Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Crash - how much to fix damage!?

• 14-10-2011 4:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭

had a bit of a bump...

how much would it cost to fix the front of this car (its a mitsubishi colt from the late 90s).pics below. just want to get an idea. :)

is there a patch up job that could be done that wouldnt cost much and would pass nct too??

6243533721_47e901550d_z.jpg
    IMG_20111014_160601 by montytheferret, on Flickr

6243533353_aa2cd05faa_z.jpg
    IMG_20111014_160629 by montytheferret, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Ouch. Not a clue on price but that looks Like a pretty bad bump :(
    Could well be underlying damage. if so, won't be cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 alexr1

it should be easy enough to get 2nd hand parts from a breakers, between parts and labour probably €500.if youre lucky you might even get parts the same colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

alexr1 wrote: »
    it should be easy enough to get 2nd hand parts from a breakers, between parts and labour probably €500.if youre lucky you might even get parts the same colour

I'd say if you multiply that by 4, you'd be closer to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭wee truck big driver

Avns1s wrote: »
    I'd say if you multiply that by 4, you'd be closer to it.
    should get the parts for about 150 euro including radiator. anybody looking for more would be ripping you off. most of it should bolt on easy enough i would say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

You're not going to get the parts for 150. From looking at the photos, there's a bumper, wing, bonnet, bumper carrier, headlight, indicator, radiator surround all needed, and that's just to my half drunken eyes on a Friday night without having the car in front of me. Breakers yards aren't as cheap as people think, and even using pattern parts, the bill will still be expensive.

as i said any breakers looking for more than 150 max 200 euro would be ripping you off. this car no offence is scrap. you could buy one for that sort of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 alexr1

id say youre right with 2k but on a 97 car a quick patch up job, 500 should do a lot if ya source the parts yourself

Most breakers yards I've been to to source secondhand parts in the last few years have been anything but cheap - in most cases, I've been able to source pattern parts cheaper than I could get second hand parts from a breakers. You're in fantasy land if you think you're going to get those parts for even 200 euro.

The OP's probably not a spray painter, or a mechanic, so they'll have to factor in labour too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

2000 euro to fix that. Ah here come on, calm yourself down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭montytheferret

yes the OP is defo not a spray painter or a mechanic... it might have to be offloaded for parts or scrap...would it fetch any money at all?

Owen wrote: »
    Most breakers yards I've been to to source secondhand parts in the last few years have been anything but cheap - in most cases, I've been able to source pattern parts cheaper than I could get second hand parts from a breakers. You're in fantasy land if you think you're going to get those parts for even 200 euro.

The OP's probably not a spray painter, or a mechanic, so they'll have to factor in labour too.
    if you look at cars going to be melted down for scrap there would be much better cars than a 97 colt. if a breaker took one of these in they would be glad to sell a few bits off it before it goes to the recylers. if it was worth 200 melted down it would be nice to get another 150 euro for a few bits off it. if you stuck for parts owen. change your breaker. if you buy spurious parts you will have to paint them realistically it will cost more than the car is worth

That's not how breakers yards work :rolleyes:

Breakers don't care if parts sell quickly, or slowly. In the end, parts always sell, and sell at a profit. Car comes in crashed, they strip the saleable parts straight away, put the parts into storage, and send the remainder of the car away for recycling. At that point, the breaker is under no pressure to sell the bits quickly before the car gets 'melted down'.

That's not how breakers yards work :rolleyes:

Breakers don't care if parts sell quickly, or slowly. In the end, parts always sell, and sell at a profit. Car comes in crashed, they strip the saleable parts straight away, put the parts into storage, and send the remainder of the car away for recycling. At that point, the breaker is under no pressure to sell the bits quickly before the car gets 'melted down'.
    yes and there would be a queue of people looking for parts for a colt. not...and of course they have endless space to keep parts of antique cars just in case somebody might want them

Now you're just talking rubbish. We're in a recession, people are holding on to cars for much longer now, and a 97 colt is hardly an antique. There's quite a lot of colts on the road these days. Endless space isn't needed. Wings can be stored on pallet racking side by side like a deck of cards, bumpers can be nested into one another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Not a hope in hell of getting parts for 200 quid. You might be very lucky to get a rear ended one thats been broken by a private seller and the chances of that are very slim.

Now you're just talking rubbish. We're in a recession, people are holding on to cars for much longer now, and a 97 colt is hardly an antique. There's quite a lot of colts on the road these days. Endless space isn't needed. Wings can be stored on pallet racking side by side like a deck of cards, bumpers can be nested into one another.
    well you keep going to dear scrap yards and paying top dollar and i will keep going to places where i can get an actual bargain and if i dont i will tell them what i think the parts or worth if they take it they will get repeat buisness from me. if they dont they will be unpolitely told what i think of them and told where they can stick there parts and buisness (this has happened). i was once asked by a beaker for 60 euro for a part that i could buy brand new in dealer for 25 euro. when i pointed this out he spluttered out something about not being a charity and how much the car cost him. to which myself who normally remains calm nearly choked him and called him for all the c.nts e.t.c considering i had left probably a 1000 euro with him previously. told him i wouldnt be near him again to which the price came down dramatically. asked him to take part off and when he did i told him to stick it where the sun dont shine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

well you keep going to dear scrap yards and paying top dollar and i will keep going to places where i can get an actual bargain and if i dont i will tell them what i think the parts or worth if they take it they will get repeat buisness from me. if they dont they will be unpolitely told what i think of them and told where they can stick there parts and buisness (this has happened). i was once asked by a beaker for 60 euro for a part that i could buy brand new in dealer for 25 euro. when i pointed this out he spluttered out something about not being a charity and how much the car cost him. to which myself who normally remains calm nearly choked him and called him for all the c.nts e.t.c considering i had left probably a 1000 euro with him previously. told him i wouldnt be near him again to which the price came down dramatically. asked him to take part off and when he did i told him to stick it where the sun dont shine

Charming!

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Not a hope in hell of getting parts for 200 quid. You might be very lucky to get a rear ended one thats been broken by a private seller and the chances of that are very slim.
    so just after looking on gumtree 98 colt for sale for 300 euro. but if i was you are owen i would definetly be prepared to pay 500 euro for a few bits of a car that i could buy whole for 300 euro. what big windows some srapyards must have.

Avns1s wrote: »
    Charming!
    useful post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

so just after looking on gumtree 98 colt for sale for 300 euro. but if i was you are owen i would definetly be prepared to pay 500 euro for a few bits of a car that i could buy whole for 300 euro. what big windows some srapyards must have.

Well done. Post a link so for the OP so he can buy it for parts.;)

Brilliant work Weeman. Post us up a link, if it's the same colour, the OP would be mad not to buy it. They'll still need someone to fit the bits, but if it saves them a few quid, then why not.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Well done. Post a link so for the OP so he can buy it for parts.;)
    why wouldnt he drive it and keep his own for parts. if he looks on gumtree shouldnt be too hard to find it ads fairly recent so should be still there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭JamBur

Yet another internet hardman. I find it hard to believe that you nearly choked the scrappy as pr your earlier post. Why dont you post a link to the colt for 300?
    Owen has worked in various areas of the motor trade for a long time, he's a knowledgeable poster, and I'm sure the op recognises this. (not that Owen needs me to defend him:) )

hoisted by my own petard:):p

JamBur wrote: »
    Yet another internet hardman. I find it hard to believe that you nearly choked the scrappy as pr your earlier post. Why dont you post a link to the colt for 300?
    Owen has worked in various areas of the motor trade for a long time, he's a knowledgeable poster, and I'm sure the op recognises this. (not that Owen needs me to defend him:) )
    owen may be a knowledgable poster. maybe parts in cork or 3 times what i would be prepared to pay. was there any good reason for your post which just looks like a bit of brown nosing

I needed some facial tan....

tbh I wanted to see the link to the 300 yoyo colt, well done on finding it. Now back to your Chuck Norris lifestyle with you

chuck norris..........hhmmm............ so how did you know about my third fist under my beard

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I've used a couple of breakers the past few years for parts at times, and they are cheap only if you are knowledgeable about cars and able to take out the part yourself imo

Any "popular" part will come at a premium, and I'd count most of what the OP needs as those.

Great service offered by breakers etc, but you have to factor in the cost.

Given I'd a far more minor accident in my car recently and was looking at replacing a door and some bodywork and it came in at min. €500 in total, I'd no be surprised at 1.5-2k for that damage, especially if there is any non cosmetic damage.

That €500 included €80 for a replacement door from a breaker, the labour to swap the door out, and the work to get rid of several deep gouges around the door.

is it illegal to drive around with a car in this state??.. it has a valid NCT!!

What would the guards do if they saw it driving?

see the photos at the start of this thread... thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

had a bit of a bump...

how much would it cost to fix the front of this car (its a mitsubishi colt from the late 90s).pics below. just want to get an idea. :)

is there a patch up job that could be done that wouldnt cost much and would pass nct too??

6243533721_47e901550d_z.jpg
    IMG_20111014_160601 by montytheferret, on Flickr

6243533353_aa2cd05faa_z.jpg
    IMG_20111014_160629 by montytheferret, on Flickr

better off buying a 'new' car tbh.

could hazard a guess of getting a 90s colt for sub 1,500eu ish.

be hard pushed to fix that for a grand, its hardly rocket science.

oh yeah theres no question about that... this car is not going to be fixed.. money will be saved for a different car and this car will be offloaded as scrap..

Just wondering if its illegal to drive it like that tho. probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

that car is f***ed.. you cant drive that on a public road.

if your stuck for money just buy a corolla or something cheap, gets you around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭McP2011

Say if I was breaking one of those for the parts alone I would be charging around 140 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

Three words that should close the thread. Economic Write Off. Unrealistic to repair that given relative costs of work and car.