Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glee 3x03-"Asian F" [** SPOILERS **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Another pretty awful episode tbh. Mike's dancing was the best part...

Edit: also, did the show change format? It seems now that the song numbers are part real and part people's imaginations (i.e. Santana's number).
    Also, who else thinks Santana is preggers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Sweet Jesus that was awful. Mercedes needs a swift kick to cop her on. Maybe she keeps losing out to Rachel because Rachel is actually a better singer. Ever think of that? And what was that monstrosity in the middle, with the hair and the dresses? That was awful.

That's three FULL episodes that have gone by that I don't want to buy any of the songs. Normally I download them all.

:mad::mad::mad:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

i quite like this episode. I thought the Dream Girls song was well done and integrated nicely with the plot - even if the plot looked like it was manufactured to make the song more relevant.

The songs this week were better than previous weeks and we got some nice comedy moments and some arc progression.

Not the worst by any means

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Sweet Jesus that was awful. Mercedes needs a swift kick to cop her on. Maybe she keeps losing out to Rachel because Rachel is actually a better singer. Ever think of that? And what was that monstrosity in the middle, with the hair and the dresses? That was awful.

That's three FULL episodes that have gone by that I don't want to buy any of the songs. Normally I download them all.

:mad::mad::mad:

Not seen the episode yet...but, this interested me....season 1, i was GAGGING to listen to all the songs, jaysus i played them most every day!...but since season 2 i haven't listened to any Glee music outside of the episodes.

Says alot really........ :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭conorburke2011

Sorry to say, but I wish everyone would stop being SO negative all the time! This was by far not only the best episodeof the season, but it was definitley in the top ten episodes of all time. The writing is ten times better than season 2, and the latter half of season 1 this season, much more continuity and character development and even if you don't like the music selections this season, the performances are AMAZING. The reviews for this episode have been THROUGH THE ROOF. http://www.endofshow.com/2011/10/06/glee-gets-an-a-plus-for-asian-f/

Sorry guys, but have to give credit where credit is due.

Sorry to say, but I wish everyone would stop being SO negative all the time! This was by far not only the best episodeof the season, but it was definitley in the top ten episodes of all time. The writing is ten times better than season 2, and the latter half of season 1 this season, much more continuity and character development and even if you don't like the music selections this season, the performances are AMAZING. The reviews for this episode have been THROUGH THE ROOF. http://www.endofshow.com/2011/10/06/glee-gets-an-a-plus-for-asian-f/

This episode was the lowest rated episode since Season 1 Episode 13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Same for the songs, some of the choices lately are WOEFUL

I like the original songs though

I still cant stand Kurt. His storylines / songs are always about the same things

The Glee Project kid from Norn Iron is in the next episode, the aptly named RORY FLANAGAN :P

Just now watched it, tbh...it was very boring, Michael Ausileo....that moron is in the pocket of Fox/Murphy!!!...how much did that fool hype up this ep?, like it was the best ever, what a load of brown paper envelope!

Mercedes...what a diva!, Rachel has nothing on her!, then Rachel throws Kurt under the bus, i swear....they are the worst "friends"!....say what you want but the only standup characters are Finn, Tina and Brittany....they don't backstab and cheat!

Brittany's song/performance was the best, i didn't like any of the other songs and while thre was character development for Mike and Emma they are very uninteresting characters, if they died in a bus crash i wouldn't care.

They've changed the show alright...it's gotten worse!

2/5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭OakeyDokey

Watched it this evening and it was another okay episode.

I like that they digged a bit deeper into Mike's character as he seems to be in the backround a lotm I'm surprised that he's actually a decent singer. I agree Brittany's performance was the highlight for me tonight but I now have a new found hatred for Mercedes! She's really taking diva to the next level!

Rachel has got the lead so she should have dropped out of the running! It makes her look so much more spiteful to Kurt and she seems to want more and more credentials and will sacrifice anyone in her way to make it.

What was up with Emma's parents... freaky or what! I can see them reappearing in the future and making trouble.

Kinda bummed about the 4 week break as the next episode features one of the Glee project winners Damien :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Where was Sugar this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I really liked this episode, and I haven't liked an episode of Glee in a long time. I loved the songs (except the stupid Maria one, I can't stand Rachel and the faces she makes when she sings). I don't really get why everyone is calling Mercedes a diva, she is just sick of Rachel getting preferential treatment and the reason she turned down the joint role was because she deserved the part (even Rachel said she did) yet the Golden Child gets her own way again.

I'm so relieved that we're not being subjected to the Kurt Show anymore, I despise him and his boyfriend and his constant whining.

phasers wrote: »
    I really liked this episode, and I haven't liked an episode of Glee in a long time. I loved the songs (except the stupid Maria one, I can't stand Rachel and the faces she makes when she sings). I don't really get why everyone is calling Mercedes a diva, she is just sick of Rachel getting preferential treatment and the reason she turned down the joint role was because she deserved the part (even Rachel said she did) yet the Golden Child gets her own way again.

I'm so relieved that we're not being subjected to the Kurt Show anymore, I despise him and his boyfriend and his constant whining.

Yes was on Team Mercedes this week as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

I wanted to slap Mercedes in this one! She couldn't just accept that Rachel is the better singer and was more suited to the part, so she took a strop and stormed off. Well off ya go, imo Mercedes!

But I was also majorly pissed off at Rachel being so bloody selfish and going for Class President against Kurt. She has to 'have something' all the time, she can't just be herself, and not have some sort of claim to fame every hour of the day.

Like that they focused a bit more on Mike this episode though, that guy is super talented!

Alicat wrote: »
    I wanted to slap Mercedes in this one! She couldn't just accept that Rachel is the better singer and was more suited to the part, so she took a strop and stormed off. Well off ya go, imo Mercedes!

That was the whole point! Mercedes is just as good as Rachel, if not better. In the sing-off, Mercedes was better, even Rachel said it herself. But instead of giving the part to Mercedes, they split it so Rachel would still be kept happy. Thats the point: Rachel is always treated as the golden girl who must be kept happy. Mercedes has been used and abused the last 2 seasons, so shes finally takin a stand against all that, and rightfully so!

You totally missed my point...

I think Rachel IS the better singer. In my opinion she knocks Mercedes' socks off for these types of songs. I don't think Mercedes' voice suits the show tunes like Rachel's does. So I think Mercedes was wrong to get in a strop about it. If someone is better than you at something, well that's just tough, in my opinion! From the looks of it, Mercedes didn't have the dance talent or the fitness to deal with the dance sequences that would be in the musical, so why should she be picked over Rachel, who can do it all?

Now, I know Rachel says that she thinks Mercedes sang it better, but I even thought that was stupid because Lea Michele is clearly the better singer for these types of songs. If they wanted to show Mercedes taking the bull by the horns and stepping up to the plate as a leading lady, they should have picked a musical that she could step into more easily. Don't get me wrong, I think Amber Reilly has a super voice, Spotlight was brilliant, but she was not the best suit for Maria in WSS.

^ i think you're both missing the point...they are BOTH horrible and selfish people, no matter who is more talented....they'll step one anyone who gets in their way, Rachel shafted Kurt who is no saint himself. Anyone one of the three would knife each other in the back for a part.

That's why i prefer Finn/Brittany as they have morals and are good people, who would you hang around with?.....i'd be pullig out hair having to listen to Rachel and her narrasistic ways and Mercedes with her finger wavin' diva antics. There is a fine line from being driven to being nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Agreed Richard, I've never fully understood whether you're meant to like Rachel or hate her. And all the other 'divas' aren't much better. I think Santana is a better singer than them all anyway.

I used to Hate Brittany but now I'm in love with her <3

^ i think you're both missing the point...they are BOTH horrible and selfish people, no matter who is more talented....they'll step one anyone who gets in their way, Rachel shafted Kurt who is no saint himself. Anyone one of the three would knife each other in the back for a part.

That's why i prefer Finn/Brittany as they have morals and are good people, who would you hang around with?.....i'd be pullig out hair having to listen to Rachel and her narrasistic ways and Mercedes with her finger wavin' diva antics. There is a fine line from being driven to being nasty.

Again, missing more of my points! The issue is not, and should not be, who deserves the part because of how 'nice' or morally decent they are. If it was, I'd be hard pressed to pick ANY of them. They're a group of narcissistic teenagers, and we all know that. I don't think we're meant to 'like' them all, more get to understand how their characters work and that they all have good and bad aspects to their personality. Makes it more interesting than having simply 'good' and 'bad' people, because it'd be completely unrealistic.

Regardless of how cut-throat Rachel is, she was the better pick for the part of Maria. While I agree that Mercedes has been pushed into the background by Rachel for any leading parts, it's just tough that she wasn't as good as Rachel for this part.

Has Mike always been on the football them :confused:

In your opinion. I thought it was one of the most boring. I'm allowed my opinion, you are allowed yours.

I just wish Glee would get back to being fun!...you know, those episodes whereby you've got a constant smile on your face throughout the episode?....last ep. i remember that gave me the "Glee effect" was Duets.

This episode was the lowest rated episode since Season 1 Episode 13.

I'm not trying to sound funny but just because this episode has had the lowest episode ratings since episode 13 of the 1st season, it doesn't mean that it was a bad episode. I think it's time for everyone here to remember that the highest ratings ever acheived for an episode of Glee was the 2nd episode of the 2nd season "Brittany/Britney,"- that episode with no plot whatsoever, featuring frame by frame re-enactments of Britney Spears music videos for no reason.
    So judging how good an episode is on ratings is unfair. The 1st three episodes of season 3 have been among the lowest in the history of the show and that's only because it seems a lot of people said to themselves last year that they'd watch until the end of season 2, and then stop watching (which I completley understand.) However, I think everyone can agree here that the show in the 3rd season has been completley toned down- although still cheesey not AS cheesy for example. Thats what I think they are taking the 4 week break

I'm not trying to sound funny but just because this episode has had the lowest episode ratings since episode 13 of the 1st season, it doesn't mean that it was a bad episode. I think it's time for everyone here to remember that the highest ratings ever acheived for an episode of Glee was the 2nd episode of the 2nd season "Brittany/Britney,"- that episode with no plot whatsoever, featuring frame by frame re-enactments of Britney Spears music videos for no reason.
    So judging how good an episode is on ratings is unfair. The 1st three episodes of season 3 have been among the lowest in the history of the show and that's only because it seems a lot of people said to themselves last year that they'd watch until the end of season 2, and then stop watching (which I completley understand.) However, I think everyone can agree here that the show in the 3rd season has been completley toned down- although still cheesey not AS cheesy for example. Thats what I think they are taking the 4 week break
    It was an awful episode, as have all of season 3 so far. The ratings just reflect the fact that Glee has diminished in quality this season.

I'm sure Glee will get it's 88 episodes syndication deal and be done, Glee is alot like Heroes...amazing first season then it goes to hell!

Regardless of how cut-throat Rachel is, she was the better pick for the part of Maria. While I agree that Mercedes has been pushed into the background by Rachel for any leading parts, it's just tough that she wasn't as good as Rachel for this part.

But even Rachel thought she wasnt as good :P

I agree about the genres. Rachel is pure broadway and wouldnt be great with the likes of And I am Telling You

Its hard to judge the sing-off on a show like Glee, but the idea of the plot was that vocally they both sounded great, but Mercedes was more confident and more in touch with the feeling/meaning/whatever of the song

Also, Mercedes would bring a lot more diversity to the role, which is what the glee club is meant to be all bout

It all comes back to the judges not being able to say no to Rachel

Mercedes is only bein a diva now because it's gotten to her for so long. Rachel was always like that

unreggd wrote: »
    But even Rachel thought she wasnt as good :P

She did, but it rang terribly untrue!
    I agree about the genres. Rachel is pure broadway and wouldnt be great with the likes of And I am Telling You

Its hard to judge the sing-off on a show like Glee, but the idea of the plot was that vocally they both sounded great, but Mercedes was more confident and more in touch with the feeling/meaning/whatever of the song

Also, Mercedes would bring a lot more diversity to the role, which is what the glee club is meant to be all bout

It all comes back to the judges not being able to say no to Rachel

Mercedes is only bein a diva now because it's gotten to her for so long. Rachel was always like that

I have to say if I was going to see West Side Story, I would be pretty disappointed to find someone like Mercedes playing the lead role. That bugs me that they would be so intent on bringing 'diversity' to the group that they would bypass the person who was clearly more suited to the role. There's no need to be so bloody P.C., just pick the person who suits the role best! Which they did in the end! I was getting ready to fling the remote at the telly if Mercedes got it.

I mean, using an example from this very episode, if they had chosen Dreamgirls as the school musical, I would have totally been behind Mercedes getting a lead role. That would suit her voice much better. If they had chosen Rachel for that, I would have been equally miffed, and it would be clear favouritism.

It wasnt about the person suited to the role. It was purely based on that sing off

Broadway are mad for the diversity! Stuff like All-female / single ethnicity cast etc

The whole thing didnt make sense anyways. I get their point, but it wasn't done properly

I was getting ready to fling the remote at the telly if Mercedes got it.

I wish i cared about Glee that much anymore to get that riled up... :rolleyes:

unreggd wrote: »

technically the school musical has nothing to do with Glee Club. It's not the Glee Club musical, it just so happens that the kids who are auditioning are in the Club. So it doesn't matter a jot what the ethos of Glee is.

It boils down (IMHO) to the fact that Rachel can do these kinds of classic musical numbers far better than Mercedes. If they were to turn around and do Dream Girls, Fame, Hairspray, even Rent, she's be a shoe-in for a lot of roles, that rely on a more pop/soul voice, which she does have in spades. Rachel has a musical theatre voice ideally suited for the likes of West Side Story, Phantom, etc.

Plus I don't understand why it was only singing auditions. Surely there's acting auditions too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭OakeyDokey

I feel Glee is going down but I'm still hanging on and hoping it will return to the way it started off, the only thing really keeping me watching season three seeing the winners from The Glee project in it :rolleyes:

How lucky it was only Glee club members auditioning for West Side Story surely others from the school not in Glee club might want to be in maybe Sugar, Jacob or Lauren perhaps or has Sue warned everyone else away :p

Wasnt Tina offered the role or a song from West Side Story in Season 1 by Mr. Schu and Rachel went ape over it?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Wasnt Tina offered the role or a song from West Side Story in Season 1 by Mr. Schu and Rachel went ape over it?

Yeah. Even back then he realised she was expectin to be handed all the leads. Although the fact that Tina wasn't confident in the role showed he only did that out of spite

Like I said, this plot was way too complicated to communicate on a show like Glee

Yup, can't wait for the Glee Projects winners to come back. Lindsay was deadly! Damien is in the next episode as an Oyrish exchange student 'Rory Flanagan' [/apt] :rolleyes:

It was an awful episode, as have all of season 3 so far. The ratings just reflect the fact that Glee has diminished in quality this season.

The ratings don't reflect the quality of the show this season it reflects the quality of the show last season. Right from the start, the ratings have been low and this is due to the obvious trainwreck which was the majority of season 2. No one can deny that this years show in terms of plot and continuity, has been majorly better than the 2nd.
    That's why I think they are taking the 3 week break? My guess is that they are going to show the 1st 3 episodes again in the states and advertise it so much that the Americans will just end up watching it. I think that's why the break is happening anyways- to get viewership up and to get everyone up to date as to whats happening. Can anyone elaborate/ Anyone know why they're taking this break?

Yep, he was on the football team before he joined glee club

Most people are probably being a bit too negative, all of my friends thought it was the best Glee episode they've seen in ages, personally I was a bit disappointed but it wasn't awful.

Yes, I'm sorry baby and crumble- I didn't think it was the best episode but in my opinion it was great. I just think awful was the wrong word choice - Britney/Brittany was awful(Britney Spears episode) but this was no where close/

I just wish Glee would get back to being fun!...you know, those episodes whereby you've got a constant smile on your face throughout the episode?....last ep. i remember that gave me the "Glee effect" was Duets.

Richard, I actually LOVED that episode! Happy Days Are Here Again/Get Happy at the end of it just made me smile so much! It was also amazing at the concert!

Yes, I'm sorry baby and crumble- I didn't think it was the best episode but in my opinion it was great. I just think awful was the wrong word choice - Britney/Brittany was awful(Britney Spears episode) but this was no where close/

I guess we'll have to agree to disagree, for me, this series is very poor, and the last episode was awful in my opinion. Still, takes all sorts, eh?

Ps- I loved the Brittany episode. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Futurecrook

I liked the focus on Mike but hated the Rachel/Mercedes storyline. Pretty rubbish episode overall. Glee has just been going downhill since season 1.

I guess we'll have to agree to disagree, for me, this series is very poor, and the last episode was awful in my opinion. Still, takes all sorts, eh?

Ps- I loved the Brittany episode. :p

Hahaha really?:L Wow it does take all sorts :L

Say what you want about the ep., but it sure did provoke debate here!...so it did something right (or wrong depending on your POV).

Richard, I actually LOVED that episode! Happy Days Are Here Again/Get Happy at the end of it just made me smile so much! It was also amazing at the concert!

River Deep, Mountain High was amazing! :)

Santana should have auditioned for Maria