrote: »

You obviously weren't at it and seen the support they had, lads wearing GAA jerseys and the likes, along with the two behind me who had no idea of the rules of football ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭edolan

You obviously weren't at it and seen the support they had, lads wearing GAA jerseys and the likes, along with the two behind me who had no idea of the rules of football ffs.

Don't remember seeing many GAA jerseys, seemed like most daytrippers bought jerseys specifically for the day out, but I'm sure some idiots were wearing GAA stuff as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭paulcorr

I think this could be a 15000 -16000 crowd at most, less than half last seasons final.Cant see to many outside of shels ot the bitters turning up,even at 10 euro a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Why do Shamrock fans insist on calling Sligo "The Bitters"? I think its something they copied off Liverpool. It doesnt even make sense. You wouldnt say The Sad's, The Angry's, The Confused's. Its idiotic and makes no sense. Why are shamrock fans so bitter about Sligo anyway? Do they not realise that they are the bitter ones. Its so idiotic, its unreal.

You wouldnt say The Sad's, The Angry's, The Confused's

Certainly not with possessive apostrophes, no.

Every club will get cup final supporters, especially from country towns. At least it fills the place and makes some money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭paulcorr

Why do Shamrock fans insist on calling Sligo "The Bitters"? I think its something they copied off Liverpool. It doesnt even make sense. You wouldnt say The Sad's, The Angry's, The Confused's. Its idiotic and makes no sense. Why are shamrock fans so bitter about Sligo anyway? Do they not realise that they are the bitter ones. Its so idiotic, its unreal.

It comes from the fact Sligo are called "The bit o red".So us Rovers fans call them the "Bitter reds".Like they call us "Shams".So i hope it makes sense to you now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

paulcorr wrote: »
    It comes from the fact Sligo are called "The bit o red".So us Rovers fans call them the "Bitter reds".Like they call us "Shams".So i hope it makes sense to you now.

It still sounds unbelievably stupid. Im not even a Sligo fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

It still sounds unbelievably stupid. Im not even a Sligo fan.

Thanks for letting us know what you think, we'll all stop so.

Youse lads do be mad with all your football rivalry stuff so youse do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

Wish shams fan would stay out of this years cup final thread - it has nothing to do with ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭human repellent

Can't wait for this game.

After thinking we would clinch the title (sligo) I'll be looking forward to at least another trophey in the cabinet this year, such a shame that the best footballing team in ireland didn't win the league

(who will bite :D)

Sligored wrote: »
    it has nothing to do with ye

Like the champions league for youse next season?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Youse aloose amongnst this hoose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

thats right - i am only too happy to acknowledge that shams are the best team in the league this year - disappointed but i want to offer my congrats to all shams fans(even the ones on here).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

Have the season ticket. Was unsure whether would go or not, we don't have LOI in my part of the country! But now that getting a look at Premium I might go along for something to do that Sunday. C'mon Rovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Are tickets on sale for this yet lads?

Sligored wrote: »
    thats right - i am only too happy to acknowledge that shams are the best team in the league this year - disappointed but i want to offer my congrats to all shams fans(even the ones on here).

I was obviously joking and nothing won yet.

The closeness of the top 4 was very pronounced this season and it will be very good for the league next year if we can all hold on to our players and push on from the good publicity this year.

If some of the bigger names come up from the first it will be a decent league.

That_Guy wrote: »
    Are tickets on sale for this yet lads?
    FAI Cup Final Ticket Sales

Tickets for the FAI Ford Cup Final between Shelbourne and Sligo Rovers will be on sale from Tolka Park from Monday next, October 24th.

Tickets are priced at €10 for adults and €5 for children.

The office will be open from 9am to 5pm daily Monday to Saturday.

Tickets will also be on sale from the Club Shop at the games v Finn Harps and Cork City.

The Bar@Tolka will also have a stock of tickets, which will be available during the Bar's normal opening hours

** Official Merchandise will be available from Tolka Park from the end of next week. Please support official products only and help the club.

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=1988

And also
    As you all know, tickets go on sale for the FAI Cup Final tomorrow from 9am at the office but for all the people working in the city centre, we have adult tickets on sale in Diffney for Men, Henry St (opposite Jervis Centre entrance) from Tuesday morning. Opening Hours - Mon - Wed, Fri and Sat 9:30am - 6pm, Thursday 9:30am- 8pm and Sunday 12pm - 5pm.

gtfg.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Over 3500 tickets sold in Sligo on the first day of sales.

How are our crowds not higher every week?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭redalan

Does anybody know if they will be available at the ground on the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

redalan wrote: »
    Does anybody know if they will be available at the ground on the day?

ye id imagine so.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭redalan

thanks