Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

friday night fox control

• 16-10-2011 9:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Fox control Friday the 14 of October I got a call from my buddy to help him sort out a fox that paid his chicken pen and neighbors chicken pen a visit taking 6 chickens in total from them.I called to my buddy about 10 pm and we headed of with the Howa 223 & 40gr Hornady round .Down to the back fields we headed to get our mission started and spotted fox number 1 up in the hill gave a few calls and he eventually showed interest and started to make his way down to us but everything went to a stop as dogs on the farm started barking and we thought we blew our chances to get the fox as he was coming in nicely . We had to drive down the feild another bit to bring Charlie in from a different angle ,we got set up again and started calling again and on with the dimmer switch and charlie came down the field flat out .We had the dimmer beam jst ahead of Charlie bringing him into us , It was time for the full beam to stop him on his travels ,Up he looked and the 40gr was sent on it's merry way dropping Charlie at 110yards , My buddy was delighted and up to the neighbor to show the job was done and there was two relieved men with the result and it was this years dog fox in the bag :) fox number 2 was dropped in a field on one of our permissions at 160yards he just stayed looking at the light, A fine dog fox that was a couple of years old ..A good night on the foxes and a job well done
    image.jpg?t=1318795346

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

nice one well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Good shooting, those 40 grains are the business :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭PippaSpaniel

Good stuff kennells nice shooting!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Not a bad first post :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 kennells

johngalway wrote: »
    Good shooting, those 40 grains are the business :D
    Ya John they are a hard hitting bullet very happy with them. I will be putting a few more boxes of the 40gr out the barrel and hopefully more good results with them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭beretta391

must get a camera so i can make a book lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 kennells

4/11/11
    Got a call from a farmer yesterday afternoon to tell me he spotted a fox around the end of the field last couple of days and would I call to do a job before he makes way towards the chrismas turkeys no bother I'll be on tonyt i said as I was working late .
    All I hap couldn't wait to finish work and get to the permission to see what was the storie .around 8.30 myself and my buddy made our way back the fields only to shine into the 2nd field and what was sitting pretty only Carlie got myself ready off the bonnet of the jeep looking straight back at the amber filter about 90 yards out I sent the 223 hornady 40gr on it's way to the chest it was that lovely TUD sound .. Delighted we were and called it a night after that .. I took the picture this morning so u could see the damage it did to the chest . 63b451c9.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

kennells wrote: »
    4/11/11
    Got a call from a farmer yesterday afternoon to tell me he spotted a fox around the end of the field last couple of days and would I call to do a job before he makes way towards the chrismas turkeys no bother I'll be on tonyt i said as I was working late .
    All I hap couldn't wait to finish work and get to the permission to see what was the storie .around 8.30 myself and my buddy made our way back the fields only to shine into the 2nd field and what was sitting pretty only Carlie got myself ready off the bonnet of the jeep looking straight back at the amber filter about 90 yards out I sent the 223 hornady 40gr on it's way to the chest it was that lovely TUD sound .. Delighted we were and called it a night after that .. I took the picture this morning so u could see the damage it did to the chest . 63b451c9.jpg

thats a handy hole alright. this is what my .243 did the other night from 120y
    54bbcb89.jpg

Poor Carlie what did she ever do to you!!!

that was a kerry fox pippa. one of the few left that you didnt get:D

there are still a few more around. left for another night ;)

Plenty of them around alright!!! was takin the mick outta of kennells and his carlie or is it charlie!!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

who left that fox skin in the field paulo!!!the 243 fairly knocked the stuffing out of her

Plenty of them around alright!!! was takin the mick outta of kennells and his carlie or is it charlie!!!?

i see what you mean now:D

bazza888 wrote: »
    who left that fox skin in the field paulo!!!the 243 fairly knocked the stuffing out of her

ya we were left in no doubt as to weather or not it was dead. :D:D

it fairly turned it inside out

Hi Guys, myself and my shooting and lamping partner headed out last night to a sheep farmer who had been on to us during the week that he would be lambing shortly and could we give him a call Friday night and see if we could bag a fox for him cause he had a bit of trouble last year with lambs been taken by Mr Fox!! We said no problem and on the day before we called into the surrounding landowners and asked would it be ok to shoot there the following night all landowners were very obliging and said work away! A good evenings work and we headed off having been given the green light! The following night we headed to the farmers house and picked him up and brought him on with us. It was a perfect night cloudy not too bright and no feckin fog or rain which seemed to be non stop lately and no good for foxing!! All three of us headed off thru the fields lamping and calling and crossing fence after fence and crawling under barbed wire hoping to see those eyes light up!! Second field in we spotted eyes of Mr Fox on the horizon and our scent blowing west straight at him he didn’t stay long and disappeared over the hill we took the high ground and hoping he would be below us sure enough he was headed towards the wood below us he worked into the wind and was below on the woods border and just sat and watched us I lay on the ground and Kennels lamped him I put the crosshairs straight on his chest and pulled and clear thump was heard and the Mr Fox dropped on the spot in a heap a 110 meters out . We left the fox there and would return later to pick him up. We continued on and another field over saw a pair eyes again another fox but it was on top of a ditch 420meters out wasn’t responding to been called he did move off after awhile and headed towards a wood on the edge of a pond and disappeared into the wood and the magpies roosting in there went mad !!! That was it for ten minutes or more and the fox came out but it was 500meters or more and there was two and all the time the wind was against us sending our scent towards them!! We decided we would head back and pick up the fox we shot and head for home we lamped our way back and were near where we shot the last fox we spotted another pair of eyes sniffing the ground I dropped to the ground and fired and dropped Mrs Fox as we found out at a range of 137meters. The farmer was delighted and enjoyed it!!He said he didn’t know what to expect on the night he said he was fearing we would be firing at anything that moved!! We tied up our foxes and the farmer dragged them back to the farm yard. A good nights work done and good P.R. for us and the gun club!! That is what it’s about! I must say the those 243 58grain Hornady super performance are a great round they were clean kills and didn’t even exit the fox.
    DSCN1395-1.jpg

great work again there lads, fair play to ye ;)

Thanks poulo, keepin them happy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

Them 58gr v-max certainly seem to be working well for you. Nice rifle as well.

Myself and kennells were called on again by the same farmer where we shot two foxes the night before. This time we went to another farm where we could drive thru the fields. We were only lamping ten minutes, I was on the lamp this time when i caught a glimpse of a fox moving away and we stopped up straight away i gave one call and she lay down with only her head showing. We positioned ourselves for the shot the fox didn’t move an inch and kennells decided to go for it!! A shot rang out and there was the familiar thump! The Howa 223 and 40grain ballistic tip did the job as the picture shows!!
    DSCN1399-1.jpg