Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New RSA tv ad

• 11-10-2011 9:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭

Anyone seen it yet? What a load of absolute bollix. Few people smoking joints who then somehow manage to SPEED through a red light and kill themselves? Never to mind they smoked about 6 blunts and weren't just panned the **** out on a couch pressing repeat on Bob Marley songs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Shall I tell you about my life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Dotrel wrote: »

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Surely they'd have been paranoid enough to notice the camera crew following them?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 jk536

All that ad did for me is make me want to go bowling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

jk536 wrote: »
    All that ad did for me is make me want to go bowling

Makes me want chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

I went to youtube to find this video but got distracted by this on the homepage... what was I looking for again?

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

dazftw wrote: »
    I went to youtube to find this video but got distracted by this on the homepage... what was I looking for again?

Flake or a Toblerone:confused::confused: I'll finish my reply when i get back from the shop:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

It's like a sweded big lebowski

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Bit like those drink driving ads
    DarkJager wrote: »
    Anyone seen it yet? What a load of absolute bollix. Few people smoking joints drinking pints who then somehow manage to SPEED through a red light and kill themselves? Never to mind they smoked drank about 6 blunts pints and weren't just panned the **** out on a couch pressing repeat on Bob Marley Saw Doctors songs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Anyone seen it yet? What a load of absolute bollix. Few people smoking joints who then somehow manage to SPEED through a red light and kill themselves?

It's as easily done as it is when under the influence of alcohol, or the influence of any substance really.

dazftw wrote: »

I'd like to see how she manages a finger of fudge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I'd like to see how she manages a finger of fudge.

Or a finger in the fudge

Senna wrote: »
    Or a finger in the fudge

Or a giant Toblerone up her arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

It's as easily done as it is when under the influence of alcohol, or the influence of any substance really.

Not exactly. Anyone who's ever smoked six blunts in a row will tell you you don't do a ****ing thing after it. The last thing on your mind is going near a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Toblerone up his arse ftw.

Not exactly. Anyone who's ever smoked six blunts in a row will tell you you don't do a ****ing thing after it. The last thing on your mind is going near a car.

George Michael would beg to differ.

would loosen her up for the 100kg version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

thread gone off topic much? haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

zonEEE wrote: »
    thread gone off topic much? haha

:confused: Was something to do with tits.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Godsentme

excuse me... Is this the thread about pissin' pink?? I know its around here somewhere:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

The ad on the radio is very dangerous to listen to while driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Here's the ad

Anyone I've know who smokes and drives are more paranoid about being seen by the Gardaì and drive very cautiously. More often than not they don't go near a car at all or at the very least until it's worn off.

I am hungry for chips now, though.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Whoever made this advert never even knew people who smoked weed. This is worse than the sort of propaganda the americans pulled in the thirties for christ sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I'm a man of the world.

Whoever made this advert never even knew people who smoked weed.

True. They're more the cocaine set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Ha ha ha!

'Ridged for pleasure'

Musical Interlude..

ten mile an hour music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I like air hockey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Whoever made this advert never even knew people who smoked weed. This is worse than the sort of propaganda the americans pulled in the thirties for christ sake.

Ah now, the yanks took it to a completely different dimension with their anti-drugs stuff :pac::

Skip to 4:50 for the best bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

If anything they all come across as drunk in the add.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

A number of driving simulator studies have shown that marijuana does not produce the kind of psycho-motor impairment evident with modest doses of alcohol. In fact, in a recent NHTSA study, the only statistically significant outcome associated with marijuana was that drivers drove more slowly.

A recent study of actual driving ability under the influence of cannabis - employing the same protocol used to test the impairment-potential of medicinal drugs - evaluated the impact of placebo and three active THC doses in three driving trials, including one in high-density urban traffic.

Dose-related impairment was observed in drivers' ability to maintain steady lateral position. However, even with the highest dose of THC, impairment was relatively minor - comparable to that with blood-alcohol concentrations of between .03 and .07 % and many legal medications. Drivers under the influence of marijuana also tended to decrease their speed and approach other cars more cautiously.

While recognizing some limitations of this study, the authors conclude that "THC is not a profoundly impairing drug."

http://www.erowid.org/plants/cannabis/cannabis_myth12.shtml

You'd think the RSA would be encouraging a light toke before setting off to slow us all down...they're quick enough to recommend coffee to keep tired drivers awake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I don't think it's right for people to drive when they're binned, but it's still overly simplistic to imply that it's all the one when it comes to psychoactives. You don't have anywhere near the same arseways sense of judgement and loss of subordination after a smoke compared to when you're drunk, and you wouldn't have the same perception of the road warping and changing colour after a few drinks as you would if you'd dropped a few tabs of acid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

They say that "cannabis users are 3 times more at risk of being involved in a road collision than a non cannabis user". I wonder what the statistics on coffee drinkers compared to non coffee drinkers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Mrs.

http://alcoholism.about.com/cs/pot/f/mjkids_faq13.htm

wow...33-Must be a coincidence. Or maybe smokers do pose a risk on the roads because they are not sober but prefer not to admit it? Denial is a popular place for those with addictions. I've also read cornflakes are more addictive than cannabis on a forum. No website referenced surprisingly. hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Mrs. wrote: »
    http://alcoholism.about.com/cs/pot/f/mjkids_faq13.htm

wow...33-Must be a coincidence. Or maybe smokers do pose a risk on the roads because they are not sober but prefer not to admit it? Denial is a popular place for those with addictions. I've also read cornflakes are more addictive than cannabis on a forum. No website referenced surprisingly. hilarious.

Are you lost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Pace2008 wrote: »
    I don't think it's right for people to drive when they're binned, but it's still overly simplistic to imply that it's all the one when it comes to psychoactives. You don't have anywhere near the same arseways sense of judgement and loss of subordination after a smoke compared to when you're drunk, and you wouldn't have the same perception of the road warping and changing colour after a few drinks as you would if you'd dropped a few tabs of acid.

This premise would be good for some sort of Top Gear challenge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

The topper the gear the better....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Haven't seen it, but it sounds off. I have been in a car driven by a guy with the wheel in one hand and a spliff in the other, and speed was not an issue. Safe, too - someone pulled out in front of us, and he immediately "snapped to" and slowed the car down smoothly. Comparisons with alcohol are simply invalid - it doesn't give you false confidence.

(It was in South Africa, the driver was the only Ginger Rasta (Gingsta?) I've ever seen. He turned up at college one day after lunch, so out of it that he couldn't stop talking over the lecturer. I can't/won't smoke anything, ever, but after hanging out with him for a couple of hours, my clothes smelt so "green" that people started thinking I was toking it up Kingston-style.)

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray