Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motors Meet - Dyno Runs

• 12-10-2011 8:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭

Ok we'll following on from here there will be a Dyno day in our place on Saturday October 29th - 11am start and we finish when we finish :). All welcome, doesn't matter what you're driving and you don't even have to get the car dyno'd. These days are always great craic (this is the 4th boards.ie Dyno Day) and lead to a lot of slagging banter.

If you want to Dyno the car it will cost €40, this gives the power oputput of the car but it will also tell us how healthy or unhealthy the car is and will come with sound advice from the operator. We will also have our Irish Touring Car on display and my oen build has started and is also there for anybody that wants a nosey. I'll stick on some snacks too.

The Location is in the Malahide Road Industrial Park, Dublin 17. 10 minutes from the Airport

Some pics from previous days

15837_188786867824_744852824_2979932_8340471_n.jpg
    154844.JPG
    217147_10150155457718682_698008681_6889274_6787523_n.jpg
    154807.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Count me in.

1. EPM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

1. EPM - Tractor
    2. Drummerboy08 - Pimp mobile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I should be there too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Change that back or I'll tell you what the trade value your car at buddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

If we could keep an organised list it'd be great

So if it can be done like this. I'm assuming you don't want to run the S2000 again Jimmy?

Dyno
    EPM
    Drummerboy08

Spectating
    Jimmy Bottlehead

Change that back or I'll tell you what the trade value your car at buddy

Meh. I've been pricing...I'm all too aware unfortunately:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Dyno
    EPM
    Drummerboy08
    Draffodx

Spectating
    Jimmy Bottlehead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭kuro2k

Dyno
    EPM
    Drummerboy08
    Draffodx
    kuro2k

Spectating
    Jimmy Bottlehead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,307 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Dyno
    EPM
    Drummerboy08
    Draffodx
    kuro2k

Spectating
    Jimmy Bottlehead
    Quazzie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Dyno
    EPM
    Drummerboy08
    Draffodx
    kuro2k
    Marlow

Spectating
    Jimmy Bottlehead
    Quazzie

I might even bring the M5 for this, hopefully with the new modifications in place.

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Dyno
    EPM
    Drummerboy08
    Draffodx
    kuro2k
    Marlow
    JJJJNR really looking forward to seeing what my yoke is putting out with high mileage on.

Spectating
    Jimmy Bottlehead
    Quazzie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Only had her dyno'd there a few wks ago & nothing done since so I'll just drop up say hi :)

Can someone put me down on the list, on my phone in a bar in Fueraventura atm :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I can't commit until a couple of days beforehand, as it's a busy period in work. But i'm definitely interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Jemmy wrote: »
    Only had her dyno'd there a few wks ago & nothing done since so I'll just drop up say hi :)

Can someone put me down on the list, on my phone in a bar in Fueraventura atm :p
    Well for some!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Was there an issue previously with a Beemer going into limp mode or something while being dyno'd? Do the newer Beemers dyno okay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

Will try to make it would like to Dyno the x1 for the craic but won't know till a couple of days beforehand.

Dyno
    EPM
    Drummerboy08
    Draffodx
    kuro2k
    Marlow
    JJJJNR
    BDJW (maybe)

Spectating
    Jimmy Bottlehead
    Quazzie
    Jemmy
    alexmcred
    TheBazman wrote: »
    Was there an issue previously with a Beemer going into limp mode or something while being dyno'd? Do the newer Beemers dyno okay?

on E39/E46 you need to pull the right fuses to turn TC/DSC fully off. We tried to dyno an E92 335i last time and failed. Dunno with the E60/E61. Best to research dyno prep first.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Marlow wrote: »
    Dyno
    EPM
    Drummerboy08
    Draffodx
    kuro2k
    Marlow
    JJJJNR
    BDJW (maybe)

Spectating
    Jimmy Bottlehead
    Quazzie
    Jemmy
    alexmcred
    Chuck Norris

/M

All going well I'll be there. I'll confirm a few days before hand. Wouldn't mind getting another look at Jimmys S2000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

TheBazman wrote: »

Our resident german car tuner wasn't there that day. I'll make sure he's there this time. Your car will be fine anyway baz :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

on E39/E46 you need to pull the right fuses to turn TC/DSC fully off. We tried to dyno an E92 335i last time and failed. Dunno with the E60/E61. Best to research dyno prep first.

/M

Would the traction control /DSC button not have worked? :P

Or does "off" not actually equate to off?

Would the traction control /DSC button not have worked? :P

Or does "off" not actually equate to off?

DSC Off turns DSC off, but not traction control. With the E39 M5's, the ECU then gets confused, when the front wheels don't turn, but the rear wheels do and re-activates everything.

In theory, holding DSC in, while turning ignition on and starting the engine should switch it off, but depending on model year, it might not work.

Disconnecting the ABS plug or pulling the correct fuses (in my E39 M5 there's 2 of'em) guarantees a problem free dyno run.

With the E92 335i we had followed the procedure outlined for dyno runs and the result was, that it refused and went into limp mode. Took a few miles driving, as far as I know, before it became healthy again.

/M

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

I don't think I could live with the pain of knowing that my 231 bhp only has 230 :D I might go say hello though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

ah damn... would really love to go lads but i dont wanna.

nah i kid... its the morning after my birthday... chances are i'll be gargling all night :pac:

plus my car only has about 84 horse power in it anyways :) (probably wrong.(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

jenizzle wrote: »
    I don't think I could live with the pain of knowing that my 231 bhp only has 230 :D I might go say hello though!
    Id bet 210 :)

jenizzle wrote: »

Last time I had the M5 on the dyno, it only put out 366 bhp. Stupid 95 Octane !!

Nah, honestly, it's for the craig and it'll tell you how healthy your motor is.

As another example, my Caravelle put out 100.9 bhp of it's original factory 102 bhp. That's considered pretty darn good, when you know, it had over 365000 km on the clock at the time of the dyno and a service overdue.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭boyler07

I'll try too bring my Burg along, be interesting to see how close too the 240hp it get's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Won't be making it, but a few videos from last year:

How did she fair out Voodoo?

Tis in the video, bout 184bhp I think, factory 193.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Only realised (when I saw the pics in the OP) that I know these guys! Had my Passat remapped with em earlier in the year and it's been brilliant ever since - very nice guys and I'd recommend em.

(Don't suppose you want to do a 1999 1.9 TDI (115 - I think) Passat as well for me? :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

The 7 is a beautiful car but if I'm honest, I would have expected it to have a lot more BHP from the factory.

Yup, its the same 2.8l M52 from the 328i and 528i. Runs out of puff when fully loaded with 5 lads but a hair under 8 seconds to 60 is still plenty quick (timed it recently).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Dyno
    EPM
    Drummerboy08
    Draffodx
    kuro2k
    Marlow
    JJJJNR
    BDJW (maybe)

Spectating
    Jimmy Bottlehead
    Quazzie
    Jemmy
    alexmcred
    Chuck Norris
    Confab

I just can't bring a Corsa B to a dyno session, I'd be crucified. So I'll content myself with watching. Willing to contribute to food and drink of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Confab wrote: »
    I just can't bring a Corsa B to a dyno session, I'd be crucified. So I'll content myself with watching. Willing to contribute to food and drink of course.

Bring the €40 with you anyway, I bet you'll want to get it dyno'd when your there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

Dyno
    EPM
    Drummerboy08
    Draffodx
    kuro2k
    Marlow
    JJJJNR
    BDJW (maybe)
    IrishZeus

Spectating
    Jimmy Bottlehead
    Quazzie
    Jemmy
    alexmcred
    Chuck Norris
    Confab

Purely out of curiosity... should have kept my S2k a little longer :(

Didn't have time to watch the whole vid - mans gotta do some work! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

If I'm about I might pop along - wont know though until the week before

Would like to make this in either the 7er or the T/A or both but I'll be on a 'plane to Vegas! :)

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Would like to make this in either the 7er or the T/A or both but I'll be on a 'plane to Vegas! :)

I would love to see that trans am! That's got to come to a meet!

EPM wrote: »
    I would love to see that trans am! That's got to come to a meet!

Will do at some stage!

There's an American Car Club in Cork do a show / bbq / piss-up every June in The Viaduct. Will be down for that - you should come along! :)

Will do at some stage!

There's an American Car Club in Cork do a show / bbq / piss-up every June in The Viaduct. Will be down for that - you should come along! :)

I'll go home for that! There used to be a black and gold TA in a place I used to work and the sound of it parking up even is better than a coffee in the morning:)

EPM wrote: »
    I'll go home for that! There used to be a black and gold TA in a place I used to work and the sound of it parking up even is better than a coffee in the morning:)

I thought you were down that way full time!

You might enjoy this vid, mine is the T/A doing the first burnout:

Sorry for meandering off topic lads, but it's all car stuff anyhow! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

should I bring an xantia activa? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

Last time I had the M5 on the dyno, it only put out 366 bhp. Stupid 95 Octane !!

Nah, honestly, it's for the craig and it'll tell you how healthy your motor is.

As another example, my Caravelle put out 100.9 bhp of it's original factory 102 bhp. That's considered pretty darn good, when you know, it had over 365000 km on the clock at the time of the dyno and a service overdue.

/M

It's a real let down alright.

My Mazda put out 229bhp, it's suppose to be 260bhp

After remap it barely went over supposedly stock figures with 270bhp.

Saying that my old diesel Fabia made 137bhp, its 130bhp stock:D

BX 19 wrote: »
    should I bring an xantia activa? :D

YES! Ultra rare car!

I thought you were down that way full time!

You might enjoy this vid, mine is the T/A doing the first burnout:

Sorry for meandering off topic lads, but it's all car stuff anyhow! ;)

Nice. Wine FB Mustang is sweet too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

Dyno
    EPM
    Drummerboy08
    Draffodx
    kuro2k
    Marlow
    JJJJNR
    BDJW (maybe)
    IrishZeus
    Subway

Spectating
    Jimmy Bottlehead
    Quazzie
    Jemmy
    alexmcred
    Chuck Norris
    Confab

Only around the corner from me. Will try pop up and see what the M5 is putting out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

I might go and throw my project car up (e34 540i) to see whats what.