Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever regret not asking a girl her name

• 02-10-2011 6:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭

I was talking to this girl in town last night, She was super hot and the place was dead so I thought why not make the move with my amazing dance moves, I didnt know who she is but I knew all her friends but I dont really know them that well, Since Im leaving the country I didnt even think to ask her her name after and now I really regrett it just wondering has anyone done anything similar and regretted it after.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭maygitchell

Probably should ask the wife her name at some stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

astonaidan wrote: »
    I was talking to this girl in town last night, She was super hot and the place was dead so I thought why not make the move with my amazing dance moves, I didnt know who she is but I knew all her friends but I dont really know them that well, Since Im leaving the country I didnt even think to ask her her name after and now I really regrett it just wondering has anyone done anything similar and regretted it after.

YA. Was flying too liverpool and this nice looking lady was sitting across from me. I offered too take her suitcase down and about 10mins later I see her on the bus and got a smile from her.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Probably should ask the wife her name at some stage

I probably should ask your wife her name at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭few cans?

yea, similar to youself got chattin to some beour in a pub last year, now fair enough she told me her name at the start but i completely forgot, we got on real well, shared a kiss n all. and when she was leaving she told me to add her on facebook. no bother says i. then as she was gone i realised i hadnt a fookin clue what her name was. bollocks

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    I probably should ask your wife her name at some stage.

Your wife must think my name is "harder"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

So if you got her name were you just going to go to the phone book call them all.

Were you looking for Sarah Connor by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

few cans? wrote: »
    yea, similar to youself got chattin to some beour in a pub last year, now fair enough she told me her name at the start but i completely forgot, we got on real well, shared a kiss n all. and when she was leaving she told me to add her on facebook. no bother says i. then as she was gone i realised i hadnt a fookin clue what her name was. bollocks

Im sligthly worse I spent the whole night with her, I knew her name at one time but just forgot it, Have checked her friends lists but cant find her and she was a serious babe so i feel like a twat

Your wife is phat with a p-h like elephant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

her number/address is what matters, names? pfft it was loud/I was drunk/I met lot of people that night, just make up a good excuse :confused:

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    Your wife is phat with a p-h like elephant.

Thanks bro!

No probs brosephine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Whats in a name

orourkeda wrote: »
    Whats in a name

An increased chance of gettin the ride further

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I've had more instances where I regret not asking girls for their numbers :( There's been three in the last two years who were awesome, and dropped signals they liked me, but I didn't pick up on said signals till a few days afterwards and haven't been able to contact them since :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Yes it's happened to me a few times. Also when you're on the drink I tend to forget to ask standard things like what's your name.

Been kicking myself today after last night. There was this pretty hot bird in a bar chatting to me for a while and I could tell by the way she was looking at me she was up for it. Anyway we and our separate group of friends all left the bar at pretty much the same time and as we were walking out she was asking where me and my friends were all going next. My friends had gone on ahead and were heading towards the bus stop and I hanged back deliberately to chat to her more. She said she was going this other bar and said that she wanted me to come. Then my idiot cockblocking friend came back and started pestering me saying what you doing and saying come on saying we'll miss the bus. This killed the moment a bit and I ended up hesitating and went off with my friend and just said bye to her. No number off her or anything - just forgot to ask. Was kicking myself when I woke up this morning because I should have probably woken up somewhere else. Annoyingly this isn't the first time my friend's done this. Sigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Stalk her friends on FB, wait for the inevitable "ZOMG PICCIES FRM LST NITE!!!!11!1! xxx" album to appear, spot her, find tag, Fanny's your aunt.

Saila wrote: »
    her number/address is what matters, names? pfft it was loud/I was drunk/I met lot of people that night, just make up a good excuse :confused:

That wouldnt be a problem only Im going tomorrow and I said to her the next day, Ill hook You up on facebook beautifull , 2 hours later i realised I couldnt remember her name and to make this worse I dont drink so I cant say I was drunk and I was with her all night, My only hope is she adds me atm

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    Stalk her friends on FB, wait for the inevitable "ZOMG PICCIES FRM LST NITE!!!!11!1! xxx" album to appear, spot her, find tag, Fanny's your aunt.

Hah Thats one of my plans at the moment, One flaw didnt see a camera anywhere :(

That wouldnt be a problem only Im going tomorrow and I said to her the next day, Ill hook You up on facebook beautifull , 2 hours later i realised I couldnt remember her name and to make this worse I dont drink so I cant say I was drunk and I was with her all night, My only hope is she adds me atm

How long are you leaving the country for? If it's for an extended period of time would it really be fair on either of you to hook up for just one night and then leave it? Unless of course you're both just up for the steamy ride, in which case, tute on son, tute on.

Hah Thats one of my plans at the moment, One flaw didnt see a camera anywhere :(

Rare species of girl there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

my idiot cockblocking friend
    He's no longer your friend.

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    How long are you leaving the country for? If it's for an extended period of time would it really be fair on either of you to hook up for just one night and then leave it? Unless of course you're both just up for the steamy ride, in which case, tute on son, tute on.

Well hook up for one night thing is a bit late :o, Im leaving for 9months so thats why I didnt get her number, But she was a stunner and would like to know her more in 9months if shes still on the market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Well hook up for one night thing is a bit late :o, Im leaving for 9months so thats why I didnt get her number, But she was a stunner and would like to know her more in 9months if shes still on the market

an interesting time to disappear for :cool:

Not as bad as it looks, Have a wedding to go to, Looks like Ill be facebook stalking tonight, So the usual sunday for me:p

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Yes it's happened to me a few times. Also when you're on the drink I tend to forget to ask standard things like what's your name.

Been kicking myself today after last night. There was this pretty hot bird in a bar chatting to me for a while and I could tell by the way she was looking at me she was up for it. Anyway we and our separate group of friends all left the bar at pretty much the same time and as we were walking out she was asking where me and my friends were all going next. My friends had gone on ahead and were heading towards the bus stop and I hanged back deliberately to chat to her more. She said she was going this other bar and said that she wanted me to come. Then my idiot cockblocking friend came back and started pestering me saying what you doing and saying come on saying we'll miss the bus. This killed the moment a bit and I ended up hesitating and went off with my friend and just said bye to her. No number off her or anything - just forgot to ask. Was kicking myself when I woke up this morning because I should have probably woken up somewhere else. Annoyingly this isn't the first time my friend's done this. Sigh
    Doesn't really sound like a cockblock to be honest...Just sounds like a lad lookin out for his mate!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

This girl i always see in the gym, wouldwifeandhavechildrenwith/10.

But ya cant ask out girls in Ireland when you're sober, especially not at the gym, so im forever alone unless i meet her out on the sauce some night :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

Last night of oxegen this year at pendulum. After being thoroughly demolished in the mosh pit I made my way to the quieter edge of it and got chatting to a canadian girl a little older than me, hit it and we off shifted a bit. After pendulm she tells me she wants to catch the end of coldplay, so we rush over and catch coldplay sing ride on with christy(amazing), after we head back towards her tent and on the walk I ask her her name and immediately forgot it but it was irrelevant as there was a good chance of me getting ride and if I asked her her name again she might have been insulted and I'd leave oxegen rideless and who has ever done that :pac:. get back to the tent and ahem "got down to it" after an amount of time that to this day I'm proud of she decides she wants to head to the oxbox to dance I think "fair enough, Im camped beside there I can nip back get more johnnies and the night can continue" then the dilemma struck, I can't leave her by herself with out the chance of someone else making a move and i can't bring her with me to where the lads are camped without her realising I've forgotten her name. so after about an hour I promptly say my goodbyes as politely as I could and made my way shamefacedly back to camp. Looking back I can see how terrible my logic was in dealing with that dilemma and to this day i'm kicking myself over it. sorry for the novel length rant but I'm suffering from alcohol and exam related insomnia and i need to rant. _____ Shaw if you ever log onto boards in toronto I'm sorry!

Tl;DR version: pulled a canadian girl at oxegen, forgot her name mid-ride, made a hash of rectifying the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I don't ask girls for their names on nights out cos I'm going to forget them anyway

and that apparently really annoys girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

You should be able to keep it up more if you lay off the booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭revell

Was kicking myself when I woke up this morning because I should have probably woken up somewhere else with a missing kidney. Annoyingly this isn't the first time my friend's done this. Sigh

fyp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

You mean ex-friend. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

few cans? wrote: »
    yea, similar to youself got chattin to some beour in a pub last year,

Is this culchie talk or something?
    What's a beour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

back when i was living in Galway i had just broke up with my GF a few weeks before this happened.

I was walking through Shop Street and there was this girl, blue streaks in hair, rockery looking but in the nice way not the OMG LOOK AT ME way. and we both caught eachothers eyes and there was a wee smile. oh i thought and my housemate who was walking next to me even noticed, got that nice feeling and thought to myslef wow!

about an hour later in eyre square shopping center the same girl was walking towards us again. Again little smile and every rom com cliche it seemed too, held eye contact most of the time and then we walked past eachother. i waited a second and looked behind and just caught her doing the exact same.

I tried to build the courage to run after her and just ask her for a drink or anything,

I couldn't

never seen her again after that.

One i'll always regret i guess but now i'm with my perfect girl* so swings and roundabouts.

*and no i don't pay for her and she isn't a blow up doll or pam :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭spirityboy

yep. 20 years ago. well i knew her name, she was from Canada and was in Ireland for the summer. we stayed in touch for a long time I was crazy about her and would have dropped everything for her. then she met someone else and cut all contact, wouldnt return my calls nothing. there's never been anyone quiet like her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Is this culchie talk or something?
    What's a beour?

Take a wild guess, given its context within the sentence, and the sentence that was being replied to! :)