Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting lectured about smoking.... In the smoking area.

• 19-10-2011 3:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

The smoking ban was a great way to separate the smokers from non-smokers in pubs, and raised the standard of the pub by the size of the smoking area.

Along with separating the smokers from the non-smokers, smokers were separated from those that would have a good aul moan about smoking around them, which is fair enough.

I was at a pub after a club outing in college and had a smoke with someone else from that club. Some clean lunged bítch comes out and tells us the standard 'smoking is bad for you, do you really want to fúck up your lungs'. I gave the usual cheeky reply '****! I was under the impression that they were very good for me!'.

You might come across this with a group of people where the majority smoke, and a few come out to the smoking area to have a conversation without the blaring shít music in the backround.

But anyways, my question is to smokers, how often do you get hassled for smoking in the smoking area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

lol To me it sounds like you misread the situation...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Maybe you should actually listen to her and give up rather than moan about her moaning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

People need to mind their own business.

Smoking is disgusting btw. You foul creature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Always bloody happens. You get the usual "Your blowing smoke in my face"

Well sooorry, but you are in the f**king smoking area you clown and this is the one place I get to exhale it where ever I want!

One place in Wexford has plastic grass (astro-turf kind of thing) in the smoking area. So when you drop the fag, it kind of melts. Very strange thing to put in you will agree.

Always bloody happens. You get the usual "Your blowing smoke in my face"

Well sooorry, but you are in the f**king smoking area you clown and this is the one place I get to exhale it where ever I want!

One place in Wexford has plastic grass (astro-turf kind of thing) in the smoking area. So when you drop the fag, it kind of melts. Very strange thing to put in you will agree.

That last bit was a bit irrelevant wasnt it? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    lol To me it sounds like you misread the situation...

You weren't there man, you weren't there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

.......... So when you drop the fag, it kind of melts. Very strange thing to put in you will agree.

You mean, when you litter?

What's supposed to happen the fag butt when you drop it? Disappear?

Why would anyone throw a fag butt on to plastic grass when other receptacles, bins, ash-trays are provided?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Smokers used to be so rebellious and anti-establishment and cool. "I don't care if it's bad for me I'm gonna do it anyway and I don't care what you think!"

Yeah! Stick It To The Man!

These days they whinge about any little passing remark that someone makes to them.

What happened smokers? You used to be cool.

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    Maybe you should actually listen to her and give up rather than moan about her moaning?

Maybe I should think about it over a cool refreshing smoke of Golden Virginia, with the finest cut tobacco from flavour country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

"smoking is disgusting you know!"
    *hold up cigarette*
    "see this? my grandmother lived to be 95 years old"
    "from smoking?"
    "from minding her own fcuking business"

Gophur wrote: »

Why would anyone throw a fag butt on to plastic grass when other receptacles, bins, ash-trays are provided?

I'd say you're great craic when you are out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Cameron Poe

Giving out about smoking in a smoking area is about as stupid as it gets. It's akin to going to a pub to whinge about people drinking or going to mass to give out about mass. It makes no geographical sense.

I'd consider going one up, and getting a load of straight edge folk to whine at the moaning 'smoking is bad for you' brigade and their drinking.

Then I'll slip off to the heroin section and enjoy myself.

Giving out about smoking in a smoking area is about as stupid as it gets. It's akin to going to a pub to whinge about people drinking or going to mass to give out about mass. It makes no geographical sense.

Some of us didn't have a choice on the mass front for the first 13 years of our life. Moaning about Catholics and their weird, cannibalistic ways passed a lot of time by the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

indeed. you give them a nice smoking area and in return they litter it, melt it, and complain about people say in it. nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

I'd say you're great craic when you are out

You'll never know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I don't drink but I smoke. If someone's lecturing me about smoking while holding a pint or a glass of wine i might suggest they visit any A&E department on a weekend night and then tell me how great alcohol is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

i had to laugh at the mental image of someone coming out to tell off the OP about smoking, then heading back in to destroy their liver with alcohol! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭-Kenny-

OK I don't smoke but OP you were right to tell her to basically F**k off. You were in a smoking area. If I was there and heard I woulda told her off meself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

FinnLizzy wrote: »
    The smoking ban was a great way to separate the smokers from non-smokers in pubs, and raised the standard of the pub by the size of the smoking area.

Along with separating the smokers from the non-smokers, smokers were separated from those that would have a good aul moan about smoking around them, which is fair enough.

I was at a pub after a club outing in college and had a smoke with someone else from that club. Some clean lunged bítch comes out and tells us the standard 'smoking is bad for you, do you really want to fúck up your lungs'. I gave the usual cheeky reply '****! I was under the impression that they were very good for me!'.

You might come across this with a group of people where the majority smoke, and a few come out to the smoking area to have a conversation without the blaring shít music in the backround.

But anyways, my question is to smokers, how often do you get hassled for smoking in the smoking area?

I think she was chatting you up. You might have missed an opportunity there and she had the clean lungs and stamina to please you more. Tut Tut OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

You should have shoved it down her throat...then she'd see how bad it is for her lungs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Should have told her that passive smoking will damage her lungs ,so get the fcuk out of the smoking area :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Does she go into pie shops and give out to fat people to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

krudler wrote: »
    "smoking is disgusting you know!"
    *hold up cigarette*
    "see this? my grandmother lived to be 95 years old"
    "from smoking?"
    "from minding her own fcuking business"

I'm going saying that from now on, brilliant!

You and the girl from the OP should get together.
    LLU wrote: »
    indeed. you give them a nice smoking area and in return they litter it, melt it, and complain about people say in it. nice.

Yeah compared to the rest of the pub/club, you could eat off the ground in the non smoking area.

In fairness OP she was probably only giving out to you because she was told to fcuk off from the bar for giving out to people about drinking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭puffin24

I was in a smoking area in a pub in Galway, came out without a lighter but figured it shouldnt be too difficult to source one. Its a small smoking area and was crammed full of smokers. Went to a table of 8 people and asked for a light and got the response- "Nah sorry, we dont smoke" ....8 people....none of them. Why would they prefer to sit out in the cold in what is effectively a smoke filled alleyway?! Wasnt for scoring purposes, they were 4 couples. Very odd non-smoker behaviour I thought....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

puffin24 wrote: »
    I was in a smoking area in a pub in Galway, came out without a lighter but figured it shouldnt be too difficult to source one. Its a small smoking area and was crammed full of smokers. Went to a table of 8 people and asked for a light and got the response- "Nah sorry, we dont smoke" ....8 people....none of them. Why would they prefer to sit out in the cold in what is effectively a smoke filled alleyway?! Wasnt for scoring purposes, they were 4 couples. Very odd non-smoker behaviour I thought....
    Newsflash: They were all smokers, they just didn't like the look of you.....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

That's cos all the cool people are smokers and the smoking area is the place to be on a night out:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Was the pub playing rubbish music really loudly?* I am a smoker, but if I wasn't I'd probably still spend most of my time outside because of this!

*I'm guessing they were, because most busy pubs do. I'll never understand that one.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Sanctimonious, up-on-their-high-horse non-smokers are possibly the most annoying type of people I've ever met. Just f*ck off, will ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Ever get lectured by someone who has just recently given up? Friend of mine, smoked for years. First thing he says to me in the pub:
    "What are you doing smoking? You wanna give that up. I suppose you're off to the smoking area!"

I didn't say anything, I was too confused. :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Then if the increased likelihood of a fatal isn't enough to get a smoker to stop why should non smokers waste their breathe on someone who doesnt want to listen.

It's clear that reason isn't going to work on a smoker. They wouldnt have taken up the habit in the first place otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

While on the topic of smokers etc, literally every time I'm waiting on a train, there's someone standing beside me who decides to light up; and they always happen to be standing bloody upwind of me. I don't care if you want to fúck up your own lungs, but I like mine fully functional thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

Sanctimonious is correct, as someone said.

Her self-importance in particular. Even moreso than the idea of her self-preservation i.e. not smoking, because it seems the moany old bag wants to live on and on and on as she's such a wonderful person, necessary to all mankind, pontificating and being brilliant and the longer she lives the more she can advise and thus apparently be more self-important. Something like that anyway..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭puffin24

Newsflash: They were all smokers, they just didn't like the look of you.....:p

Didnt have to bring my hideous troll-likeness into it....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Darkginger

Fbjm wrote: »
    While on the topic of smokers etc, literally every time I'm waiting on a train, there's someone standing beside me who decides to light up; and they always happen to be standing bloody upwind of me. I don't care if you want to fúck up your own lungs, but I like mine fully functional thanks.

So move a bit. Not rocket science, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

This is a few years back, not too long after the ban came in and a couple of us were sanding outside a pub smoking. The pub itself has a good bit of space out the front, maybe 12 feet between pub and road and 60 feet if not more the length of the pub itself with wooden benches, etc. Anyhow it's a chilly enough night and just to the right of the door there's one of those gas things there for the benefit of anyone sitting outside but obviously installed with smokers in mind as the but it in just after the ban. So there we are, having pints inside and coming out for a smoke and huddling under this heater when this dude asks us to move because he doesn't like the smell od smoke! Felt like teling the wankbag to fcuk off bag inside the pub! :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Darkginger wrote: »
    So move a bit. Not rocket science, is it?

To be fair, and this is coming from a smoker, at a train / tram / DART line you don't have much choice than to stand outside. The odd time I use the Luas I walk as far away from other would be passengers as possible if I want to smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Bill Hicks was not funny, cool, nor an ambassador of comedy.

If he were around today, nobody would watch him.

I dont mind people who smoke, some of my best mates past and present do it and ive been happy to hang with them regardless. My point is that glorifying it and having ambassadors like bill for it is just wrong.

Im getting ready to run because i fear an onslaught of p1ss blasting. Im off to the nearest smoking area to make my point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Fbjm wrote: »

So move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Ex smokers can be the worst kind of scum. sure it's no wonder Hitler tried to kill them in the holocaust too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

Bill Hicks was not funny, cool, nor an ambassador of comedy.

If he were around today, nobody would watch him.

I dont mind people who smoke, some of my best mates past and present do it and ive been happy to hang with them regardless. My point is that glorifying it and having ambassadors like bill for it is just wrong.

Im getting ready to run because i fear an onslaught of p1ss blasting. Im off to the nearest smoking area to make my point!

Well you won't hear it from me:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Tell them to f uck off back indoors out of the smoking area if they don't like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

orourkeda wrote: »
    TIt's clear that reason isn't going to work on a smoker. They wouldnt have taken up the habit in the first place otherwise.

That's a bit of a sweeping statement. Some of us didn't know that it was bad for us when we started. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

That's a bit of a sweeping statement. Some of us didn't know that it was bad for us when we started. :rolleyes:

If you started smoking before 1980 then that's a reasonable excuse! ;)

• OP, I reckon it might have been an awkward attempt at a chat-up line and you blew it! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

FinnLizzy wrote: »
    Some clean lunged bítch comes out and tells us the standard 'smoking is bad for you

So said bítch was in the pub and approached you, why didn't you mention to her that drinking is also potentially bad for her. You also should have asked her how many units of alcohol has she consumed this week. Again, you also could have pointed out that as a female, her units of alcohol intake per week should be a lot less than that of a male. Yet for some reason, I have no doubt said fúckwit probably exceeds these recommended safe intake levels quite easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 james405

Hey,

Has anyone tried the new electric cigarettes? I seen them advertised on some deal sites for like 60% off. my cousin bought one and has been off the fags for 6 months now! I remain a pessimist! Its essentially smoking the nicoteine without the tar!

I know nicotine is bad for blood pressure but does it cause the same yellowing of teeth??? affecting the gums possibly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

How long ago was that?

I know that smoking is bad for me but so is drinking, fast food, coffee, glue, walking in the city center, sitting on my ass staring at a monitor all day and a host of other things. I eat healthily, drink little, play for a GAA club and cycle everywhere so it all balances out I guess.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Had similar happen to me about two years back. Deep in the smoking section of a pub, this wan comes up and gives me the same static as the OP's wan. She had her long streak of paralysed piss boyfriend in tow to support her. I calmly told her and him to fcuk off and made some off colour comment on the fact she was a land cetacean figure wise. One should always tell whining intrusive twats like this to fcuk off.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.