Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Casuals... Would Anyone Be Up For It?

• 20-10-2011 3:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭

I was talking to one of the players today who atteded Rupture on Saturday. He was asking would it happen again; I said I was certainly considering it. He also asked what the chances were of casuals round here. Now, I enjoyed the craic the other day, and I'd reckon it wouldn't be too much hassle to get the same venue for casuals. But, as the guy mentioned, there weren't too many Galway based fighters the other day, and nobody is going to travel cross country for a few friendly scraps.

So here's the qquestion (mainly aimed at players around the Galway area) would you be up for casuals, hopefully on a regular enough basis) or would I be wasting my time trying to set this up? I'd imagine it would be good craic, and great practice for tournaments.

Would you attend casuals in Galway? 4 votes

Yip, sure would
    0% 0 votes
    Nope, sure wouldn't
    100% 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭jimmypenguin

depends on the days... i know a few others that would come along also, i couldnt attend the comp because i was busy. i did the casual/comps in monroes a year or two ago..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

That's good to hear. As regards days, I'd imagine it would be weekends, lesss chance of people being in work, college, etc. But we could sort that kinda stuff out and see what fits the majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭ogiekeaney

would always be up for it and willing to bring stuff(tv & xbox) whenever possible.:D

Much appreciated, Ogie, man. Fair play. I'd happily haul my Xbox along too (TV could be more troublesome though). If we can get a few more on board with this, then I'd happily set it up. on average how many set-ups would be needed for casuals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Sairus

2 setups between 4-6 people is the best I find.

That could easily be done then, if we can get a few more people who'd be into showing up.

youngdibs(he was at rupture) was saying he would be up for casuals.... I dont know if he posts here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 youngdibs

yeah im up for it. well up for it. should be able to drag some people along,3 maybe 4ish? i can bring and xbox and and a screen too.

Excellent stuff. That sounds like a full enough house to me. What day would suit you guys? I'm thinking prehaps a saturday sometime.
    Youngdibs, where you a pad player, by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 youngdibs

i wasn't no.shtick all the way. tbh midweek might suit me better. Wednesday or summit. would we be talking nights anyways? or did you mean Saturday during the day?im generally(always)working then.

Well pretty much any time would work for me. Just wondering when would work for everyone else. The reason I asking about the pad was because there was one left behind at Rupture. I'm trying to track down it's owner.

im up in dublin weekdays (for the next 6 months) so could only make it sat or sunday ;(

Hmmm, just call in sick every week :P
    I'll sort something out as regard days/times, and try to get something that suits everyone. I'll be away round Halloween for a number of days, but I'll get stuck in when I return to Galway.

Sorry, I haven't posted in or updated this thread in a while. I've been mighty busy. Here's the deal, lads, unfortunately, I'll be busy as hell between now and the new year, and I'd imagine many others will be the same. So what I'm going to do is simply hold off setting up casuals until the new year rolls around, if that's cool with you guys. Once everything is back to normal after the xmas holidays, I'll get the finger out and properly sort out some casuals. Hopefully it will become a regular enough occurance, and there might be some more Ruptures in the future too, if all goes according to plan.

Sorry again for the delay, lads. Hope to get some friendly fights in with y'all in 2012 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭the 1st hardter

Well even Dublin Casuals are ending on the 17th for Christmas. Good luck with this lads. More casuals in different areas means more players lvling up their game which means better tournies and more group aspect at tournies.

"DUBLIN GONNA KICK YOUR GALWAY ASSES", etc etc