Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BBC Sports personality of the year 2011

• 30-09-2011 2:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭

Cav now 12/5 with Paddy Power. Was 4/1 earlier this week

Darren Clarke still favourite at 10/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Clarke will probably win it due to the British Open being shown BBC. Sports that they have the rights too tend to produce a SPOTY victor. There is the odd exception like Jonny Wilkenson (ITV had to rights to the 2003 RWC).

Keep an eye out for Mo Farrah, his story will chime with many people - Somali refugee who came to the UK etc. Cav, I think will be passed over again. The slightly long winded title of Elite Mens Road Race World Champion wouldn't have helped - Many of the British press didn't seem to get he was a true World Champion, certaintly not Skynews.

Its a flawed competition anyway. Whats a personality? Michael Owen, Zara Philips! A sports personality? Maybe they don't want to offend anyone if its just 'Sports Person of the Year' and saying one world champ. is better than another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Cant see Cavendish winning it on the basis the bbc dont show cycling and its not one of the big money earning sports as such compared to football, golf. cricket, rugby. Also the only time cycling gets coverage is during the TDF they gave him feck all coverage last week on the worlds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Rory McIlroy has said that Cav would be the most deserving winner.
    This is voted for by the public, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,182 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Cavendish will be boosted by the fact that hes an olympian and I have a good feeling theyll go for an olympian with london 2012 coming up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭LaFlammeRouge

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Cavendish will be boosted by the fact that hes an olympian and I have a good feeling theyll go for an olympian with london 2012 coming up

Golf is in the olympics 2012. It would be crazy to give it to Darren Clarke. He has won one decent competition. Cavendish has won everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Undercover Elephant

What sport does Darren Clarke do? I thought he was a golfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

Does CAV even have a personality in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

also he forgot to actually win le Tour, Clarke actually won something.

Cav is the equiv of a long drive merchant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

Cavendish has won everything.

Hmmmmm ....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,572 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

more than most who have won it :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Rory McIlroy has said that Cav would be the most deserving winner.
    This is voted for by the public, right?
    They can. But it is not a realistic competition. Last year it was won by Tony McCoy whose claim to fame that year was he won the Grand National. The Grand National is won every year. Previously it was won by Ryan Giggs. The year Giggs won it he spent a large part of the year on the bench.

The racing authorities had a Racing For Change promotion to try to popularise the sport so they arranged voting for McCoy. And gambling syndicates find it profitable to pick one long priced outsider and vote numerous times. The cost of the calls is dwarfed by the profit they generate when their pick wins.

Its a joke of a contest.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

They don't just have to go on current year performance, but even so Giggs had a fantastic 2009 and won it because he deserved it - simple as that:D

The top 10 are chosen by UK Newspaper and Magazine Sports editors. They each choose their own top 10 and their overall ranking then determines the final 10 that go to the public vote on the night (the event will be held in Salford this year). Interestingly, unlike a number of others in recent times, Giggs did not materially benefit from a concerted internet campaign targeting support for specific sportspersons

Don't be surprised to see Mo Farah in the "running" this year;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭SACH Central

kincsem wrote: »
    Last year it was won by Tony McCoy whose claim to fame that year was he won the Grand National. The Grand National is won every year. Previously it was won by Ryan Giggs

I didn't know Ryan Giggs won the Grand National too! I knew he was a great soccer player but didn't know he was a jockey (pun intended) as well :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Beasty wrote: »
    Giggs had a fantastic 2009 and won it because he deserved it - simple as that:D

I don't think even you genuinely believe that beasty! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

You do know who Cav is right? This is the man who said in a live tv interview that he hoped Riccardo Ricco ended up somebody's bitch in prison. Can't remember the last time Zara Phillips said that about one of her opponents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

I think she was overheard saying something like that about Mike Tindall 2 weeks ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Cav has moved into favourite at 6/5 ahead of Clarke at 7/4 with Paddy Power !!

He's been doing alot in the uk media since the worlds so maybe that's having an effect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

fyi lads the worlds where shown on bbc so the event was covered by them, backed him at 25s after his tour green jersey, the worlds is icing on the cake along with his spainish wins, any all round media boys have been pushing his lot, and the support for him on social media is pretty strong, i think clarke will lose some votes from golf crowd to mcillroy who has finished season well and is no2 and probably more deserving than clarke after overcoming his masters crumble.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I see Cav is "3-1 On" favourite with William Hill to win this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Honestly I hope someone else does win it to be fair, there's even a Cav4SPOTY Twitter account going around now.

Junior wrote: »
    Honestly I hope someone else does win it to be fair, there's even a Cav4SPOTY Twitter account going around now.

Why? Personally I think he's a very deserving winner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

mo farrah

I would love to see cav getting it as well!
    Met him on the tour of ireland 2 years ago,a gent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Spokes of Glory

When the British public are offered a choice between a superbly talented and dedicated athlete with a consistent winning record, and an overweight charming boozer with 1 victory to his name, I'm sure they'll make the right decision. So my PaddyPower money went on Darren Clarke.

Spokes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭devotional1993

Mo Farah or cav would be a deserving winner but golf usually gets all the glory.I say fair play to Clarke for the "refueling" after his win. it was one up against the P.C brigade for once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

Come on cav!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,027 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

No women on the shortlist :mad:

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    No women on the shortlist :mad:

In fairness there have been plenty of female winners over the years including 3 out of 5 years from 2002 to 2006! Probably hasn't been a great year for women's sport in the UK?

Fair nuff! Can't argue those stats with you.

I just think that in general women in sport get a lot less media coverage than men, and these contenders are nominated by sports journos..... so maybe not such a surprise, really.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I'd be going for Luke Donald myself

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

I didn't want to drag the tone of the thread down.... but WHERE did McIlroy get those specs???

Hard to call it.... McIlroy or Clarke, I reckon.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I didn't want to drag the tone of the thread down.... but WHERE did McIlroy get those specs???

Hard to call it.... McIlroy or Clarke, I reckon.

Cav or Luke Donald for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Cav got it!!!

Well deserved IMHO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Cavandish won well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

Brilliant!!!! Totally deserved it

Aww, bless - he's in a right heap! Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭moby2101

Well done Sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,572 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

cav gets it well done.deserved after the last few years. bbc gave tani a ramp this year As well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

Well done Cav, speechless for once, kinda. No Wouter Weylandt mentioned in sport deaths tribute, when I seen they left him out I thought Cav hadn't a chance of winning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

fantastic well done cav .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

RPL1 wrote: »
    In fairness there have been plenty of female winners over the years including 3 out of 5 years from 2002 to 2006! Probably hasn't been a great year for women's sport in the UK?

I don't know what the past history of SPOTY has to do with this year's award.

There were many highlights for UK sportswomen, including two world swimming champions.

WTF has Golf to do with SPOTY anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Surprised for a minority sport not broadcast on BBC. Well done him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Sr. Assumpta

I wasn't watching, did Renshaw lead him out on the way up to collect award???:pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Hungrycol wrote: »
    Surprised for a minority sport not broadcast on BBC. Well done him.

The BBC don't get a say in it these days. They are just the broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

Apparently he got almost 50% of the vote. With ten nominees thats good going. Delighted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

tweet from Will Downing:

Great phone call on Five Live right now: "Cycling's hard to get into, but Channel 4 do a good job..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭moby2101

That's 2 winners now in the past 5 years..Chris Hoy won after his Olympic medal haul also..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Colmhayden76

Well done cav also noticed that wouter was not in thier montage but neither was that british indy car driver who died so if any thing the bbc might get an earfull from the press over that

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Well done cav also noticed that wouter was not in thier montage but neither was that british indy car driver who died so if any thing the bbc might get an earfull from the press over that
    Dan Wheldon was on the montage.