Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time to rename the Aviva stadium?

• 19-10-2011 11:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭

Aviva Insurance has announced it is to make 950 people redundant at its Irish operation.
    No jobs will be lost before March 2012 and the full implementation of the redundancy programme could take up to two years.
    The company, which employs over 2,000 staff in Ireland, invited staff to business updates in Dublin, Cork and Galway this morning.
    In a statement the company said Aviva Ireland was to be combined with its UK division.
    The company is to shed 180 roles from Aviva Europe with the balance, 770, coming from Aviva Ireland.
    Aviva said it would look at the feasibility of establishing additional centres in Ireland to serve customers in the UK, as the business grows.
    It said this could potentially mitigate the reduction in roles in Ireland by approximately 200.
    Aviva says it will engage with the Central Bank of Ireland in relation to any new structures or outsourcing proposals that it may have.
    Chief Executive of Aviva Europe Igal Mayer and several executives were in Dublin for the announcement.
    The Aviva staff briefing in Cork took just under an hour.
    A representative of the company handed out a statement to waiting media but said nobody would be available to comment on how the Cork operation would be affected.
    Over 200 people are employed at the Cork operation processing claims.
    Aviva decision a 'legacy issue' - Bruton
    Minister for Enterprise, Jobs and Innovation Richard Bruton said the announcement from Aviva Insurance that Aviva is to shed 950 jobs is a "legacy issue".
    Mr Bruton said a 30% collapse in the domestic market had led to the change, which he said was of such a scale companies had to react.
    The minister said he had met with executives from Aviva at a global level to see what opportunities could arise out of the announcement, he said there was a possibility to locate a "centre of excellence" in Ireland which he said was good, but he added, "this is clearly a bad situation".
    Mr Bruton said a number of legacy reforms in the legal profession, banking, wage setting, innovation and competitiveness were needed.
    He said a repair job needs to be done in the Irish economy but he said internationally the country is getting credit for its efforts.
    Asked if the announcement proved there was nothing Government could do about decisions made by big business, the minister said there was always something than can be done.
    He said the IDA is already working with Aviva to see what positives can arise out of the announcement. He admitted Governments can't stop the impact of commercial scales like Aviva's announcement today. He said the job losses were announced as a result of a domestic economy collapse.
    Unite has said staff at Aviva are in a "state of shock".
    Regional officer Brian Gallagher said: "The axe has fallen harder and sharper than the worst fears of staff. They are stunned and scared by what they have been told.
    "Unite will enter a period of consultation which management has undertaken to be "as long as is needed", and we will be looking for justification of every job that is being cut or transferred."
    Taoiseach Enda Kenny told the Dáil that today was an awful day for the employees of Aviva given the scale of the job losses.
    Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin accused the Government of not engaging actively with the company.
    Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams said the entitlements of workers at Aviva had been set aside to maintain the excesses of elites at Aviva.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1019/aviva.html

So what shall we name the stadium?

The bertie bowl?

What name? 27 votes

The Bertie Bowl
    0% 0 votes
    The Shell Stadium
    44% 12 votes
    The Fianna Fail Fantastico
    11% 3 votes
    Atari Jagustadium
    44% 12 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The bertie bowl?

Are you talking about Landsdowne Road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Lansdowne Road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

The bertie bowl?

The soup bowl.

Or, Landsdowne Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Lansdowne Road.

Edit:
    Lansdowne Road.
    YouTookMyReply

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Mr Ahern does not deserve his name on anything - well except a public toilet!
    End of story!

I still call the stadium "Lansdowne" - I refuse to call it anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

The Bedpan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Original!

Good name for a stadium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Lansdowne Road.
    El Weirdo wrote: »
    Lansdowne Road.

Edit:
    YouTookMyReply

You both took mine.

Fuckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I quite like Atari Jagustadium.

Seeing as the Atari Jagular with the CD add on looks like a futuristic toilet, it's kind of apt -

http://cheezburger.com/Goronix/lolz/View/2055108352

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

The Quinn Stadium

...oh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Didn't vote, no option for Lansdowne Road :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Gay Palace

biko wrote: »
    Gay Palace

An ideal place to play with a few balls. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Tom

They paid €40million for it - reckon Bertie will pay that to buy it off them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The Armitage Bowl

because it looks like a toilet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Muther Fookers in Aviva... they take our national stadium's name away from us and then go sacking all our people.

There has to be concerted effort now to never again call it the Aviva and return it as Lansdowne Road.

Eamonn, Bill, Johnny, Liamo, George x 2, Brent... are you listening!

Anyone know the figures and length of contract that were involved to get the naming?

Their name will really be muck now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭F.U.B.A.R

who the fuck is still voting for FF?????? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

It will be always LANSDOWNE ROAD for me and why no option for Lansdowne ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,269 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

The Fianna Fail Fantastico does sound cool, in fairness.

gcgirl wrote: »
    It will be always LANSDOWNE ROAD for me and why no option for Lansdowne ???

Going forward, in the current climate, as we turn the corner, at grassroots level...I have no idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

F.U.B.A.R wrote: »

FF supporters, I'd hazard a guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

The sh!te bowl, because it looks like a feckin bed pan..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

Does anyone other then the press actually call it Aviva stadium? I still call it lansdown road.

F.U.B.A.R wrote: »

I am the guilty one. I clicked on the wrong option.
    (Can mods adjust?)
    It should have been the bottom one! There should also be a "Lansdowne" option. New poll really needed!

ejmaztec wrote: »
    FF supporters, I'd hazard a guess.

Thought they jumped ship to FG ? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the dublin arena

simples

Biggins wrote: »
    (Can mods adjust?)
    It should have been the bottom one! There should also be a "Lansdowne" option. New poll really needed!

I have to say, I just wanted people to vote for Atari Jagustadium, I haz been bold.

Biggins wrote: »
    (Can mods adjust?)

yes new poll indeed would also like the option "that stadium who's name everybody on boards.ie fought over for no feckin reason" :D

I have to say, I just wanted people to vote for Atari Jagustadium, I haz been bold.

then ye shouldnt have mentioned Bertie or FF lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Is there anything to stop the media from calling it Landsdowne Road again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Ahh 950 good quality jobs, are we ever going to reach the bottom of this recession/depression.

probably not hence why Iam leaving cos everyone else knows how to sort out their sh1t.......... everyone except for Ireland :rolleyes:

4leto wrote: »
    Ahh 950 good quality jobs, are we ever going to reach the bottom of this recession/depression.

It is amazing that Bruton seems to only be worried about how we are perceived internationally rather than in Ireland itself. Warped to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

A_field.

Sports Stadium

"...it's the final countdown....."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

Like the DART stop, "Landsdown Road - An Bothair Lansdúin" (apologies for spelling errors.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Soccerball-Rugificarium Dome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Rip the piss out of them altogether and call it the Axa Stadium!

It makes good ammo for all kinds of terribe puns for tabloid headline writers and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

bedpan park or the ballsbridge bowl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Yes it bloody well is.

RichieC wrote: »
    Yes it bloody well is.

To...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

if you are from the east area and ever knew it as anything other than lansdown then you are an idiot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

The Steve Staunton Drome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 cifzz

Seán O'Brien's Cereal Bowl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The Dole Bowl

If there was any justice, it should be at least called "The Hume Stadium".
    (After the quiet heroic efforts of John Hume in his life to bring peace to our island)
    The man deserves state recognition god-damn it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Yeah Buddy

It's always been Lansdowne Road to me and always will be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

looking at the poll all we need now is to get jaguar to sponsor it

Saila wrote: »
    looking at the poll all we need now is to get jaguar to sponsor it

Here you go. :D

Also need to get the Atari people on the blower...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Can we not just call it Michael? Thats what I've been calling it all along.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Can we not just call it Michael? Thats what I've been calling it all along.

The Mick stadium?! A tad offensive no?!:pac: