Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bike helmets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I know it's a good idea - safety wise - to wear a bike helmet while cycling, but fuck me, they make people look like awful tools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Im surprised that they have not been made manditory here yet, have been in Australia since the early 90's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

What is your point OP?:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I hate helmet hair.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭McBauer

Get a car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I love hair helmet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

if im mountain biking i will always wear a helmet, i have a normal and full face, as for cycling on the road, if im just doing it for exercise i will wear the helmet but if its a 5 min trip to the shop i wont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

rubadub wrote: »

But what if you have an accident not caused by a car? E.g if your brakes went, or you hit a rock or something out of nowhere?
    I know someone whos dog ran out in front of their bike when they weren't wearing a helmet and they got serious head injuries and were in hospital for ages.
    You can fall off your bike anyway, you don't have to be hit by a car. I've heard of that study before and while it's probably true to some extent I don't think every driver will do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

I wear them but I have little faith in them, but as tesco says every little helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

McBauer wrote: »
    Get a car

Don't get much cardiovascular training driving a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Pherekydes wrote: »

Not always true. See!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 tassajara

I always wear a helmet. I was knocked down around this time last year and I hit the car's windscreen headfirst, so glad I was wearing one that day. Yes, it looks dorky but I'd rather not take that risk.

McBauer wrote: »
    Get a car

I have a car. Might be buying a second one in a few weeks. If I don't get fired from work this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

tassajara wrote: »
    I always wear a helmet. I was knocked down around this time last year and I hit the car's windscreen headfirst, so glad I was wearing one that day. Yes, it looks dorky but I'd rather not take that risk.
    Exactly , i have lost count at this stage of the amount of bike crash stories i have read and alot have said the helmet took a battering and needed replacing .
    I wear one cycling to college and i notice im in a minority but im also cycling faster and further than alot of the guys probably cycling less than 5 mins .

yeah if your cycling for more than 5 mins you really should have a helmet on your head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

It would be interesting to see what the Cycling forum would think.

anyone who does a decent amount of cycling should and generally does wear a helmet, i know my head has been saved a few time on my mtb by them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

Im surprised that they have not been made manditory here yet, have been in Australia since the early 90's
    Some did try and get it mandatory here, thankfully it was overturned, we have some sensible people making decisions like Andrew Montague. There is HUGE opposition to making them mandatory, even from helmet wearers.

You should read some of my links from earlier, many in australia would be dead against it being mandatory.

flash1080 wrote: »
    I'll hold off getting a helmet so. Tis probably a good idea to get a light for the back though?
    A light is legally required, and get a good one, not just a token one to be lawful. This is a pro helmet site too its really up to yourself to make your own mind up, on the cycling forum its pretty split http://www.helmets.org/
    Naomi00 wrote: »
    But what if you have an accident not caused by a car? E.g if your brakes went, or you hit a rock or something out of nowhere?
    I know someone whos dog ran out in front of their bike when they weren't wearing a helmet and they got serious head injuries and were in hospital for ages.
    You are only looking at the one study, there are many other reasons explained, and some studies showing % increases in injuries when made mandatory http://www.cyclehelmets.org/ have them. In some cases if you fall the helmet can cause more injuried by wearing it, due to the mechanics of the helmet on your head, so a fall could be more dangerous. In my case I hate distractions and the helmet could be the cause of injury. Put shin pads on a kid and they whack each other on the legs thinking they are invincible, same can happen with adults, but themselves in more danger thinking they are safe (but most will say "not me").

I know many people who were injured while drunk but they still do not wear "walking helmets", it makes FAR more sense to make drinking helmets mandatory. A cycling style helmet is said to be far more beneficial to motorists anyway (even with seatbelts & airbags), so if anybody thinks a cyclist is mad not to wear one and do not wear helmets in cars they they are irrational hypocrites -same with people who get drunk and walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

yeah if your cycling for more than 5 mins you really should have a helmet on your head

Because accidents never occur close to home/, I know it's for cars but they may be hitting the cyclist.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Because accidents never occur close to home/, I know it's for cars but they may be hitting the cyclist.

yeah but the longer your on the road the more likely you are to get in an accident

Some did try and get it mandatory here, thankfully it was overturned, we have some sensible people making decisions like Andrew Montague. There is HUGE opposition to making them mandatory, even from helmet wearers.

You should read some of my links from earlier, many in australia would be dead against it being mandatory.

A light is legally required, and get a good one, not just a token one to be lawful. This is a pro helmet site too its really up to yourself to make your own mind up, on the cycling forum its pretty split http://www.helmets.org/

You are only looking at the one study, there are many other reasons explained, and some studies showing % increases in injuries when made mandatory http://www.cyclehelmets.org/ have them. In some cases if you fall the helmet can cause more injuried by wearing it, due to the mechanics of the helmet on your head, so a fall could be more dangerous. In my case I hate distractions and the helmet could be the cause of injury. Put shin pads on a kid and they whack each other on the legs thinking they are invincible, same can happen with adults, but themselves in more danger thinking they are safe (but most will say "not me").

I know many people who were injured while drunk but they still do not wear "walking helmets", it makes FAR more sense to make drinking helmets mandatory. A cycling style helmet is said to be far more beneficial to motorists anyway (even with seatbelts & airbags), so if anybody thinks a cyclist is mad not to wear one and do not wear helmets in cars they they are irrational hypocrites -same with people who get drunk and walk.

Any recommendations on what lights to get?

flash1080 wrote: »
    Any recommendations on what lights to get?
    This one is good value http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=42801

this one is very good too, if you need to really be seen, e.g. dark roads.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=64508

it is a bit cheaper on ebay.
    http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw=cateye+ld1100&_sacat=0&_stpos=&_sop=15&gbr=1&_odkw=cateye+ld1000&_osacat=0&_trksid=p3286.c0.m270.l1313

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Pherekydes wrote: »

My Heart Rate(bpm) goes through the roof when I see a cyclist breaking a Red Light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Interesting.

I do wear one, but I have little faith in it, I don't think they will help it might reduce an impact injury but not stop the brain from bashing about inside your skull.

Were I think it does help, with my one with its reflectors strips and bright colour is it increases your visibility to other road users.

And you really get so use to it you actually don't notice it, last week I cycled down to Dollymount locked my bike up and went for a walk, I was about 2 miles into the walk when I noticed I still had my helmet on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

I remember seeing this concept for a new inflatable bike helmet. As soon as I get a job, I'm going to track one down and buy one.

For the record, I always wear a helmet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Another important reason why not to make wearing helmets mandatory, is that the safest thing for cyclists is other cyclists. The more people out cycling, the more aware drivers have to be. The majority of cycling fatalities are caused by drivers turning left, ie not thinking to check their left wing mirror before making the turn. If there are more cyclists on the road drivers will be more mindful of the possibility of a cyclist being behind them.

Cycling around Berlin, drivers always check the cycle lane and if there are cyclists behind them they wait til they pass, then make the turn. Here, and I've been in many situations where it happens, most of the time drivers don't even consider the possibility of you being there. I even had one woman overtake me then a second or two later take a left turn - her car got a thump for that one after I had to jam on the brakes to avoid ramming in to her side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

I have to say, giving someone that cycles advice not to wear a lid is poxy advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

My father fell off his bike there a few weeks back, if he hadnt his helmet on, i'm pretty sure he would have been killed.

4leto wrote: »
    Dollymount locked my bike up and went for a walk, I was about 2 miles into the walk when I noticed I still had my helmet on.
    And then did you take it off? do you feel perfectly safe walking without protection?
    Exactly , i have lost count at this stage of the amount of bike crash stories i have read and alot have said the helmet took a battering and needed replacing
    Helmets are designed to absorb impact. If you crashed and the helmet did not crack I would be worried, its supposed to. Skulls are a hell of a lot stronger.

If I walked about with a cycling style helmet all the time I can think of 3 occasions this year alone that I woulud have cracked one, but would not have gotten all emotive about how it saved my life, and say people are crazy not to wear one.

I do wear protection while cycling, long trousers and tops and often gloves.
    I have to say, giving someone that cycles advice not to wear a lid is poxy advice.
    Do you feel the same about advising people not to wear one drinking or driving? if not why not? Have you even bothered to read up on the facts and pros & cons of helmets. I see far more reason to wear them in those activities I mentioned.

I can see why the layman is ignorant, but it disgusts me to see ignorant campaingers looking to make them mandatory.

Its weird how irrational people are about helmets, feck all people wore them in the 80s though they were out there. How did all these lunatics survive going to cycling to school everyday without them. Maybe in 25 years people will say the same about drinking helmets, if some smart marketer convinces people they are fools to be without them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Current helmet designs are very flawed from an engineering perspective, they've gone OTT with thickness and impact protections.

If I cycled I would wear one of those old-style helmets with minimal thickness and no protrusions front or back. Those peaked helmets that are popular nowadays might save your skull but they're more likely to break your neck in a fall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Buy a hairmet :P

Let me fix my hair...wait I don't have to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I always wear my helmet but I don't know why I bother as it doesn't really fit properly with my pony tail being in the way. Perhaps just for peace of mind is why I wear it...

mars bar wrote: »
    I always wear my helmet but I don't know why I bother as it doesn't really fit properly with my pony tail being in the way. Perhaps just for peace of mind is why I wear it...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/431950.stm
    Wearing a cycle helmet that does not fit properly could double your chances of a head injury in the event of a crash, researchers have warned.

They suggest that manufacturers should offer a wider range of styles and sizes as this is currently limited and some people make do with ill-fitting headgear.

The researchers, from the Harborview Injury Prevention and Research Center in Seattle, questioned more than 1,700 cyclists of all ages who had worn a helmet when they were involved in a crash.

They found that overall an ill-fitting helmet doubled the risk of a head injury when compared to one with a good fit, although they provided a greater level of protection than no helmet at all.

Boys were most likely to have poorly fitting helmets, and almost 60% of children under 10 had a difference of 1.25cm or more between the size of their head and the fit of the helmet.

Risk tripled

The researchers came across a significant number of accounts of helmets tilting backwards at the time of the crash or falling off altogether - 13% and 4% respectively.

While a backwards tilt doubled the risk of a head injury, those that came off tripled the risk.

The researchers also compared head sizes and helmet measurements, and found that almost half of children who had sustained head injuries had helmets that were significantly wider than their heads - two centimetres or more.

They said that helmets were important to help prevent cycling injuries, but ill-fitting helmets could not deliver maximum benefits.

This was because if a helmet is too large there is more room for the brain to accelerate before it comes into contact with the protective lining.

Training for sales staff

Publishing their findings in the journal Injury Prevention, the researchers said: "Poor fit of helmets may be associated with an increased risk of head and brain injury.

"It is clear from this work that helmets do not fit some children well.

"Helmets may need to be redesigned, particularly for the younger age group, to fit better - in particular by decreasing width."

They suggested that staff in shops selling bicycle helmets be trained to fit them properly using head-measuring tools.
    It says it is better than no helmet but no telling if the ill fitting helmet might have caused the crash in the first place.

I wish people would just take a second to actual think about it, and compare it to other things. e.g. in my work I wear gloves for certain jobs, different ones for different jobs, wearing massive thick ones could make the job far more dangerous as it limits dexterity. Also ask themselves why they do not wear helmets themselves -cyclists could have those same logical reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/431950.stm
    It says it is better than no helmet but no telling if the ill fitting helmet might have caused the crash in the first place.

I wish people would just take a second to actual think about it, and compare it to other things. e.g. in my work I wear gloves for certain jobs, different ones for different jobs, wearing massive thick ones could make the job far more dangerous as it limits dexterity. Also ask themselves why they do not wear helmets themselves -cyclists could have those same logical reasons.

It's too expensive to get a proper fitted helmet and I don't cycle enough to justify buying one but all it takes is one accident to justify having a proper helmet. Can't win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

• Bike helmets standards are arbitrary, vary from country to country and are not set based on the realities of the skull or the meninges or the spine or any of that.
    • Bike helmets are shown to be correlated with more risk taking on behalf of cycles.
    • Bike helmets are correlated with riskier behaviour on behalf of drivers.
    • Bike helmets are often hot and uncomfortable unless you buy an fancy expensive one and that's money that could be spent on clipless pedals, grippier tyres, better brakes or pads or myriad of other pieces of kit that actually will increase your safety.
    • Mandatory bike helmet laws cause a drop in cycling levels, an increase in the rate of bike accidents (relative to the remaining cycling population) and a reduction in public health.
    • Ill fitting bike helmets can greatly increase the risk of brain, head or neck injury.
    • Most studies haven't found any significant correlation between helmet use and accident/injury or death rates in cyclists.
    • Most serious accidents involving bikes occur when left turning vehicles crush the cyclist. Even when brain injuries occur in these incidents there is no proof that helmets could have affected their extent one way or another and there tend to be injuries to other major organs so you're still ****ed even if the helmet does save your bounce by chance.
    • Why is this thread in AH?
    I usually wear a helmet when mountain biking because there are branches and things to crash into (ie crashes where a helmet might make a difference as opposed to being crushed under a truck). I also wear a helmet when going on club spins but just because them's the rules. Otherwise I don't bother.
    I don't tend to go out and tell people not to wear a helmet as I don't think they make things significantly more dangerous in most cases, they just don't make things significantly safer either so I wouldn't class them as essential cycling equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

mars bar wrote: »
    but all it takes is one accident to justify having a proper helmet. Can't win!

Having ridden several thousand km's a year for several years on and off road I've had several accidents, none of them have justified owning or wearing a helmet. Cycling is not an activity shown to be unusually condusive to head injury, that's one of many reasons why mandatory helmet laws are generally shot down (apart from Australia and a handful of other countries). Anecdotally speaking I'd say you're more like to break your collar bone or tear chunks out of your arms and legs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Mandatory for under 18s here in california. I am not a fan. Sortof kills the fun feeling of spontaneity I remember as a kid. I think it interesting to look at the most bicycle-mad country I've ever been to, the Netherlands, and see how many helmets there are. Given the number of bikes they have, they might have noticed a need by now, if it were all that important

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Very sunny here this Bank Holiday weekend. Saw possibly two hundred bikers today. Maybe 5% wore some sort of headgear apart from scarves. Not compulsary here in NH. The Live Free Or Die State!

Oops, I thought ye were on about motorbikes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭baaaa

I would like to wear them to protect my head should I have an accident however the first study clearly states that they make cars pass 8.5 cm closer to you!!!:eek:
    I might have an accident once a year.I would prefer to take my chances on that once a year event rather than have all the cars that pass me come 8.5cm closer to my handlebars.
    Helmets are car magnets and thus accident magnets.

Having ridden several thousand km's a year for several years on and off road I've had several accidents, none of them have justified owning or wearing a helmet. Cycling is not an activity shown to be unusually condusive to head injury, that's one of many reasons why mandatory helmet laws are generally shot down (apart from Australia and a handful of other countries). Anecdotally speaking I'd say you're more like to break your collar bone or tear chunks out of your arms and legs.

:eek: fair play to you tony, must say the helmet has stopped me from having a few nasty knocks on my head while mtbing, my natural position on a mountain bike is over the bars :D