Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst act of hypocrisy you've ever witnessed?

• 14-10-2011 11:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭

This might be an interesting idea for a thread.

What's the most hypocritical thing you have seen yourself, not on the news.

I remember when my sister made her confirmation, we were in the Church, she had recently had a falling out with her friend, they were 12 years old fighting over something stupid. Anyway the confirmation went as normal, everyone saying prayers, including the friend's mother. Prayers included our father, "as we forgive those who trespass against us" etc.

After the mass had ended when people were still in the church talking, my sister went up to the friend with whom she had a fight to say hello and try to forget about them not talking. The friend's mother, the traditional Irish religious mammy, grabbed her daughter as she was about to speak to my sister and turned her away telling her not to speak to her.

So, what stories have ye got for us?

As much of a church-basher that I am, please not let this thread delve into a catholic church bashing one, my example was just about the woman herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Charlie Haughey telling the country we need to tighten our belts.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

how is your story an act of hypocricy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

OMG typical fecking Catholic hypocrites! Who they think they are eh? Bloody Catholics always doing this sort of stuff it just gets me so angry. I think we should turn this thread into a church bashing one!

I'm sure the OP will agree with this.

Fecking Catholics..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

We are all hypocrites sometimes,no one is perfect. You will see plenty of it on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

phasers wrote: »
    how is your story an act of hypocricy?

Are you joking? 2 kids who are friends have a falling out over something silly. Then 1 kid tries to patch things up with the 1 by going over to her and saying hello. The mother of that friend, who was saying prayers about love and forgiveness less than half an hour beforehand, then physically stops her child from talking to her friend because they had a little childish tiff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Rebel021

hondasam wrote: »
    We are all hypocrites sometimes,no one is perfect. You will see plenty of it on boards.
    Stop trying to ruin AH:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Dan133269 wrote: »
    Are you joking? 2 kids who are friends have a falling out over something silly. Then 1 kid tries to patch things up with the 1 by going over to her and saying hello. The mother of that friend, who was saying prayers about love and forgiveness less than half an hour beforehand, then physically stops her child from talking to her friend because they had a little childish tiff.
    that's it? Maybe the child had tols her mother mad stories about what the other girl did? Maybe she just didn't want the day ruined by another argument?

What an insignificant event to get angry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Charlie Haughey telling the country we need to tighten our belts.

+1. Also Peter Sutherland saying the same thing last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Rebel021 wrote: »
    Stop trying to ruin AH:mad:

Explain please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

This one time after we'd gone to see the Care Bears movie in the cinema I didn't give any of my sweets to my little brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

The Catholic Pope, and pretty much everything he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

My dad telling my sister she shouldn't be smoking whilst he was smoking!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

The Catholic Pope, and pretty much everything he does.

If you think he's bad you should see the space pope. Bastard.