Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keneally Sub 2.14 in Amsterdam for OG standard?

• 16-10-2011 9:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭

Trying to get on to the site now to confirm but what looked like him crossing the line in just under 2.14 just there

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

He did yeah, Athletics Ireland tweeted that it was sub 2:14

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

He did yeah, Athletics Ireland tweeted that it was sub 2:14

Super result fastest Irish Marathon time in the last 9 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

ecoli wrote: »
    Super result fastest Irish Marathon time in the last 25 year

Mark Carroll 2002 ?

Haha oops slipped my mind:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

Kenneally 18th in 2.13.55. Irish marathon running on the rise at last!

Gary Thornton 29th in 2.19.27.

Rineanna wrote: »
    Kenneally 18th in 2.13.55. Irish marathon running on the rise at last!

Gary Thornton 29th in 2.19.27.

3 sub 2.20 runs in the space of 7 days is very optimistic alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

who is the other sub 2.20 and where did it happen ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

ultrapercy wrote: »
    who is the other sub 2.20 and where did it happen ?

Thomas Frazer in last weekend's Chicago marathon. Think he ran 2:19:40 or there abouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Yes great stuff. Pity things didn't go to plan for fagan last week. Hopefully Connolly can nail a similar time in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Caprica

Fantastic running by Kenneally. Does this mean he is guaranteed olympic selection? or is there any other hurdles to clear.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Was dificult to spot Kenneally from the side of the route, just wearing the same sponsors kit as the pace makers I think so I only saw him after he'd gone past me at around 5km and 10km'ish but couldn't pick him out at the later points on the route. Shouted for Gary a few times and he seemed to be running well, and waved back at me a couple of times too so must have been comfortable. :)

My mate was looking for a sub 2:30, but managed 2:28 according to his Garmin so is very happy with himself. Was chatting with Phil Wicks dad at one point on the course, Phil Wicks being the winner of the RunBritain Grand Prix series, and was aiming for the A standard today, think he might have just missed out though.

Was fantastic weather for it today so a bit anoyed that I wasn't running myself, but was different to be chasing my way around the course on a dodgy Dutch push bike to try and see as many points as possible. Hopefully have a couple of pictures in a day or so, but I think most of mine came out too bright or very blurry. The blurryness is not due to my drinking because of not running...honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Kenneally says drink stations were messed up. Only got his drink once after 5k, had to survive rest of race without his drinks.
    Presumably, had the fueling situation been better, he could have run even faster. Cracking performance.

Caprica wrote: »
    Fantastic running by Kenneally. Does this mean he is guaranteed olympic selection? or is there any other hurdles to clear.

Unless more than three athletes make the A-standard and he stays injury-free, then Kenneally will be selected for the Olympics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

My guess is that he will be selected. Do we even have 3 athletes that can make the A standard?? It's not like we have the strength of depth that the Kenyan's do.

I kind of think Fagan should be selected. He was on for 2:11 finish last weekend had he made it, it's not like he stepped off the track.

G-Money wrote: »
    I kind of think Fagan should be selected. He was on for 2:11 finish last weekend had he made it, it's not like he stepped off the track.
    It's really tough on Fagan, but he can't be pre-selected. I mean what If a couple of other runners make the 2:15 standard? It would be unfair on them making the grade, only to have the spot handed to someone who didn't manage to complete the race (even if they have better potential to achieve a better result).

Anyone see/hear any interviews with Fagan since Chicago?

It's really tough on Fagan, but he can't be pre-selected. I mean what If a couple of other runners make the 2:15 standard? It would be unfair on them making the grade, only to have the spot handed to someone who didn't manage to complete the race (even if they have better potential to achieve a better result).

I understand your point. If others get the qualifying standard, that's fair enough. But if we have a slot free, I guess it would be worth giving him a shot. He was so close to finishing. He probably could have walked the finish and still made the A standard.

My guess is that he will be selected. Do we even have 3 athletes that can make the A standard?? It's not like we have the strength of depth that the Kenyan's do.

Well Fagan cannot be selected unless he runs the A-standard time of 2:15hrs, you need the qualifying standard. I think there is a possibility we can have 3 qualified for London, Kenneally could be joined by Cragg and Connolly if things go well for them. Not sure what Fagan's chances are now though, it would be a very quick turn around for him to run another marathon in the spring and then peak again for the Olympics at the start of August. This would mean 3 marathons in under 10 months. It's possible but not ideal as we say.

I see. Well hopefully we will get 3 good athletes with the A standard.

Sean Connolly has a good chance of getting the standard in Dublin as has Cragg in Fukuoka. Not sure how or when Fagan might attempt another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

I've been told that he is motivated to try again after Chicago. Considering he was on for 2:11 he could run a 2:14/15 with something to spare and then still have time to push for a sub 2:10 in London. How many times have we been here with Fagan before, I'd love to see him do well but I would not bet on it. He is certainly physically stronger than he has been in the last 3/4 years but he does not have time on his hands - 9 months left for two marathon's at an elite level???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Didn't he qualify for Beijing by running Dubai, this is also Hailles route so I can see this as a strong contender.

Woddle wrote: »
    Didn't he qualify for Beijing by running Dubai, this is also Hailles route so I can see this as a strong contender.

Geb Running Tokyo in Feb from what the reports say

Sean Connolly has a good chance of getting the standard in Dublin as has Cragg in Fukuoka. Not sure how or when Fagan might attempt another.
    The sad irony is that he would likely have recorded a cracking time in Dublin, had he targeted it instead of Chicago. Oh well, you can't plan for weather and hindsight is a great thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

Dan man wrote: »
    . Not sure what Fagan's chances are now though, it would be a very quick turn around for him to run another marathon in the spring and then peak again for the Olympics at the start of August. This would mean 3 marathons in under 10 months. It's possible but not ideal as we say.

It would be a quck turn around, but Ryan Hall who ran Chicago last weekend has to run Houston in January if he wants to qualify for the US olympic team. So if Fagan really wants a place at the Olympics he will have to run one and get the time required to qualify.

groovyg wrote: »
    It would be a quck turn around, but Ryan Hall who ran Chicago last weekend has to run Houston in January if he wants to qualify for the US olympic team. So if Fagan really wants a place at the Olympics he will have to run one and get the time required to qualify.

The only difference here is that all Hall has to do there is win regardless of the time as he already has the standard so even as a 2.06 runner (2.04 if you count Boston) he may get away with a 2.10 or higher win.

In 2008 he won the trials by 2 min in a time of 2.09 from Ritz who has been struggling big time with injury so realistically you could even see him running 2.10

Compare that to Fagan who actually has to run a particular time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

Great news about Keneally, saw him cross the line on Eurosport this morning.

Fagan has targetted Houston before so should know a fair bit about it. Considering it's the US trials there'll be a good few runners of his standard who he knows from the racing circuit there, possibly even some of his old team mates, so it might sense for him to go for this one.

Is Ledwith running Dublin? I'd say he'd give Connolly a good race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭The Hammer

Clum wrote: »
    Is Ledwith running Dublin? I'd say he'd give Connolly a good race.

I heard Andrew Ledwith is running Dublin - not sure what shape he is in - has he ran a half marathon recently? I remember him easily winning the National Half last year. Not sure if he is even racing these days.

Would Ledwith be capable of sub 2-15? Certainly Connolly is at that standard (in my opinion)

Realistically Connolly and cragg could run the qualifying times in the next few weeks. Fagan should be able to run it early next year. Ledwitdh may have an outside chance, hard to judge as I haven't seen him in a high standard race recently.

That's 5 athletes who could potentially get the qualifying time. If that happened how would athletes be selected? those with fastest times?Will probably need a selection race as form around the time of games would have to be considered. It's a great dilemma for Irish athletics if it transpires :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭The Hammer

Is the "3 athletes" a constraint per country entering the Olympics? - it would be a great dilemma to have 5 guys qualify

What would happen then?

Would there be a "race-off" in another marathon? Or would it go on top three fastest times?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The US would have trials which you have to turn up at and place in the top three to get a place. The likes of the UK might have trails for a lot of events where they then give the places to the two winners, with qualifying times, and then the selectors get to pick a someone else with a qualifying time. So they have a bit more flexibility if there is a superstar name that really should be picked but doesn't perform at the trials.

Running a trial for the Marathon is bit tough though so would usually be down to selectors picking who they think is most likely to get a result from those that have the time.

There are 5 women also capable of getting the qualifying time and they are all running the Dublin Marathon.

The Hammer wrote: »
    Is the "3 athletes" a constraint per country entering the Olympics? - it would be a great dilemma to have 5 guys qualify

What would happen then?

Would there be a "race-off" in another marathon? Or would it go on top three fastest times?

Yes, unlike the world championship marathon (which doubles up as the marathon world cup and allows up to 5 competing members per country), countries can have only 3 athletes on the start-line at the Olympics. A fourth can be entered as a reserve but only 3 will start.

Can't you only have one B standard runner?

robinph wrote: »
    Can't you only have one B standard runner?

Yep, only one with B-standard, and if someone has the A-standard then no runner from the same country with a B-standard will qualify. So, all will need to aim for the A-time for this reason as well as the fact that the current stance of the O.C.I. is that only A-standards will do.

There are 5 women also capable of getting the qualifying time and they are all running the Dublin Marathon.

Ah women's sport doesn't count ;)

I'm jOking of course. Who are the 5 HW? I can think of 3. Mccambridge and Byrne would be my favourites to actually do it. Great if there are 5 though. Really makes the women's race in DCM interesting.

Ah women's sport doesn't count ;)

I'm jOking of course. Who are the 5 HW? I can think of 3. Mccambridge and Byrne would be my favourites to actually do it. Great if there are 5 though. Really makes the women's race in DCM interesting.

Those are probably the most likely, but the likes of Lorraine Manning, Siobhan O'Doherty, Gladys Ganiel-O'Neill, possibly Rosemary Ryan could get close if they had a good marathon....are they all running Dublin? Ava Hutchinson also will be interesting to see how she goes. But McCambridge and Linda Byrne would be our best hopes I think.

This is the list of Irish women taking part in Dublin. It would be great if 3 made the qualifying standard.

110 Maria McCambridge
    111 Ava Hutchinson
    113 Caitriona Jennings
    114 Gladys Ganiel
    115 Siobhan O'Doherty
    116 Rosemary Ryan
    117 Linda Byrne
    118 Lorraine Manning
    119 Pauline Curley
    120 Angela McCann
    123 Breege Connolly
    124 Claire McCarthy

Thanks for the list, great line-up there on the domestic front. Good luck to them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Superb running from Kenneally. Great to have at least 1 marathon entrant guaranteed.

This is the list of Irish women taking part in Dublin. It would be great if 3 made the qualifying standard.

110 Maria McCambridge
    111 Ava Hutchinson
    113 Caitriona Jennings
    114 Gladys Ganiel
    115 Siobhan O'Doherty
    116 Rosemary Ryan
    117 Linda Byrne
    118 Lorraine Manning
    119 Pauline Curley
    120 Angela McCann
    123 Breege Connolly
    124 Claire McCarthy

It would be amazing if three made the time. Absolutely incredible really. It would be a (pleasant) surprise if even one qualified in Dublin.

Linda Byrne seems the most likely. Her recent 3/4 marathon was done at 2.40 pace (approx). I don't know what that course was like or how much effort she put into the race. I would guess she had plenty left in the tank. Maria McCambridge is certainly capable of running 2.37 at her best.

Dublin seems a strange choice for people to chase the time. It's a relatively tough course compared to some others on offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Great to see Mark get the qualifying time.

Have to say though that the marathon qualifying standards are incredibly soft when you compare to events on the track and even more so in the field. Deirdre Ryan had to qualify for a world final to get her A-Standard ticket to London, while we are looking at times some 10 minutes off the world record in the men's, and over 20 minutes off the world record in the women's qualify for London in the marathon.

04072511 wrote: »
    Great to see Mark get the qualifying time.

Have to say though that the marathon qualifying standards are incredibly soft when you compare to events on the track and even more so in the field. Deirdre Ryan had to qualify for a world final to get her A-Standard ticket to London, while we are looking at times some 10 minutes off the world record in the men's, and over 20 minutes off the world record in the women's qualify for London in the marathon.

Simple, the marathon could have 1000 entrants and it would not effect the TV schedule. The standards are not as tough because they don't need to limit the numbers in the marathon. It's the same with the walks. The A standard for the 50km walk would be much lower than 3:59 if they needed to cut the field by 25%.

They don't want heats in the mens 10k so the standard is a stupid 27:45 (no Irish born athlete has ever run that quick). Same story across lots of events.

Has Cragg moved up to the marathon for London? I thought he was still targeting the 5000m?

Running Fukuoko in December (or has hinted strongly at it) with a view to running the marathon in London. He has the 5k standard as backup but has stated he believes he has zero chance of a medal/top finish in the 5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Clum wrote: »
    Fagan has targetted Houston before so should know a fair bit about it. Considering it's the US trials there'll be a good few runners of his standard who he knows from the racing circuit there, possibly even some of his old team mates, so it might sense for him to go for this one.

Fagan can't run in the trials as he is not American. He can run the "normal" Houston marathon, but with the Americans running the trials race a day before (or is it a day after) on a different course, his old team mates will definitely not be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

Fagan can't run in the trials as he is not American. He can run the "normal" Houston marathon, but with the Americans running the trials race a day before (or is it a day after) on a different course, his old team mates will definitely not be there.

My mistake. I thought the trials were being held in conjunction with the main marathon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

just a note about Ledwith as alot of people on here wouldn't know much about him.Indoor: 3k: 8:07.57; Outdoor: 1500m: 3:47.72; 5k: 14:01.11; 10k: 28:45.77.
    he also finished 3rd in THE ncaa crossc ountry champs in 2008.
    if he is fully fit he will run the standard.
    Sean Connolly will be very close to the standard,although starting a full time college course the last few months will make it tougher for him.

Regarding the women I think Maria and Linda will both get the standard.

Ps a small note on Mark Kenneally who has no sponsorship.
    Amazing such a fantastic athlete has no shoe sponsorship.
    Part of the marathon mission team which will help out in a small way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭Jnealon

Kenneally is not alone in the lack of sponsorship, shame really.
    To hold down a successful practice, train twice a day and put in over 120 miles per weeks deserves some sort of recognition.
    Some do get samples etc but most of the time it's gear they don't use.

just a note about Ledwith as alot of people on here wouldn't know much about him.Indoor: 3k: 8:07.57; Outdoor: 1500m: 3:47.72; 5k: 14:01.11; 10k: 28:45.77.
    he also finished 3rd in THE ncaa crossc ountry champs in 2008.
    if he is fully fit he will run the standard.
    Sean Connolly will be very close to the standard,although starting a full time college course the last few months will make it tougher for him.

Regarding the women I think Maria and Linda will both get the standard.

Ps a small note on Mark Kenneally who has no sponsorship.
    Amazing such a fantastic athlete has no shoe sponsorship.
    Part of the marathon mission team which will help out in a small way.

Seems to have adjusted fairly well so far setting PB in the half in build up to Dublin the Prep looks to have been going fairly well so hopefully the weather will be generous and allow for faster times as winds like today would be nightmare so hopefully conditions will favour faster times sooner to DCM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

Lazy question but what is the Woman's A Standard time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

2:37