Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BEST FOX GUN????

• 18-10-2011 8:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

< MOD NOTE>

Only one account per user on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

I'd go for a 22/250 if your super allows you, some lads have them licensed for vermin alone but other supers will only allow them for deer, after that would be a swift or then a .204 and .223,

If your on about shooting long range i'd spend more on a scope than a rifle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

master 22 wrote: »
    Hi lads im new to this. I was advised that this is a good site to get good decent advise.. Im wondering which would be the most accurate and strongest fox gun i could buy as i want good range 300 yards+,a clean accurate shot..i want power behind the bullet too. I dont have a deer licence so what would be the best rifle to buy and why??????
    Im going to buy new and ive a good wallet :p my uncle has a lots of farm land and its full of foxs and his hornet isnt good enough:cool:
    Personally ild go either swift or .204. Both flat shooting and buck the wind well and are devastating on foxes. Plenty of ammo available also and although they are perceived as a more expensive rifle to feed, if your just going foxshooting it shouldn't be too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 master 22

< MOD NOTE>

< MOD NOTE>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭stick shooter

Did you consider the .204 ;)

< MOD NOTE>

You'd get a serious kit for 3k, i'd still call into your local station and ask can you license a 22/250 as they are a great calibre with more choice in rifles and ammo, not much choice in swift rifles, remington vssf 11 or rugers are the only ones you usually see around the place, for 3k youd get a remmy with new trigger get it threaded and an ase sl5 mod and have over a grand left for scope and mounts, scope is a fairly personal thing so look at as many as you can and take your pick

Thanks for feed back..Im going to get a swift i think. Its got good reviews in a hunting magazine for best accuracy and on this.

Best of luck with the swift good calibre ;) .I am sure you will find it accurate enough .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭ejg

Man and machine...the machine bit is easy.
    Hitting a target consistently at over 200yds is not that easy, no matter what gun.
    Plenty practice and a bit of research into the theories is essential.
    A 223 would have a better selection and cheaper ammo than say a swift, meaning
    practice would be more affordable.
    If you are looking into longer range shooting you'll also be better off getting a range finder.
    edi

Did you consider the .204 ;)

It has very good reviews too and they say shes a flat round too. Swift has unreal power and accuracy im told. Its what i need. I want to make bits of all the foxs.might look at a 204 before i do anything its a caliber ive never seen

ejg wrote: »
    Man and machine...the machine bit is easy.
    Hitting a target consistently at over 200yds is not that easy, no matter what gun.
    Plenty practice and a bit of research into the theories is essential.
    A 223 would have a better selection and cheaper ammo than say a swift, meaning
    practice would be more affordable.
    If you are looking into longer range shooting you'll also be better off getting a range finder.
    edi
    If a buy a good scope that make zeiss or something would that make it more accurate if you know what I mean?:confused:

It has very good reviews too and they say shes a flat round too. Swift has unreal power and accuracy im told. Its what i need. I want to make bits of all the foxs.might look at a 204 before i do anything its a caliber ive never seen

Have you looked at the energy of the .204 at 300 yards + . Next thing have you looked compared wind drift at 300 yards + .

Best of luck with the swift good calibre ;) .I am sure you will find it accurate enough .

Thanks hey. When i get it i'll let you know whats shes like. A gun dealer told me a fox will peel back like an umbrella in the wind with a sting from it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Thanks hey. When i get it i'll let you know whats shes like. A gun dealer told me a fox will peel back like an umbrella in the wind with a sting from it :P
    .220 swift ....thats the caliber for you;)

ormondprop wrote: »
    You'd get a serious kit for 3k, i'd still call into your local station and ask can you license a 22/250 as they are a great calibre with more choice in rifles and ammo, not much choice in swift rifles, remington vssf 11 or rugers are the only ones you usually see around the place, for 3k youd get a remmy with new trigger get it threaded and an ase sl5 mod and have over a grand left for scope and mounts, scope is a fairly personal thing so look at as many as you can and take your pick

your a gentleman.Thanks for the advise. Oh our garda is a awkward **** but i will ask him

Dont believe everything you hear from a dealer, swifts are hard to sell so he'll be trying hard to shift it, bunnyshooter here has a lovely .220 for sale, its in stakelums in thurles, looks brand new and shoots great, would save yourself a nice bit compared to a new one and its a vssf 1 which are meant to be a better rifle than the vssf 11, i was seriously considering to buy it but a found a lovely sako in .223 which does everything i ask of it and more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

would not just dead not :rolleyes: do you

Have you looked at the energy of the .204 at 300 yards + . Next thing have you looked compared wind drift at 300 yards + .

I will but will take me a few minutes im slow on computers.. what be a good site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

As said above you'll have to get a range finder for shots at that distance as been off by 20 yards at 300+ yards could be a hit or miss. Decent range finder will set you back a few hundred quid

I will but will take me a few minutes im slow on computers.. what be a good site?

Just go onto the federal/hornady web site and both will give you drop/wind drift and energy of most rounds .;)

Dont believe everything you hear from a dealer, swifts are hard to sell so he'll be trying hard to shift it, bunnyshooter here has a lovely .220 for sale, its in stakelums in thurles, looks brand new and shoots great, would save yourself a nice bit compared to a new one and its a vssf 1 which are meant to be a better rifle than the vssf 11, i was seriously considering to buy it but a found a lovely sako in .223 which does everything i ask of it and more

Hunting times says its the most accurate 22 ever built and my dealer claims its the king of the 22's...there seems to be alot of excelent calibers on the market..This is all new to me. I only ever fired a hornet :P

Just go onto the federal/hornady web site and both will give you drop/wind drift and energy of most rounds .;)

Im going to go onto it after i have a piss..thanks for that

Hunting times says its the most accurate 22 ever built and my dealer claims its the king of the 22's...there seems to be alot of excelent calibers on the market..This is all new to me. I only ever fired a hornet :P
    In terms of accuracy the .22-250 is king of the .22s,imo ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

swift is the job. ive 1 and my bro has 223.. swift is pure flat compaired to it lad.. get good mounts and good scope.spend a 1000 or more on a scope and a good brand and u wont be sorry... its easy to run as its bang on accurate..thats my view, 35euro a box for hornady moly ballistics 50 grain! not too dear.mines remington heavy but its always being fired of the roof :D

I say .22br is the most accurate 22 ever built and .22-250 will do everything a swift will do with less powder so cheaper to reload if it ever comes in and has a better selection of ammo so you can get heavier bullets to shoot deer with if you ever want to get into it

And .204 is the new contender, seriously flat and fast round with little or no recoil and not as loud as a swift, coz they are very feckin loud

Personally i'm happy i went for .223 as i can pick up a box of ammo for around 10 euro to fire at targets if i want some trigger time or use umc or american eagle for 14-16 a box on rabbits and crows, or foxes when times are tough and i cant afford premium ammo, god damn recession, and my rifle loves them, although some people slate them, my rifle has fired everything well so far except 55gr federel softpoint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

tomcat220t wrote: »
    In terms of accuracy the .22-250 is king of the .22s,imo ;).
    Swift is the king thats why i bought mine master 22. google it..ive dat reseach done. 300 fps less than swift too and swift has more foot pounds on a 40 or 50 grain but same on a 60 grain and u can check that on Hornady.com too :D..

4200fps wrote: »
    Swift is the king thats why i bought mine master 22. google it..ive dat reseach done. 300 fps less than swift too and swift has more foot pounds on a 40 or 50 grain but same on a 60 grain and u can check that on Hornady.com too :D..

Dont think your right at that when the .204 24gr runs 4400fps;) and you can check that on hornady.com too.

Swift is the king thats why i bought mine master 22. google it..ive dat reseach done. 300 fps less than swift too and more foot pounds on a 40 or 50 grain and u can check that on Hornady.com too :D..
    The swift is a good round but has many draw backs ,too.The case design is very poor when compared to the .22-250 if accuracy is what your looking for .And that to me out weights the tiny bit of H/P (if any)the .220 swift may have !Neither of which i would pick over a good .204 ;)

4200fps is right no offence it is the king. still the 22-250 isnt far of and ive being told on this theres more makers.hav to see what the ole garda lets me get :cool:

The swift is a good round but has many draw backs ,too.The case design is very poor when compared to the .22-250 if accuracy is what your looking for .And that to me out weights the tiny bit of H/P (if any)the .220 swift may have !Neither of which i would pick over a good .204 ;)

I will check out a 204. They look like a smaller tip and case..i believe dat bullet does move wen shes fired

4200fps is right no offence it is the king. still the 22-250 isnt far of and ive being told on this theres more makers.hav to see what the ole garda lets me get :cool:

In one of your posts post you said its all new to you but now the swift is the king according to you after not using any of the calibers mentioned :confused:

Dont think your right at that when the .204 24gr runs 4400fps;) and you can check that on hornady.com too.
    .204 isnt a 22 cal so 4200 fps is right...holy moly 4400 fps is unreal fast!!!!!!!!:pac: she must be a light grain bullet? power to weight is increase on fps yeah???

I will check out a 204. They look like a smaller tip and case..i believe dat bullet does move wen shes fired
    Its not a quarter mile drag race when it comes to bullet performance .Accuracy ,Wind drift and bullet performance when it hits your intended prey !One answer .....204 pill:D:D

Anyone else sick of reading "king of the 22's":rolleyes:

Its not a quarter mile drag race when it comes to bullet performance .Accuracy ,Wind drift and bullet performance when it hits your intended prey !One answer .....204 pill:D:D
    swift and 22-250 have bigger case and bigger bullet so they have to do more damage.. seriously tomcat.

SWIFT = 22 KING

Anyone else sick of reading "king of the 22's":rolleyes:

Im laughing here...its like PRIMETIME but you guys are great thanks for your opinions..This be on again tomorrow night :D:D:D?

swift and 22-250 have bigger case and bigger bullet so they have to do more damage.. seriously tomcat.

SWIFT = 22 KING

You ask for advice on what gun to get but when people give you advide they're wrong.

.22 wmr is a bigger bullet than a .17 hmr but the hmr does more damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭zeissman

I had a swift and sold it and bought a 204.
    My 204 is as flat shooting as the swift and kills foxes just as well and what I like the most about it is there is no recoil and you can see your hits through the scope.
    The swift may have a bit more power but you dont need it for shooting foxes.

.204 isnt a 22 cal so 4200 fps is right...holy moly 4400 fps is unreal fast!!!!!!!!:pac: she must be a light grain bullet? power to weight is increase on fps yeah???

For someone that knew so little only read a magazine article ;) and has 15 posts on the said subject imagine how much you will know by post 150 and 10 magazines articles :D:D Just go with the swift after all its king .

garv123 wrote: »
    In one of your posts post you said its all new to you but now the swift is the king according to you after not using any of the calibers mentioned :confused:

I googled it and have an old hunting times mag here so wanted to see what ye folks thought as ye use fox guns:)

SWIFT = 22 KING
    Doesnt work quite as simple as that !

For someone that knew so little only read a magazine article ;) and has 15 posts on the said subject imagine how much you will know by post 150 and 10 magazines articles :D:D Just go with the swift after all its king .

Id make good money if i opened a tv chatshow..cant belive all the comments that flies in on this.... i wont knock the 204 from what you told me it sounds wild! :cool:

I googled it and have an old hunting times mag here so wanted to see what ye folks thought as ye use fox guns:)

the .204 is a relatively new round. Magazines are only written by people too. doesn't mean that they are right.
    bigger bullet doesnt mean more damage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

go and shoot one then come back and tell us what you think of it
    most of us here have been there done that with a whole pile of different calibres
    dead is dead whether you hit it with a rimfire or a 30-06
    a fox is fairly easily killed and most shots are under 200 yards i bet 80% of foxes shot in the state are under 100yrds
    big and fast usually means very loud and fairly expensive there are newer and better things around now

You ask for advice on what gun to get but when people give you advide they're wrong.

.22 wmr is a bigger bullet than a .17 hmr but the hmr does more damage.

Is a .22LR not for shooting rabbits and rats? That would only put a fox in pain?

the .204 is a relatively new round. Magazines are only written by people too. doesn't mean that they are right.
    bigger bullet doesnt mean more damage

My .270 would show you different on foxes haha :D:D

Is a .22LR not for shooting rabbits and rats? That would only put a fox in pain?

Think he said .22 wmr not .22lr

landkeeper wrote: »
    go and shoot one then come back and tell us what you think of it
    most of us here have been there done that with a whole pile of different calibres
    dead is dead whether you hit it with a rimfire or a 30-06
    a fox is fairly easily killed and most shots are under 200 yards i bet 80% of foxes shot in the state are under 100yrds
    big and fast usually means very loud and fairly expensive there are newer and better things around now

Ive a pump action I do be blue in the face sucking making squeeks for foxs to come and often get them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Hondata92

Out with the old, in with the new, time to head to the newsagents:p

22-250 is the real king of the .22s imo

For foxs if you want a flat/fast round that bucks the wind with no recoil and doesnt cook barrels then the .204 ticks all the boxs:cool:

My .270 would show you different on foxes haha :D:D

Thats stonger than the 243 and 6.5x55...the 303 is after yours? that would make s.h.i.t.e of a fox lol :D