Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should Trapattoni be given a New Contract?

• 12-10-2011 9:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭

As the title suggests should Trap be given a New Contract?

Should Trap be given a New Contract? 379 votes

Yes - If we Qualify for the Euro'd
    0% 0 votes
    Yes - Even if we don't Qualify.
    32% 125 votes
    No - If we Qualify. We're playing Puke Soccer.
    22% 87 votes
    NO. JUST NO. I'm fed up of watching Ireland play
    10% 40 votes
    Ronnie Whelan
    33% 127 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

yes, but it should stipulate that he picks players based on reading Boards a week before the match, and not stick to his own plans which have seen a 3rd seed team reach a play off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

When is his contract up ? Time for a change after the euros if we get there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Yes, one of the best managers the game has seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Atari Jaguar .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

No. It is time for a change. I am sick of watching long ball football.

David O Leary or Chris Hughton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Vanbis wrote: »
    No. It is time for a change. I am sick of watching long ball football.

David O Leary or Chris Hughton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Even if we qualify........NO NO NO. I can't stand watching this team, we are truly pathetic and I can see no long term future with trap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭bohsfan

It all depends on what way you look at it...

Viewpoint One:
    Football is a results based business. We have only lost 1 game over the course of our last 2 qualifying groups, have performed ahead of our seeding and achieved play off spots and have improved our UEFA ranking from 26th when Trap took over to 13th now. Sign him up!

Viewpoint Two:
    Football is about performances. Granted all of the above may be true, but I now dislike watching the way the Irish team plays under Trap. Add this to the fact that he is a slave to his system and ignoring gifted youngsters who might actually pass a ball and try to play better football. Best off rid.

I think he should be assured that if we qualify he will be in charge for next Summer but that will be his swansong. Start afresh for the WC qualifiers.

MUSEIST wrote: »
    I can see no long term future with trap

I can see no long term future with any 72 year olds, to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

It is like this really, I hate negative football. I hate bright young prospects that can play football like Mc Carthy, Coleman and Long to name a few getting overlooked.

I would prefer to have Trap gone after the play-offs BUT if he does get uss to qualify for Euros he should be allowed to manage the team there.

some people are giving off the impression that even if Irleand "did a Greece", ie, defend like fúckers and nick the odd goal to go to the final and maybe even win the thing, they'd still be moany michaels about the "style of football".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

It could be as simple as if we qualify he gets an extension, if we dont, he doesn't get an extension.

In saying that, I'd rather keep him for the WC qualifiers if he gets us in the mix towards the end of the campaign and competes with Germany.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭devotional1993

David o leary???? Prefer see mark kennedy and phil babb take over-)
    gavredking wrote: »
    It could be as simple as if we qualify he gets an extension, if we dont, he doesn't get an extension.

In saying that, I'd rather keep him for the WC qualifiers if he gets us in the mix towards the end of the campaign and competes with Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I've little interest in watching another 2-4 years of that brand of football regardless of whether he qualifies for the Euros or not.

He's being paid too much for the little amount of work that he does, there is marked decline in the desire of fans to pay money to see his brand of football and that brand of football is polar opposite to everything that we are trying to encourage at underage level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭witnessrenegade

Get Martin O Neill in

I dont see the point of getting him because he wont have a warchest to buy players. I'm not a big fan of his brand of football either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

Give him a new contract , even if we don't qualify.

I dont give a monkeys about our style, too much is made of this.

What football team have you guys been watching for the last 20+ years?

We're Ireland, we're small and we're punching above our weight all the time.

In 10 matches, we won 6, drew 3 and lost 1.

Trap has taken from us pot 4 to pot 2 effectively? (could be wrong here).

Let's not get greedy and ahead of ourselves here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

Can we make this poll public so I can laugh at the amadans who want him sacked even if we do qualify? Ye people are an embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I hate the style of football and his unwillingness to pick young, in-form players but if we qualify he deserves to see us into the tournament and then ride off into the sunset. I hate saying this but he has delivered for us and it cant be ignored. However, i would also mention that Mick got us to a World Cup without playing lump/puke/anti football so who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Am I right in saying we have only lost two competitive games under Trap?

Play Off in Dublin against France and last year in Dublin against Russia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Get Martin O Neill in

The puke football would still exist if he took over.

Trap has done a very good job. Sure he makes eccentric decisions, but we are not party to what happens at training and around the camp. There are far too many fans of United, Liverpool, Barcelona etc being dismissive of Ireland. This is our country, this is our team and for better or worse that is not going to change. The man has only lost 2 competitive games and is on the brink of ending a 22 year wait for European Championship qualification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

though i don't agree with all his principles, and i think some of what he does could be changed a bit to make us better...(i.e. being more constructive when we do have the ball)...there is no way he should be sacked.

we'd look ridiculous.

as much as i don't really like him, you cannot deny his record, no matter how much of it is down to some otherworldly individual performances, and a large dose of luck.

as i say, it can't be ignored...something he's doing is working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

SlickRic wrote: »
    though i don't agree with all his principles, and i think some of what he does could be changed a bit to make us better...(i.e. being more constructive when we do have the ball)...there is no way he should be sacked.

we'd look ridiculous.

as much as i don't really like him, you cannot deny his record, no matter how much of it is down to some otherworldly individual performances, and a large dose of luck.

as i say, it can't be ignored...something he's doing is working.

Not renewing his contract and sacking him are too entirely different things.

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    Not renewing his contract and sacking him are too entirely different things.

He has already said he wants to stay on, so not renewing his contract would still be the FAI turning down Trap. Which would make them look foolish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

The problem is people watch too much of the likes of Barca and struggle to understand why Ireland can't play like that. Afterall they just pass the ball don't they?

The reality will kick in after a few years when we have an inferior manager and the likes of Keane, Given, Dunne etc are retired.

Get used to campaigns that Wales just had.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

No chance, our results are crap and if we qualify it won't be that he's done anything great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Whenever I hear this ****e about "play nice football, reap the rewards" I feel embarrassed. The side that we have are not technically great. No lovely passing, no stunning goals non of that. They are hard workers who grind out results. I'd love to see Given, Dunne, Keane, Duff and the likes get to Euro 2012 and to suggest we'd be anywhere near where we are now in qualifying is naive. Trap is using a style of football that is awful to watch but extremely effective.

I'm 100% behind Trap and two second place finishes in two campaigns while having Andrews and Whelan in midfield is some achievement.

I dont think anyone expects Barca style football but the inability for professional footballers to make 5 yard passes is alarming and the root cause of our inability to retain possession is the choice of central midfielders and the job they are told to do.

No chance, our results are crap and if we qualify it won't be that he's done anything great.

Yeah 2 losses in 2 qualifying campaigns, terrible alright.

This type of attitude makes me wonder about some soccer fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

For people comparing micks reign vs trap... Ireland had a much, much better squad back then. What players from the other night would make our 2002 world cup starting x11 (including players as they currently are vs how they were then) ... Dunne, maybe Doyle & McGeady that probably it.

Nobody can take away that it was a great achievement to get to this stage, but i think our progress is in this tournament is comming at the cost of future prospects for the team. We need some one who will blend in the new blood and I just dont know is trap prepared to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

If it was a choice between Trap and Mick McCarthy, I'd pick the latter myself. But I'm not sure that's the choice.

Trap is probably the best manager we can get for the team we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

No, I have given up even watching Ireland play, I find it horrendous football to watch and so boring and dull. May be deemed effective if we get to the Euro's but horrid to watch.

He seems to set in his ways and won't give others their chance, fixated on playing Keane as well :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

He has already said he wants to stay on, so not renewing his contract would still be the FAI turning down Trap. Which would make them look foolish.

Well, there is no chance they wouldn't renew if he qualified and to be honest, i think they probably will renew no matter what happens at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Give him a new contract , even if we don't qualify.

I dont give a monkeys about our style, too much is made of this.

What football team have you guys been watching for the last 20+ years?

We're Ireland, we're small and we're punching above our weight all the time.

In 10 matches, we won 6, drew 3 and lost 1.

Trap has taken from us pot 4 to pot 2 effectively? (could be wrong here).

Let's not get greedy and ahead of ourselves here

This is what seriously pisses me off about people with Trappatoni. SO ****ing what if he's brought us up from 4th seeds, this was due to the FAI's joke of an appointment in Steve Staunton.

Another thing, we have not got a fcuking limited team. I am so pissed off with Kelly play left full last night when we have Ciaran Clark who actually plays there. We've got Sean St. Ledger and Glenn Whelan playing when Mark Wilson could play in either of those positions. It pisses me off no end. Trappatoni is absolutely no use for this country as he gives youth no chance whatsoever. Just sticks with the exact same team even when it is clear it doesn't work. With the right manager we could have won the Group with Italy and Bulgaria in it. And we could have won this group. We could have easily beat Slovakia home and away if it wasn't for ridiculous tactics.

Nobody can take away that it was a great achievement to get to this stage, but i think our progress is in this tournament is comming at the cost of future prospects for the team. We need some one who will blend in the new blood and I just dont know is trap prepared to do that.

If Ireland do get to the EC's, then I would guess that Trapp will try and bed in some new players into the first XI/squad in the build up to the tournament using the friendlies.

Trapps old school in that when he selects a squad for a qualifiying series, he picks and sticks with that first team and squad by and large through the qualifying series. Some people on here (ZOMG! Why won't he play McCarthy, we'll be like Brazil then!) appear to want us to return to the chopping and changing of the first XI that marked the Stan & Kerr days.

Clearly that's bollocks, Trapps methods and experience outrank all his critics and I'm going to give him the benefit of the doubt. Hater's should go away and maybe watch some other game, perhaps like rugby union, where they might be able to see all this sexy gameplay that they're not seeing from this this vintage.

Leave the Ireland team to the Ireland supporters who appreciate what Trapp has done over the past few years after the shambles of the mid-naughties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Dempsey wrote: »
    I dont think anyone expects Barca style football but the inability for professional footballers to make 5 yard passes is alarming and the root cause of our inability to retain possession is the choice of central midfielders and the job they are told to do.

Exactly, there's not just us and Barca and nothing in between. Look at Armenia last night, they played a mice attacking game. And before anyone says "yeah, but they lost", remember that they were all over us with 10 men and we were the home team. And we have more players playing at a higher club level than them, there's no reason why we can't play a decent brand of football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

I hate watching the football we've been playing for the last few years under Trap but we're much better off with the results we get then if Venables or Paul Jewell (That's who Dunphy wanted :rolleyes:) had got the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

For people comparing micks reign vs trap... Ireland had a much, much better squad back then. What players from the other night would make our 2002 world cup starting x11 (including players as they currently are vs how they were then) ... Dunne, maybe Doyle & McGeady that probably it.

You think?

Trap has you playing stone age football and he has taken that approach to its zenith, its hard to see things getting any better with him in charge. Ireland still has a pretty decent squad at its disposal but it's bet bits will never be selected as a starting 11 and certainly not allowed to play to its potential.

The only thing that's keeping him in a job is the fear of what might follow, and that depends entirely on the manager the FAI could attract if he went.

SantryRed wrote: »
    This is what seriously pisses me off about people with Trappatoni. SO ****ing what if he's brought us up from 4th seeds, this was due to the FAI's joke of an appointment in Steve Staunton.

So we should use the fact that Trapp has made us competitive again as a stick to beat him with rather then praising him for doing so? great logic there....
    Another thing, we have not got a fcuking limited team. I am so pissed off with Kelly play left full last night when we have Ciaran Clark who actually plays there.

Clark has played a handful of games for Villa at PL level, not many of those were at LB. He hasn't even got a Villa start this season ffs!
    We've got Sean St. Ledger and Glenn Whelan playing when Mark Wilson could play in either of those positions. It pisses me off no end. Trappatoni is absolutely no use for this country as he gives youth no chance whatsoever. Just sticks with the exact same team even when it is clear it doesn't work. With the right manager we could have won the Group with Italy and Bulgaria in it. And we could have won this group. We could have easily beat Slovakia home and away if it wasn't for ridiculous tactics.

Maybe Wilson, along with Walters, McCarthy & Clark will get some more game time if we qualify. That's how Trapp does it, and I'm not arguing with it when it appears to be reaping rewards.

I'd say he's a cert to get a new contract now and rightly so imo.

Quite a few people would like to see him not given a contract EVEN if we qualified for the Euro's which would the first time since '88 :confused:

Remember folks, the football played during the Golden Era in Irish football from 88-94, the football was also pretty horrible to watch, dire at times tbh.

Should Trap help us qualify, it will be all that's remembered in 20 years
    time - Football fans are fickle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Unearthly wrote: »
    Get used to campaigns that Wales just had.

In fairness to Wales they've had a decent crop of players over the last few years. Their problem was that they didn't get rid of that turnip, Toshack, sooner. They only have themselves to blame keeping him in the job that long. Wales are looking good for the next campaign. Finished strong in their current group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

So we should use the fact that Trapp has made us competitive again as a stick to beat him with rather then praising him for doing so? great logic there....

Eh no. I'm saying people shouldn't be using this as a point to praise Trappatoni as it's just bringing us back to where any decent manager would.
    Maybe Wilson, along with Walters, McCarthy & Clark will get some more game time if we qualify. That's how Trapp does it, and I'm not arguing with it when it appears to be reaping rewards.

That's not going to happen. He literally never tries new things. We've got better players not even in the squad to some of the ****e in the team. It's crazy.

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    In fairness to Wales they've had a decent crop of players over the last few years. Their problem was that they didn't get rid of that turnip, Toshack, sooner. They only have themselves to blame keeping him in the job that long. Wales are looking good for the next campaign. Finished strong in their current group.

Wales ??

Wales are 6th seeds in their world cup group. They haven't a hope in hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Wales ??

Wales are 6th seeds in their world cup group. They haven't a hope in hell.

I didn't say they had a hope, or that they would win the group. I said they're looking good. I'm right in thinking that Armenia were 5th seeds.....and they came within a whisker of the playoff. And that's from a team who have shown NO evidence in previous campaigns that they would achieve more than "also rans".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

I would give him a new contract if we qualify,if not its time for him to move on,we have talented young players coming up who are looking for a chance to impress on the international stage but Trap doesnt seem to want to give these lads a chance because they dont fit into his system.So no Euros next year bye bye Trap.

Eh no. I'm saying people shouldn't be using this as a point to praise Trappatoni as it's just bringing us back to where any decent manager would.

We're a small nation with an average enough group of players, we have zero entitlement to be back amongst the second seeds. I'm gobsmacked you're dismissing Trapps achievements in making Ireland competitive again.
    That's not going to happen. He literally never tries new things. We've got better players not even in the squad to some of the ****e in the team. It's crazy.

That doesn't hold up against the evidence. Trapp is more then willing to try out new players whenever friendlies are played, and I'm quite certain if Ireland do qualify then he'll use next years friendlies to blood new talent.

For reference from our glorious history all one has to do is look at ultra conservative Big Jacks actions in the build up to the 1994 WC. Babb, McAteer & Kelly didn't figure in the qualifiers but were introduced in the lead up to that tournament, I would expect Trapp to do something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Giving Trap a new contract will hamper the long term ability of this team. This group wasn't exactly filled with great teams and while Slovakia's implosion was something that makes it look better, if you asked me before this campaign what I wanted to see I would have said that I don't mind if we don't qualify, just that we give it a go and get the likes of McCarthy, Coleman and Clark blooded into the team. There is a very good squad capable of playing football in there with the likes of Wilson, Walters, Hoolahan and some others who should definitely be playing more than they are. We don't play to our strikers strengths and if it wasn't for our good wing play we'd struggle to score at all.

Something that will be controversial and I'm not even totally convinced myself but just something I've been feeling for a while but Doyle hasn't done it for a while now. Yes his workrate and hold up play can be great but he is always finding himself out of position and hasn't been scoring. I really think that Walters, Long and Best; 3 players who start week in week out for PL clubs and score goals regularly should be our top 3 strikers for the next campaign. No hope of it happening but with Robbie declining one of them will be. A forward of 2 between Best, Walters Doyle and Long, with Cox coming in and out is a very good forward line well capable of producing more than the Keane-Doyle one has imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

2 play off places achieved for a team who were in tatters when he took over.
    2 defeats in 22 competitive games.
    records broken for defensive performance - 1 goal in 9 games, 8 clean sheets in a row.
    31 other countries lament failure this morning to qualify, we are still there.
    as close as possible to getting to the last world cup, close again this time with a great chance of getting through.

yes, i think he deserves a new contract and anybody that says otherwise, should either shut up or stop supporting the team, we are not spain or brazil and never will be, we dont have messis or ronaldos and never will have. we are ireland, a team of over 4million people, who have rarely played fantastic football, yet when we achieve something, no matter how small, people still complain and blame the manager.

we are a nation of whingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

If we qualify, then I'm fine with it.

Pleased to see the 'even if we don't qualify' vote is quite low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Some fairly laughable criticism in here. A bit of perspective is needed. We don't have the squad we used to, and the level of previous minnows in Europe has risen dramatically, even since Mick's tenure. To get Ireland to a play-off for the second successive campaign with the players we have is an achievement.

A couple of years ago it was Andy Reid. Now it's Wes Hoolahan and Marc Wilson. These players are no better than what we have, and certainly no better at performing in the system we play. We could try to play more expansive football, have Coleman bombing down the wing from left-back, McCarthy running the show in midfield. But would we have come away with a point from Russia doing that? Or the win in Armenia? Or even last night? Hard to say, but I wouldn't be so confident.

Trap deserves to manage until at least after the Euros if he gets us there. I've no doubt that he'll use the intervening friendlies to blood new players; to take another look at Long, McCarthy, Wilson etc. He did it in previous friendlies, in the 4 Nations Cup. Indeed, if fringe players wonder why they're not getting involved, they should look at themselves for pulling out of these games with injuries or 'tiredness'.

And anyway, he's damned if he does, and damned if he doesn't. He plays Cox last night to the outright horror and disgust of most barstoolers. The man then goes on to put in a Man-of-the-Match performance, but where's the acknowledgement that it was a good call? Nowhere.