Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The NCT is a joke of a test

• 03-10-2011 3:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭

They failed me on the incorrect font size on my cars front number plate. I wouldn't mind there not even fancy they are normal number plates.

What a joke, yeah the incorrect font size on my number plate is going to have a serious knock on effect on my cars safety performance on the main road.

The absolute inconvenience of it all, have to get a new number plate even though the one I have is only a few cm's smaller than the back one. Font size that is. Get another day off work, Go back up to the test centre over an apparent safety issue.

I take it because the font size is smaller it will affect the weight of the plate thus causing it too come flying off my car hitting someone in the face and killing them :rolleyes:

Seriously ragging over this, if it was a fancy number plate I would understand.

Who can I complain to over this? I was hawking them out of it doing the test and he didn't get a measuring tape out or anything to check the size. I have the dimensions of the plate here and I will be checking them later against the dimensions they test for.

You have nothing to complain about I would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

msg11 wrote: »
    They failed me on the incorrect font size on my cars front number plate. I wouldn't mind there not even fancy they are normal number plates.

What a joke, yeah the incorrect font size on my number plate is going to have a serious knock on effect on my cars safety performance on the main road.

The absolute inconvenience of it all, have to get a new number plate even though the one I have is only a few cm's smaller than the back one. Font size that is. Get another day off work, Go back up to the test centre over an apparent safety issue.

I take it because the font size is smaller it will affect the weight of the plate thus causing it too come flying off my car hitting someone in the face and killing them :rolleyes:

Who can I complain to over this? I was hawking them out of it doing the test and he didn't get a measuring tape out or anything to check the size. I have the dimensions of the plate here and I will be checking them later against the dimensions they test for.
    Test centres are open 6 days a week and well into the evenings. Why would you need to take a day off work for a visual inspection that doesn't require a booking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Your number plate does not comply with standards. Fix it, move on.

You cant complain to anyone really, there are standards there for reg plates and your front one doesnt meet them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Who can I complain to over this?

Eww, what has that got to do with an NCT fail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

A pic would help clarify how 'normal' the plate is.
    With the back not the same as the front maybe they saw this as an issue?

They are now alot more strict on what plates are allowed.

Number plate legality
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1992/en/si/0318.html

Sligo Metalhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Get over yourself, if your plate is wrong, there is nobody to blame except yourself.
    You should be grateful that infact its a visual defect so you wont need to book, just drive up anytime with the new plate (people sometimes only cable tie the new one on over the other one) and get your NCT cert.

Why do they test for this - There is the small issue of Number plate recognition systems such as used by the gardai and also the plate needs to have a standard font to be read accurately by speed cameras, toll cameras etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

tin79 wrote: »
    Your number plate does not comply with standards. Fix it, move on.

You cant complain to anyone really, there are standards there for reg plates and your front one doesnt meet them.

Well it hasnt been a problem in the past, I can't understand why it's an issue now and when I was looking at it he formed the option it wasn't within the guidelines set out he never measured the exact sizes of the font. I can't understand the safety issue here.

Didn't know they opened 6 days a week, work is not an issue then.

Fair enough if I knew it was miles off I would hold my hands up. But were talking near cm's here and at that 2-3cm off if even.

mickdw, I totally understand ANPR been able to read my reg, I have gone there the e-flow barriers and forgot to pay my toll and have been issued with a fine, so they must be able to read them. Garda at checkpoints near mentioned a problem with it either.

Didn't know they opened 6 days a week, work is not an issue then.

I was booking mine the other day and the lady offered me a time of 19:45, so they work pretty late into the evenings too, much to my surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Its not just a material safety issue though. See mickdw`s post above.

BronsonTB wrote: »
    A pic would help clarify how 'normal' the plate is.
    With the back not the same as the front maybe they saw this as an issue?

They are now alot more strict on what plates are allowed.

Number plate legality
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1992/en/si/0318.html

228418_211296312227699_100000419960638_712337_2105576_n.jpg

Old picture same plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Fair enough if I knew it was miles off I would hold my hands up. But were talking near cm's here and at that 2-3cm off if even.

Sometimes that can make all the difference - just ask my permanently unsatisfied girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

With that pic I'd be inclined to agree with you.....I've seen alot worse!!

Sligo Metalhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Font looks much too small

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

mickdw wrote: »
    Get over yourself, if your plate is wrong, there is nobody to blame except yourself.
    You should be grateful that infact its a visual defect so you wont need to book, just drive up anytime with the new plate (people sometimes only cable tie the new one on over the other one) and get your NCT cert.

Why do they test for this - There is the small issue of Number plate recognition systems such as used by the gardai and also the plate needs to have a standard font to be read accurately by speed cameras, toll cameras etc.
    NCT.ie wrote:
    2. Why has car testing been introduced?

The NCT was introduced to improve road safety and environmental protection and to comply with the EU Directive 2009/40/EC, which makes car testing compulsory in all EU member states.

This is not a safety issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Defo, it looks like Its a motorbike plate not the jap import ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

keane2097 wrote: »
    This is not a safety issue.

It isn't!? What about being able to read clearly the registration of someone who is driving dangerously?? Speeding excessively? Trying to evade the Gardai? Uninsured cars? Drivers who are banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

draffodx wrote: »
    It isn't!? What about being able to read clearly the registration of someone who is driving dangerously?? Speeding excessively? Trying to evade the Gardai? Uninsured cars? Drivers who are banned?

The safety of the car is not affected by the license plates' font.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

But safety of other road users may be!

keane2097 wrote: »
    The safety of the car is not affected by the license plates' font.

Does it state that the test is limited to the safety of the car?
    The NCT was introduced to improve road safety

Well if that's small you want to see some of the reg plates I see on the road. I can read that front plate from the top of my road, I can't understand why it has become a problem this test.

I don't want to get a new plate only to have the same problem. I think I might get a long one. As for it blocking the radiator, the radiator is behind the inter-cooler and it's the way they designed the bumper. They didn't move the number plate too the side till the evo 6, so it must have been blocking something, but theres plenty of air flow to the engine from the bumper. The long plates look ridiculous on an evo.

I don't know but it may have been missed by the previous tester or it could be that since they were rightfully shamed on TV some months ago they are going by the book.
    Either way the font was not road legal.
    Still, it could be worse - it could have been slightly faded like unkel's.

Well if that's small you want to see some of the reg plates I see on the road. I can read that front plate from the top of my road, I can't understand why it has become a problem this test.

I don't want to get a new plate only to have the same problem. I think I might get a long one. As for it blocking the radiator, the radiator is behind the inter-cooler and it's the way they designed the bumper. They didn't move the number plate too the side till the evo 6, so it must have been blocking something, but theres plenty of air flow to the engine from the bumper. The long plates look ridiculous on an evo.

People change their plates for the test and then back again, which is why you may seen illegal or smaller fonts on the road.

draffodx wrote: »
    People change their plates for the test and then back again, which is why you may seen illegal or smaller fonts on the road.

I know that, I didn't even think twice about the number plates because I honestly didn't think they were an issue.

If I went in with plates like these

customplate.jpg

Then I would fully understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

I have the dimensions of the plate here and I will be checking them later against the dimensions they test for.

Please share...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

I know that, I didn't even think twice about the number plates because I honestly didn't think they were an issue.

If I went in with plates like these

Then I would fully understand.

Well in all honesty I don't see why your complaining. Your plates are illegal weather or not you or me think its right or wrong isn't the issue, the issue is they are not legal. A number plate only cost a few euro so no big deal really...

True just needed a rant about it, cause it is really nit picking going after font sizes. But I do understand, what everyone is saying and I will be buying a new front plate. The issue is the NCT itself, it's a joke of a test prime time proved this and the fact I have to do this every year and maybe your mans attitude when he handed me the form back with his cheeky grin and attitude. From when he seen the car he wanted to fail me all the other cars flew threw there tests 2 cars went threw in the first lane he went threw everything in the book with mine.

Regulations are regulations I am not arguing that. Anyway I have had my rant and I will be getting a new plate for the front hopefully it wont be an issue hopefully it wont be too big this time!

Cheers for the posts everyone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I know a girl who was failed because her Reg plate didnt have the county name in Irish in small font at the top. Yeah, the regulations are there, its still harsh for something so small though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

2-3cm sounds like a huge amount on something thats only what - 8 to 10 cm's in size anyway. Will make huge difference for the computer recognition systems

The issue is the NCT itself, it's a joke of a test prime time proved this
    They didn't fault the test, they found fault with some of the testers which is considerably different.
    and the fact I have to do this every year
    What's wrong with that? Many countries within the EU do an annual test.
    Is your car not up to an annual test?
    and maybe your mans attitude when he handed me the form back with his cheeky grin and attitude. From when he seen the car he wanted to fail me all the other cars flew threw there tests 2 cars went threw in the first lane he went threw everything in the book with mine.
    If you have an issue with the tester then make a complaint. As for the other cars there, how do you know that they weren't in for re-tests or that they were much easier to test. I would wager that you don't know anything about these but are just venting anger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

228418_211296312227699_100000419960638_712337_2105576_n.jpg

Old picture same plate.

This is the kind of plate that they'd be looking for:

standardsquares.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

OP the plate is clearly wrong.

Count yourself lucky I failed before because the county name had faded on the plate. Everything else about the plate was fine.

Went away and bought a new one for €12 at the time and came back to have it checked. The guy then told me he had county name stickers for me to put on for free but he forgot to say it :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭tu2j2

Is your rear plate ok?

If so stop moaning on the internet and switch the plates between the front and back and go get the test.

The NCT is very easily fooled if you put a little thought into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭volvoman480

I don't know for sure lads, but that looks like a pretty much standard plate to me. It seems identical to the square plates I carry on the rear of trailers and on some trucks I drive. As for the embossed ones in the above post, I can't get them in any factors near me, all seem to do the printed ones sandwiched between two sheets of plastic. I've had the embossed ones before on new vehicles and removed them without fail before the first DOE test as they went to sh1t in no time. The plastic ones are a superior plate in my opinion. Not saying I'm right or wrong, just an opinion. I'd be out with the measuring tape to that plate if it was mine and change it if it's wrong. On the other hand, if it's right, I'd be heading back to the test centre and demanding my cert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I don't know for sure lads, but that looks like a pretty much standard plate to me. It seems identical to the square plates I carry on the rear of trailers and on some trucks I drive. As for the embossed ones in the above post, I can't get them in any factors near me, all seem to do the printed ones sandwiched between two sheets of plastic. I've had the embossed ones before on new vehicles and removed them without fail before the first DOE test as they went to sh1t in no time. The plastic ones are a superior plate in my opinion. Not saying I'm right or wrong, just an opinion. I'd be out with the measuring tape to that plate if it was mine and change it if it's wrong. On the other hand, if it's right, I'd be heading back to the test centre and demanding my cert.
    I think the plate size is fine, it's the font size is wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Plate looks fine to me. Yes the font is slightly smaller, but we have a case of nitpicking here. Waste of time, its far from illegible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Plate looks fine to me. Yes the font is slightly smaller, but we have a case of nitpicking here. Waste of time, its far from illegible.
    I think you're missing the point. The OP presented a car for test with a front plate that didn't conform to NCT test standards. The OP therefore failed the NCT. Simple as.

Can I clear one thing up. ANPR can read my plate, I have got a fine right in front of me for a toll I forgot to pay. To be honest, if you when threw it and failed on this you would see my anger. It's a flaming reg plate you want to be a space cadet if you couldn't read it legal or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭volvoman480

If the number plate was the only thing wrong with the car then pulling the owner aside and telling him that his plates were slightly off and to change them before the next test would be a reasonable thing to do. No bloody need to come back for something so trivial. Especially when we're here discussing measuring the fonts!!! That alone means it's a pretty marginal fault. Fair enough, technically, it's a fail but come on, it's a thing of nothing. I carry several goods vehicles and trailers for DOE every year and to be honest I can't imagine of any of the testers I go to failing me for something like that. It is however, one of the reasons I let the mrs take the car for test, I've had previous bad experiences at NCT centres...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I'm not quoting an image for the 4th time. OP I had a similar plate on my old car and it passed the nct with it (obviously different reg). I see absolutely nothing wrong with the plate, it can be read can't it? And by the e-flow and anpr? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

Plate is clearly illegal - it is an undersize plate. Only legal on the rear of a car imported from outside EU if the indent of the body is unable to accomodate the standard size plate.. AFAIK.

BTW the fine for that is up to €5000!

Can I clear one thing up. ANPR can read my plate, I have got a fine right in front of me for a toll I forgot to pay. To be honest, if you when threw it and failed on this you would see my anger. It's a flaming reg plate you want to be a space cadet if you couldn't read it legal or not.

They didn't fail it because it's not readable, it failed because the characters are too small

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

kbannon wrote: »
    it could be worse - it could have been slightly faded like unkel's.

And for the good people on here that weren't around back then: on mine the "Baile Atha Cliath" looked more like "Baile Atha Oliath". I failed the NCT on it - epic :D

unkel wrote: »
    And for the good people on here that weren't around back then: on mine the "Baile Atha Cliath" looked more like "Baile Atha Oliath". I failed the NCT on it - epic :D
    Think of all the children that have been saved now that you aren't driving around in a car that can evade ANPR justice! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭wee truck big driver

the revenue can fine you something like 1200 euro for having illegal plates like these, so your aswell just to buy new ones

unkel wrote: »

I remember doing a pre- NCT check on a car and I noticed the county missing on a KE reg car. Our stores were out of the "Cill Dara" stickers, so we put a "Uibh Faili" sticker on instead. We knew that our local test centre had loads of foreign nationalists so we took a chance they would not know the difference. The car passed so they obviously didn't. :D

Foreign nationalists :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

some amount of yes men on this thread!

idiot regulations penciled by bored civil servants and then ye guys jumping over yourselfs to agree with them.

the plate looks fine to me and this has nothing to do with safety.

and another reason this test is just a revenue generating scam.

once "safety" is mentioned anywhere in this country you cant say boo! this is nanny state gone crazy!

show me the statistics of bangers involved in fatal accidents and ye can have your test.
    if your serious about safety were is the NCT for the state of the roads in this country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 el sorcerino

I'm on ur side here msg... We all know legislation is legislation but the problem is that some legislation is absolute bull****. I mean most of the replies here have been of the opinion 'shut up and get on with it', but the issue you were bringing up was that the nct is a joke!
    We dont know how you came to have that font size? You may not have even have been aware of it being wrongly sized but I know the reason why he failed you and that was because you have a 'souped up' car. I can almost guarantee you that he had one look at ur motor and decided "I'm failing this c*?t on something!".
    I say this because I drive an m3 and it never passes the nct? It's in great condition but somehow whichever immigrant tests it manages to find some ridiculous faults with it every time... I'm pretty sure you're getting the same treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

I'm on ur side here msg... We all know legislation is legislation but the problem is that some legislation is absolute bull****. I mean most of the replies here have been of the opinion 'shut up and get on with it', but the issue you were bringing up was that the nct is a joke!
    We dont know how you came to have that font size? You may not have even have been aware of it being wrongly sized but I know the reason why he failed you and that was because you have a 'souped up' car. I can almost guarantee you that he had one look at ur motor and decided "I'm failing this c*?t on something!".
    I say this because I drive an m3 and it never passes the nct? It's in great condition but somehow whichever immigrant tests it manages to find some ridiculous faults with it every time... I'm pretty sure you're getting the same treatment.

So it is "some immigrants fault" that you fail maintain your car to a published standard?

OPs plate is illegal - he needs to man up and fix it.

What other laws do you suggest we bend to suit you and the OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Anan1 wrote: »
    I think you're missing the point. The OP presented a car for test with a front plate that didn't conform to NCT test standards. The OP therefore failed the NCT. Simple as.

Not missing the point, of course the font is slightly smaller and hence illegal. However who gives a sh1t is my point. :rolleyes: