Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Skeleton uncovered in Smithfield

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

sf80 wrote: »

I have a bone to pick with that bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭GoldenTickets

Degsy wrote: »
    I have a bone to pick with that bloke.

There is nothing humerus about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

oh my!

wonder how long its been there?!!!

I told ESB thats a graveyard !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭OwlsZat

Looks like distant rather than recent history. Wonder what Smithfield was many moons ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Sooopie wrote: »
    oh my!

wonder how long its been there?!!!
    i believe that they found a coin around its neck,which said on it,;irish hide and seek champion 1863

I understand its U2 frontman Bone-O.

OwlsZat wrote: »
    Looks like distant rather than recent history. Wonder what Smithfield was many moons ago?

Its at the same level as the pipes to the left of the screen so it cant be that old..

However we should know more about it to-marrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

This has happened in Galway a few years back and it was found out later they were executed prisoners buried in a paupers grave there and then

Was Smithfield the place in Dublin for this?

mikemac wrote: »
    This has happened in Galway a few years back

Near Schull was it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

Near Schull was it?

That remains to be seen.

Is the Guard in the picture a member of the Traffic Corpse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

mikemac wrote: »
    This has happened in Galway a few years back and it was found out later they were executed prisoners buried in a paupers grave there and then

Was Smithfield the place in Dublin for this?
    Only on horse fair days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭OwlsZat

Poor time to get dug up, looks like he is going to get nicked and all!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

Another resident of Dublin Central gets a dig-out :rolleyes:

It's pre-1660s, apparently.

scaled.php?tn=0&server=864&filename=yaqyehx.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=640

BeerNut wrote: »

The bones appear to belong to a female..i reckon her name was Denise.:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

Took me longer than it should have to get that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Not even in a proper grave yard

Must be a no body

Took me longer than it should have to get that!
    I thought it was obvious,tibia honest witha you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

jaysus lads, let it rest

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

quite day in work, Degsy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Jesus this sh1te is dreadful. so many stand up comics in one place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

the first englishman to tell a irish joke ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Helium

That fella in high vis jacket looks like he has a boner!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

The comment under the pic says ' Skeleton found in May ' Is this an old pic that's been dug up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

not yet wrote: »
    Jesus this sh1te is dreadful. so many stand up comics in one place.

Somebody needs to have a sternum word with them.

irishbird wrote: »
    quite day in work, Degsy?

Yep..quiet as the grave.

Dont mind me,i'm just ribbing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭DeepSleeper

A skeleton has been found in a hole in Smithfield.... Gardaí are looking into it...

Gardai said due to cutbacks they now have to operate with a skeleton staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Gardai said due to cutbacks they now have to operate with a skeleton staff.
    Sounds like a grave situation.

vektarman wrote: »

Dont be so shallow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭dominiquecruz

vektarman wrote: »

:rolleyes: Good one. None of us cadaver top that.

Gardai believe this was the last thing the man saw

05-boulder.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Lookin at the first photo therem there's some pipes right beside the skeleton. How could someone lay those pipes without noticing it??

PS Its May Lane behind Smithfiled Square. Its where the roadworks are taking place right in front of the Old Jameson Distillery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭DeepSleeper

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Lookin at the first photo therem there's some pipes right beside the skeleton. How could someone lay those pipes without noticing it??

I'd say the trench for those pipes was just a little higher than the skeleton, in which case they weren't exposed at the time, or else the machine-dug pipe trench truncated the skeleton - archaeological remains are often truncated by later activity and often the machine-operator genuinely doesn't notice because they are digging a vertical trench through horizontal strata/remains - It happens... The driver is watching out for buried cables/pipes/rocks and a bone fragment or two (he'd only see fragments, not the whole thing normally) wouldn't raise an eyebrow as he'd probably consider them to be dumped animal bones if he saw them.

We won't know the story until the archaeologist issues their report (or a press release) - that will tell us if the skeleton was intact or truncated...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

Smithfield was a burial site for execution victims in the 17th century. The public gallows was in Hammond Lane, a corruption of Hangmans Lane... a good number of skeletons were excavated by archaeologists in the area during the past few years.

I was on one such dig in 2005.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Did u find any skeletons, or was the site boneless??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

boneless wrote: »
    Smithfield was a burial site for execution victims in the 17th century. The public gallows was in Hammond Lane, a corruption of Hangmans Lane... a good number of skeletons were excavated by archaeologists in the area during the past few years.

I was on one such dig in 2005.

And look at what happened to you!

dsmythy wrote: »
    And look at what happened to you!

Look what happened to the bloke they murdered and buried!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

Another skeleton found this morning, looks to be a small child, hav a pic but can't upload from mobile

dave80 wrote: »
    Another skeleton found this morning, looks to be a small child, hav a pic but can't upload from mobile

178303.jpg

It looks like they could now be excavating in what was once the churchyard at the back of St Michans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

I have just been speaking to one of the team at the site. Indeed, it does look like it is part of the extended St Michans cemetery. They found nails and traces of wood, possibly from coffins in the same contexts as the skeletons.

And to answer some of the quips above, I am boneless due to severe artrithis :p... possibly due to all that digging up bones!! :D