Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wheeler Dealers - New Series

• 11-10-2011 8:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭

On Discovery at the moment, they're over in the U.S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Eph1958

Love the programme and how ludicrously simple they make everything seem. Would probably mortgage the house to get any one of their cars. Great fun.

Eph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Ah lads... Thread number 3!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I hope I dont get my ass kicked for bringing up an old thread:(, but the "lovely" Mike B is back on the 20th of this month with a new series.

http://www.discoveryuk.com/the-loop/mike-brewer-interview/.

That vid worked before, but not now, but anyway you get the idea.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Spotted this being advertised last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

What a cool cool show.

Makes you want to win the lotto and do it yourself ! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

MMMMMMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmm, an M5 is gonna be featured........nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

excellent...anyone know the list of cars they will be working on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭gears

Ferrari Dino
    Porsche 914
    Renault Alpine
    BMW M5
    Morgan

Mike says it in the vid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 vodkatime

Fiat Dino, Morgan +4, BMW M5, Renault alpine a310, Porsche e914, Mercedes g-class, Jag xk8. All will be shown in that order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I caught the end of an episode lately where they were working on a relatively new Impreza, as far as I know it was in the UK though. Great show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I wonder how much of a loss they will make on each car?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Can't believe no-one is talking about how you can win a wheeler dealer car. How great would they be???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Jimdagym wrote: »
    Can't believe no-one is talking about how you can win a wheeler dealer car. How great would they be???

not so great if i had to VRT it :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

Anyone know what ch. number discovery is on sky? only can find discovery shed and real time but no sigh of new wheeler dealers on these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

bonzos wrote: »
    Anyone know what ch. number discovery is on sky? only can find discovery shed and real time but no sigh of new wheeler dealers on these.

520. It's on the planner for the 20th at 9pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Jimdagym wrote: »
    520. It's on the planner for the 20th at 9pm.

Thanks for that. I love that show - it's the only real petrolhead show left now that Top Gear is more about being an entertainment programme that just so happens to have cars in it, although Sunday's Episode was the best of the new series, easily!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

Would love to give my car to Ed for the day, He'd having it running and looking better than when it came out of the factory! The man works magic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

New Series starting at 9pm tonight.

They are fixing up a Fiat Dino Coupe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

New Series starting at 9pm tonight.

They are fixing up a Fiat Dino Coupe.

Is this the first yeah? I thought I missed one last week?

It is the first

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

That Fiat Dino was a lovely car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Harcrid

Stunning car. I really liked it. Looks like the mileage was not as genuine as they thought if the for sale ad is anything to go by. Listed for sale with 110k kilometres.

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C276970

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

F*ckin 'ell Edd. 4 hours to put a bit of filler on? I'm in the wrong business!

What the feck is that lardy arse Brewer trying to speak Italian for? when he can bearly speak Englishbiggrin.gif

He was squessed into that suit, you are hardly James Bond Mike:rolleyes:

He drives me mental going on about buyers asking for below what he wants for the car, when he does exactly that himself:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

jimmyw wrote: »
    He drives me mental going on about buyers asking for below what he wants for the car, when he does exactly that himself:mad:

exactly,

but i reckon half the time the haggling is scripted

nice blue runners brewer had on at the start :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

fryup wrote: »
    exactly,

but i reckon half the time the haggling is scripted

I know somebody who bought one of the cars - nothing was scripted.

The irish guy who bought the old 7 series?

Nope.

p.s. That was an 840i I think.

Is that Brewer chap off his rocker or what??:rolleyes:

Changing a bloody chassis on a car, and Edd allows him?

I wonder how much he is getting for all this work, the cheapskate:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

jimmyw wrote: »

I wonder how much he is getting for all this work, the cheapskate:(

I'd guess they both get paid pretty well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

I always thought they should factor in labour into the cost of the refurb of the cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

i have to say im a big fan of the show!! it has to be the most realistic show out there for the ordinary buyer, ... its not like top gear when their driving 200k Aston martins, my only problem with the show except the new series is every time i see a episode its always the same ... oooo wheeler deeler .... oh sen it!!!!! doh :D

Boscoirl wrote: »
    I always thought they should factor in labour into the cost of the refurb of the cars

i think thats the main point of the show, that you try doing the work yourself to make the profit, there are times ed cant do the work and he passes on the car to someone els ... ie gearbox / paint. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

i think thats the main point of the show, that you try doing the work yourself to make the profit

It is the whole point of the show indeed!

The one thing I would like to see added is the time Edd spends on a car. Making a £1,000 profit for 100 hours of work seems like a nice saving (although obviously not commercially viable), but that 100 hours would probably turn into 1000 hours of work for the typical DIYer...

And nevermind Mike's time :D

unkel wrote: »
    It is the whole point of the show indeed!

The one thing I would like to see added is the time Edd spends on a car. Making a £1,000 profit for 100 hours of work seems like a nice saving (although obviously not commercially viable), but that 100 hours would probably turn into 1000 hours of work for the typical DIYer...

And nevermind Mike's time :D

yes indeed, i saw a good few shows where i reckon he spent weeks on a car only to sell it for a few hundred or even less!!! did anyone see the beach buggy!!!! he spent ages on that!!! yeh i totally agree id like to see a rough guide to how much time was spent.

also they dont always add the cost of advertising/ fuel getting to see car on a 4 hour drive there and back, what about mikes plane ticket to see the american cars!!! hotels// after all its a show to see how much profit they can make buying a car and restoring it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

It's still an excellent programme.

It certainly keeps one interested in cars, especially older ones. It's amazing what they can do to some of them alright. I can't wait to see the one of the M5 to be honest!