Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ARTist in the spotlight: interested

• 05-10-2011 4:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭

If there aren't any last minute questions for me I'd like to put our resident swim expert and quiet man 'interested' under the spotlight for the next week as its the closest we will get to a detailed log from the man. Get your notebooks ready.. :D
    Bringing back to life something that was done a few years ago and it went down well.

Basically an ARTist is nominated for a weeks interrogation. From Wednesday to Wednesday a particular poster is quized about all aspects of their training and racing (and other areas if needs be ) Once the week is up the person who was in the spotlight nominates the next person to be in the spotlight.

other rounds of this :
    (shotgun)MCOS
    El Director

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

just one final question - please write down a minute by minute account of your first year experience long distance triathlon training and racing. Leave nothing out. I think its only fair I await your answer. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Excellent choice Shotgun

Now please move these over if a new thread is created for Interested questions. But here are mine

1. I am around a 1.25 ish swimmer for 100 metres, with my time available next year more than likely being reduced how important is technique v swim fitness at my level. Having only learned to swim in the last few years i am conscious that it will be very difficult to bring my times down as far as someone who grew up swimming

2. Having started off bilaterally in my first 2 years swimming i am now back to breathing every stroke - I can still do both but I am quicker and more comfortable breathing every stroke, should I be looking to get back to bilateral breathing over the winter months.

3. I am looking at having a go at a long distance swim this year, approx 3 hours, have you any advice on training for something like that.

4. Have you ever thought about swimming the channel?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

1) Are you ever going to do another log?

2) As a youth I would have been a bilateral breather and would have had no problem submerging my head, however, training as a life guard fecked up my swim technique and I'm now a one stroke breather who can't swim with my head under water anymore. I'm obviously wasting a lot of energy by swimming with my head up more or less all the time? but I start to panic if I bring it under. I'm working on bringing the head down but it's not going anywhere. Should I just 'start again' so to speak, get the head down and work back up to being able to manage, head down. Or does it really matter that much? Can do 2k comfortably in the pool at the mo...

3) What is your favourite flavour of crisps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Hey Chief we finally get you to bear your soul:)

1. Favourite race you have done so far and why.
    2. What do you think has been your biggest achievement to date in swimming and or multisport.
    3. Any plans for going long again next year.
    4. What are your favourite treats in off season.
    5. What was your swimming background, did you swim as a child if not how did you become a fish.
    6. Can someone really improve their swimming in solo sessions or are group sessions an absolute must.
    7. Will i ever swim a 1:10 IM:)
    8. Best tip for improving your kick

That should keep you busy for a while:D

catweazle wrote: »
    1. I am around a 1.25 ish swimmer for 100 metres, with my time available next year more than likely being reduced how important is technique v swim fitness at my level. Having only learned to swim in the last few years i am conscious that it will be very difficult to bring my times down as far as someone who grew up swimming

If your 400 f/s time is around or under 6 mins then yes, its time to get someone to take a look at your stroke on a regular basis to see if there are things to be done to help you reduce your time since swim fitness isnt a problem. On the other hand - if your 400 times is over 7 mins then swim fitness might ;) be a factor. Getting to the pool regularly and being focused on staying @ 80% or above for your main set should see a good return for your time. Swimming continuously at a comfortable pace may check a session off on your weekly training schedule but its about bang for buck when personal / real world issues restrict your time.
    1.25 per 100 is a very good time for someone who's just learned to swim. Bear in mind the swim is the least important of the 3 sports when it comes to middle and long distance racing imho.
    2. Having started off bilaterally in my first 2 years swimming i am now back to breathing every stroke - I can still do both but I am quicker and more comfortable breathing every stroke, should I be looking to get back to bilateral breathing over the winter months.
    people are encouraged to swim with bilateral breathing when starting out to balance the stroke, maintain body position and help with 'feeling' the benefits of stroke rotation for f/s. If you're quicker and more comfortable breathing every stroke ... then for most events that the way to go. As per Pgibbo's report from Barca there are occasions where control and appropriate pacing can be ensured by reverting back to bilateral. But in a sprint tri you do what is necessary and not always what is prettiest.
    3. I am looking at having a go at a long distance swim this year, approx 3 hours, have you any advice on training for something like that.

Whats long distance @ 3 hours ? a 10km - training ? this is a very different beast all about efficiency. Body position,stroke and prioritising efforts are key. Might be able to advise more if you let me know whether its in the sea, lake or river ... Galway bay ? ... Swimming for 3 hours, you're gonna need to take on electrolytes to avoid cramps, and get used to taking on carbs whilst swimming. Provisionally, with what you've told me, steady 90 min to 2 hour swims at steady pace would be the way Id go. If you can swim for that lenght you'll do 3 hours on the day.
    Id offer a word of caution though, if you're training time is limited and your looking at a long spin next October you gotta apply the risk v reward to the 3 hour swim.
    4. Have you ever thought about swimming the channel?
    Yeah, thought about it over the years - and know alot of people that have done it. Also know alot of people that have trained for an entire year for it - and blew serious annual leave sitting waiting for good weather only to be disappointed. Think training for a long distance event, spending all the cash getting you and yours out there - to be told there's no race.
    Also, at certain times and in certain conditions I suffer very badly from sea sickness - sure over shorter distances, races and open water swims up to 5k or so I can muddle through it .. but being sea sick during a channel effort and your putting yourself into a world of trouble.
    Plus, Im no longer a swimmer. I havent swam competitively in 16 years or so ;)

1) Are you ever going to do another log?
    Id no plans to, I still keep a log as a habit but dont publish it. I get weary of putting a comment 'really tired this morning' or 'felt like sh*t'. Training techniques have changed in many ways but looking back at very old log books there not that much different - apart from my times are alot slower and alot less volume ;)
    2) As a youth I would have been a bilateral breather and would have had no problem submerging my head, however, training as a life guard fecked up my swim technique and I'm now a one stroke breather who can't swim with my head under water anymore. I'm obviously wasting a lot of energy by swimming with my head up more or less all the time? but I start to panic if I bring it under. I'm working on bringing the head down but it's not going anywhere. Should I just 'start again' so to speak, get the head down and work back up to being able to manage, head down. Or does it really matter that much? Can do 2k comfortably in the pool at the mo...

tis a weird one. If you swam when younger its only a matter of getting back to those old habits. Ive done enough life guarding ... theres not that much swimming involved anyhow ;)
    Sure you're wasting energy with your head up but Id be more concerned that your hips, legs are lower in the water if your head is higher than it needs to be. For someone that lifeguarded you shouldnt be panicking too much. Nothing down there that'll hurt you so get the head down, let the suit keep your body where it should be.
    2k in the pool - good stuff - I would suspect that if you got the head down again and get comfortable with it .. you're times will be more consistent towards the end of that 2k as you tire - this is based on higher hips, more efficient kick.
    3) What is your favourite flavour of crisps?
    bbq but if could find jalapeno flavour ...

Hey Chief we finally get you to bear your soul:)

oh I dont know about that now champ ;)

1. Favourite race you have done so far and why.

Ive loads of races I like to do -

Valentia island - epic swim and the island itelf - myself and the better half make an annual trip down the day before to swim over and back.
    Kilkee - great spot, very well organised and it gave me an absolute hiding when I went there underprepared. Always nice to know where the edge of the envelope is from time to time.
    7 frogs Castlegregory, Kerry- great people, noone takes it seriously and with a great friend living close by its normally the perfect end to a season. Missed it this year unfortunately.

I like the Bray aquathlons put on by Wicklow Tri as well - grew up swimming about down there so.
    2. What do you think has been your biggest achievement to date in swimming and or multisport.

a coupe of national junior and senior titles a life time ago now stand out for swimming.
    My first ever triathlon was probably my biggest achievement since Id come from 10 years of over working and neglect to getting about a sprint tri.
    3. Any plans for going long again next year.
    Absolutely.
    4. What are your favourite treats in off season.

Not getting up at 5am.
    Red meat. I tend not to eat it during the season.
    Unfortunately last year, I was pretty ill so ended up with a 4 week break from the season - which was a pretty rough one as it was. This year, I took 2 weeks after Henley but I generally I do the sessions for fun for most of the year and then focus in at certain times. If I was to focus in as per previous life Id be single very quickly. She's a patient lady as it is ;) but when I swam there was only focus for 11 months of the year and old habits are hard to shake.
    5. What was your swimming background, did you swim as a child if not how did you become a fish.

I was terrified of water when I was a kid - would sit at side of pool and refuse point blank to get in when prompted by my folks - ironically including my father who never ever swam. One day they got me in, the eyes rolled over all dark a fin grew in the middle of my back and I tore apart several screaming children in the pool that day. In reality, I was / and arguably am still as competitive as most and have relentless approach to training.
    6. Can someone really improve their swimming in solo sessions or are group sessions an absolute must.

They can. But there has to be total commitment and focus. Ideally the solo sessions should be complimentary stroke or distance work to your group swim. Swimming solo you HAVE to commit to the predetermined session and set times - no cutting the set, no increasing rest times. You have to suffer. And its easier to suffer in groups. Close your eyes - conjure an image on lap 3 of the run in Bolton - all those people suffering ? would they do the same on their own ? ;)
    7. Will i ever swim a 1:10 IM:)

Definitely. Ive never seen you swim but I have spoken with you face to face and read your log from last season. Youre committed and dont mind getting up early. You'll be grand - just be patient.
    8. Best tip for improving your kick
    Hold the board with both hands at the very top of the board with your forearms resting on the board - a little lean forward onto the board and your hips come up slightly. Point the toes, flex the ankles as you kick and keep working hard - keep your chin on the water and try ... try to breath comfortably - keep a steady rythm with a little splash from the feet.
    For triathletes or swimmers - kick is important - it stabilises the body in an appropriate position on top of the water to ensure you can leverage the water and get on with swimming on top of the water rather than through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

2011 season highlight?

And low point?

You've seen me swim. It's not pretty I know! What's it going to take to get my swim to the same level my bike and run are at, allowing me to get in a proper race rather than pissin past people on the bike/run? Or it that asking too much? Im giving away huge headstarts.

And why did you keep shouting at me in Belvo on Monday??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Are you going to charge people a fee for asking you for personal coaching tips about themselves in a thread where they are supposed to be asking questions about you and your training? :D

2011 season highlight?

1. my run split in kilkee ... pitiful to most folk ... but Id managed to negative split every km on a course that gave me a hiding the previous year.
    2. Swim split and position at Henley. I was 20 seconds off a target time Id penciled in when I entered the race about 9 months earlier. Considered Id be under the target time in May since I was swimming well and then never felt I was swimming well during the summer months so delighted with time in the end. Know there's more there as well since Ive been working on small things with my stroke since I came back and have been doing stuff in training thats faster and sharper than last May.
    And low point?
    Im kinda lucky with this one - I was a sports psychologists wet dream when I was a kid (and most would say I still am) - based on a common question these type of guys used to ask alot. Im curious to see if anyone will actually ask it so here so I wont say anymore.

If I had to answer - being told what I already knew that my left achilles was injured and that Id be limiting time running to whatever was sensible for 12 weeks before Henley. As a result I was disappointed that I couldnt do any aquathlons since they add a social side mid week to 3 months of solo stuff.
    You've seen me swim. It's not pretty I know! What's it going to take to get my swim to the same level my bike and run are at, allowing me to get in a proper race rather than pissin past people on the bike/run? Or it that asking too much? Im giving away huge headstarts.

I have seen you swim.
    Its improved dramatically since I saw you swim in Wexford at the start of last season.
    Unlike me you have alot of the natural attributes that you require for a swimmer - the only thing holding you back at the moment is that you're relatively new to swimming.

Based on some recent 100/400 splits I noticed - swim fitness is a limiter. You've swam over 180k this year based on the log so its not commitment and number of sessions thats an limiting you - but potentially the type of sessions and intensity you're working at in training.
    You were potentially the most frequent/regular open water swimmer during the summer months and it shows in the pool. Ensuring whats done in the pool over the coming winter is translated to your sprint races is key for you and some others I know - it might sting a little from time to time - but Id have high hopes that people like yourself that buy into it - will get a return for their time.

edit - its worth targeting a time for your swims rather than your position in a field of triathletes - thankfully the sport is rapidly changing and new people are coming from different backgrounds to join in. With TI's policy for identifying talent based on swim and run times - and the heavy training loads on middle of the road age group swimmers - its inevitable that nearly all races on the calendar will be populated by one or more ex-fish. Inconsistent swim distances during races mean targeting pb's for 750 / 1500 swims in races is futile but the pool is what it is in illustrating progress.
    And why did you keep shouting at me in Belvo on Monday??
    You and others holding you up were taking rest that wasnt there - 75's off 1.20 are 75's off 1.20 and not 1.20 + the time it takes to catch your breath, stand up, adjust goggles etc ;) On some sets, if you're barely making the times or missing them by 1 or 2 seconds - then you keep swimming barely making the time or missing them by 1 or 2 seconds.

robinph wrote: »
    Are you going to charge people a fee for asking you for personal coaching tips about themselves in a thread where they are supposed to be asking questions about you and your training? :D

Yeah, so far I think there's been about 3 or 4 personal questions but hey - ironically Im not all that 'interesting'. Besides, with one or two exceptions that I have seen swim in some form or another, there's only so much I can do over d'internet - and then again you gotta question the sanity of some to believe everything they read ;)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

A lot of people here know your background but I don't. Also I'm deliberately not going to ask for swim tips. :)
    How long have you been doing tri?

Your run distance this year was low compared to bike and swim. Was this down to your Achilles problem you mention or a training strategy? How did it affect your year?

What age are you?*

How important and strict is your diet?

Chocolate or crisps?

*you don't have to answer this :)

Oryx wrote: »
    A lot of people here know your background but I don't. Also I'm deliberately not going to ask for swim tips. :)

... swim tips - cool ;)
    How long have you been doing tri?

Just over 4 years.
    Your run distance this year was low compared to bike and swim. Was this down to your Achilles problem you mention or a training strategy? How did it affect your year?

Id been relatively happy with what Id done this year in terms of running - a week before kilkee - I thought Id had yet-another-calf injury low down on my left leg - but it turned out to be the start of an achilles injury. Between then and Henley in Sept I didnt have too many running issues since based on all the advice I got, I only ran 5k at a time and at an appropriate pace for what I intended to do at Henley. So alot of biking.

My original plan for Henley was to approach it as a long aquathlon - the bike profile and uk roads suggested that this approach of getting about on the bike and then focusing in on the run would yield the best result for me working within my own real world physical strengths and weaknesses. At the end of June I reconsidered this approach and spent alot of time on the bike - that fitness translated to the run - and hey, I got about and ironically Id no issues with the achilles whatsoever despite some off roading on the run.
    What age are you?*

36 going on 16
    How important and strict is your diet?
    For me diet is a real key - something I only really got better at in the 4 years Ive been playing at triathlon. Since I generally train in the mornings I stagger food accordingly - Big breakfast, reasonable lunch and not a lot of tea. In training I generally react to what Ive been eating the day before - so if I eat crap I train crap. This used to stress me out unnecessarily since I didnt know why I was off ... the penny dropped eventually.
    Its a cliche but if Id have known back when I was swimming what I know now id have saved myself alot of trouble ;)
    Also - as much as I like coffee - I knocked it on the head over the last year and I reckon Ive been functioning alot better without it.
    Chocolate or crisps?
    Neither - although Im very good at economising with my energy - this has been an issue since we've vending machines in work. If there was a gun to my head Id say chocolate.
    *you don't have to answer this :)
    No worries, I find it helps justify some of my run times ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Dowee

Do you consider the additional drag associated with excess body hair to be an important or potentially limiting factor in open water and / or pool based swimming?

If so, have you any tips for minimizing its negative impact on swim times?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

interested wrote: »
    just one final question - please write down a minute by minute account of your first year experience long distance triathlon training and racing. Leave nothing out. I think its only fair I await your answer. ;)

Hey interested here's one I prepared earlier!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056054129

I guess I should have fired a few questions at you when I drew you out Chief but I was in a hurry. So heres a few for you.

- Who is your Hero/Rolemodel and why?
    - What is the Daddy target before you slow down forever?
    - What is the Daddy event before you lie down forever?
    - What is the best Christmas present you ever got?
    - What would Santa ideally bring this year?
    - What does your key swim, bike and run look like in a typical IM phase training week?
    - How much do you train by feel vs the clock/gadgets?
    - What is the longest swim session you have done?
    - Do you feel there is any benefit for triahletes to learn other strokes?
    - What do you do to switch off?
    - Who would have featured on teenage interested's bedroom wall? :)

Cheers!

Dowee wrote: »
    Do you consider the additional drag associated with excess body hair to be an important or potentially limiting factor in open water and / or pool based swimming?

If so, have you any tips for minimizing its negative impact on swim times?

Great question, but expected more from you Dowee ;) In many ways your own views on this would be interesting since there have been many occasions when others have mistook you for teenwolf ;)

In pool / open water more hair equals more drag but at most peoples level of swimming it wont really matter too much. Once you get the arm bands off and move up to the big boy classes you might consider giving the forearms a bit of a shearing Dowie.

If you're wearing a wetsuit it wont matter at all.

Swimmers typically do trim twice a year - once to qualify, once to win. Some triathletes / bikers do find it better to trim regularly during the season to facilitate the healing of road rash and/or facilitate the accuracy of dry needling shots whilst visiting the physio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Thx for taking the time to do this chief.

1. Will your achilles be sorted for next season?
    2. What long distance race are you planning for next year?
    3. Had you ambitions of sub 11 or 10 this year until you got injured?
    4. You had a cracking swim and bike in Henley but would either have been slower if you hadn't the achilles injury?
    5. How long did it take to recover after Henley?
    6. Training going well and no injuries, what do you think you can achieve in an IM?
    7. Do you get pi$$ed off being asked so many swim questions?
    8. How good did it feel to swim a PRO in to buoy in Henley?
    9. What's your favourite/essential piece of training kit in each sport?
    10. Do you do any gym or core work?
    11. What's your favourite cheat meal?
    12. Is it hard to find people to swim with that push you or do you use drag shorts, etc?
    13. Does your OH give you a run for your money in the water?
    14. What events did you race as a swimmer?

P.

1. my run split in kilkee

You were very chirpy after the race alright!
    swim fitness is a limiter.
    TBF that was after two weeks of drinking. We can discuss the rest over pint tomorrow if you're going.

Perferences

OW v pool (sea-sickness aside)?
    Turbo v Outdoors?
    Half full v half empty?

Favourite place for a bike spin?

You're a lunatic descending on the bike. Is this practice/experience? Bravery? Stupidity? Did your spill last year (was it last year) slow you down any?

- Who is your Hero/Rolemodel and why?

Never really bought into this. Too cynical. I admired Gretzky, Jordan staying at or arguably at the top in their respective sports long after their physical peak based on their intelligence. I wouldnt mind meeting Kieren Perkins since he dominated distance freestyle for so long and managed to get away with shooting an air rifle in the athletes village at the commonwealth games so that's kinda cool. Both achievements illustrate the guy has a screw loose. People like Steve Ovette, Kelly, Jens Voight would be highly entertaining people to have round for food.
    - What is the Daddy target before you slow down forever?

I have slowed down forever. Being me I find it incredibly frustrating not being able to train on times and distances I did before. I was doing 23/24 hour weeks when I was swimming - Id was on 17 for a few weeks during the summer but then I guess the years have been cruel ;) ... to answer your question ... finish an ironman with a respectable run time and then not mutter the words 'gotta sort out my run for next year' ;)
    - What is the Daddy event before you lie down forever?
    Alcatraz swim with and without the wetsuit - and under 30 mins.
    Raid Pyrenees (left to right, right to left)
    Ironman western australia would be nice.
    Im sure there's loads more.

- What is the best Christmas present you ever got?

Toss up between a 6*4 snooker table - foldy up one that made me wander around in my pygama's thinking I was Jimmy White all that christmas. But that was last year ;)

The other present was a peugeot racer that allowed me to commute to swimming from the age of about 11 onwards. Enabled with an old-school dynamo it got me about alot.
    - What would Santa ideally bring this year?
    Computrainer, power metre and a steve-austin style pair of legs - with really bright runners. I was always confused that Steve never ran around and round in cycles since only one of his legs was bionic.
    - What does your key swim, bike and run look like in a typical IM phase training week?

key swim session(s) in a week would be - 4 or 5k session with age group squad. Key session would also be about a 60 min open water swim. This summer these were largely done solo or with the better half and maybe one or two others. I prefer swimming alone at sea - as stupid as that is. After some experiences with doctors and hospitals in this country Id have no problem checking out off shore.

Bike - this year it was the focus of key turbo sessions mid week - consistency being important for me - and road sessions at the weekends - early morning sat for 80k - short warm up - above race pace for 60 or so - and then a spin down. Sundays was 140k+ spins for 8 or 9 weeks in a row - with IM efforts in the middle 100k.

Run - In an ideal world, one longish run ~ 15k, regular paced runs of 5k or so off turbo's and then a session of controlled intervals - something like 10*1k at intended race pace per k minus 20 or so. The objective to complete all 10 and improve pace slowly over a period of time.

- How much do you train by feel vs the clock/gadgets?

Id have said nearly all by feel but on answering this I enjoy using some of the gadgets.

A garmin 405 for running has been invaluable before its battery started annoying the hell out of me. I rarely use a HRM these days but will throw it on from time to time for key sessions.
    A power metre on the bike would help me eliminate wasted sessions and time on the bike I reckon but cant see myself justifying it - and worried Id slip into old habits and really go to the dark side again forgetting to just enjoy the session for the sake of it. Last thing I need to do is take this seriously ;)

In the pool, its all about the clock. Its the first thing I I do use pull bouy, paddles and kickboard - but thats it. Ive used drag belts in the past for short periods and bungy cords.
    - What is the longest swim session you have done?
    And now we're getting to the fun stuff ...
    sessions would vary from period to period in the year - I was a distance freestyler so we'd be on between 50 and 60k a week over 9-11 sessions in the pool. There were weeks when the distances were upwards of 80km but these werent sustainable over long periods of time. We'd have land sessions as well - 30 mins or so. Each week there'd be regularly 2 sessions a day and a 3 hour session on a saturday. In one day we'd probably do 13 to 15k over the 2 sessions - on a saturday we'd be close to 8k probably.

a few sets stand out ... mainly posed by the coache(s) to harden the mind
    a) a tues morning in the winter, 5.20am, on white board '10,000 swim' - finished it at 7.40 and had to cycle home for school through a headwind swaying all over the place. Back then I couldnt stomach liquids or anything whilst training so ...

b) Long course, outdoor pool, University of Florida ... following the warm up ... 6*1500's on 20mins. Unfortunately I was coming back from an injury and was at a gala I wasnt racing at so the coach just wanted me out of the way for a while. I was on the 4th 1500 when Anthony Nesty popped in - looked at my set, laughed and asked me what had I dont to deserve it. ;)

c) Long course, outdoor pool in the states - 60 * 100's f/s on 1.15 - 12 sets of 5*100's desc 1-5, last 100 of each set must be under 1.03. There were 6 in the lane including a 12 year old girl who went on to win several olympic gold medals for distance freestyle who burst out crying when the coach handed it down.

d) Long course, same pool as c) above - 30*200 fly wit fins on 3.15. The set was originally 20*200's but when asked by the assistant coach was I enjoying the set I responded unexpectedly with 'hell yeah, I could do these all day mate' - Id to do another 10 on my own with a drag belt on - Ive still a scar on my right hip from it. He was actually a descent coach and treated me pretty well after I did it and never complained once.
    - Do you feel there is any benefit for triahletes to learn other strokes?

Definitely - backstroke - gives the forward rotator cuffs a rest and allows you to do some active recovery without using the muscles you should be using when swimming freestyle.
    - What do you do to switch off?
    I go training in the open water. Honestly - because of the way I grew up - I feel most switched off when swimming - especially solo - in the open water.

- Who would have featured on teenage interested's bedroom wall? :)

Jesus. :D ... the queen is dead or doolittle poster.

You were very chirpy after the race alright!
    We'll put that down to relief ;)
    TBF that was after two weeks of drinking. We can discuss the rest over pint tomorrow if you're going.
    I knew that, and the first session back for everyone is difficult. Lets just say everyones attitude was being watched more than anything else.
    With that many adults in the pool its pretty important over the coming months we all know whats to be done and where we/you guys need to work. ;)
    Ill be about town alright.
    Perferences
    OW v pool (sea-sickness aside)?
    Turbo v Outdoors?
    Half full v half empty?
    Favourite place for a bike spin?

OW in a heartbeat - a couple of spots more than others ... 5km off the maharees near castlegregory between the islands - you know how insignificant you are in a heartbeat.

Turbo sessions are very very useful and saw immediate value in them recently - outdoors still rules though but living in Dublin its no mean feat to get out and actually training without flapping about on busy roads for a while.

Half empty ... an unfortunate kink Ive always had.

Favourite place for a bike spin ? Conor Pass from cloghane side in Kerry, Red lane, Lugalla from the east as the summer sun sits up in front of you.

You're a lunatic descending on the bike. Is this practice/experience? Bravery? Stupidity? Did your spill last year (was it last year) slow you down any?

Practice and experience makes my descending more calculated than anyone would know and its kinda all relevant. Ive no intention of crashing and do what is in my control to know the descent before I get myself down it.
    The front hub explosion (mavic syrium elite) at 60km+ behind a car coming off Lugalla was entertaining to say the least - but I didnt crash thankfully. Its no place to loose it but thankfully those behind me reacted and didnt clatter into me and I didnt end up in the back seat of the merc in front of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

a) a tues morning in the winter, 5.20am, on white board '10,000 swim' - finished it at 7.40

b) Long course, outdoor pool, University of Florida ... following the warm up ... 6*1500's on 20mins ... etc...

:eek: Good Jesus :eek:

Who was the 12 year old and who is the most prolific international swimmer you have shared a lane with?

What was your dream back then?

Did you step off a high performance swim career early?

pgibbo wrote: »
    Thx for taking the time to do this chief.
    No worries. I find all this very calming and they say reflection from time to time is good for you ;)

1. Will your achilles be sorted for next season?
    Im going to do everything I can to ensure this and that I make good on things I should have done in the gym years ago to build up glutes and hamstrings that have been of absolute no use to me for some time now.
    2. What long distance race are you planning for next year?

Ill train for two - austria and barcelona - Im confident Ill start one of them but gotta be sensible regarding real world distractions ;)
    3. Had you ambitions of sub 11 or 10 this year until you got injured?

Not at Henley - Id considered anywhere near 11.30 to be a descent return based on how my season / training had gone. The road conditions and profile of the bike and my running limitations over off road sections meant that sub 11 was off the cards. 11.35 @ Henley would indicate that a sub 11 somewhere else may have been possible.
    Before the achilles injury Id have been a little bit more optimistic but hey - the injury insured Id more bike legs and fitness so .. did what I could.
    4. You had a cracking swim and bike in Henley but would either have been slower if you hadn't the achilles injury?
    No, I was quite relaxed coming out of the swim - my missus watched me over the last 400 metres of the swim and a) couldnt believe where I was abd b) knew by watching me that I was taking my time so I could have a leak ;). I felt I controlled the bike appropriately and was in good nick coming off for the run - once I got into the 1st of 4 laps I took a responsible attitude to pace and effort based on the terrain. As in do real damage to my achilles and calf that would see me in big trouble throughout this winter or take it on the chin, enjoy the race at Henley and keep it steady.
    5. How long did it take to recover after Henley?

I felt fine after 4 days - day 1 was horrendous, day 2 was better and Id some physio, day 3 I was grand and doing a load of touristy stuff and day 4 I was grand and would have gone swimming except I got stuck in traffic near Birmingham. I took the following week off since I was on antibiotics for a week due to a condition I keep getting from time to time related to my kidneys and then I did and easy bike and went back into full winter swim training 15 days after the race this monday.
    6. Training going well and no injuries, what do you think you can achieve in an IM?

If I do the right work on strengthening my legs in the right spots I think I could probably get close to sub 10 given the right conditions.
    7. Do you get pi$$ed off being asked so many swim questions?

Not in the slightest - Ive the utmost respect for people learning to swim of any age and Ive an almost religious attitude towards open water swimming. If I can help someone via advice to enjoy it 1% as much as I do I will.
    8. How good did it feel to swim a PRO in to buoy in Henley?

Pretty good. My attitude was if you're wearing a pro hat you should be way up the river than me - and you deserve it for breaking - I was merely holding my line to the bouy your honour ;)

9. What's your favourite/essential piece of training kit in each sport?
    my toggs for swimming ;) my goggles actually - the lenses in them are over 20 years old but they're comfortable - I obviously dont use them for racing since they're scratched to hell at this stage.

biking - a couple of nice fizik saddles, assos long distance shorts

running - Garmin 405 when it decides to comply ;)
    10. Do you do any gym or core work?
    I dont just swim freestyle so I get alot of core strenght from that - I was doing pilates and plan to go back to doing that and some yoga over the next 6 months. I dont do any weights - even back when I was swimming we did a little gym work - mainly light weights, high number of reps.
    11. What's your favourite cheat meal?
    Pizza, there was also a pretty messy eating competition between 2 monster long distance sessions when I was a kid where I consumed about 4 big macs and temporarily held down about 6 jelly donuts. It was hot that afternoon which played against me.
    12. Is it hard to find people to swim with that push you or do you use drag shorts, etc?

Yep, although Im very lucky at the moment being a paying geriatric thats allowed attend age-group sessions at a dublin club. Im the 'if old man beats you on this 50, you're doing press ups' kinda role model.
    I have worn a drag belt during sessions before to facilitate swimming with others but that just makes me cranky ... as does people saying they cant kick cause of some mystery physical limitation that doesnt effect them when they run 3.10 for the marathon or bike ;)
    13. Does your OH give you a run for your money in the water?
    Contentious stuff indeed ;) No, she's had serious shoulder issues - and swam up to a level where it didnt get serious - so in saying that - she's always enjoyed swimming. When I stopped training, I stopped and put alot of effort into making up for missing several years down the pub ;) Also, since I was a kid, I never ever ever ever ever let someone win but Im very happy and will be the first person in the world to congratulate someone that passes or finishes ahead of me. She's as competitive ;)
    14. What events did you race as a swimmer?

Hmm ... mosney ;) national and provincial age group championships, national senior and provincial senior championships, british national senior championships, european club championships - I was lucky enough to train over the states regularly and for an extended period after school where I was able to race locally but it was all part of a 6 month training stint prior to the Irish nationals. I did the open water races between 12 and 14 before getting into the competitive stuff more seriously - these would include things like the harbour swim, liffey swim etc I always fared pretty well in the OW stuff ... in '88 I was 13 and 3rd in the overall points competition that year. I rarely got lost was always very comfortable in the sea.

Thankfully swimming has cleaned up alot of its issues that plagued Irish swimming and Dublin clubs in particular around the time when I swam. Hopefully the processes that are in place now save kids from the experiences some of the people I swam with have had to live with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Some Dangerous ground here.

1. What was your gut reaction to Michelle Smith and the massive improvements in her times

2. Has Thorpe any chance next year or is it too difficult to come back after such a long break

3. Favourite ITU swimmer?

4. Hayley Peirsol - She seems like she will never be able to compete with the runners - do you think she will ever go back to swimming

5. To have one open water swim anywhere in the world -where?

6. First out of the water or first overall in a major race?

7. Some of my friends were some serious swimmers in their day, but none now are involved with swimming or swim regularly anymore. I saw an article with Grainne Murphy and I shuddered looking at her training week. To be at the top the training load is probably unparalleled and burn out is all too frequent. Is this just a matter of course or can anything be done to keep people participating for longer

8. We have heard about swimming, cycling, running and Snooker - have you any other sporting interests, will you be getting up on saturday morning for the rugby?

:eek: Good Jesus :eek:

Who was the 12 year old and who is the most prolific international swimmer you have shared a lane with?

What was your dream back then?

Did you step off a high performance swim career early?

12 year old was Brooke Bennett
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brooke_Bennett
    A precocious kid at the best of times, a V8 engine and windmill arms that just went and went and went. It was no surprise to me she went onto have the career she did - it was sad to read about her Granddad passing away before she made it big time at the Oly's - he was retired and used to bring her training each morning - he'd shout 'hey irish, theres breakfast here for ya' and throw me cinnamon danishes.

My dream ? qualify for atlanta .. reality was very different but hey.

"high performance swim career" - when I was swimming I wasnt aware I was doing anything different or was ever high performance. I did the best I could with what I had - Im not naturally built to swim - I got lucky with the results I got but I worked hard to give myself a shot at it ... (there were some very good swimmers at the time) ... also essentially, I was too dumb to quit. My how things havent changed ;)

I stopped in earnest when I was coming to the end of second year in college - I was literally getting sick all the time from attempting to swim, commute, college, swim, study and sleep. I was lucky though in that I transferred all my focus onto college after I stopped so it all worked out in that respect. My wife often wonders what Id have been capable of at Ironman distance months after I finished swimming. Rather than well over a decade.

catweazle wrote:
    Some Dangerous ground here.
    At a glance I completely concur ;) but expected as much from you champ
    1. What was your gut reaction to Michelle Smith and the massive improvements in her times

3 reactions that summer
    a) was a million miles from qualifying for the games but regret that I was so far from even having a shot ... ;)
    b) regret that I hadnt put money on her winning gold based on what Id seen when I was in the U.S myself.
    c) my initial reaction was surprise and happiness that someone could have achieved those results coming from Ireland with the facilities we had at the time. She'd worked incredibly hard. Publically, thats all you're getting. Id been at some of the gala's in florida that she'd been at prior to the games so it didnt all come as a total shock ...
    2. Has Thorpe any chance next year or is it too difficult to come back after such a long break

I think he'll be doing well to qualify as part of the Australian team, to win, after the time again I figure it might be part of a 4*200 or 4*100 relay but who knows. The guy has talent and probably never gave up swimming completely in the years between but its a big ask.
    3. Favourite ITU swimmer?

Im really gonna show my ignorance here but I dont know any - I really dont follow it apart from some of our own Irish competitors ... and the world stars ... Ill say Andy Potts ... but clearly that'd be wrong ;)
    4. Hayley Peirsol - She seems like she will never be able to compete with the runners - do you think she will ever go back to swimming
    No, but I could see her go for 5k or 10k swim spots at the olys at some stage. Only one of a select few to go under 16mins for the ladies long course. Would it be wrong to say she's got balls ?

5. To have one open water swim anywhere in the world -where?
    Bearing sea - Alaska to Russia ... one way ticket Id imagine.

6. First out of the water or first overall in a major race?

First out of the water at Alcatraz triathlon. Ive won at major races like the 7 Frogs castlegregory before and seen what that sort of success and the associated riches can do to a man. ;)
    7. Some of my friends were some serious swimmers in their day, but none now are involved with swimming or swim regularly anymore. I saw an article with Grainne Murphy and I shuddered looking at her training week. To be at the top the training load is probably unparalleled and burn out is all too frequent. Is this just a matter of course or can anything be done to keep people participating for longer

Very common scenario. Things are changing here - an old coach of mine is currently high performance director at swim ireland and he's introduced some things from a life time of coaching in the U.S to help swimmers. The timing of big competitions and qualifies in relation to the academic year for example. Personally, I got crushed trying to train sufficiently enough to stay competitive and attending college and studying to pass semesterised exams. In the states, the courses and academic work is around the training and not the other way around.
    Also, swimmers generally get into the competitive side of things and training at a young age. Its not for everyone - and when a parent stops delivering the young adult to the pool it becomes up to them to decide what they want to put themselves through.

I was kinda lucky - Ive a personal motivation that drives me to the edge and way way beyond that has gotten me into serious trouble on lots of occasions - I also got out of swimming at the right time.

8. We have heard about swimming, cycling, running and Snooker - have you any other sporting interests, will you be getting up on saturday morning for the rugby?

Yeah, when i was a kid I played rugby, soccer, bog ball and stick fighting .. but swimming was the only sport that never asked me to quit the others. I remember getting detention at school for refusing to play in the rugby team cause Id a Leinster championship coming up which I deemed more important. Ill watch and participate in absolutely any sport .. Im not a big fan of watching horse racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭zico10

Do you think there is any merit to the statement, 'I just can't swim (fast)'? Not necessarily for me, but many people believe it about themselves.

Are you aware of the Total Immersion approach to swimming? If so, what are your thoughts on it?

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

*not asking a question but I got to comment: the bering sea? OMFG.

Im also loving the trend of your answers when it comes to swimming, seems to be along the lines of 'just htfu and suffer'. Are you a tough coach?

zico10 wrote: »
    Do you think there is any merit to the statement, 'I just can't swim (fast)'? Not necessarily for me, but many people believe it about themselves.

Are you aware of the Total Immersion approach to swimming? If so, what are your thoughts on it?

Hey chief - long time no hear, hope all is well with you.

"'I just can't swim (fast)'?" no, I believe everyone can swim or be thought to swim. I think in alot of cases if it was 'I just cant be bothered spending the time to learn to swim properly and then work at getting faster since Im a triathlete' then people might be more honest. In other cases people have be told a multitude of things by different people about their stroke - they're often very confused with conflicting approaches or trying to solve it all at once. When people are teaching kids they focus on one thing per week - as long as the kids are happy, the parents are happy and the kid improves over the period of a year or two. When people are teaching a triathlete the triathletes expectation is that they'll be a couple of minutes (at least) faster next season - 8 months or less away - so often the teacher will attempt to force feed them EVERYTHING to satisfy them.

In truth I dont know alot about the religion that is TOTAL IMMERSION ;) Ive heard some stuff and what I have heard I dont really agree with. But then again I rarely teach and casually coach - up til recently - so ... its not like I have a perfect stroke anyhow.

Im hoping for some video footage from you again soon Zico ;)

Boring my ar$e chief. Some damn interesting nuggets coming out. :cool:

So what event did you hope to qualify for Atlanta in?
    Did you get a swim scholarship?
    How did you wind up swimming so much in the US or is that the norm at the level you were at?
    Do you ever look at the SwimSmooth site? If so, what are your thoughts on it?
    What was your highest break in snooker?

Boring my ar$e chief. Some damn interesting nuggets coming out. :cool:

So what event did you hope to qualify for Atlanta in?

1500 freestyle
    Did you get a swim scholarship?
    Was offered a half scholarship but the other half would have been a bit of an issue ;)
    How did you wind up swimming so much in the US or is that the norm at the level you were at?

Club I swam with had strong links with a US based club - for a couple of weeks a squad would go out during the summer to train for irish nationals. At the time there was no long course pools in ireland so it was pretty cool. Often very hard work but great craic. I took time out after school and was invited over for 6 months to train.
    Do you ever look at the SwimSmooth site? If so, what are your thoughts on it?
    Yeah, I think its cool - not perfect - but a great online illustration with alot of good points.
    What was your highest break in snooker?
    Seriously, just cause I was bought a small table when I was a kid doesnt mean I was actually any good ;) I think I managed 16 once ... ;)

Oryx wrote: »
    *not asking a question but I got to comment: the bering sea? OMFG.

Id only last a short while ... ;)
    Im also loving the trend of your answers when it comes to swimming, seems to be along the lines of 'just htfu and suffer'. Are you a tough coach?

Im hoping its not coming across like that - alot of questions are talking about swimming, my swimming background - it was really really tough on reflection but when you're in it ... and Id say if you walk into alot of pools at 6am around the country ... there'll be kids doing as much or more now .. then it feels like the norm.

Am I a tough coach ? Ive taken 1 session so far with the club so Ill go with no ;) ... honestly though - I had alot of different coaches in a few different places at different stages of when I swam ... all had positives and some had more negatives than others .... they didnt want to waste their time and I didnt want to waste mine - so we got along just fine. The sets are the set are the sets no matter who gives them out ... but the best coaches push and push cause they know or think you can take it but it should be all designed to see you with a smile at the end of a season. Its not about someone thrash talking about how many km's they did or do ... its about results. So, I reckon Ill be a really friendly coach ;) when everyones working flat out and red faced .... and coming out of the water where they should be next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Great stuff so far, interested... you're living up to your username!

Open water, do you "just" swim, or do you sets/drills?

Some lads I know who have competed at a competitive level in different sports find it hard, now that they have taken up triathlon, to return to the "pain" of the intense training and racing of their youth. Do you find you hold back now compared to what you might have as a younger man?

ronanmac wrote: »
    Open water, do you "just" swim, or do you sets/drills?

Some lads I know who have competed at a competitive level in different sports find it hard, now that they have taken up triathlon, to return to the "pain" of the intense training and racing of their youth. Do you find you hold back now compared to what you might have as a younger man?

re: open water
    when Im on my own I tend to just swim - but I will change the pace between points and Id be regularly sighting but thats the closest thing to a drill. I know of a recent article about this sort of thing and using paddles etc in the open water but I tend to swim in the sea and not lakes or rivers where the water is calmer. Not convinced of the benefits but ...

The swimming I do now is very different to the swimming I did when I was younger. Sure, i do the sets and often lead out a lane of age group swimmers and yes, it bloody hurts so Im not exactly holding back. For the type of swimming I was training for back then it was all about consistency and raising the intensity in a very controlled way to ensure you were training the body to adapt to higher speeds for longer and enable it to handle lactic acid appropriately.

Its all about consistency - the pain is very temporary but its still there if you go looking for it ... like doing the 1st 100 of a 400 at a ridiculous pace to prove some sort of futile point you've forgotten about when youre dizzy finishing the 3rd 100 and feeling like an idiot ;)

I reckon if people are consistent with whatever they're doing the things they find initial impossible can become real possibilities given patience and a bit of luck.

I hadn't planned on asking a swim related "how to" question but figure might as well as I'm sure alot of people have the same issue. So the likes of me and many others on here who only learned to swim in the last few years can get in and swim comfortably at 2:05 to 2:10 per 100m for say 400m. Soon after you do 4x100 with 20s rest and come in on say 1:48, 1:50, 1:52 & 1:53. You're blowing pretty hard but can do a 300m cool down easily with 2:05 or so 100s. That's a lot of effort for small gains. So how do you overcome this or is it anxiety kicking in when you swim faster and you lose form? A very open question I know and probably one that needs a person by person answer but figured I'd throw it out there. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I very briefly dipped my toe into the triathlon scene last year, and one thing I got warned about again and again (and again) was to never do an OWS swim on my own. Never. Ever. Which was a real pain as I live beside a lake and the nearest pool was half an hour's drive away.

I get the impression from your responses that you do a lot of solo OWS. Any comments, thoughts, advice?

I hadn't planned on asking a swim related "how to" question but figure might as well as I'm sure alot of people have the same issue. So the likes of me and many others on here who only learned to swim in the last few years can get in and swim comfortably at 2:05 to 2:10 per 100m for say 400m. Soon after you do 4x100 with 20s rest and come in on say 1:48, 1:50, 1:52 & 1:53. You're blowing pretty hard but can do a 300m cool down easily with 2:05 or so 100s. That's a lot of effort for small gains. So how do you overcome this or is it anxiety kicking in when you swim faster and you lose form? A very open question I know and probably one that needs a person by person answer but figured I'd throw it out there. :D

Ill do my best to answer this one - but in brief - its down to one or both of the following:
    - poor technique
    - poor swim fitness

The better your swim fitness the longer you can hold your stroke and keep doing things well and moving fast with minimal effort. If you tire (and we all do) and things start really getting bent out of shape times will slip - BUT ... there are high benefits to be had by finishing out the set - despite the fact that you might be only getting a couple or ... sometimes ... no rest between the intervals. If you're coming out of the water tired after each session you know you're pushing things in the right direction ... BUT ... its critical for those that swim on their own to ensure that they are pushing things and training practicing the right technique.
    The two items above are very much related but its not always possible for every swimmer to have a coach on the bank watching them or ensuring that they are employing the best techniques possible.

Hope this helps - the short answer could have so easily been 'work harder' but ... ;)

Im pretty certain this applies to all 3 sports and not just swimming. Think of run intervals for something like a 5k or 10k race. My swim fitness certainly doesnt translate to my run fitness so.

I very briefly dipped my toe into the triathlon scene last year, and one thing I got warned about again and again (and again) was to never do an OWS swim on my own. Never. Ever. Which was a real pain as I live beside a lake and the nearest pool was half an hour's drive away.

I get the impression from your responses that you do a lot of solo OWS. Any comments, thoughts, advice?

Hey, yeah - and Im glad this came up - swimming alone in open water is NOT a sensible thing to do. I often end up swimming alone and very much enjoy the isolation BUT I do approach it as follows:

a) tell someone where Ill be swimming and when I plan to be back.
    b) swim parallel to the shoreline or within close proximity to an out alot of the time
    c) have good knowledge of where you're swimming

It is a luxury I enjoy based on my background but I dont mean to encourage it folks.

Im hoping for some video footage from you again soon Zico ;)

I've done nothing to warrant a video this year, I'm afraid. And I'm no longer a member of 3D in any event. The show will just have to go on without me.

Just one more question on swim performance, injuries aside, do you feel swim, bike and run splits should be more or less evenly matched? i.e. Should someone who is exiting the water in the bottom half of the field, but whose bike and run times rank much higher than this, be performing better in the swim?

Should someone who is exiting the water in the bottom half of the field, but whose bike and run times rank much higher than this, be performing better in the swim?

You having a go at me Zico??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

1. You mention swim fitness as being a limiter for some. Leaving aside technique for a minute how do you improve swim fitness - long slow swims, shorter intervals or a mixture? Is there a big difference in trying to improve swim fitness for IM over say sprint distance?

2. What club / group do I have to joint to have you abuse my stroke?

You having a go at me Zico??

Don't flatter yourself. It could be any number of people.

griffin100 wrote: »
    1. You mention swim fitness as being a limiter for some. Leaving aside technique for a minute how do you improve swim fitness - long slow swims, shorter intervals or a mixture? Is there a big difference in trying to improve swim fitness for IM over say sprint distance?

From a swimming point of view - since Id imagine its similar to both biking and running - the fitness benefits associated with long slow swims / bikes or runs for certain people at a certain level have limited returns.
    Swimming sets with intervals that have minimal rest between swims that keep you at an appropriate aerobic level should bring on swim fitness to ensure that your second or third 100 out of a 750 are the same as the 5th or 6th or the 34th, 35th or so 100 of a 3.8k swim. Training to improve your fitness so you can swim / bike and/or run at the the desired pace throughout the event and not just at the start is a challenge for everyone I guess irrespective of distances.
    2. What club / group do I have to joint to have you abuse my stroke?
    Oh, typically Im happy to do that to anyone ;) its not necessary to join any group.

Just one more question on swim performance, injuries aside, do you feel swim, bike and run splits should be more or less evenly matched? i.e. Should someone who is exiting the water in the bottom half of the field, but whose bike and run times rank much higher than this, be performing better in the swim?

IMO, especially at HIM and IM I personally think people may get more for their training time by 'just doing enough' at swimming to ensure they get to the bike comfortably and being in a position to execute the business end of the race on the run. The time and effort to bring your swim time down from 1.10 to 50 at IM distances is probably considerably more for most compared to improving your bike or run by 20 mins.

I think for NS races at olympic and sprint distance especially, its key to have a strong swim to give yourself a chance of top race spots and points overall -its gotta be in line with the bike and run splits.

From my own point of view - Ive alot of work to do to bring my running splits up to a standard that Im not embarrassed by them. Sure, swimming and some biking over the winter will help me maintain those for next year but Ill need to buy into some different methods to give myself a chance to build on my running in a structured way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭NeedsTraining

Hey interested,

How many hours a week do you spend in the pool?
    Do you train before or after work?
    Do you swim in OW during the winter?
    Ever have a coach in triathlon or has your days of swimming put you off working with a coach?
    Is your wife into triathlons or how you get all the passes?
    Ever run a standalone marathon?
    A weekend away with the mrs or a training camp? :D

Cheers,

NT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭El Director

Finally getting around to reading this :rolleyes:

Interested:

1) If you were looking down on yourself swim how would describe your technique?
    2) What tri in Ireland would you love to win?
    3) Is Kona a goal of yours?
    4) Do you like HIM distance?
    5) What would you tell "Interested" 2o years ago?
    6) What do you think you will be doing in 20 years time? Any tri/swim related stuff?
    7) If you could recommend a one book to read, what would it be?
    8) Fav film of all time?
    9) Will I ever make it into the pool before you?

EL D

Hey interested,
    How many hours a week do you spend in the pool?
    These days, 4.5 over 3 sessions.
    Do you train before or after work?
    Before work and after from time to time. Largely depends on time of season, what Im up to and the parameters of the real world.
    Do you swim in OW during the winter?

Sadly not, the potential negative impacts far out weight the positives. I do miss it alot and most years recently Im back in the water in April.
    Ever have a coach in triathlon or has your days of swimming put you off working with a coach?
    No, but I probably would have / would benefit from one. Only thing putting me off is that if I go down that road, Ive turned a corner from 'just a fun past time' into something more serious. Some might say I passed that point a while back anyhow but its all relative I guess. I think having a coach for many is an excellent idea - but if its not working out then Id encourage both the trainer and trained to be honest about it.
    Is your wife into triathlons or how you get all the passes?
    She used to have an interest in them as a spectator and has done a couple of swim legs as part of relays but in fairness - interest tends to wain when you've see a few. She enjoys her swimming so thats something. Passes ? ;) I dont race all that much, and generally training very early in the morning and/or immediately after work so its not a regular thing where I go missing.
    Ever run a standalone marathon?
    No, and most would say I havent ran a IM related one either ;) Im curious but lack motivation.
    A weekend away with the mrs or a training camp? :D

If at all possible Ill combine both ;) if not, then Ive no problem leaving the bike behind .. and just going for a swim at the hotel pool.

1) If you were looking down on yourself swim how would describe your technique?

Honest answer:
    'Eclectic and slow' - left arm is too straight during catch, need to remember high elbow on catch - avoid dropping left shoulder and remember to finish the stroke all the way. Should have specialized in 50 or 100 fly since short ans stubby and a chancer when it comes to long distance.
    2) What tri in Ireland would you love to win?

Whats the most lucrative ) ;) I dont know champ ... kenmare ? its a long winter and season until it comes around again and everyone that was missing when I won it turns up again ;)
    3) Is Kona a goal of yours?

No, I believe any goal should be possible. Id love to do an IM when its a no-wetsuit swim though.
    4) Do you like HIM distance?

Yeah, I think it may be my favourite - the distances require good endurance, a bit of commitment to tackle a higher intensity and from time to time exciting racing since you can have good spells and bad ones in the same race and still recovery to push at the end. If things dont work out with my extremely loose plans for next year Id like to do a few of these over next season. Due to the injury I was carrying I missed one in August unfortunately.
    5) What would you tell "Interested" 2o years ago?
    Dont get so focused on little things that wont really matter and miss the big things - and maybe give an IM a craic when youre still under 60kg.

6) What do you think you will be doing in 20 years time? Any tri/swim related stuff?

Man, I struggle to think about 2 months from now. 20 years eh ? well, I enjoy swimming alot more now than I did years ago so who knows. Since the number of competitors at international events go down as the age categories go up you never know. ;)
    7) If you could recommend a one book to read, what would it be?

Sports related - "From Lance to Landis" by David Walsh immediately after 'Tour de Force' by Dan Coyle - nothing like extremes.
    8) Fav film of all time?
    eh, tricky tricky - 'State of Grace'
    9) Will I ever make it into the pool before you?

No, in truth this is an old habit of mine. But you could just shoot for being on time ;)

Unless there is anything else. Im done.

Except for pointing people here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=74874088#post74874088

Unless there is anything else. Im done.

Except for pointing people here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=74874088#post74874088

Cheers chief. Hope you enjoyed your week in the spotlight. Good call on next up! :D