Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Golf Society @ Moate GC on Saturday October 22nd

• 04-10-2011 8:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭

Time Sheet below similar to the last outing. Times are just a rough guide and may be changed, but should be filled out to give the lads an idea who is going and also if people need to make plans etc.

Time Sheet

Looking forward to this now :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I can go out anytime so will leave putting my name on the list closer to the date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

I am the same can go anytime really but stuck my name in for 1.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭wcarey1975

Good luck to all those going and hope it turns out the be a good day out.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Looking forward this , hope the weather is kind to us !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭pajodublin

just stuck my name in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭esker man

k.p.h wrote: »
    Time Sheet below similar to the last outing. Times are just a rough guide and may be changed, but should be filled out to give the lads an idea who is going and also if people need to make plans etc.

Time Sheet

Looking forward to this now :)

how much ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

esker man wrote: »
    how much ?

Sorry, The cost is €35 which includes a steak dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Name in. Top form lads for organising it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭KOJAK_1

Count me in. Can play any time so will name as a filler for timesheet.

Am a member in Moate so if you need any help in organising this let me know.

I was planning on travelling with scooby22 but unfortunately due to commitments to a charity event they have had to pull out. I don't drive so I'm stuck for a lift now. :( Is their anyone travelling from the south to the event that would be willing to give me a lift. I would be looking for a lift from Urlingford Kilkenny so anyone coming from Cork direction on the motorway would be passing my way. I'l throw in a few bob for expenses if someone can manage it.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

k.p.h wrote: »
    I was planning on travelling with scooby22 but unfortunately due to commitments to a charity event they have had to pull out. I don't drive so I'm stuck for a lift now. :( Is their anyone travelling from the south to the event that would be willing to give me a lift. I would be looking for a lift from Urlingford Kilkenny so anyone coming from Cork direction on the motorway would be passing my way. I'l throw in a few bob for expenses if someone can manage it.?

Hi kph, there is a few of us coming from Cork, Staker, Freemount09 and myself anyway, we'll organise something closer to the date!

ssbob wrote: »
    Hi kph, there is a few of us coming from Cork, Staker, Freemount09 and myself anyway, we'll organise something closer to the date!

Cheers ssbob, drop me a PM closer to the date, appreciate it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭pajodublin

unfortunately i will have to withdraw my name.
    Have a christening down in Tipp
    definitely on for the next outing

Pat

ssbob wrote: »

Dunno the arrangements yet,no hassle with a spin.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Saturday mornings = College for me... :(
    Best of luck again with the outing.

we will need to let the club know soon so they can order food so get the names down lads.

Come on folks get your name down on this!!
    great deal and a great course !!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Only 19 names so far :(

Come on people let's get it to the 30. Was hoping this would always be just for boards members but will such small numbers we will may have to get people to bring guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mikeunt

charlieIRL wrote: »
    we will need to let the club know soon so they can order food so get the names down lads.

to be fair its a bit early to be ordering food for an outing a week away

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

As part of the deal it's a steak dinner. So you will all be having steak next weekend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Unfortunately looks like I'm dodgy for this now
    Family issues. Oh to be young and free again :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 moss911

Name down, fair play for organising this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭golfnut1

Anyone know if you can use a rangefinder @ moate gc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

It's up to the society. So I presume you can.

Myksyk wrote: »
    It's up to the society. So I presume you can.

Thanks myksyk.
    Can I take it so that this is a laser/gps friendly society??

golfnut1 wrote: »
    Anyone know if you can use a rangefinder @ moate gc?

i'm a member there. I have a basic one but never used it and now that i think of i - i have never seen someone use one there. There are markers at 200 / 150 & 100m on nearly every hole.

by the way - a note to all playing, the distance markers / card etc are in METERS!!

It doesn't matter if the club allows them or not. You're not playing in a club competition on Sarurday. The society committee should say whether they are allowed or not.

Myksyk wrote: »
    It doesn't matter if the club allows them or not. You're not playing in a club competition on Sarurday. The society committee should say whether they are allowed or not.

Exactly. Have we a captain? What does he/she think?

You can use it on Saturday.

Edit: I have amended the time sheet as we only have 16 players. Can those of you still attending please review it and let me know if the time still suits you. Thanks

Cheers captain

Suits me grand Keano!

Cheers captain
    Yeah fine for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

Yep no probs with me either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Fine with me also.

just incase anyone is wondering - i have put the lads who replied saying the time is ok in italics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 moss911

Fine by me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mikeunt

how was this committee formed
    was there a formal meeting called to propose people to these important positions?

mikeunt wrote: »
    how was this committee formed
    was there a formal meeting called to propose people to these important positions?
    Simple.

Idea for society was posted, people were asked volunteer, people volunteered = committee. We have no captain or anything like that. This is not Animal Farm.

This is not Animal Farm.

Maybe but two accounts (Conno/Mikeunt) are better than one.

If you want to make it official
    Well I propose Keano for captain.
    Who will second that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭judosean2005

Second keano.

Been a rock since we started off this Society.

Keep it up cpt.
    Sean

Anyone else want to propose someone for captain??

not here, Keano has done a fantastic job so far.

Lads, minor hiccup for saturday. Another society has booked in behind us and the club had shortened out allocated time by 30 mins. so we only have from 11:30 to.12:30 and not the 11:30 to 1:00 i booked. Hopefully it wont cause us too much grief. i can swap my spot if anyone cant be there by 11:30. I am not one bit happy about this and will be letting them know this saturday.
    C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

If we try to be there and ready to go for 11.30 we should get everyone out in the 1 hour slot no problem.

KPH - Do you still need a lift ? PM me your number if you still on ?

I am leaving from Wicklow and travelling alone also so if anyone needs lift along the way mail me !!

If we try to be there and ready to go for 11.30 we should get everyone out in the 1 hour slot no problem.

KPH - Do you still need a lift ? PM me your number if you still on ?

Pm sent Freemount, Thanks. Ah if everyone could go 20 min earlier that would just about get everyone out in time. That might not work for everyone but maybe a provisional idea and then can work from their .? :confused::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Unfortunate turn of events but will get there early. See you all there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

I still good , shame about the numbers was thinking we would get more ! bring your wet gear looking like its going to be a damp one !

as we only have about 16 or so going out, if we went out in 4 balls then we would only need 40 odd minutes. We will be fine.