Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Presidential Debate on Thursday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Still go. Throw snaps onto the stage for lolz, everyone will take it's Martin and the boys bombing the gaff :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

You mean they won't be? O__O

Still going to go, harrrrdly going to waste one of the tickets they gave specially to us "journalists" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Kinski

IMO Maynooth needs to lose its inferiority complex in relation to this kind of thing. Since we so often miss out on things like guests who might consider putting in an appearance at Trin or UCD, when we get some presidential candidates in, the attitude seems to be that we have to be respectful, not ask any tricky questions, and just generally appreciate the fact that they turned up at all.

Screw that. What's the worst that could happen? Michael D. or whoever might storm out and refuse to ever come to Maynooth again? How likely is it that the society will ever be asking any of these people back anyway? I think it would rock if a candidate got really pissed off with a question and walked out. That would be really cool.

The minute you fall prey to the PR gurus and give into any of that restricting questions bull**** you've essentially failed. The President is an elected official and hence should be well capable of answering any question posed by a potential voter. None of these bastards ever answer a straight question, I hope there's ructions tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,467 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

If they are brave enough to run for the presidency they should be brave enough to answer a few questions. It is going to be a nice relaxing day for the candidates tomorrow, give a nice spiel and then answer a few simple questions.

Is a wasted opportunity, we will most likely never see any of these candidates in Maynooth again, certainly not in this type of atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

Can someone post to tell me who chairs the debate, please? Turns out the head of the Law department was supposed to chair it, but he decided to come on a jaunt to France for a few days instead. :pac:

How is it going/did it go? I ended up having to cover the mental health soc stand in the arts block so couldn't go over.

I'm still here with some of our fabulous info leaflets if anyone wants some :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Crom_Abú

John O'Brennan chaired the debate.

Was just Norris and Higgins, Gallagher pulled out!

Heard rumours that McGuinness was never actually invited :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭BuroniKiisu

Crom_Abú wrote: »
    John O'Brennan chaired the debate.

Was just Norris and Higgins, Gallagher pulled out!

Heard rumours that McGuinness was never actually invited :O

ELSA told me that he was. He'll apparently be on campus himself next week, with a short Q&A section as part of the visit. That's gonna be fun to cover for The Print.

Aw that would have been good I'd say, John O'Brennan is some buck!

I heard McGuinness was going to be around next week though? And apparently Norris was serving food in the Phoenix :pac:

And apparently Norris was serving food in the Phoenix :pac:

Norris served at least two people curry. Pretty amusing. I'd originally thought he'd just take the photo and move on like Gallagher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Alt_Grrr

Norris served at least two people curry. Pretty amusing. I'd originally thought he'd just take the photo and move on like Gallagher.

I agree with his giving me curry policy, that must be said.

Outside of Curry, I'll keep my opinions to myself

Debate in university, check, students are mostly liberals, check, not too much press about, check, no right wing candidates about to interject, check, posture about how evil neo liberalism is, check. Michael D should be ashamed of himself, he's a member of the Labour Party who are as we speak attacking students through increases in the reg fee and through their Minister for Social Exclusion, Joan Burton, attacking the elderly and unemployed. Yet he's up there spouting on like he's an actual socialist.

The whole thing was cringeworthy. But there was some good banter between them and I do believe that those two are the best of an appalling bunch. I'd vote for Norris but then I just can't bring myself to :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭CaoimH_in

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    I'd vote for Norris but then I just can't bring myself to :(

Do it. Do it. Do it. Do it.

What I don't like is apparently an English lecture was cancelled for that farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Baile an Locha

Really really enjoyed the debate! Fair play to ELSA!

Yeh, in fairness it was enjoyable.

It was more a banter session than a debate, especially considering they argreed upon everything, but it was definitely entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭seriousfizz

Norris was at the 66 bus stop earlier today, having a chat to all of us waiting on the bus.

I wish I got to meet him :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 casper456789

I am a first yr involved with elsa, business and law soc. have to say i am loving elsa dn business loads. i feel like i am getting to know people n make friends. loved the debate today, elsa put in so much hard work to ty=ry get all candidiates the candidates just pulled out. same happened in galway and all. was great to have a q&A session. i am loving all these activites hope college stays like this. love maynooth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭A Changer

CaoimH_in wrote: »
    What I don't like is apparently an English lecture was cancelled for that farce.

Not cancelled, just postponed, as we were told. English finishes earlier than some other subjects, so they can fit an extra lecture in with no problems.

Gives me more time to finish reading Antony and Cleopatra, anyway! :pac: