Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Club gives Free Drink for "Boldest" Pictures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Thats awful :(

Imagine how those girls feel looking at that in the cold sober light of day, knowing its posted up publicly?

If staff took those photos is it not illegal to publish them without consent if the people in them are likely to be named? And who in their right mind would give consent?

Its a low marketing tool, aimed at the lowest common denominator. I don't think it'll do them any favours in the long run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

They'll probably lose their liquor/late licence if they keep that up, Tramco nearly did last month for running a pants-for-drinks promo. You have to be 'of good character' to sell booze here & the gardai take a super dim view of people running events that are seedy or seem to be targetting young people who wouldn't necessarily have the cop on to say 'no, fcuk off' to something like that

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0915/1224304142986.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

The **** will really hit the fan for them when one of the people in the pictures turns out to be underage, and were in there with all their underage mates.

Bye bye license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

This is just a stupid form of advertising. Really scraping the barrel.

I'm all up for people using attractive men and women on ads, billboards and what not. But crap like this can just end up in various forms of harassment, under-age people and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 sexter

The liberal Irish sheeple never cease to amaze me. You have such a relaxed attitude to sex yet you cry about any other little thing that might possibly warrant a complaint. Why aren't you complaining about what really matters, why these kids are doing what they're doing and not why it is being pictured. You're not worried about how the Zionist jews are making your daughters sluts in order to destroy the family unit and make us all slaves. But you're worried how someone might be embarrassed for being exposed for being what you think they should be proud to be, a low-class slut.

It baffles me beyond words..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

sexter wrote: »
    You're not worried about how the Zionist jews are making your daughters sluts in order to destroy the family unit and make us all slaves

Ah hello Jim Corr & welcome to boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

The liberal Irish sheeple never cease to amaze me. You have such a relaxed attitude to sex yet you cry about any other little thing that might possibly warrant a complaint. Why aren't you complaining about what really matters, why these kids are doing what they're doing and not why it is being pictured. You're not worried about how the Zionist jews are making your daughters sluts in order to destroy the family unit and make us all slaves. But you're worried how someone might be embarrassed for being exposed for being what you think they should be proud to be, a low-class slut.

I love when people complain about people having a problem with what might be considered a relatively minor issue because of the existence of a more important problem somewhere else. It's such stagnant thinking. The fact that the supposed major problem here is some crazy plot about zionist jews corrupting our morals is just gravy.

Also, surely the zionist jews are making our sons sluts as well? I mean there's dudes in the photos too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

sexter take that tone of debate elsewhere. Do not post in this thread again or you will be banned.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Odaise Gaelach

In the name of God, why would anyone run a "promotion" (for want of a better phrase) like this? It's not making the place seem any more appealing to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Is this how grown men and women carry themselves?

Proof positive that the Irish relationship with alcohol is very unhealthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Hah.One of the maddest things about this is that nightclub is part of a Hotel owned by FBD insurance who market themselves as being a real family insurer.When I worked for them we used to get staff offers for club concessions,special discounts etc.I doubt their shareholders and management team will be pleased should this break big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 sexter

Wibbs wrote: »
    sexter take that tone of debate elsewhere. Do not post in this thread again or you will be banned.

Sorry I didn't realize this board was run under a dictatorship?? What rules could I of possibly broken? The rule against freedom of speech?

Also, surely the zionist jews are making our sons sluts as well? I mean there's dudes in the photos too.

Women are not biologically designed to be sluts. In order to make them so it takes a scientific code more complex than most human's brains could ever comprehend. Especially a bunch of psedo-intellectual feminists like on this particular board. Anyway, they convince women they are men through social-conditioning in the media to cause division in the sexes and break down the family unit. This way people are reliant on the state instead of themselves and their families, to put it simply.

I know this information might be astounding to you since you've been living a life of lies. It can be painful to look at the extent of the damage, believe me. It's the same as witnessing a murder except its the genocide of culture, of human achievement. It's much healthier to look at it as a scientist would. Look at the techniques and their effects to gain immunity from them, and for the purpose of defeating them. Don't dwell on the past and the damage that was (or is being) done. I've been talking to people all my life about this, but very few of the subverted actually stop and listen. They might listen but they don't hear. One must liberate himself. And once you see the truth it cannot be unseen, you will only realize more from here.

Sorry I didn't realize this board was run under a dictatorship?? What rules could I of possibly broken? The rule against freedom of speech?

Women are not biologically designed to be sluts. In order to make them so it takes a scientific code more complex than most human's brains could ever comprehend. Especially a bunch of psedo-intellectual feminists like on this particular board. Anyway, they convince women they are men through social-conditioning in the media to cause division in the sexes and break down the family unit. This way people are reliant on the state instead of themselves and their families, to put it simply.

I know this information might be astounding to you since you've been living a life of lies. It can be painful to look at the extent of the damage, believe me. It's the same as witnessing a murder except its the genocide of culture, of human achievement. It's much healthier to look at it as a scientist would. Look at the techniques and their effects to gain immunity from them, and for the purpose of defeating them. Don't dwell on the past and the damage that was (or is being) done. I've been talking to people all my life about this, but very few of the subverted actually stop and listen. They might listen but they don't hear. One must liberate himself. And once you see the truth it cannot be unseen, you will only realize more from here.

It's a shame you'll get banned, because the trolling is hilarious.

1Q84?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Protip.

Freedom of Speech doesn't exist on a privately owned forum with a strict ruleset. The Mod's are free to edit, remove and censor whatever the hell they wish, and there is nothing you can do about it.

Oh and Conspiracy Forums are that way >>>>>>

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Especially a bunch of psedo-intellectual feminists like on this particular board.

Amazing, I think we should rename the Ladies' Lounge then because this is a lot more catchy. Pseudo-Intellectual Feminists' Lounge anyone?

I can't imagine anyone would be too happy to see pictures like that of themselves going up online, with them tagged in it. I don't know which is worse - having it uploaded by a 'friend' or having it uploaded by some skeezy staff member from the club. Also, is this supposed to encourage people to actually go there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Sexter banned for 7 days for ignoring mod instruction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

DonalK1981 wrote: »
    Pics or GTFO

Infracted.

It's a shame you'll get banned, because the trolling is hilarious.

I reported the first one before I scrolled down. I could have deprived us of a good laugh. I'll have to be more careful :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Okay can we please keep this thread on topic, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

jesus i'm glad i never step foot in places like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

WOW. They dont really look like pics people would take of themselves tbh. I mean, how was the pic taken with the girl on the guys lap? Looks like the club took them but i could be wrong. I for one will never step foot in that club thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭DonalK1981

Infracted.

Pinch of salt anyone?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

DonalK1981 wrote: »
    Pinch of salt anyone?

Read the charter before posting in this forum again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

Just checked their facebook and they've taken down the "promotion" and photos- they said facebook made them remove them.
    So glad, it's disgusting and I hate to think how many people will have had their photo taken without their knowledge. It could have gotten messy if allowed to continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,777 ✭✭✭✭fits

I dont understand why people need to behave like that in a club. You wouldnt have to worry about getting photographed if, you know, WILD IDEA... you behaved with a bit of dignity in the first place.

Rotten idea for a promo campaign to boot. Sleazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭cgarrad

From the article:

Inclusions so far depict patrons kissing, with knickers visible in one photo.

No even worth commenting on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,777 ✭✭✭✭fits

cgarrad wrote: »
    From the article:

Did you see them?

The pictures are in the link in the first post.

Its a pretty off idea for a promotion but symptomatic of the world we live in.

Didnt Tramco recently run a similar promotion where patrons,for a free bottle of WKD or some such slop,had to hand in their underwear?

Sigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

The pictures are in the link in the first post.

Its a pretty off idea for a promotion but symptomatic of the world we live in.

Didnt Tramco recently run a similar promotion where patrons,for a free bottle of WKD or some such slop,had to hand in their underwear?

Sigh.
    Yup they did:
    They'll probably lose their liquor/late licence if they keep that up, Tramco nearly did last month for running a pants-for-drinks promo. You have to be 'of good character' to sell booze here & the gardai take a super dim view of people running events that are seedy or seem to be targetting young people who wouldn't necessarily have the cop on to say 'no, fcuk off' to something like that

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0915/1224304142986.html
    Disgusting!

Ooops,missed that post.Stupid eyes.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭C.D.

A rather transparent attempt by the club to get publicity. Coupled with exhibitionism by the club's patrons.

All that aside, I found it amusing that such activities would be described as "romantic".

"night-club kissing, straddling, and engaged in other romantic behavior"

cgarrad wrote: »
    From the article:

And yet, you did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Those pictures are disgusting. I wouldn't and have never acted like that drunk or sober in a public place, maybe I've just never been that drunk. I am a very affectionate person but I still would never ever feel the need to behave like that.

Thankfully, I don't frequent those type of clubs.

Just looked at their facebook page. Is there a chance even 50% of the people in the pics are of legal age?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

Looks like they want to become the next coppers :pac:
    Anyone who thinks this kind of thing doesn't attract people should have a look at coppers, that place makes a fortune on its reputation alone.
    Yes it's tasteless and sleezy but a club is a business and most businesses only care about money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Anyone else think they deserve to be shamed for that sort of carry on.

The Couple where the girl is getting fingered up the ass and the one in the pink dress could be charged under S5 of the Criminal Justice (Public Order Act) 1994 for engaging in offensive behaviour. Because its a licensed premises its considered a public place.

I'd say name and shame the idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

That type of carry on happens in every club, these lads just take a picture of it for the craic.

The free drink thing is a laugh imo, as if someone will go up and demand a free drink for being pictured fingering the box off some girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    That type of carry on happens in every club, these lads just take a picture of it for the craic.

The free drink thing is a laugh imo, as if someone will go up and demand a free drink for being pictured fingering the box off some girl.

It's free drink for the person actually taking the photo afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Pyr0 wrote: »
    It's free drink for the person actually taking the photo afaik.

thats even worse, whats to stop people wandering around taking upskirt shots of girls who dont realise it? as if there arent enough sleazbags in nightclubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

How mortifying must those girls feel. I'd never straddle someone like that in public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Alopex

Its the type of marketing that's often win win for a nightclub situated in a place like that.

First off they get their name thrown about the media.
    Then they get guys thinking the place is full of easy girls.
    Then they'll get the type of girls who like attention no matter what sort of sleazebag its from.

End result is a club thats packed full, ration of 75:25 male to female, and most of the men spending huge amounts of money drinking themselves stupid because they can't get near the minority women who are teasing them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Alopex wrote: »
    Its the type of marketing that's often win win for a nightclub situated in a place like that.

First off they get their name thrown about the media.
    Then they get guys thinking the place is full of easy girls.
    Then they'll get the type of girls who like attention no matter what sort of sleazebag its from.

...Then they loose their License!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Is it just me or is the girl in the pink dress with 2 different guys?

http://www.studentnews.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/321957_268826383157287_189641751075751_845293_1743603620_o-300x200.jpg

http://www.studentnews.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/337727_268831803156745_189641751075751_845316_1684063186_o-300x199.jpg

Mod edit; pictures unembedded. Slightly NSFW

Now that's the real trouble that could be caused by these photos:D

Personally, I don't see a huge issue with this as long as people were made aware of it when entering the club etc. I mean, it's little different to the tonnes photos on these people's friends facebook profiles etc.

Ultimately, they are in a public place. If you are going to get $hitfaced and do something embarrassing in front of hundreds of people, you can't really complain if a few more people see a photo of it on the web.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭saraocallaghan

And as well as that, the same promoter was involved in both cases, this one and Tramco. Seems they like to "push the boundries" But in no case are either of those marketing tools acceptable in my eyes. I'd be absolutely mortified if it was me in those pictures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I'd be absolutely mortified if it was me in those pictures.

I'd be mystified and confused if it were me in those photos. Presumably I would sleep walk to clubs :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭saraocallaghan

I'd be mystified and confused if it were me in those photos. Presumably I would sleep walk to clubs :pac:

LOL. Me too! I don't have a clue where they are and to be honest, if that's the way they carry on there, I'd rather stay that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

dotsman wrote: »
    Is it just me or is the girl in the pink dress with 2 different guys?
    When I saw that, it made me wonder if these photos are genuine or staged. The people in the pics, at least the ones I saw, are quite attractive as well (not that you don't get attractive people in clubs :D); do you think it's just a marketing ploy?

hollypink wrote: »
    When I saw that, it made me wonder if these photos are genuine or staged. The people in the pics, at least the ones I saw, are quite attractive as well (not that you don't get attractive people in clubs :D); do you think it's just a marketing ploy?

I thought that too, but then I thought there isn't enough money in the world that would induce me to have pictures like that taken of me for a publicity stunt!

I hate clubs, and if I never go to one again I'll have missed nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭steod

hollypink wrote: »

I think the pics are more than likely staged with same girl in two and no clear facial shots of anyone in them. Just a cheap marketing strategy by the nightclub trying to cash in on the notoriety of the recent Tramco promotion.

And no doubt they will fill the place for the next few weeks full of gullible sleazebags expecting the place to be heaving with easy "clunge"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

You seem to think you're some sort of prophet or something? :) Why on earth do you think people should listen to you? Your arrogance is astounding.

Also, how very, very ironic that you use the term "pseudo-intellectual" regarding other posters on here, when you're the one spinning nonsense.
    Seeing as how you speak of "social conditioning", etc, may I remind you that gender itself is a social contruct. Saying "woman are not biologically designed to be sluts", and all the while implying men somehow are is incredibly ignorant.There is very little biological difference between the sexes. The common belief that there is indeed some fundamental difference is a CONSTUCT.
    If you're going to spout your views, at least have them make sense.