Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being a good samaritan?

• 21-10-2011 7:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭

Well with all the news that shocked the world from China an incident happened to me yesterday that's somewhat similar -

I was in Smithfield and about 100 meters away from me I saw a man sitting up against a sign - the man was passed out from what appeared to be drink and/or drugs.

I looked over at him but didnt do anything - I didnt go over to see if he was alright and I didnt even ring 999 - After I thought it was a pretty cowardly thing to do nothing.

So people of boards what would you do if you saw somebody passes out and has something like this happened to you and what did you do?

What would you do? 41 votes

Stop and see if he was alright
    0% 0 votes
    Ring 999
    29% 12 votes
    do nothing
    17% 7 votes
    Stop and see if he was alright and ring 999
    53% 22 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Does he have money on him? Or a phone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

I think a lot of the answers you get here will be bulls**t to be honest. It's easy to talk a good game but when it comes down to it and you're faced with a bad situation; unfortunately a lot of us take the easy option and walk away.

I've done it myself in the past. Not saying one way or the other is right or wrong.

I also remember seeing some documentary a couple of years ago that was showing how people make judgements on others by their appearance. They set up hidden cameras in a busy area and sent in an actor.

The first time he was well groomed and wearing a suit. He proceeded to 'have a heart attack' and collapse...

The second time the same actor was 'scruffy' looking (unshaven, old - worn clothes etc.) and he 'had a heart attack' again.

The first time plenty of people stopped to help. The second time people were literally stepping over him and walking past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭talkinyite

I walked past a lad passed out alone in a field the other night, didn't seem to be bleeding or anything so I figured he was just having a nap and left him be. So I guess 'do nothing' unless there was blood, they looked a bit mangled, or the weather was harsh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

If it's obvious he* was high as a kite or pissed drunk, then it's not worth the hassle. You'd only get grief from them. It's self inflicted and not my problem.

If it was the result of an accident or assault, i'd try to do something alright.

* gender bias.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Yeah I'd check that he was OK. Might ring the police if it was an exceptionally cold night or he looked in a bad way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭30Min

When people walk on and do nothing, its not because they are cold hearted and uncaring but because they the person they see is passed out from drink/drugs.

The emergency services have enough to deal with. I wouldn't call an ambulance for someone who obviously doesn't want to help themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Heading to the cinema in Birmingham a few years ago, we walked around a corner just in time to see a middle aged bloke get punched about 100 yards ahead of us.

He promptly collapsed and hit his head. Out cold. The guy who threw the punch casually walks away. We tended to the guy on the ground and called an ambulance. Ambulance takes forever to come. The scene attracts the attention of the walking dead, one of whom steals the guys wallet while pretending to see if he was alright :eek:

We then had to try and reprimand her and call the police. Eventually the ambulance comes with the police. Guy is taken away to hospital and seems alright. I had to go to the station and give a statement. Took 2 hours! Signed a declaration that I would give a statment if necessary all very official.

Got a call back 2 weeks later from the police. Turns out they knew each other and were cousins and no charges would be brought. :rolleyes:

We never got to see the film either :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Was driving along with friends, came to a t-junction and saw some guy lying on the pavement across the road with a guitar beside him, pulled in and my friends and I went over to him, it was clear he was just drunk but we called an ambulance for him anyway and they seemed to know him. Took 10 minutes of our time, probably has happened with him a few times but could be a matter of life and death one time..

Was driving along again and saw a lady at the bus stop just collapse to the ground, pulled over again and went back to her, she was a bit drunk too but she had sat up and demanded I don't call an ambulance, she seemed to get her head back together after a minute or two so I went off. Again, this could have been a lot worse.

I'd be a bit more wary about checking on what appeared to be a drug user, but if they looked in a bad enough state I'd try help.

I guess my mother has had a good influence on me, she was walking us home from school one day in Bray and there was a boy lying on the ground across the road, his friends were nudging him with their feet so my mam went over and he was lying in a pool of Guinness scented urine/vomit, was only about 10, everyone else was walking by but my mam with my brother and I with her tended to him and got an ambulance.

Another time when I was only young someone came to the door, it was a boy a bit older than me at the time and he just asked for a glass of water, I was a bit afraid or maybe judgemental and said no, my mam came down the stairs asking who was at the door and went mad at me for not giving him a glass of water, called him back in and he got his water :)

So no bad endings to any of these at all and I'm sure there's a lot more I'm not remembering too.

As the great Philosopher, Scooter, says; "It's nice to be important but it's more important to be nice!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I had a think about it after reading the OP and I realised if I was in the same situation I'd walk on by too. I actually do it all the time. I work in Dublin city centre and there are passed out homeless/junkies everywhere and I honestly don't even register them anymore.

I'd be really pissed off if I passed out somewhere and woke up in a hospital with a 80/90 euro bill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

I came upon an elderly man lying on the footpath on Parnell St. some years ago.

He was having breathing difficulties, and wasn't able to talk.

Two young people had already called an ambulance, but he seemed afraid of them, so I stopped to see if I could help.
    I think they were probably well-meaning, but just didn't know what to do.
    Neither the sick man, nor the two tenagers were particularly well dressed.

Turned out the guy was having a severe asthma attack, and was in dire need of his inhaler.

I asked his permission to put my hand in his pocket, received a nod in reply, and gave him his inhaler.

I was about to leave, when he looked at me with such pleading in his eyes that I just didn't have the heart to leave him until the ambulance arrived.

I ended up a few minutes late for my appointment, but I still feel good when I think about it, so - yes, I'd help someone if I could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

This might sound smug to some but I'd absolutley do something and have always done something in those situations and those who say I'm talking out of my arse are only speaking for themselves. The presumption that we'd all do nothing is wrong. Some of us would and perhaps those who would are more inclined to post here (probably to boast...like myself ;) )

Last weekend I saw a man battering the ****e out of his girlfriend (the 2nd time here in Madrid) on the way home from the pub behind a building (we heard him shouting and her crying...terrible) with my boyfriend. We immediately called the police and 5 squad cars pulled up and arrested the guy. How could we not do anything?

In fact, the fact that people say things like, "Oh most people wouldn't do anything" makes me act in a situation. I remember the fact that no one else is going to sort it out, so I do something. Probably a part of me wants to be a do-gooder in these circumstances and it's to make myself feel better. I have to practise what I preach or else I've no legs to stand on. I've probably acted stupidly sometimes like physically intervening in a guy towering over his girlfriend threatening to kill her and getting a chair thrown at me.

I'd at least go up and ask the man is he alright. I know it's a more common sight in Dublin than here in Madrid and perhaps people get complacent about it understandably but I'd at least go up and ask him if he needs help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    I had a think about it after reading the OP and I realised if I was in the same situation I'd walk on by too. I actually do it all the time. I work in Dublin city centre and there are passed out homeless/junkies everywhere and I honestly don't even register them anymore.

True. It's such a common sight in Dublin alright. I suppose if I'd stop if I saw a particularly bad case. I suppose I've been living out of the country so long I've probably forgotten just how bad it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm a good Irish man.

Never been to Samaria.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

But can you take the chance that if you go tend to someone who clearly needs help only to have them turn on you for interfering? If it was someone genuinely injured, I'd help and have done in the past. If there's drink or drugs involved, I'd think twice (not saying I wouldn't do anything...) as you never know how people would react.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭ems_12

I was driving home and saw a guy fall flat on his face, get up, run along then fall flat on his face again.....seemed totally out of it :o He was bleeding from his head so I called the ambulance.

The lady on the other end asked if I could get out and keep him there; when I replied I was on my own and didn't want to go near a bleeding guy who didn't seem bothered about smacking his head off a pavement, she said she couldn't send any help as there was no guarantee he was going to be in the same spot when they arrived. (he wasn't going places fast, kept getting up to run and falling over)

I followed him up the road a bit in the car and saw a couple talking to him, girl was on the phone so hopefully he got some help.....

...so....yes, I'd try and help, but not so that I put my own life at risk I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    JaxxYChicK wrote: »

True. It's such a common sight in Dublin alright. I suppose if I'd stop if I saw a particularly bad case. I suppose I've been living out of the country so long I've probably forgotten just how bad it is.

This is half the problem IMO. I've called ambulances for and waited with strangers after a night out at 4am in town for various reasons, I once kept a person who'd gone into hypoglycemic shock warm and ran through the ABC's with him.

I also once ran to the aide of a homeless drunk who'd taken what looked like a nasty fall on D'Olier St., only to be felt up for my trouble. I really don't see them anymore. If they're passed out and covered in their own drool or in a post-fix stoop they're on their own as far as I'm concerned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭noodletop

years ago i was walking with my now wife and saw a guy beating the life out of a girl ,he was trying to kick her in the face while she huddled into a ball on the ground. I couldnt walk away so i went over to assist her i grabbed him and reminded him men fight better,to my disbelief his girlfriend got up and attacked me for trying to beat her boyfriend up:confused:

long story short guards arrive to sort it out and he headbutts me in front of them,she refused to press charges against him but i did giving him 3 months to think about it.

Even to this day i find it hard to walk past these situations without trying to help out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

While I'd like to think that I would help, I've often walked past people who were drunk, or seemed so, lying on the ground. I would imagine that it would be different if I actually knew what had happened - had seen them being hit or having some sort of attack etc. Otherwise the chances are one might end up just being attacked for one's efforts, or if it's a female, accused of attempted assault.
    Helping a child might be different, given that they're probably not drunk or likely to start a fight with you - but it's still dodgy approaching a child in case someone decides to accuse you of something...

Stupid drunken, litigious society...

jenizzle wrote: »
    But can you take the chance that if you go tend to someone who clearly needs help only to have them turn on you for interfering? If it was someone genuinely injured, I'd help and have done in the past. If there's drink or drugs involved, I'd think twice (not saying I wouldn't do anything...) as you never know how people would react.

Happened to me a few times now. I’d see a lad beating a girl and push him away or give him a thump and then the next thing I’d know I’d be getting clawed by the girl! One time I seen three lads kicking the ****e out of one lad and I got in the middle of it saying they should keep it one on one, then the lot of them hopped me :/ I always feel like helping in situations like that but I’ve never rang the Garda and probably never will. Joke goes:

Paddy is going really well on Who Wants to be a Millionaire. He's got to £125,000 with all his lifelines.

Chris: OK Paddy, for £250,000 which of the following was one of the Great Train Robbers was it:

Ronnie Biggs
    Ronnie O'Sullivan
    Ronnie Corbett
    Ronnie Wood

Take your time

Paddy: I'll take the money Chris

Chris: Are you sure, you've still got 3 lifelines

Paddy: I'm sure Chris,I'll take the money

Chris: OK audience give him a big round of applause, but before you go Paddy I'm sure you'd like to know the answer.

Paddy: I know the answer Chris.

Chris: You know the answer? You've just turned down a quarter of a million quid, are you mad? are you mental?

Paddy: I may be mental Chris but I'm no feckin grass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

foxyboxer wrote: »
    Heading to the cinema in Birmingham a few years ago, we walked around a corner just in time to see a middle aged bloke get punched about 100 yards ahead of us.

thats some puch right there :eek:
    foxyboxer you say your name is, send in your boxing card you have been outdone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

I'd like to think i'd ring 999, but being honest, at the time i'm not so sure how i'd react. Its hard to say unless your in that situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I would usually walk on a bit, then stop and see if other people ring for help or do anything etc.
    After all if they are elderly then it’s probably Gods will that they have passed out on the pavement.
    If they are drunk or drugged up, they probably deserve what’s coming to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I can understand people not getting involved in altercations in a way. My mate tried to stop some fella who had his girl pinned against a wall with his hands around her neck: he ended up giving the fella a clatter and the girl went mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

stovelid wrote: »
    I can understand people not getting involved in altercations in a way. My mate tried to stop some fella who had his girl pinned against a wall with his hands around her neck: he ended up giving the fella a clatter and the girl went mad.

I hate people who do fake amateur snuff out in the open, keep it in your home ffs :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

If it was a kid or a woman, I wouldn't think twice about stopping and seeing if I could help. I'd be a bit more wary of men, but that's due to experience, not sexism. It would also depend on what the circumstances were - if it looked drink/drugs related, you'd be a bit more apprehensive, but if someone was unconscious or visibly injured, it would be wrong not to call the emergency services.

The story of that wee girl in China has to be one of the most heartless and upsetting things I've ever seen. If I saw a dog run over, I'd stop and help it, never mind a fellow human being, and especially one as clearly injured as that poor little toddler.

noodletop wrote: »
    years ago i was walking with my now wife and saw a guy beating the life out of a girl ,he was trying to kick her in the face while she huddled into a ball on the ground. I couldnt walk away so i went over to assist her i grabbed him and reminded him men fight better,to my disbelief his girlfriend got up and attacked me for trying to beat her boyfriend up:confused:

long story short guards arrive to sort it out and he headbutts me in front of them,she refused to press charges against him but i did giving him 3 months to think about it.

Even to this day i find it hard to walk past these situations without trying to help out
    stovelid wrote: »

This is the reason why people tend not to help when a fight/argument takes place in public. Too many times the good samaritan has become the victim in these situations. I'm sure everyone here knows of someone that this has happened to.

I would like to think though that if I was walking down the street and collapsed or something happened that someone would stop to check on me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Given the situation you describe I'd probably walk past - it's easy to assume that he's just sleeping it off.

I've chased after and "run down" a young fella before with a fat middle-aged man behind him shouting "stop him, he's after breaking into my daughter's house". I then had to protect said "perp" while we phoned the guards. The middle-aged man wanted to dish out his own justice with the point fo an umbrella. I was like "no ****ing way have I caught this fella just so you can beat the **** out of him". I felt sorry for him - he was a wasted, in-coherent druggie. No more than 17 I'd say.

Myself and the brother also dragged a stoned/drunk kid (again 15-16) out of traffic (he was headbutting car bonnets). Sat on him till the guards came.

But a New Zealand girl I worked with once told me she had an allergic reaction and was heading to the chemist in an awful way (red, couldn't breathe, etc) and she was shocked that no-one came to ask if she was ok or needed some help.

Unless its something very, very obvious that needs our intervention, it's easier to assume that "it doesn't need me interferring". Often we're (I am) afraid of being embarresed and told to **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

If I saw blood or some sign that they were hurt I think I would stop or call an ambulance, if not I'd probably just assume they drank too much or something and passed out. I know it could be more, but I'd say most times it's pretty easy to tell if someone needs help or if they've just drank too much.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

interesting thread!!! In psychology we studied this case - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_Kitty_Genovese

It lead to alot of research on the bystander affect which is what this thread is about!! Its an interesting read!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bystander_effect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Locker10a wrote: »
    interesting thread!!! In psychology we studied this case - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_Kitty_Genovese

It lead to alot of research on the bystander affect which is what this thread is about!! Its an interesting read!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bystander_effect

Looking at a few bystander effect videos it's really interesting but very shocking.

And to the people that say they'd do something - fair play I wish I was that courages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Used to be a hotel night porter in Galway so dodging the drunks in Eyre Sq as I walked to work.
    Like the example further up, saw a lad clobber his girlfriend and knock her to the ground, me being the gentleman I stepped in to cool heads and break it up and then they both turned on me.

Next time I'm walking by, if a girl wants to stay with such a lad then they deserve each other.
    Just my personal experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

I've been "the hero" in a couple of situations like that. The aul bystanders getting involved as soon as you do really annoys me. I've always shooed them away, they were there before me doing nothing, not going to let it turn into a circus because I was the one to approach the downed party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

EL_Loco wrote: »
    I've been "the hero" in a couple of situations like that. The aul bystanders getting involved as soon as you do really annoys me. I've always shooed them away, they were there before me doing nothing, not going to let it turn into a circus because I was the one to approach the downed party.

It seems, from your description, like you want to hog all the glory of it! There's alwasys gonna be leaders and followers....

Here's a good example:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lp28Jgn-8e8

Here's the video that I was talking about earlier. I don't have the sound on in work so cant hear what's being said - but notice how it takes a few minutes for people to react to the victim in the jeans & overcoat and then only 4 seconds for people to react to the victim in the suit.

Also, when the girl 'collapsed'.... WTF is wrong with yer man sitting beside her on the wall reading the paper!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Extremely interesting video steviecakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

It seems, from your description, like you want to hog all the glory of it!

you got me. I've a cape and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Well with all the news that shocked the world from China an incident happened to me yesterday that's somewhat similar -
    I was in Smithfield and about 100 meters away from me I saw a man sitting up against a sign - the man was passed out from what appeared to be drink and/or drugs.
    I looked over at him but didnt do anything - I didnt go over to see if he was alright and I didnt even ring 999 - After I thought it was a pretty cowardly thing to do nothing.

In fairness, Orange.
    Sounds like he was a junkie. And you are better off staying well-clear of them.

I guess it comes down to the situation. If I see some tracksuit wearing bloke thats sitting up against a wall with a busted face (or whatever) I'd think junkie and walk on.
    However, if it was some old drunk or seemingly average bloke. I'd stop and say "you alright mate?"

Kinda depends on the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I was driving down the quays in Dublin one night last year and I saw a lady on her own who was swaying as she walked and stepping on to the road etc. She didn't appear to know where she was. I was worried that she would get hit by car or something so I stopped and rang the guards.

I guess if everybody thought, "Ah sure, someone else will take care of it", no one would do anything. Better to be safe than sorry. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

So people of boards what would you do if you saw somebody passes out and has something like this happened to you and what did you do?

This is what I'd do, again - real link to an old thread.

Good on you Trinity Gray Violinist :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Ring 999 ?

nah feck that

Id ring 112 !

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

After we looked into the bystander effect in collage i was walking down grafton street. I noticed a girl with no shoes who was slowly walking down towards trinity and was stopping looking around! She looked lost and worried. I wanted to help her but noone was bothered so i kept walking and my curiousty as to her situation grew. Eventually when we were waiting to cross the road at the lights i said **** it im not going to be a by stander! I asked her was she alright! Turns out she wasnt from Dublin and had just spent the night in the slammer!!! She had just been released and didnt have a clue where to go! She was trying to find the Luas! So i gave her directions to abbey street cause she needed the red line!
    Yes she could haven been a criminal but im still glad i asked and didnt just say "ahh someone else will deal with it" like i normally would have!
    I would encourage everyone to make an effort to help someone in need! However drunks/junkies are probly best left alone untill the gards deal with them.
    But its still important not to assume "someone else will sort it our". yes they might but they might not! At the least call the gards or ambulane if you see someone who looks sick passed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

The only way to break the bystander effect is not be delusional and believe it doesn't apply to you but to accept it does apply to you and when you're in that situation decide not to pretend like nothing is happening. Don't think other people will take action, don't think because no one else is doing anything nothing needs to be done. Just do something.

Novella wrote: »
    I was driving down the quays in Dublin one night last year and I saw a lady on her own who was swaying as she walked and stepping on to the road etc. She didn't appear to know where she was. I was worried that she would get hit by car or something so I stopped and rang the guards.

I guess if everybody thought, "Ah sure, someone else will take care of it", no one would do anything. Better to be safe than sorry. :)

The funny thing is the Guards probably did nothing about it :p
    As soon as the phone went down "ah, she'll be grand. Probably hop in a taxi. We got more things to worry about" - you know yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Laura_lolly87

One night a few years ago I was leaving my boyfriends house. It was about 1am . I was about to get into my car when I looked up the road and saw a guy lying down on the pavement not moving. I ran back inside and grabbed my boyfriend and went to see if the guy was ok. Turns out he had been drinking with his friend and was staying at his house that night but they got seperated so he headed back to the house and decided to have a sleep while he waited for his friend. I only got my boyfriend because it was so late and I didnt want to walk up the guy on my own.

To the people who have tried to defend women only to have the women turn on them, would that put you off defending people in future?

Hmmm, I dunno.
    The classic negative example comes to mind ... guy helps a couple who are fighting and gets double teamed by both.

Actually speaking of women and helping people...
    I remember working the Boyzone gig in 2008 as stewart and after the gig one girl was locked and starts running to her mate (her mate was beside me) she tripped and both girls fell as they were about to hug each other (usual locked fall on you crap) I helped her up and she pulled some "WHAT YOU DOIN?" face. To be honest, I got the impression she would of said something only that she saw the high-vis vest on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Fighting couple.

Collapsed man on a lonely roadside in perfect view of oncoming traffic.

Outside of those two situations, yes.