Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this planet X worth the asking Price ?

• 14-10-2011 3:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭

€2300 Is this planet X worth the asking Price ?

View2-8326063.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

How do you know it's a planet X?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

fat bloke wrote: »
    How do you know it's a planet X?:pac:

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/bicycles/2622713

Because the nice person in the advert who calls himself "Seller" (bad sign? ) says its a planet X and it has lovely Plannet X stickers all over it inc wheels.

I wouldn't be stupid enough to buy it without seeing a shop receipt.

Do i smell an air of imitations scam ?

That's why I posted here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I thought only their track bike came in that weave, the fork is certainly not a planet-x one. The X on the headtube is not from planet x, the SL pro carbon used to do an embossed X, now they have nothing. It's probably a chinese frame dressed up to look like a planet-x, which would make it like any other planet-x.

Whatever about the origin of the frame, the bike is not worth that, maybe half that.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I thought only their track bike came in that weave, the fork is certainly not a planet-x one. The X on the headtube is not from planet x, the SL pro carbon used to do an embossed X, now they have nothing. It's probably a chinese frame dressed up to look like a planet-x, which would make it like any other planet-x.

Whatever about the origin of the frame, the bike is not worth that, maybe half that.

Thanks, wheel decals look genuine but frame decals look imitation.

I'll email him to get where he bought it and what receipt he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Paul Kiernan

The Dura Ace groupset is one that has not been produced for years. The cassette looks well used and appears to be 9-speed. Are those scratches all over the gear hanger?

Very hard to value from pictures alone but I would think even less than half asking.

I think fat bloke was gently taking the piss out of the logos.

It is almost certainly a Planet X. No one would sell a fake Planet X. :pac:

The frameset is about €500 new, as are the wheels. If that really is a full Dura Ace groupset (if it is it looks a bit old as I think the newer stuff is darker grey) then that would have added €1400 ish. It is difficult to see where the other €1600+ came from.

It's a bit of an odd choice putting a high end groupset on such a relatively basic frame.

Do you really want tubular wheels?

A brand new Planet X with current dura ace and ordinary wheels goes for about €1800 (here).

I wouldn't pay more than €1200 for it even if it had 10sp dura ace and I wanted those wheels, which I don't.

edit: I said "A brand new Planet X with current dura ace and ordinary wheels goes for about €1800". I should have said "A brand new Planet X with bits of current dura ace", since Planet X tend to substitute cheaper parts for everything apart from the shifters and mechs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Bigus wrote: »
    Thanks, wheel decals look genuine but frame decals look imitation.

I'll email him to get where he bought it and what receipt he has.

You could even email the photos to planet X, I'm sure they will be able to spot one of their frames.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Buy a Giant defy full carbon fecking great bike

Jesus, that really does look like a fake Planet X frameset. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Looks like he stuck a barely used 7800 gruppo on it and stuck on some new contact points.

As Paul said, I'd be slightly suspicious about the marks on the hanger. He might have dropped the bike under a different guise and did a complete makeover to hide any signs of a bad crash??

@Bigus, what size frame are you after? Yer man is stretching it a bit when he says a 53cm toptube will fit a 5'11 rider.

edit; its a chinerello, isn't it? The cheek of the man.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

I think it is a rebadged something.
    To my knowledge PX have never sold that frame combination/shape, curved forks and aero seat tube. Note also the PX decal on the left side of the seat tube is upside down.
    Those decals can be bought on ebay so the wheels are probably dressed up as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Sold!!:eek::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭amjon.

Bigus wrote: »
    €2300 Is this planet X worth the asking Price ?

View2-8326063.jpeg

NFW

Thanks Lads, for all the help,either its sold and he's on to a good thing or he reads Boards.
    Frame Decals defo look dodgy

I'm 5"10 & I currently have a reasonably good hybrid, but hanker after a bike (not necessarily a racer) to up my distance travelled when I'm out for two or three hours, Bike would be limited to weekend road use with gearing suit hills, I'm overweight and no spring chicken either,but I will be doing up to 140km at some stage.