Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbours Kids and Responsibility

• 14-10-2011 5:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

who/what the feck are DH and FIL?

Why did this person put nails on top of the thing?

if it's on your property then no of course you shouldn't have to worry about other children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Father in law maybe? DH has me stumped, Darren Huckerby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Dh? FIL? Am I the only person wanting to erase the OP from the Internet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

How long have you lived there, what age are the kids? the fence is 5ft high, how are they climbing up on it.

mackg wrote: »

I assume she meant OH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

23Skidoo wrote: »
    Really couldn't find a more appropriate place to put this post, but since it contains a bit of a rant I thought I would put it here.
    Yeah 'cause we just fucking love rants in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Fil Mitchell ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Tell them to fúck off and stay of your property*.

*it helps if you are holding a shotgun at the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

DH is darling husband

Women use it on internet forums. Not so much on boards but there are Irish sites like weddingsonline where it's all over the place
    DD/DS darling daughter/darling son are others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

mackg wrote: »

I hopeing its not Dearest Husband.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

I'd tell them to go ****. I'd let them bring up a TD or who ever they like, until then i would not remove a thing. You are right about oe thing, if one of them little sh!tes has a fall in your garden a hurts themselves bad, they will be after your insurance.

mikemac wrote: »
    DH is darling husband

Mothers use it on internet forums.

<Vomit>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Climb over the fence into their side, take a dump in the middle of their garden, wipe you ass on something from their cloths line and gracefully vault back to your own side, make sure there's somebody watching....once should be enough for you to do it..........

DH is darling husband

Women use it on internet forums. Not so much on boards but there are Irish sites like weddingsonline where it's all over the place
    Jesus, I fucking hate that shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Smear the top of it with grease,the blacker the better.They'll never climb on it again after getting that on their clothes.;)

Any garage/auto factors will have it in stock.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

DH = Dear husband, I feel ashamed for knowing that.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

DH is darling husband

Holy ****in jaysis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

I suggest razor wire and a sign that says "Warning: Razor Wire". If they're thick enough to cut their hands to bits with a warning, they're idiots and deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Remove the nails. Replace with barbed wire. If they complain about that, remove the barbed wire and place some landmines instead. Soon they'll compromise and agree on the nails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

Your father in law is wrong: nails won't work, electrified barbed wire is better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ask the parents what business is it of their kids to be climbing on a fence that's not theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Give me the address. I'll fúck them up good, if you promise to cut out the "dh" fúckery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 23Skidoo

zerks wrote: »
    Smear the top of it with grease,the blacker the better.They'll never climb on it again after getting that on their clothes.;)

Any garage/auto factors will have it in stock.

That's what the plan was originally. However, after much procrastination by himself, his dad decided to take it upon himself to finish the job, so to speak

Ah for jaysus' sake DH I've never read as anything but 'De Husband' I know it's used on wedding sites and lots of other forums as well, as 'darling' and 'dearest' and all that jazz. if I'd known I was posting in the 'manly men afraid of something that might sound a bit soft' section I'd have just wrote 'That yoke what beat me in the head with a club and dragged me back to his cave'. A bit too long to reduce to an acronym lads.

Anyways, my genuine question here is am I in the right? If they are stupid enough to climb on it, not that they'll get hurt anyway, but if anything happens it's their own thick fault. Will be deleting OP soon since 'TYWBMITHWACADMBTHC' isn't keen on me spreading our problems on t'internet

No you are not right. Be nice to the neighbours kids, you might need their help some day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ah for jaysus' sake DH I've never read as anything but 'De Husband' I know it's used on wedding sites and lots of other forums as well, as 'darling' and 'dearest' and all that jazz. if I'd known I was posting in the 'manly men afraid of something that might sound a bit soft' section I'd have just wrote 'That yoke what beat me in the head with a club and dragged me back to his cave'. A bit too long to reduce to an acronym lads.
    Nothing to do with it looking soft, just to do with it looking cringey and forced (moreso when it stands for "darling husband" though) - a number of the objectors to it on this thread are female.

Will be deleting OP soon since 'TYWBMITHWACADMBTHC' isn't keen on me spreading our problems on t'internet
    Tell him as long as its just your problems and not your legs, he's not got much to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Hi All,

Really couldn't find a more appropriate place to put this post, but since it contains a bit of a rant I thought I would put it here. Basically, the house we are in has a grand long garden and shortly after we moved in we put a fence around one side of it (about 5ft high) to try and keep out the kids that kept booting footballs into the garden and generally making a nuisance of themselves on our property.

So that was all well and good, we planted some bushes around the fence, idea being eventually the fence will be gone and nice big thick bushes remain. Then the kids started climbing on top of the thing, booting holes in it when they were sitting on top and jumping down on top of the plants we had, and playing monkey bars on an arch we had built at the top near the house. Myself and DH talked for a while about it, and he was at some point going to smear the top of it with burglar proof paint to get the little ****s filthy and discourage them from climbing on it. Today I came home to find that my FIL ( who has been working on the house for us) had put nails all along the top of it, something similar to those pigeon-stopping things you see in train stations. However, he nailed them into the fence so there's nothing sharp sticking out or anything.

So then tonight the one who lives next door came up to the house and said 'other neighbours' were complaining about it already, threatening to contact TD's and all this nonsense to get us to take them down because they're a hazard to the kids who will 'end up in temple street'.

My point is, firstly the fence is entirely on my property, we built inside the boundary fence to make sure of that, so anything I do with it surely is my business. If the kids weren't climbing on the fcuking thing in the first place, they wouldn't get hurt, and thirdly they wouldn't get hurt anyway because its not like it's broken glass on top of the thing. My fear is that (as well as being extremely annoying) one of these days, some kid will climb on it, fall off, break his neck in my garden, and the parents will come down on me anyway.

Am I in the wrong here? I honestly cant see the problem, if these people (who don't have the courtesy, let alone the balls to talk to me directly) kept proper control over their kids and didn't let them go around disrespecting other people's property, there would be no issue. If I did some of the stuff these kids do when I was younger I would have gotten a clout around the ear!
    Will be deleting OP soon since 'TYWBMITHWACADMBTHC' isn't keen on me spreading our problems on t'internet
    Just as well I quoted it above so.......:p

Lol OP nice acronym.

Seriously, doesn't matter if it's your land they could still go for a personal injury claim if they get hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭friendlylady

Seriously, it's your land, let them go to their TD's if they want to, not a thing they can do about it. But maybe now the parents of these kids are getting the message loud and clear i.e. Look after their kids and stop them destroying other peoples property!

Don't be worrying, you are not at fault here. Unfortunately some parents now think that their kids have carte blanche to do exactly as they please, but they will be paying for it big time when those same kids are adolescents, mark my words.:(

Seriously, it's your land, let them go to their TD's if they want to, not a thing they can do about it. But maybe now the parents of these kids are getting the message loud and clear i.e. Look after their kids and stop them destroying other peoples property!

Don't be worrying, you are not at fault here. Unfortunately some parents now think that their kids have carte blanche to do exactly as they please, but they will be paying for it big time when those same kids are adolescents, mark my words.:(

Unfortunately I think it's more a case of the kids thinking they have carte blanche because the parents don't give a sh1t either way... Package of crips and a boggle of coke for dinner, and roam the streets til after 11pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭friendlylady

In some cases, yes maybe, but, I like to think that many of us parents are responsible with our children.

But for these unruly few, I really do think that there is a case for the parents being held culpable for their kids misdemeanours. In the mean time you have to protect your property!!! And unfortunately in these times there is no question of anyone being able to move house.

Do what you have to within reason and if in doubt a friendly chat with your local garda might put you in the picture as regards your rights.:)

In some cases, yes maybe, but, I like to think that many of us parents are responsible with our children.

Oh yeah, absolutely, that's by no means directed at all parents and kids, or even the majority of decent folk. But the small minority of sh!ts somehow have the ability to make themselves seem far more numerous and invasive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

VD can mean Vaginal Discharge, hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Putting nails in the fence is evil.

But you see your honour the gas chamber was on my land and the DJs (Darling J..s) walked into it. Not my fault.