Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

future irish team 2015 rwc.

• 11-10-2011 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 captainsanch

with the empending retirements over the next couple of years of the so called golden generatation, i was wondering what will the team look like for the rwc 2015. no doubt some of the current team will still be there, but realistically anyone in their 30s now are unlikely to make it another 4 years.

by the time 2015 comes around = o'gara (38) o 'driscoll (36) o'callagahan (36) o 'connell(35) ross (35) d'arcy (36) cullen (35)

the following is what i think may be the team for rwc 2015.

1 cian healy
    2 rory best
    3 jamie hagan
    4 ian nagle
    5 rys ruddock
    6 sean o brien
    7 stephan ferris
    8 jamie heaslip capt

9 conor murray
    10 johnny sexton
    11 keith earls
    12 danny barnes
    13 tommy bowe
    14 nevin spence
    15 rob kearney

subs

16 richard straus (will be eligible)
    17 mike ross
    18 paul o'connel ( will be 35, but leadership is invaluable)
    19 andrew trimble
    20 thomas o leary
    21 ian keatly
    22 fergus mc fadden

panel

23 felix jones
    24 dominic ryan
    25 peter o mahony
    26 luke fitzgearld
    24 sean cronin
    25 ian madigan
    26 brendan macken
    27 fionn carr
    28 tom court
    29 donnacha ryan
    30 eoin reddan

just wondering what anyone thinks.

the future does look bright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

swap spence and bowe, no reason to play a center on the wing and a wing in the center

Rhys is too small for second row. 35 isn't too old for a second row. I'd expect Dan Tuohy to start

With Ferris's history of knee injuries it is probably a bit much to expect him to play in the next WC

Would be surprised not to see Conway or Gilroy there, two massive talents on the wing

• If we can't find a scrum half better than Tomás O'Leary in 4 years I'm declaring for Georgia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Danny Barnes in the center and Luke Fitzgerald not in the 22...hmmmm...

there was a big thread on this a few weeks back, future's bright though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Yep Rhys isn't a decent lock alternative.

McFadden to start for me. We'll see how the next few Leinster games go, but there's a chance if Fitzy decides to give 12 a decent run and they play McFadden on the outside to him they could be decent candidates to take over the Leinster center partnership and perhaps shine through in Irish jerseys.

I like Barnes, but he's too hot n cold for me at the moment.

Bowe will hopefully still be our out n' out winger. He's doesn't play at center for his club, so I can't see him ever being put here. He's too tall for my liking, and is easily tackled. He makes a great fringe runner. Why mess with that?

I'd also imagine Strauss would be starting, Best on the bench (unless Struass becomes our solution to having a decent groundhog flanker!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

4 years is a long time in rugby. Predicting a team for then is very difficult.

There'll be players who are not even in an academy now that will get into the 2015 squad. The academy players at present will improve dramatically and some more than others.

The only thing we know for certain is the squad will be stronger and there'll be more competition for places.

The future looks healthy. We'll see more youths players coming through and with the NIQ position being reduced it should give the national team a further boost. The players coming through are also better coached and have higher skills than the golden generation of players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Mike Ross is getting better every year. His pro career is what, 5 years old, so he has very low milage on the clock. Props and tight heads in particular go longer then most. For me, baring injury, he's a lock for the 2015 WC and I expect to be the best TH in Europe at that stage.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Mike Ross is getting better every year. His pro career is what, 5 years old, so he has very low milage on the clock. Props and tight heads in particular go longer then most. For me, baring injury, he's a lock for the 2015 WC and I expect to be the best TH in Europe at that stage.

I'd tend to agree. For a prop it's more about mileage then age to a degree, and at 35 he certainly won't be excessively old. Considering his game isn't exactly about barnstorming runs I would expect him to still be in the panel at least, and quite possibly starting.

It's impossible to know really though. Who would have thought McFadden or Murray, or even Earls, would be in the squad 4 years ago?

As things stand though, I would hope Touhy is starting at lock with....well someone decent. Front rows and Back rows could be similar, if not the same. Strauss will push for hooker, no doubt some more back rows will emerge, though pushing the current three out will be difficult. Ferris may not make it four years though.

Hopefully Keatley will be in the squad, pushing Sexton. Murray would be prime candidate for scum half now, but hopefully more options emerge.

Backs are always trickier to think of this far out, but we'll definitely have a new centre combo. Don't think it will be any of the current squad to be honest. McFadden is good but not amazing, Earls isn't a centre and I don't think Bowe will be pushed there unless absolutely necessary, or unless the Ospreys do it first.

While our average squad age was quite high, a lot of the players are actually fairly young. Centres and lock are the areas that will see real change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

So so many things can happen in 4 years of rugby. 4 years ago we were really in a dark place in terms of player development. However, in the interest of debate this would be my predicted XV!

1. Healy
    2. Cronin - A 4 year tussle at Leinster with Strauss should maximise his potential
    3. Ross - At 35 it will probably be his final chapter with Ireland but should just be in fit enough shape for a WC
    4. Nagle - not writing off DOC just yet but I believe Nagle has what it takes to be a top lock
    5. POC (c)
    6. Ferris - if knees hold up!
    7. Ryan - from what I can see he is best placed in Ireland to be a 7 and if managed correctly he could be a great 7
    8. SOB - Big shout leaving Heaslip out and in 4 years time form could be different and I amn't writing heaslip off by any means

9. Murray
    10. Sexton
    11. Earls - one of few poachers Ireland have
    12. Fitzgerald - skillset suits 12 more than any other position. Areas of strengths are the lines he runs, his defence & good kicker - these suit 12 whereas his weaknesses under the highball and lack of 'blistering' pace were what cost him a 2011 WC spot as a back 3. Schmidt looks keen to develop him at 12
    13. Spence - for now, but there seems to be a growing list of players contending for BOD's jersey. Hopefully the competition will bring out the best in all of the potential 13s
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

Like I said at the beginning, this is 4 years away so I suspect the following players - at least - will have a thing or 2 to say about my selection

J. McGrath, Best, Strauss, Sherry, Archer, McAlister, Hagan, Tuohy, DOC, Heaslip, R Ruddock, Jennings, Leamy, O'Mahony, L McGrath, P Marshall, Jackson, Keatley, L Marshall, Barnes, McFadden, Trimble, Deasy, Griffin, O'Halloran, Zebo, Conway, Jones

The next 4 years should be very interesting indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I'd tend to agree. For a prop it's more about mileage then age to a degree, and at 35 he certainly won't be excessively old. Considering his game isn't exactly about barnstorming runs I would expect him to still be in the panel at least, and quite possibly starting.

QUOTE]

I can see Leinster being encourgaed to do a 'BOD' with Ross in the near future i.e he'll only play HC and 4/5 Pro12 games a season. With Hagan there it makes sense for all parties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Podge_irl wrote: »

QUOTE]

I can see Leinster being encourgaed to do a 'BOD' with Ross in the near future i.e he'll only play HC and 4/5 Pro12 games a season. With Hagan there it makes sense for all parties

Last season they seemed to rotate Healy/VDM and Reddan/Boss atlernately and I hope they'll do the same this year. Particularly in the group stage. Hagan NEEDS H Cup exposure. Otherwise he's not exactly making a step up from last year (except for getting to work with Feek and, I'm guessing, better facilities)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

So so many things can happen in 4 years of rugby. 4 years ago we were really in a dark place in terms of player development. However, in the interest of debate this would be my predicted XV!

1. Healy..Should be at the peak of his game by then...Could / should be an even better player.
    2. Cronin - A 4 year tussle at Leinster with Strauss should maximise his potential... I don't think he is good enough for all his bustle. Sherry, Strauss, Best are better players and all will be available, barring injury, ahead of Cronin. It will also be interesting to see how players like Annett develop as he reminds me of one of Ireland's all time great hookers, Ken Kennedy.
    3. Ross - At 35 it will probably be his final chapter with Ireland but should just be in fit enough shape for a WC. Hopefully you are correct. There are some likely looking props on the horizon with Tadgh Furlong, Martin Moore, Conor Carey from the U20s looking promising and add in Maguire, McGrath, Macklin, McAllister and Ah You and the cupboard looks a bit less threadbare.
    4. Nagle - not writing off DOC just yet but I believe Nagle has what it takes to be a top lock
    5. POC (c)
    6. Ferris - if knees hold up!
    7. Ryan - from what I can see he is best placed in Ireland to be a 7 and if managed correctly he could be a great 7
    8. SOB - Big shout leaving Heaslip out and in 4 years time form could be different and I amn't writing heaslip off by any means

9. Murray. Sadly for me I think he is not very good. I just don't see why he is playing for Ireland at this stage in his career. I must be missing something. The word 'PONDEROUS' could have been invented for his game.
    10. Sexton....should be right at the peak of his career.
    11. Earls - one of few poachers Ireland have. He is indeed a damn fine 'poacher' but unfortunately there are a few dead rabbits in his game bag along with the speed. Possibly his biggest worry however is the fact that Deccie has anointed him as a 13 to follow The Great One. So, - just like the excruciating tale of Buckley, we could see an endless experiment that the world and his wife know won't work but Kidney does a Nelson 'I see no flaws, Captain Hardy'

12. Fitzgerald - skillset suits 12 more than any other position. Areas of strengths are the lines he runs, his defence & good kicker - these suit 12 whereas his weaknesses under the highball and lack of 'blistering' pace were what cost him a 2011 WC spot as a back 3. Schmidt looks keen to develop him at 12. Fitz's selections exposes one of the worst aspects of Irish rugby over the years. This is the bizarre and illogical propensity of taking a player who had earned or in some cases was given a reputation and thus gains admission to the 'inner circle' of the anointed and almost undroppable. The player then subsequently loses form, such as with Fitz, or simply doesn't live up to the hype and who then gets shunted around from one position to the other at the expense of better performing players who actually do play those positions despite the facts showing how daft this is. Fitz is a good winger. That is where he should compete. I can almost see the next headline. "Murray to play 12" says Deccie.

13. Spence - for now, but there seems to be a growing list of players contending for BOD's jersey. Hopefully the competition will bring out the best in all of the potential 13s. Cave is the most natural 13 we have and O'Malley is a cracking player. There are others also such as Macken.
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney...Which one?If only Rob. Kearney could pass.......Jones will provide serious opposition.

Like I said at the beginning, this is 4 years away so I suspect the following players - at least - will have a thing or 2 to say about my selection

J. McGrath, Best, Strauss, Sherry, Archer, McAlister, Hagan, Tuohy, DOC, Heaslip, R Ruddock, Jennings, Leamy, O'Mahony, L McGrath, P Marshall, Jackson, Keatley, L Marshall, Barnes, McFadden, Trimble, Deasy, Griffin, O'Halloran, Zebo, Conway, Jones

The next 4 years should be very interesting indeed!

P Marshall, Archer. I don't think these two have the ability. Paul Marshall is woeful and was only given a stay of execution at ravenhill because Boss jumped ship when Pienaar was signed..

The rest are all very good now or are promising. In 4 years time if Leamy is still there we are fecked. I would also suspect that a young guy at Ulster called Craig Gilroy might be in the mix, as would Fion Carr. Of those not yet on the radar from an Ulster perspective, Peter Nelson, James McKinney, Conor Gaston and Ian Henderson (lock) all have a lot of raw talent.

Interesting and thought provoking.

It might be worth a stcky thread keeping an eye on the young guys. It's hard to know what is happening to the development of the future 'stars' from other teams.
    pajunior wrote: »
    At the moment Bowe is our only serious contender to replace BOD.
    It'll be a couple of years before McFadden, Spence, Cave etc are serious International 13's. But in saying that they should be in the squad and given game time.

I am far far more worried about 12 then I am 13. People have mentioned Spence but I think he is more of a 13 tbh, but the situation in Ulster might dictate otherwise.

Keatley could well get a fair amount of game time at 12 this year, anyone know if he can step up to the mark for that position, I've only ever seen him at 10 and a couple of times at 15 iirc.
    Tommy Bowe is not a serious contender for 13 for Ireland. Spence, Cave, O'Malley to name 3 are already far better 13s than Bowe will ever be.

In exactly the same vein, Keatley is not a 12. He is a goodish 10. Players like Spence who is at home at 12 or 13, Luke Marshall, McFadden, Whitten are better 12s and are the future at 12, not an average 10. If he was any good at 12 he would be playing there.

There is crazy stuff going on in Irish rugby. Earls at 13, Fitz at 12, Fitz at 15, Ryan at 6, calls for Keatley at 12, Ferris in the second row. (BOD at 12 and SOB at 7/8 at least makes some sense).

• jacothelad wrote: »
    There is crazy stuff going on in Irish rugby. Earls at 13, Fitz at 12, Fitz at 15, Ryan at 6, calls for Keatley at 12, Ferris in the second row. (BOD at 12 and SOB at 7/8 at least makes some sense).

This isn't too insane really though, he's always struck me as a centre pushed to wing by the gruesome twosome. He's done really well at 12, and certainly has something to offer there.

Only time will tell though.

This isn't too insane really though, he's always struck me as a centre pushed to wing by the gruesome twosome. He's done really well at 12, and certainly has something to offer there.

Only time will tell though.

He is a hugely talented player and I just think he will get bogged down in the midfield.

As for the next generation, here are some in action.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hggyb1kbCt4&feature=related

• jacothelad wrote: »
    He is a hugely talented player and I just think he will get bogged down in the midfield.

As for the next generation, here are some in action.

fixed.

Super try, have been a huge fan of Jackson's since the "lulster" game in Lansdowne Road. Marshall x2 and Tuohy all doing well in that clip too.

Pass to Jackson draws him onto it at huge pace, he does the rest beautifully.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

I've an inclination that Cronin, Carr, Ruddock, McFadden, Marshall, Archer,, Macken, Zebo, Barnes and Keatley won't be international class.

Big sweeping statement, but I don't think most of these are, or have the raw talent to, make it at international level.

I think Earls will be fighting for his place in the squad, with Bowe, Conway, Gilroy, O Halloran and D. Kearney possibly there ahead of him at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

jacothelad wrote: »
    There is crazy stuff going on in Irish rugby. Earls at 13, Fitz at 12

I really wouldn't write off Fitz at 12, yet anyway. At wing his tryscoring ratio is far from acceptable and his opportunities have been aplenty there. This is not to say he is a poor player, but for me it suggests he is playing in the wrong position.

His primary talents are his abilities to spot & accelerate through a gap, his left boot and his defence. These are core to being a good 12. If there is one aspect to his game which I believe he needs to prove himself at is his distribution. If he could add distribution to his game and gets gametime there for Leinster I reckon he could be a longterm 12 for Leinster and Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

wixfjord wrote: »
    I've an inclination that Cronin, Carr, Ruddock, McFadden, Marshall, Archer,, Macken, Zebo, Barnes and Keatley won't be international class.

Big sweeping statement, but I don't think most of these are, or have the raw talent to, make it at international level.

I think Earls will be fighting for his place in the squad, with Bowe, Conway, Gilroy, O Halloran and D. Kearney possibly there ahead of him at that stage.

That's a bit harsh. Some of those guys are only 20 and others in their early 20s. Many of the current team hadn't made their breakthrough at that age, others who look promising at 20 don't develop much further.

ambid wrote: »
    That's a bit harsh. Some of those guys are only 20 and others in their early 20s. Many of the current team hadn't made their breakthrough at that age, others who look promising at 20 don't develop much further.

Well obviously I'm not youth expert, but many of them are already established and others have shown quite a lot.
    Obviously, Joe Schmidt knows a bit more than me, and he's made Ruddock captain, but it's my opinion that he's a little bit one dimensional.

Others like Carr, Cronin, Archer, and MCF are extablished have fatal flaws in their game which will be hard to rectify, while I personally don't see anything in Zebo or Macken at all.

Just my opinion on who we're hyping up a little too much. Not everyone can make it.

From a Leinster POV, Carr and Cronin in particular I will watch on with particular interest.

After watching last seasons U20's I was really impressed with Furlong, Luke Marshall, Hanrahan, Gilroy and Conway.

Luke Marshall and Hanrahan are the two players that I'll be keeping a close eye on. They both can play 10 or 12 with Marshall probably being more of a 12 and Hanrahan more of a 10. The modern players are becoming more interchangable because they need a wide range of skills. Look at the Aussie backs. They're both skillful players who are also creative and both of them are over 14st and have decent speed.

Furlong will need to wait a few years because hes a prop. He is qualified for next years U20's too and is a few months out from being qualified for the year after!! He was really impressive and is the right size for his position.

There should be more youths involved in the coming seasons. The youths U18 team beat France in a tournament in France and it looks like all the work in that area is starting to pay off.

I wouldn't disagree with most of that list although fingers crossed one or two emerge as international standard.

• Can't imagine writing off any 20 year old professional rugby player as "never going to be international class".

Considering that Leinster were actively recruiting novices to the game to enter their academy only a week ago, and they were hopeful of finding someone or else they wouldn't have bothered. If they didn't feel that they could turn someone into a top level pro in 3 years, why would they have even entertained the idea? So imagine how much they believe they can change someone who's had more than 5 years underage experience!

I've posted before a lengthy explanation on why we don't have 18year old superstars like James O'Connor, based on heritage and circumstance mostly. Chill out on the judging until someone's had a fair whack at the big time I think.

Patience young padwans, there are many little beans that grow slower than others.

Can't imagine writing off any 20 year old professional rugby player as "never going to be international class".

Considering that Leinster were actively recruiting novices to the game to enter their academy only a week ago, and they were hopeful of finding someone or else they wouldn't have bothered. If they didn't feel that they could turn someone into a top level pro in 3 years, why would they have even entertained the idea?

Patience young padwans, there are many little beans that grow slower than others.

In fairness, the only front 5 are Cronin and Archer, and all of them bar Zebo and Macken are well known and we've all seen a good bit of.

Just putting my neck on the line and giving the other side, that not all of these guys can make it!
    Of course, you could look back and these guys might be backboning an Ireland side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

In fairness, the only front 5 are Cronin and Archer, and all of them bar Zebo and Macken are well known and we've all seen a good bit of.

Just putting my neck on the line and giving the other side, that not all of these guys can make it!
    Of course, you could look back and these guys might be backboning an Ireland side!

Haven't seen much from Zebo since his Ireland U20s but unfortunately I'd agree with you regarding Macken. He could improve and he's still young but he's probably not going to be the superstar we thought he would. Hopefully he proves us wrong.

Jaco, I wonder have you seen Fitz playing 12 this season? He looks a natural fit there. Great feet in traffic buying space and time and an ability to pass the ball. In a squad with a real absence of a natural 12 I reckon he'll be a revelation this season when BOD is back. His number is up on the wing I fear, he just lacks the out and out pace to beat people on the outside. I just really hope Schmidt has the balls, or is even allowed, to drop D'Arcy for a while. If anything I think McFadden should be switched to the wing permanently to replace Fitz, he certainly has the pace that Fitz is missing (as he showed against Racing in the RDS).

Reddan, Sexton, McFadden, Fitzgerald, O'Driscoll, Nacewa, R.Kearney this season for me please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Have said this elsewhere on these threads but keep an eye out for Harrison Brewer. He will be 20 by the time the next world cup comes around and is the most outstanding schools talent I have ever seen and is being carefully managed and groomed for big things by the Leinster under age management. Dont rule it out. As the welsh proved-if you are good enough you're old enough.

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Have said this elsewhere on these threads but keep an eye out for Harrison Brewer. He will be 20 by the time the next world cup comes around and is the most outstanding schools talent I have ever seen and is being carefully managed and groomed for big things by the Leinster under age management. Dont rule it out. As the welsh proved-if you are good enough you're old enough.

He'll have to be a real messiah to even break into the Leinster back row by the time he's 20.

Well he has got all black genes so its a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

He is being hailed as the next big thing by a lot of people, I think his dad played for NZ. He was very good in the Leinster JC final, haven't seen him play since then but from what I've read here he's doing well. Wouldn't rule it out.

His father Mike played on arguably the greatest All Blacks team ever-the 1995 one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

His father Mike played on arguably the greatest All Blacks team ever-the 1995 one.

Has he got a Junior Cup campaign to his name yet? He's got the genes, but that's still leaving a lot to do.

He has won two junior cups and will be playing senior cup this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Jaco, I wonder have you seen Fitz playing 12 this season? He looks a natural fit there. Great feet in traffic buying space and time and an ability to pass the ball. In a squad with a real absence of a natural 12 I reckon he'll be a revelation this season when BOD is back. His number is up on the wing I fear, he just lacks the out and out pace to beat people on the outside. I just really hope Schmidt has the balls, or is even allowed, to drop D'Arcy for a while.

D'Arcy isn't on a central contract so hopefuly there's significant leeway with respect to selecting who we see fit. I wouldn't be against Luke continuing in the centre at all. With a bit more experienece, I think he could make a very solid 12 and potentially a much better one than McFadden. This season should start to see D'Arcy take more of a squad role I think with other contenders being allowed put their hands up for selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

GerM wrote: »
    D'Arcy isn't on a central contract so hopefuly there's significant leeway with respect to selecting who we see fit. I wouldn't be against Luke continuing in the centre at all. With a bit more experienece, I think he could make a very solid 12 and potentially a much better one than McFadden. This season should start to see D'Arcy take more of a squad role I think with other contenders being allowed put their hands up for selection.

if nothing else a bit more 'life' at 12 could re-energise BOD's game. Only issue i'd have with Fitz at 12 is his passing needs to improve.

I know this has been said before but I would seriously consider playing Tommy Bowe at 12. He has all the attributes-fast, good hands, runs good angles, good defence, big and physical. Also-it would address the problem we have of having too good a player like Trimble sitting on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭badbeatcentral

Hope me makes it just so I can yell 'BREWER, down at the bottom!' in a Bill McLaren accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

He has won two junior cups and will be playing senior cup this year.

Is he that old? Thought he was only 14 or so.

Ah well, hopefully he'll come good for us.

Jaco, I wonder have you seen Fitz playing 12 this season? He looks a natural fit there. Great feet in traffic buying space and time and an ability to pass the ball. In a squad with a real absence of a natural 12 I reckon he'll be a revelation this season when BOD is back. His number is up on the wing I fear, he just lacks the out and out pace to beat people on the outside. I just really hope Schmidt has the balls, or is even allowed, to drop D'Arcy for a while. If anything I think McFadden should be switched to the wing permanently to replace Fitz, he certainly has the pace that Fitz is missing (as he showed against Racing in the RDS).

Reddan, Sexton, McFadden, Fitzgerald, O'Driscoll, Nacewa, R.Kearney this season for me please.

Fitz maybe isn't the best example as he is a multi-talented player. I would be happy enough if he produces the type of game suitable for modern rugby at 12. It's more the cry that goes up as soon as we find a guy who is good in one position, there is a racket raised to move him to another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

I know this is a discussion forum but these sort of threads always seem useless . During the WC we couldn't call the team week to week ,before it the squad couldn't be called . Looking 4 years down the road is so pointless.

Well I dunno about you, but I predicted 28 of the 30 man squad on here a year before the world cup, only missing Murray and Ryan. I think a lot of people could call the team week to week as well barring one or two places.

It'll be interesting to look back in 4 years and see how close to being right we were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Diom

Eoin Griffen is the most naturally talented 13 in the country after BOD in my opinion. Very classy player, and the only question I have is if he is arrogant enough to really believe in his own talent. I hope he gets there.

I would love to see how he would pair up with Cave at 12. Or Tommy.

Is he that old? Thought he was only 14 or so.

Ah well, hopefully he'll come good for us.

Yeah he's well past it!

Diom wrote: »
    Eoin Griffen is the most naturally talented 13 in the country after BOD in my opinion. Very classy player, and the only question I have is if he is arrogant enough to really believe in his own talent. I hope he gets there.

Agreed about Griffin. He looked better than Mackin and Spence for the Ireland U20's.

Diom wrote: »

Cave is really a 13 only while Spence can play either and Luke Marshall is a 10 / 12. Given the number of young, fast, talented centres around we will be very unlucky if we don't strike gold with two of them at least.