Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Really Bertie? Really?

• 19-10-2011 11:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭

I normally get sick of people with their "feckin Bertie" and "Fianna Failure" but this really pissed me off

Probably the most apt use of the expression "pot calling the kettle black"
    FORMER TAOISEACH Bertie Ahern has called for an investigation into the media for what he said were failures to follow the economy because journalists were more concerned with following his dealings with the Mahon tribunal.
    Mr Ahern said that from the time he began evidence to the tribunal, the media “just stopped following the economy”.
    In an interview on Dublin City University’s radio station DCU FM, he said: “There should be an investigation into it. They should have been following the economy from August 2007, but they weren’t, they were following me. I think a lot of these guys really should have looked at themselves.
    “The government were following the economy but the media weren’t. It was a very poor job by the media really. They were shown to be incompetent and that was the trouble – everything was on me.”
    The interview was recorded during the summer but was broadcast for the first time last night.
    On the economy, Mr Ahern said there was “not a lot” he would have done differently.
    “People say now that we shouldn’t have been spending so much – my answer to them who say if we didn’t spend so much and if we had saved money we wouldn’t have had the banking crisis, well that’s nonsense, because the demands were there all the time,” he said.
    On the Department of Finance’s reports on the economy, Mr Ahern said: “In fairness, the Department of Finance give you warnings about everything”.
    Asked if the government had taken the advice “with a pinch of salt”, he said: “Yeah, we did. We ended up building half a million houses. I mean if we didn’t build half a million houses, people would have ended up living on the side of the bloody street and the Department of Finance would still be saying ‘don’t build houses’.”
    The former taoiseach and TD for Dublin Central was asked about being linked to a presidential bid. “Well, I think if the party popularity didn’t go south, I mean I still would have done alright.”
    “I mean they have done some figures, I would probably sit in around 30 per cent, which you haven’t a hope with as the party is on 20 per cent. If it was the other way around, if you were on 30 per cent and the party was on 40 per cent, you would be hoping the party would pull you in but there’s no hope that I could win.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    I normally get sick of people with their "feckin Bertie" and "Fianna Failure" but this really pissed me off

I think that it is probably the most stupid sh1t that he's ever come out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

What a spoofer!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I think he has a point about the media, but yeah. And why behold you the mote that is in your brother's eye, but consider not the beam that is in your own eye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Ahern is trolling the Irish nation. I hope his daughter is right about karma - if she is, I wouldn't recommend standing next to him during the next storm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Not sure about all that, but that Cecelia one looks like a filthy little minx.

I'd carbonate her pee and sip it like a fine champagne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Snakeblood wrote: »
    I think he has a point about the media, but yeah. And why behold you the mote that is in your brother's eye, but consider not the beam that is in your own eye?

well if it's true about the media it's true about all of us

Most people were of the view that the good times wouldn't end, hence the ridiculous borrowing and speculative investing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Just go away, you awful, horrible man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭ThinkAboutIt

Most people were of the view that the good times wouldn't end, hence the ridiculous borrowing and speculative investing

Everyone is a genius in hindsight.

Ah, it was only a dig out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

He's a waffler, he always was a waffler and he'll always be a waffler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

“Well, I think if the party popularity didn’t go south, I mean I still would have done alright.”

Bertie went on to say that he now believes himself to be a cocoa tin and asked the interviewer if he had seen his lid anywhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

What are you talking about???? He doesent have any point about the media, thats what so ridiculous, its not the media's job to run the country and handle economic affairs, it was his and his colleagues. Ive never heard such a load of nonsense, the media took their eye off the ball, ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I believe those people who were following the economy were told to go off and commit suicide.

Do us all a favour bertie and throw yourself off a very tall NAMA building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

whats the problem ? - didn't he win all that money in the brown paper bag on the horses - I wish he had given me the tip , cause he certainly won a lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Delusional. That's the mindset of someone who wears a canary yellow suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

I still laugh every time I hear it, and can recall seeing it on tv many years ago with his face getting redder and redder with anger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

The most dangerous criminal this nation has ever seen.

leonidas83 wrote: »
    What are you talking about???? He doesent have any point about the media, thats what so ridiculous, its not the media's job to run the country and handle economic affairs, it was his and his colleagues. Ive never heard such a load of nonsense, the media took their eye off the ball, ffs

The media's role in a functioning society is to watch what is going on and report on it. The boom merited serious investigation by it, which it didn't get. If more dissenting voices had been reported on, possibly things might have changed.

That's not in any way excusing Bertie for his primary role in making a giant ****up of things, but the media's job was to notice and report on his ****ups, instead of for example, buying myhome.ie and trying to profit off the bubble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I've boiled the whole thing down to actual English...which is a tough translation from Bertie Speak but thankfully i have a few super computers here to help me out.

This is what they printed out.

"Someone else should have spotted it, because i wasn't going to".

The media's role in a functioning society is to watch what is going on and report on it. The boom merited serious investigation by it, which it didn't get. If more dissenting voices had been reported on, possibly things might have changed.

That's not in any way excusing Bertie for his primary role in making a giant ****up of things, but the media's job was to notice and report on his ****ups, instead of for example, buying myhome.ie and trying to profit off the bubble.

When was the media required to have a moral obligation to society as a whole?? i must have missed that day in school

The medias job is to sell newspapers, have high ratings, etc. its when people start thinking that the media has a role to play in watching out whether the economy is running into **** or not, were screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Asked if the government had taken the advice “with a pinch of salt”, he said: “Yeah, we did. We ended up building half a million houses. I mean if we didn’t build half a million houses, people would have ended up living on the side of the bloody street and the Department of Finance would still be saying ‘don’t build houses’.”
    Cheers Bertie.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I couldn't give a fcuk what Mr Ahern insists is needed anymore.

1. Its a diversionary tactic.
    2. He knows a tribunal report will come out later (sadly delayed by the FG/Labour lot for own political reasons!)- so better to get the dig in at the papers beforehand!
    3. The man is full of schite - is a schite - and I wouldn't piss on him if he was on fire.

leonidas83 wrote: »
    When was the media required to have a moral obligation to society as a whole?? i must have missed that day in school

The medias job is to sell newspapers, have high ratings, etc. its when people start thinking that the media has a role to play in watching out whether the economy is running into **** or not, were screwed.

Since RTE had a public service remit, and since the Irish Times became a newspaper of record. I wouldn't expect the Irish Independent etc. to do this, but yes, I do expect theoretically high quality papers to do a high quality job of reporting the news.

RTE's public service remit: national and international news of high quality journalism and impartiality as a cornerstone of its schedule. RTÉ’s news coverage shall be accurate, impartial and objective: this will help set the agenda for informed democratic debate in Ireland.

People buy newspapers to be informed. Because there's 'news' in them. The property crash is the biggest 'news' story since the Celtic Tiger, there were many warning signs, and the newspapers failed to report this.

I've boiled the whole thing down to actual English...which is a tough translation from Bertie Speak but thankfully i have a few super computers here to help me out.

This is what they printed out.

"Someone else should have spotted it, because i wasn't going to".

...Or didn't WANT to - because he was too busy with his own money making schite!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Not sure about all that, but that Cecelia one looks like a filthy little minx.

I'd carbonate her pee and sip it like a fine champagne.

Knowing that stuttery little cnuts DNA is in there???
    "shudder"

You're a very sick person, get help.

Since RTE had a public service remit, and since the Irish Times became a newspaper of record. I wouldn't expect the Irish Independent etc. to do this, but yes, I do expect theoretically high quality papers to do a high quality job of reporting the news.

RTE's public service remit: national and international news of high quality journalism and impartiality as a cornerstone of its schedule. RTÉ’s news coverage shall be accurate, impartial and objective: this will help set the agenda for informed democratic debate in Ireland.

People buy newspapers to be informed. Because there's 'news' in them. The property crash is the biggest 'news' story since the Celtic Tiger, there were many warning signs, and the newspapers failed to report this.

What you expect doesnt come into it, the vast majority of media in this country have no obligation to watch how the economy is performing, they may or may not report on it, but that has to do with the level of interest it, not because they have a moral obligation.

And if you believe that other waffle above you are as gullible as they come, RTE impartial, thats almost as ridiculous as Bertie blaming everything on the media

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

I hope he dies roaring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Biggins wrote: »
    ...Or didn't WANT to - because he was too busy with his own money making schite!

I reckon it was long Bertie's plan to be in charge, make some scratch, leave government and then become President.

I think now that he finds himself consigned to the history books as an inept spoofer he is desperately trying to add a coat of whitewash to the grimey wall that is his legacy so that at least some of the FF party loyal will remember him fondly even if no one else does.

You forgot to included the link - not a problem though. :)
    Here it is: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/1019/1224306072307.html

I keep some threads saved with their links as a record for reference to later for research.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 99 ✭✭Royal Dub

why dont you go off and find a big tree Bert, I can provide the rope free of charge you little cretin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Ahern should be taken to an isolated farm and bled like the pig he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Ahern should be taken to an isolated farm and bled like the pig he is.
    Royal Dub wrote: »
    why dont you go off and find a big tree Bert, I can provide the rope free of charge you little cretin

Ahern's a scumbag but there's no need for comments like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I'm surprised no one's pulled you up on this yet, but not everyone engaged in "ridiculous borrowing" or "speculative investing".

Regarding Bertie and the eFFer apologists, they've been trying to deflect this sh1t onto other parties for quite a while now. Previously, it was the opposition, who didn't "control" FF while they were in opposition. Now it's de meeja.

Next, it'll be the fault of the immigrants.

The man has to be the dumbest public representative we've ever had. And now he's deluded.

He needs to be committed...

Yes there is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Yes there is. The man's a grubby filthy lying little gombeen traitor. Shooting him would be a waste of a bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Property supplements the thickness of your forearm. Media commentators writing puff pieces on property developers painting them as some type of intrepid Alan Quartermain figures boldly borrowing off banks to fund lavish lifestyles. Have the bloody staff of Ireland's newspapers scuttered at the Fianna Fail Christmas parties.

The man is wrong in his assertions but yet there is a fundamental kernel of truth in his assessment of the media. The one point he omits is that he played with the media like a child plays with a kitten. Their righteous indignation now is funny considering the amount of spoof and bullshit they wrote about Bertie and his cronies and how great they were.

Lest we forget the lavish praise for our intrepid heroes marching off to buy up London Landmark buildings, cocking a snook at the establishment with our new found brashness and riches (borrowed). The papers in this country and the flutes that fill their pages with typing for them would make you sick if they weren't such a well crafted dadist performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I imagine his political legacy matters a great deal to him. That's the only consolation I can really take from his pernicious tenure and subsequent fall from grace.

He can advise tin-pot dictators on how best to approach EU trade negotiation, attend myriad conferences on international peace and reconciliation or speak to US college students who will indulge his self-congratulatory guff .

I'd wager it eats away at him that in his own backyard, he's synonymous with greed, incompetence and venality. And it will always be so.

And i'd also like to see McCreevy, Harney, Cowan, Dempsey, Roche, and the bearded union head men + Horan swinging from the same tree

Yes there is. The man's a grubby filthy lying little gombeen traitor. Shooting him would be a waste of a bullet.

...And even more sickening, is that we have to pay for his funeral.

Personally, I'd stick the schite in a sack and kick his bones into an unmarked grave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

ok, let me put it in his own words... they should go and commit suicide.

so he wants an investigation into the media, even though when there were some warning voices,he told them to go and do the above.

just fuck off bertie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

...And even more sickening, is that we have to pay for his funeral.

Personally, I stick the schite in a sack and kick his bones into an unmarked grave.

it's time for an irish version of this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Personally, I stick the schite in a sack and kick his bones into an unmarked grave.

FFS Don't the conspiracy nuts will make him into a Saint

He was just about to discover a cure for cancer when he was assasinated by some big faceless corporation

Or something loike that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

Just heard him on newstalk there.

He genuinely sounds disoriented. I wonder is he ill ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

I have been saying for years lock this rat basterd in the stocks with all his cronies and give everyone the day off to kick him up the hole and hurl rotten food at him, with anyone who wants to pay getting to beat the fcuker with €10 worth of pennies in a sock.

Just heard him on newstalk there.

He genuinely sounds disoriented. I wonder is he ill ?

Mentally or physically?

I say "Yes" to the first. He's certainly either delusional or at least in denial!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

a direct consequence of the many idiotic govt decisions made under him is the thousands of irish who emigrated to Uk, Oz, Canada, dubai etc over the last few years. He should do us all a favour and disappear off to nigeria with his buddies over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭lemd

Ranting-Homer.gif
    Urge to kill rising!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

Anyone remember when he called Gay Mithcell a waffler in the dail ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Galtee

Sounds like he's trying to gain media attention to either promote or deflect. Is he releasing a book soon? or are the results of the Mahon tribunal due out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭granturismo

The madness of King Bertie.