Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's for a private access tips forum?

• 15-10-2011 4:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭

We all know bookies watch these sites, and with the tips thread having more than twice the views of the live betting it's clear there's people watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

im in with ya, great idea.

might be hard to block access though, i mean how do you know who's who. Ad who says that xyz isnt a bookie employee??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Great Idea, lets do it.

Let's log our bets and keep track of how much we're up or down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I imagine there are a number of PP bods who are regulars on the forum (even if mainly as browsers) and so they'll just follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

mike65 wrote: »
    I imagine there are a number of PP bods who are regulars on the forum (even if mainly as browsers) and so they'll just follow.

exactly, like who is a mole? How can you tell on an internet forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

PMs for the Crystal Palace and Sheriff moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

AdrianII wrote: »
    exactly, like who is a mole? How can you tell on an internet forum

I heard the mole is this guy

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=11538

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭fat tony9

great idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Yellowledbetter

Please make it so!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Good idea but it's not like it's impenetrable. Maybe a certain number of posts in the gambling forum or even on boards.ie before access to the pre game and live betting tips threads. That would require it's own sub forum i'd imagine unless specific threads can be hid from users. Suppose there's always the chance there are regular posters on here that do work for bookies. At least it would impede new users or guests from lurking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Like Horseboxo said it wouldn't be impenetrable but at least it would minimize the risk somewhat, I'd be up for joining!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭cup of tea

I'd be all for it also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

I may or may not be an employee of PP or Ladbrokes though may or may not lurk here.If you think their prices change due to some random bloke placing a 50 cent bet on something on their website/s then it may be time for tinfoil hats. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

d22ontour wrote: »
    I may or may not be an employee of PP or Ladbrokes though may or may not lurk here.If you think their prices change due to some random bloke placing a 50 cent bet on something on their website/s then it may be time for tinfoil hats. :rolleyes:

A poster on here said before that he knew someone who worked for a bookie and their job was to look on forums to see such things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Derek!

I'm with Samich, the bookies seem like a pack of ***** who would do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Jesus lads, in all fairness, I'd like to hope no-ones taking much heed of the tips thread, let alone the bookies. The success rate of the tips isn't exactly high, it's very clear that many people are posting their personal naps trying to get oneupmanship or whatever.
    Obviously theres also a few genuine tips in there from sound lads and theres been the odd(very odd mind) big priced winner.
    Theres nothing worse when someone throws up a horse well fancied by its "yard" at a high price and then it turns out there is a considerable drift or no movement in its price(bookies and exchanges) prior to the race.
    Basically no, doesn't seem like theres much of a need for a private forum, as I don't think any bookie is employing someone with a brief containing "boards.ie tips thread".

Was very sleepy today and just realised this was football forum so can't really comment, apologies, thought it was some delusional from the racing forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

only1stevo wrote: »
    Jesus lads, in all fairness, I'd like to hope no-ones taking much heed of the tips thread, let alone the bookies. The success rate of the tips isn't exactly high, it's very clear that many people are posting their personal naps trying to get oneupmanship or whatever.
    Obviously theres also a few genuine tips in there from sound lads and theres been the odd(very odd mind) big priced winner.
    Theres nothing worse when someone throws up a horse well fancied by its "yard" at a high price and then it turns out there is a considerable drift or no movement in its price(bookies and exchanges) prior to the race.
    Basically no, doesn't seem like theres much of a need for a private forum, as I don't think any bookie is employing someone with a brief containing "boards.ie tips thread".

Was very sleepy today and just realised this was football forum so can't really comment, apologies, thought it was some delusional from the racing forum.

For example, the UCD - Drogheda match, which was given a tip on here the the result at full time would switch from the half time. Lots of people put a bet on. Then the first part of the bet came in at HT, next thing UCd start to score and everyone thinks that tip was now true. Some people try to cover their bets but what do PP do when UCD went 4-2 up, they take the game off the market.

I didn't have another account at the time but evostevo I know for definite covered his bet and won over a grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I think it'd be good for _actual_ tips. Stuff like the Palace match, UCD - Drogheda or Mohsni for Southend last year. That way those really decent tips would be easily accessible and could be discussed in their own thread while this forum would still remain active like it is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭netnerd

As a bookie, I can assure you that neither I, my colleagues, or my fellow industry professionals would be coming on boards looking to see what people are planning to bet.

We will keep an eye out for moans/complaints/praise to help us with the service but - and this is nothing against any of your tipping - we wouldn't be moving any prices on the back of any one individuals tips.

Sure, if you all got involved in backing one selection, and the weight of money was such, then of course we'd move the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Which bookie are you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭stingerro

Lads, it's 3 days in row when we have a info/rumour about fixed match. We definitely should do private access part of forum, as sending PM is quite time consuming for somebody who got this kind of info. Not sure how mods should approach it, maybe they should choose some members for starting group for private forum and then more guys would be possible to join via invitation from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

stingerro wrote: »
    Lads, it's 3 days in row when we have a info/rumour about fixed match. We definitely should do private access part of forum, as sending PM is quite time consuming for somebody who got this kind of info. Not sure how mods should appreciated it, maybe they should choose some members for starting group for private forum and then more guys would be possible to join via invitation from them.

I agree, sounds like a plan, moderators could possibly choose who they recognise as regular posters, because yesterday the whole thread was just PM ME, PM ME, PM ME, these people never post and it would prevent circumstances like that happening in the future, it would be a good idea if it got the go ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭netnerd

after yesterdays PM fest, Im inclined to have changed my mind :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

what a load of nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

When ye say "tips" aren't ye all talking about profiteering from match fixing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Jesus no!

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I'll consider it, and have a word with Pyro at the end of week hopefully to gauge his thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭AstonMartin

only1stevo wrote: »
    Theres nothing worse when someone throws up a horse well fancied by its "yard" at a high price and then it turns out there is a considerable drift or no movement in its price(bookies and exchanges) prior to the race. Basically no, doesn't seem like theres much of a need for a private forum, as I don't think any bookie is employing someone with a brief containing "boards.ie tips thread". Was very sleepy today and just realised this was football forum so can't really comment, apologies, thought it was some delusional from the racing forum.

this sums it up. wait for a lot of profitable tips before trying to protect the source. It seems like 99% of the tips are made by people who dont even know how to price up an event with public information never mind have extra knowledge.