Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BET Cyphers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

feck sake thought i was gonna be the first to drop this on here :o

pretty sick. thought royce did very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Hi Rihanna :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

shady killed it big time, love the cypher's great too see big name's like eminem still doing it when he has nothing to prove to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Hugh Cream

shady killed it big time, love the cypher's great too see big name's like eminem still doing it when he has nothing to prove to anyone.
    I thought it was the opposite, as on fair play to em but is anyone else on his level doing it?

Hugh Cream wrote: »
    I thought it was the opposite, as on fair play to em but is anyone else on his level doing it?

ye when i said shady i actually meant eminem not shady 2.0 who performed, i should of been more descriptive with my post.

i taught tech 9 and machine gun kelly had good runs, lamar was ok nothing great.

haven't got around to watching them all yet, just about to watch busta and luda now in a bit.

but lads are these cyphers meant to be actual freestyles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Not freestyles although some of the lines might have been these were pre-written. Nice to see Rick Ross managed to keep his shirt on for once.

ye when i said shady i actually meant eminem not shady 2.0 who performed, i should of been more descriptive with my post.

i taught tech 9 and machine gun kelly had good runs, lamar was ok nothing great.

haven't got around to watching them all yet, just about to watch busta and luda now in a bit.

but lads are these cyphers meant to be actual freestyles?
    nah their not freestyles, im not even sure what we think of as being freestyle are actually freestyles, if that makes sense.
    like my idea of a freestyle is spitting straight off the top of the head but in the majority of cases most rappers have tons of rhymes in the head, each one fitting a different scenario.

thats not free styling is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Apart for Shady 2.0 destroying it, I thought Tech N9ne was class altho I am a bit biased :). I never heard of 2 Chainz before but he absoluutely killed it! Classic Busta as well. Chris Brown had absolutely no right to b there imo.

Here are the vids for anyone sick of looking at fu*king Drake in those Sprite ads on rap radar.

ye i was thinking that they couldnt of been proper freestyles, i would love too see all these mc's getting a random topic and actually freestyling on it, that would be great to see but i dont think anyone would expect that in todays hip hop from most artists... there's a few horror videos of wayne and drake trying to freestyle i reckon it could be a bit like that with a lot of rappers that were on display here.

i mean all though i do enjoy it, its nothing amazing when you think about it, its all scripted and planned out.

anywho just saw this behind the scenes video of the shady cypher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

Crooked I part was good. Eminems second half of the first vid got really good. Lamars was alrite too.

2chains was really good (never heard of him before either) and Busta and ludacris were nice as always.

The first name very, last name annoying was a PITA with each and every video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Doublechinlolz

Shady Cypher was by far the best, Royce's verse was my favorite, and i loved Eminem imitating Canibus at the start of his
    Rick Ross and Ace Hood were both horrible though

Oh, and DJ Premier didn't let Justin Bieber take part in a cypher coz he wanted Luda to write his verse?Why would that child even try get to a Cypher :/
    http://rapradar.com/2011/10/17/dj-premier-denied-justin-bieber-on-bet-cypher/

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Mad Skillz hands down had the best verse.

Em was showing his old self which is pretty dope.

The first 2 lads in the Busta Rhymes video were also pretty darn good.

The most suprising verse for me was from B.O.B., that dude can spit when he wants to.

All in all, pretty good, but there would have been a few people cut if Boom_Bap was directing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    All in all, pretty good, but there would have been a few people cut if Boom_Bap was directing :)

Like f*cking Chris Brown!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Like f*cking Chris Brown!

I thought he was alright, cant front, he has got some skills.

But he would be cut purely for thinking it's cool to wear sleeveless bedazzled denim jackets in public. :D

anyone hear about the beaver (justin) wanting to do the cypher but thankfully good owl premo done us all a favor and told him no because he wanted ludacris to write his rap!!!:eek:

this is what we are dealing with in todays hip hop its just a joke for the best part, thank f*ck premo said no!.

DJ Premier is always the man behind the turntables at the BET cyphers. He also has some input on the artists that appear.

The super producer recently revealed he had to put the brakes on one artist's would-be performance after it was revealed he wouldn't be writing his own lyrics.

"Justin Bieber asked if he could do the cypher and everybody was worried that might mess up the integrity of BET," Preem said. "I was like yo, as long as he got a dope rhyme, let him spit. But then we heard he wants Luda to write his rhyme. I was like oh no, no, no, no. If you ain't writing your own rhyme, you can't do it, so Justin, you gotta take a backseat. Write your own rhymes, honey."

thing is though, if he is responsible for who did and did not perform hes also responsible for everything bar shady 2.0, which is not a good look for premo because the majority were all dire..

im not saying bieber should have been there but i honestly dont see the problem, nor do i think it would have been a reflection of how hip hop is.

and tell me every artist up there wrote their own "free style" ..:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Micklaus

Premo doesn't pick and choose the cyphers.........but he certainly does have veto powers, thank God!

Micklaus wrote: »
    Premo doesn't pick and choose the cyphers.........but he certainly does have veto powers, thank God!
    same thing, no?

he let a lot of trash on, so thats on him.

Premo has a pretty large pull in Hip Hop, he's respected as a DJ and producer in the industy. He also hosts a radio show that previews most new hip hop and uncovers new aspiring mc's and gives them a platform to shine.

He is probably one of the main reasons that mc's got involved in the BET cyphers in the first place, and managed to draw the big names.

So I would think that it's fair that he gets a say, especially when there is someone not acclaimed for his hip hop prowess and with a ghostwritten verse who wants to apear on the card.

listen im not fighting biebers corner, i couldnt give a shyt really, just seems a little like hes patting himself on the back to me, and all this ghost writer stuff is total bull as well.
    like chris brown wrote his own verse, to name but one.

same thing, no?

he let a lot of trash on, so thats on him.

Not really, he doesn't choose the artists BUT if somebody like JB wants to get on a cypher and not write his own stuff then I'm sure he can step in and say no.

About the others.....well, he still has to work in the industry so it wouldn't make much sense going around making a massive bitch of yourself! Browns verse was so bad he very well could have wrote it!

But yeah I get your point, quality control and all.

btw just out of curiosity, who chose who would be in the cyphers, how you know it wasnt preemo?

BET produce the show....not him. It's a huge commercial event...look at the sponsors, the viewership. You mention Chris Brown above.....do you honestly think Premo would be picking him to throw down verse?

Basically it's a collaborative effort.

Micklaus wrote: »
    BET produce the show....not him. It's a huge commercial event...look at the sponsors, the viewership. You mention Chris Brown above.....do you honestly think Premo would be picking him to throw down verse?
    thats my point, he had the authority to veto chris brown being on it, hes not a rapper, he more than likely didnt write his verse.
    should have just said, nah your waaaaay too pop, come back in a few years when your audience is a bit more mature.

Chris Brown is actually a rapper, I think that he has released a mix tape recently.

He's actually an R & B singer who has recently started dabbling in rap, id be surprised if he even described himself as a rapper.

im not saying bieber should have been there but i honestly dont see the problem, nor do i think it would have been a reflection of how hip hop is.

i think it would have been a disaster to see him up there, as you know the cypher wasn't great to begin with bar a few but to have the beaver on it would just be taking the utter pi*s imo.

the reason why i said it would be a reflection of how bad hip hop is today, is because its so watered down and commercialized more so than it ever has to have a fully pledged pop star with no rapping history on the cypher would be a joke. its like having david guetta or tiesto up there on the decks spinning techno beats instead of premo, that to me would be the equivalent of having the beaver on the cypher trying to rap.. its just an insult to any proper mc who would have liked to be giving the chance to write a rap and perform and show his skills.

its bad enough the likes of chris brown are on it.:)

unfortunately i dont think bet hold any weight any more, i dont think anything they do influences anyone, not sure if it ever did.
    personally i think justin bieber can make all the youtube videos he wants rhyming over what ever is the hot beat at that moment, that wont stop a youngster interested in making rap a career from doing that imo.
    nor would bet putting him in a cypher, the kid is obviously heavily influenced by black music, its a statement of how far rap has come, at some point it was gonna merge with pop, that happened long ago.

have to say, if preemo's problem was/is that he didnt write his own verse that completely cool, come back when you write your own verse, problem is he wouldnt have been the only one who didnt write their own verse and someone like preemo would know that.

personally i think justin bieber can make all the youtube videos he wants rhyming over what ever is the hot beat at that moment, that wont stop a youngster interested in making rap a career from doing that imo.

maybe not but what i said was it would give an upcoming mc a platform to perform on to show his skills, there's still a huge hip hop audience more so in america who watch BET regularly, so if a young rapper who actually makes hip hop music has his potential spot taking by a pop star it would be a joke.
    nor would bet putting him in a cypher, the kid is obviously heavily influenced by black music, its a statement of how far rap has come, at some point it was gonna merge with pop, that happened long ago.

i don't listen to justin but im pretty sure he doesn't rap in any of his songs?? having a pop star on the cypher is not imo a statement of how far hip hop has come its a statement of how bad its become.

a statement of how far hip hop has come imo would be embracing other hip hop cultures from around the world annually, i know the cypher has touched on it before with dizzee and even that uk female who was on it this year (cant remember her name) etc but to really show how far hip hop has come they really need to show how much of a global music genre it is.

on the whole pop and even recently techno merging its way into hip hop, as you said the pop element creeped in a few years ago the likes of eminem,nelly,ja rule,50 cent, kanye etc pioneering the movement in the early to mid 00's the rest followed . It came to a point where literally if you want a successful single that charts it has to have a pop-ish hook, feature or pop elements to the actual song at the moment what we are witnessing on the commercial front is not hip hop for the best part, thats just my opinion though:).

Not saying Bieber should have been on, but it probably would have been better than half of slaughterhouse...

lol ...:confused:

Conor man your a character il give you that:D.

Just gonna say it....has anyone heard Beiber rap, he's suprisingly OK.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Just gonna say it....has anyone heard Beiber rap, he's suprisingly OK.
    Ye he done something maybe last year, was on YouTube?
    I remember people commenting on it and to a man it's like everyone was surprised that he wasn't actually too bad, was like a surprising nod of approval.

Ye he done something maybe last year, was on YouTube?
    I remember people commenting on it and to a man it's like everyone was surprised that he wasn't actually too bad, was like a surprising nod of approval.

i think from there he went on to do a remix with Kanye and Raekwon. The kid is talented, one of these kids that is good at anything he puts a bit of effort into. But I still dont think of him being worthy of partaking in the cypher.

id have to be tied down in order to listen to the beaver even at that id try my hardest not to listen.

personally give anyone a listen, other wise how can you comment?

Now there are good rappers from Canada, but pop stars who are canadian who can rap?

Drake is bad enough, but at least he didnt take an interest in asher roth record time and then try to do it like Bieber is doing.

personally give anyone a listen, other wise how can you comment?[/QUOTE

I wouldn't have to listen to him to know i wouldn't like him, iv heard his pop material, I know his character and I don't like him or his music, Iv seen him on various programs and i think he's a typical suburban stuck up american kid incredibly cocky.

its like Britney spears or westlife rapping would you take them serious? that's how i feel about beiber rapping. I couldn't relate or even be interested in listening to a teen pop star rapping its just my opinion as a hip hop fan.

its just rapping buddy, i personally dont feel the need to "relate" to every song ever released.
    so if someone is dope i dont care who they are, saying that though, im not saying id go out and buy anything he or they done.

just saying, hes not the worst in the world, if he decides to release an album i wouldnt buy it but respect where its due.

Now there are good rappers from Canada, but pop stars who are canadian who can rap?

Drake is bad enough, but at least he didnt take an interest in asher roth record time and then try to do it like Bieber is doing.
    ive read this a few times and cant make heads nor tales of it, what are you saying?

He is a 16/17 whatever year old Canadian pop star.

I think that explains why people do not want him to rap.

I brought up Drake because he is young-ish and Canadian and pop-ish but he is decent as he didn't start rapping all of a sudden like Asher Roth and Bieber.

He is a 16/17 whatever year old Canadian pop star.

I think that explains why people do not want him to rap.

I brought up Drake because he is young-ish and Canadian and pop-ish but he is decent as he didn't start rapping all of a sudden like Asher Roth and Bieber.
    I'm sorry mate that makes no sense, first of all what has being canadian got to do with anything, other than 2 of the 3 being from there.
    And as far as just start rapping, not a huge Asher Roth fan so I'll take your word for it.

Again mate not sure what point your trying to make, seems like your dissing canada and a white rapper that's not eminem.

He is a 16 year old white canadian boy who is making millions as a pop star (actor etc).

I do not know how it could be clearer that he is and will most likely always be **** at rapping.

Drake came in as he is youngish and not that bad, and asher roth came in as he is also youngish but like bieber started rapping very late on but he can actually rap unlike Bieber. Bieber started late and what the hell would he rap about seriously?

I'm beginning to think your making no point on purpose, like a joke that I am not in on.
    I'm sure it makes sense in your head, but drake being Canadian has nothing to do with biebers attempt to rap, and again, Asher Roth?

" Bieber started (rapping - you know what we are talking about) late and what the hell would he rap about seriously?

He is a 16 year old white canadian boy who is making millions as a pop star (actor etc).

I do not know how it could be clearer that he is and will most likely always be **** at rapping. "

bieber is not a rapper, wanting to participate in the bet cyphers does not make him a rapper, he made a few youtube vids because he obviously loves the genre and enjoys himself at the same time, but at no point has he ever said hes a rapper, to my knowledge.

drake is a rapper/singer, from what i can make out hes been doing it for years.

both are canadian.

other than canada, whats the connection?

asher roth is white, you seem to be suggesting he decided today he wanted to rap and had a cd out next week.

what time period are we talking about so we can see if theres a thin connection here?

what you are saying doesnt actually mean anything, there is no point to it, other than saying bieber cant rap, but thats not the point you were trying to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

I'm just wondering why justin beiber is even allowed be mentioned on a forum where the likes of biggie, tupac, tribe, nwa, wu tang and thousands more of the greatest artists dead or alive are discussed.

He's literally not worth discussing.

not the best parody you will ever see but the drake and kanye parts are pretty good.