Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marathon Mission

• 05-10-2011 5:23pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭

http://dublinmarathon.ie/mission.php

This page is well due an update..! but, in view of the numerous upcoming big city qualifying marathons for 2012 - Chicago, Amsterdam, Dublin, New York, it would be interesting to see who from the MM squad - or additions to it since it was set up - is running any of these over the next few weeks with a view to achieving the qualifying standards...
    There were some super runs earlier on in the year from Kenneally/Connolly and it would be great to see some lads/ladies hitting the times needed..I know Fagan is down on chicago list and there is a crew heading for amsterdam ..any one know of any of the rest's plans...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

It was mentioned earlier that Keneally might be running Amsterdam Sunday week. He ran 2:17 in Vienna so should be very close to qualifying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Sean Heir I think is the latest update after his half marathon run.
    Sean Connolly a starter for Dublin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭brutes1

http://www.amsterdammarathon.nl/uploads/ul_Startlijst%20Topatleten_websitev3.pdf

http://www.advertiser.ie/galway/article/45047/galways-gary-thornton-continues-his-olympic-bid-

Hopefully there will be some success on Sunday in Amsterdam marathon for the travelling irish , wishing them all the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Article on DCM:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/marathon-stars-can-seal-london-spots-hooper-2913239.html

I think it is quite apparent that there has been some major improvements made in the last 2-3 years as a result of this iniative

Hopefully we see it continued for quite some time and maybe even other programs focusing on other aspects of the sport (Walks/ Throws/ Jumps etc) could start to become a focus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

Since the IAAF has stopped recognising womens world records set in mixed races, are there any implications for this on the women achieving Olympic Qualifying standards in the Dublin marathon?

Ledwith and Connolly could be a good battle , would think they are the strongest there, although Greg Roberts had a great run last yr. Will the defending champ Sergio run, he seems to have gone off the radar ?

Womens promises to be a cracker, great to see such a strong field..
    hope the weather holds out for all, could be the only thing to stop 2/3 qualifiers

The MM programme seems to be working alright, a lot to be said for bringing groups together to do sessions and it brings both a competitive edge and a bit of solidarity to the long road that is the marathon, fair play to the people involved in setting it up and running it...

Gringo78 wrote: »
    Since the IAAF has stopped recognising womens world records set in mixed races, are there any implications for this on the women achieving Olympic Qualifying standards in the Dublin marathon?

As far as i know doesnt affect it. Sure Radcliffe got qualifier in Berlin???

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

ecoli wrote: »
    As far as i know doesnt affect it. Sure Radcliffe got qualifier in Berlin???

Which is why it is a clearly daft idea for them to be trying to change Radcliffes record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Hopefully we see it continued for quite some time and maybe even other programs focusing on other aspects of the sport (Walks/ Throws/ Jumps etc) could start to become a focus

There has been an Irish Throwers Club for quite a few years now. Thing is there didn't seem to be the raw materials in place. However, mens Hammer is probably our strongest junior event in 2011 as regards depth. Just doesn't get coverage among the runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Getonwithit

The Irish Hurdlers Club is another good example, has had an immediate impact. Think its only a year old? Open to correction.
    The Marathon Mission has also had an immediate reaction. Hopefully we see standards and depth continue to progress. The Irish Half Marathon Championships results were better this year than any of the last ten years. Its also true to say that the guys in the Marathon Mission have been running pbs across the distances as their training is probably more focussed than before and their weekly mileage has increased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

http://irishhurdlers.blogspot.com/
    Some good reading here

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=22502

According to this piece two of our top female marathon runners Gladys Ganiel and Ava Hutchison are down to run Houston Marathon today...two hours to the start!
    http://www.chevronhoustonmarathon.com/index.cfm

brutes1 wrote: »
    http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=22502

According to this piece two of our top female marathon runners Gladys Ganiel and Ava Hutchison are down to run Houston Marathon today...two hours to the start!
    http://www.chevronhoustonmarathon.com/index.cfm

Had search around and should be a stream here:

http://abclocal.go.com/ktrk/feature?section=resources/lifestyle_community&id=8408586

Dunno if people managed to get the stream off that had to search around it to get the right one but I am having trouble viewing it with Firewalls in work

Both girls came through 10k pretty much bang on pace after conservative opening 5k splits

http://abclocal.go.com/ktrk/livenow?id=8504677

This one seemed to work aswell for anyone having difficulties like myself with the other one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

Former DCM winner Feyisa Lilesa has just won the Half Marathon.

Any word on the girls? Both seem to have completely disappeared off the live updates site. they were in 7th and 8th on high 2.35 pace now they aren't appearing at all even when you search their names?:confused:

Both Girls down as DQed???? Along with Simon Bairu possible glitch on the site?

Site fixed Hutchinson still on sub 2.36 pace after 30k

Ganiels just over a min off the pace

35k and Ava has maintained her very even pace looks to be well under the mark (even on course for sub 2.36)

Glady's continues to fade and is looking like she will do well to finish under 2.40

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

According to twitter, Ava is on course for qualifying for the Olympics on 2:36 pace, can anyone confirm?

Dan man wrote: »
    According to twitter, Ava is on course for qualifying for the Olympics on 2:36 pace, can anyone confirm?

40k on 2.35.30 pace

Excellent, fingers crossed!!

2.35.33 for 4th. Ava qualifies with plenty to spare

Hats off to Mission Marathon and their third Olympic Qualifier

Superb run by Ava, yet another qualifier for the London athletics team. The Marathon Mission seems to be working a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

2.35.33 for 3rd. Ava qualifies with plenty to spare

Hats off to Mission Marathon and their third Olympic Qualifier

Was she not 4th place?
    Great run.

Was she not 4th place?
    Great run.

Not according to the Houston site:

http://results.houstonmarathon.com/2012/?&lang=EN&pid=leaderboard

Glady finishes in 2.40.56 solid effort their also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

2.40.56 for Gladys. 8th place.

Was she not 4th place?
    Great run.

You were right 4th place results site has just updated it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

So what kind of improvement do you think the two qualified girls can show in the next few months, given that they'll now be dedicated to the cause? You think a low 2:3x result might be possible (depending of course on conditions)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

So what kind of improvement do you think the two qualified girls can show in the next few months, given that they'll now be dedicated to the cause? You think a low 2:3x result might be possible (depending of course on conditions)?

Honestly, i'd say they'll both run slower in the real thing. It's always the way. PB's in the olympic marathon would be quite rare.

Any particular reason why? Are the qualifying races that little bit easier, less pressure, or because of the competitive nature of the Olympic event? No men to pace off?

Does Pauline Curley own the honour of being our fastest female marathon Olympian in 2:47, in Beijing '08? Shame things never lined up for Mckiernan, or O'Sullivan, given their marathon PBs.

Any particular reason why? Are the qualifying races that little bit easier, less pressure, or because of the competitive nature of the Olympic event? No men to pace off?

Does Pauline Curley own the honour of being our fastest female marathon Olympian in 2:47, in Beijing '08? Shame things never lined up for Mckiernan, or O'Sullivan, given their marathon PBs.

Regina Joyce ran 2.37 back in 84

I think Championship marathons are always slower as courses not set up as time trials and also the fact that there is a much smaller field and probably two of the biggest contributing factors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Regina Joyce ran 2.37 back in 84

I think Championship marathons are always slower as courses not set up as time trials and also the fact that there is a much smaller field and probably two of the biggest contributing factors

Conditions have to be a factor too with the games being on in the height of summer in far from optimum conditions.

Also the psychological aspect of it, an athlete might have several attempts at getting a standard but the olympics is a one shot and it can prove too much for some.

Also the field will be spreadeagled from mile 1 outside of the main group, therefore less runners to pace off.

So Krusty yeah it is all those factors you mentioned. I hope i'm wrong in the 2 girls case of course but its hard to ignore history.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Also ...
    They would generally be run at a bad time of year weather wise, may not be as bad in London but April is still generally a better time of year than the end of August.
    The goal is to beat everyone else and get the medal which is a different kind of tactic to when the goal is to beat the clock and get the prize money time bonus.
    Nobody gets pacers in either male or female races, unless you have a couple of country men that are prepared to sacrifice their own chances.

robinph wrote: »
    The goal is to beat everyone else and get the medal which is a different kind of tactic to when the goal is to beat the clock and get the prize money time bonus.
    Yeah, but if you know that's not going to happen (not going to medal), then your goals are going to be based on aiming for a specific time and finishing as far up the field as possible (same as their qualifiers). In fact there's probably a greater incentive to run in a pack (first 22 miles), than there is to psychologically try to hammer your opponents from the offset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Yeah, but if you know that's not going to happen (not going to medal), then your goals are going to be based on aiming for a specific time and finishing as far up the field as possible (same as their qualifiers). In fact there's probably a greater incentive to run in a pack (first 22 miles), than there is to psychologically try to hammer your opponents from the offset.
    Yep but if you aim to finish as far up the feild as possible what do you do when your rivals hammer off up the road. Most people in olympic marathons do go out to hard and tire at the end,
    Jon BROWN from the UK is a great example of someone who really took advantage of this and ran his own race at a few CC to finish alot higher up in the feild than he really should have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

There's very little info about the Marathon Mission out there, apart from a paragraph or two on the Athletics Ireland website. Not that I'd ever be good enough for it myself, but it would be nice to know more about it and how to qualify, what the standards are etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bazman

Also this...