Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rovers v Bohs 5/10 Setanta 19.05

• 04-10-2011 1:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 329 ✭✭

Its a biggie, even by this games standards. Rovers are level with Sligo with a game in hand. If they win, they go top and it's hard to see them looking back.

Bohs have never won in Tallaght in 5 attempts, scoring one goal and conceding 8. They have a couple of decent players and will want to do everything they can to stop their bigger rivals getting back to back titles.

Rovers have a full squad to chose from, and despite Bohs mid table mediocrity, MON will pick his strongest side.

I'm going for a blood and guts 1-0 to the Hoops with at least one sending off.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Can't see us winning, though would be funny if it did because it wouldn't mean much in terms of league position this time. Maybe that'll be our lucky charm :pac:

Realistically I see Rovers winning by 1

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Come on Bohs! Ye owe us a favour for two years ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Probably not much of a game to look at with only a goal in it.

The day and time will probably hurt the attendance too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Come on Bohs! Ye owe us a favour for two years ago!

We beat them and youse give us the semi final?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Think this will be 0-0

Bohs are overdue a late winner or jammy equaliser unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

stovelid wrote: »
    Probably not much of a game to look at with only a goal in it.

The day and time will probably hurt the attendance too.

The day is not bad, no champions lge or prem lge games etc to go up against. Time 7.05 in hardly so bad. Most ppl finish at 5.30/6 can easy make a 7.05 start.
    I admit I don't go to many LOI games, as haven't a local team to support, but will be at this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Will take a draw, 5 out of 5 defeats at tallaght.

Many Bohs fans heading up tomorrow ticketless like meself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Savage win by Sligo tonight to give themselves a great shout.

Surprisingly large amount of Bohs fans seem to be going tomorrow night. Looking forward to it, Bohs always play well when the odds are stacked against them.

Should be good, Rovers are dreading it and Bohs have been decent recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭bassey

Can't wait for this match, I reckon we'll hold out for a draw to really mess up rovers' season. I know a good few are heading up for what could be our last game in a very long time against shams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Lucan Bohs wrote: »

Many Bohs fans heading up tomorrow ticketless like meself?

Just buy for the home end walk down, never a problem for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭bassey

There'll be cash taken at the away turnstiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Just buy for the home end walk down, never a problem for us.

As bassey said tickets will be on sale at turnstiles so will just buy them then ads planned

The Twigg double payment saga has added a nice bit of spice to the fixture.

I still feel Sligo's huge goal difference might be what wins it at the end, but we'll see if we can help out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,956 ✭✭✭✭CSF

bohsboy wrote: »
    The Twigg double payment saga has added a nice bit of spice to the fixture.

I still feel Sligo's huge goal difference might be what wins it at the end, but we'll see if we can help out.
    What double payment saga?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

I'm pretty confident Rovers can win by 2 or 3 tomorrow. Can't wait for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭edolan

Voltwad wrote: »
    I'm pretty confident Rovers can win by 2 or 3 tomorrow. Can't wait for this.

Bohs strength is their defence, ye won't score 3 against them, I think it'll be a 1-1 draw, or if one team does win it it'll be by 1 goal.

CSF wrote: »
    What double payment saga?

A rumour and I repeat a RUMOUR that he's being paid on the double by sham. The official weekly wage and the "Derry style" supplement. Doubt it but it's being talked about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

A rumour and I repeat a RUMOUR that he's being paid on the double by sham. The official weekly wage and the "Derry style" supplement. Doubt it but it's being talked about.

How does a rumour about the way a player is paid add spice to a particular fixture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

flahavaj wrote: »
    How does a rumour about the way a player is paid add spice to a particular fixture?

It doesn't.

And it's a fairly pathetic attempt at a wind up. Just beacuse somebody posts nonsense on a messageboard hardly makes it a rumour. You would think Bohs fans would be more concerned with the fact that their club might not be here next year than making stuff up about rovers.

By the way, I heard bohs players are getting paid triple contracts. Although three times nothing is still nothing so not sure how that stands legally. :pac:

They find the concept of player contracts that are actually honoured too fantastical to grasp properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,956 ✭✭✭✭CSF

So not a saga at all then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

A rumour and I repeat a RUMOUR that he's being paid on the double by sham.

Makes a change from selling something on the double. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭bonescap

Does anyone know if the south stand is going to be opened tonight?

bonescap wrote: »
    Does anyone know if the south stand is going to be opened tonight?

Very much doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Doubt it but it's being talked about.

And where may I ask is it being talked about? If the answer contains either fool.ie or the bohs forum then WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHA....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

To quote the little annoying 10 year old behind me when I was last at Dalymount:

"C'MON BOHS... GET IT IN THERE"

For the entire game. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

CSF wrote: »
    So not a saga at all then?

Started on the Bohs forum, by a bohs fan and has gathered absolutely no momentum. We could be paying Twigg 23k a week and still be under the wage cap. Bizzare that people are even talking about it.

I assume, and obviously Im not a 100% but I would think it was actually down to Twigg having two contacts a few years ago. He had one with Rovers and one with Umbro. He got his wage for rovers and a percentage of Twigg shirt sales and other Twigg branded stuff sold in the shop. Changed since shop was bought out IIRC.

Its just like Stephen "Zoolander" Grant a couple of years ago getting paid by Guinness for his long luxurious hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

come on bohs - beat shams and let us beat ye in the league and you can have your cup final.

Shams are there for the taking

As a sidenote , just got some comedy gold from the shams forum

Im very concerned.... those bitters seem to have everything going their way... i hope we dont choke, should have had it wrapped by now or at least be in a better position but it is what it is and we are good enough so lets get it done K.O.H

need to win to keep the pressure on cant see sligo beating pats and bohs unless they keep signing referees another player sent off against them or have the FAI brought in a rule that they cant play 90 mins against 11 as it might effect there brilliant football. time tomorrow is a bastard trying to get up there in ****ing rush hour again.

How many games have tyhey played against 10 men in a row? they always get a player from the opposition sent off fairly early.

That's six reds in their last five league games, all going to the opposition - that's an incredible statistic.

They've learned the art of gong down after "getting shot" all the while clutching their faces.
    Well they aren't labelled as Brazil/Barcelona for no reason.

Not forgetting the art of handball not being a foul.
    and yes i'm still fuming over Blinkhorns handball for their winning goal in Tallaght, a three point swing in their favour all thanks to a cheating referee.
    and guess who the ref was last night who showed a red card in the 3rd minute ????

Not to mention the art of their whole bench jumping five feet in the air in perfect synchronization while wearing an expression to suggest they've been simultaneously cattle prodded in the arse whenever there is contact on any of their players.

After seeing the antics from their bench and players at first hand in tallaght, nobody should be surprised at that.

And people wonder why we despise ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Started now, huge winds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭scruff321

scruff321 wrote: »
    link is pony.

anyone got anything better?

Strange, working grand for myself...only a second behind the TV.

If ye have eircom internet, go to eircoms site and watch on setanta. Quality is ok but no stoppages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭scruff321

Strange, working grand for myself...only a second behind the TV.

Yea think its because im in South America. Its good but it keeps having to buffer every few seconds :(

You have to do what to her every few seconds?;)

Rovers on top now.

Delighted they showing another match on saturday too.

Rovers all over Bohs. Only one outcome if it continues like this.

link is pony.

anyone got anything better?

http://www.ilemi.me/30196/1/Watch-Shamrock-Rovers-vs-Bohemians-FC/

BOLLOCKS

Terrible defending.

The inevitable happens.

Few tasty challenges going in now.

Bohs look devoid of any creativity. Dwelling on the ball too long too. Needs to be passed about quicker.

Oh dear.

Worst dive ever.:pac:

Not as if Bohs were gonna score. Ref has a tough job...must book every dive now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Worst dive ever.:pac:

Don't be silly. There's been far worse.

Never react to someone using the pacman smiley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Bohs disappointing from the off.

We miss Muzzer's threat from set plays. Great finish.

Big HT change for Rovers, clearly dont see any more threat and cant be blamed for thinking that.

Some crowd comments are funny, namely 'ya Bohs boll...' and ' ah f*** off'.

These commentators annoy me greatly.

Mon Bohs!!!