Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taoiseach looking for good ideas

• 29-09-2011 1:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭

Just appeared up on Twitter, Taoiseach inviting good ideas about jobs...

Nice to see a no auto-cue approach, so, anybody going to bother mailing in? Tickets to Oz already bought?

At this stage I'm in the wood for the trees zone when it comes to the economy, so many good ideas, then I find that half of them contradict the other half. Brain may implode if I try to re-engage it :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

You have to ask the question, what the hell are we paying him and his colleagues for so?

Ordinary people have enough to worry about and deal with rather than coming up with ideas for this goverment. A bit pathetic imo, if this is the level of governance we should ask for another cut in their salaries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

leonidas83 wrote: »
    You have to ask the question, what the hell are we paying him and his colleagues for so?

Ordinary people have enough to worry about and deal with rather than coming up with ideas for this goverment. A bit pathetic imo, if this is the level of governance we should ask for another cut in their salaries

1. The government should engage with the people and listen to them more.

2. Why the hell are they asking us stuff!? That's their job.

amused,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

Scofflaw wrote: »

amused,
    Scofflaw

Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

Nate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

I have an idea

1. Start a competition call it "your country your call 2.0"
    2. Spend thousands (if not more?) on advertising, sandwiches, travel and perks for few organising servants
    3. Wait for ideas which fall within the party line
    4. Waste some more public money
    5. amount to nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Change the way the Lotto works.
    Instead of just giving the winner all the money make them spend it through an account supervisor.
    Give the winner one year to spend all the winnings within Ireland.
    The winner loses any money leftover at the end of the year.

Scofflaw wrote: »

amused,
    Scofflaw

Its their job to govern the country, they shouldnt have to rely on the public to come up with new ideas and initiatives to stimulate employment and growth. How long have they been in power now and unemployment has only worsened.

Basically it looks as if they dont have a clue and this type of thing does wonders for our reputation abroad and with the markets doesnt it.

thoroughly amused

Leonidas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭easychair

Fewcifur wrote: »
    Just appeared up on Twitter, Taoiseach inviting good ideas about jobs...

Nice to see a no auto-cue approach, so, anybody going to bother mailing in? Tickets to Oz already bought?

At this stage I'm in the wood for the trees zone when it comes to the economy, so many good ideas, then I find that half of them contradict the other half. Brain may implode if I try to re-engage it :p

It all comes over as just more window dressing. The reason I wouldn't vote for gay Mitchell in the upcoming presedential election is that he sounds just like another politician schooled by some Terry Prone clone (if not actually herself) in how to answer questions without actually answering the question or engaging with the questioner. I know its a childish way to approach voting for anything, but he just sounds so insincere that I imagine he might actually be insincere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

take on more public sector workers! there is a quick fix... sure isnt that what always happens in the good times. Sure your only bound to them for life...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

It really feels like they havn't a clue what to do...
    The problem is there has been no real tangable initiatives to get people to work.. I think the WPP's and the Internships are having a terrible affect on the jobs market.. Companies are allowed to have compulsary redundancies and then take on Interns in amazingly similar roles..

There is a whole swathe of the working population out unemployed and these guys seem to be doing little or nothing to change things.. I really feel they are lost..

MAybe there is nothing can be done, maybe we just have to stick it out till the global economy recovers and drags us back onto the path to recovery..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭MeisterG

Remit to any employer who hires a new employee (without firing anyone in the meantime) a significant portion of the dole. Simultaneously enact laws stating that redundancy must (over and above current policy) a one off payment to the give of a year or so's dole

MeisterG wrote: »
    Remit to any employer who hires a new employee (without firing anyone in the meantime) a significant portion of the dole. Simultaneously enact laws stating that redundancy must (over and above current policy) a one off payment to the give of a year or so's dole

Not having to do all the paperwork involved with having employees would be a start :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    MeisterG wrote: »

Not having to do all the paperwork involved with having employees would be a start :(

More spin and frontage on job creation. I really think this kind of messing with people's heads is nothing less than disgusting. The biggest obstacle to enterprise at the moment is access to seed capital because the banks that we have bailed out are not lending to the real economy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

How this idiot is Taoiseach, i'll never know. The people of Ireland made the decision to elect him to the Dáil, let them live with their choice. The FG party are still hiding him from any serious media questions. When people get screwed in the upcoming budget, let them not start to complain, he'll blame FF and he'll still be blaming them in 3 or 4 years time. What a wuzz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

leonidas83 wrote: »

Let me guess....

"No wonder the country's the way it is!"

Let me guess....

"No wonder the country's the way it is!"

Anything constructive to add to the conversation or is that just it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

I have a great idea, bit our great leader didn't give a contact number or email address. So I cant tell him!
    What should I do?

Tora Bora wrote: »
    I have a great idea, bit our great leader didn't give a contact number or email address. So I cant tell him!
    What should I do?

Address it to
    Thick dozy boll*x,
    Back of the arse nowhere,
    up **** creek,
    Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

I just emailed the bollix and told him to fix the stupid WPP scheme.

taoiseach@oireachtas.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

In all seriousness, what would a teacher or indeed any public sector worker know about job creation???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭FewFew

What should I do?

It's on the youtube page AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

In all seriousness, what would a teacher or indeed any public sector worker know about job creation???

Sure he just created a huge new quango to oversee all the other semi state quangos. Hundreds of back office civil service administrative jobs created without a single job lost in the other administrative offices. Plus a new buffer of responsibility between the ministers and the front line. Its the HSE on steroids.

With "savings" like that I hope no one else gives him any good ideas.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

Not a lot, probably the same as yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭breadmonster

What should I do?

enda.kenny@oireachtas.ie
    taoiseach@taoiseach.gov.ie

taken from here
    http://www.oireachtas.ie/viewdoc.asp?fn=/documents/Members_emails/document1.htm

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Mailing in on spec is probably not the best idea, cc one of your myriad newly elected local FG backbenchers as well as Enda and get the backbencher to do a bit of legwork.

The great idea better be on one page and clear as crystal. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭BANZAI_RUNNER

Dear Mr Kenny , here is one idea for you

1 .stop throwing stupid amounts of cash at the Banksters first , because they are like stray dogs, once you feed them once they are always going to be hanging around for more ,
    In all the money they have got, the only thing thats changed is credit is even harder to come by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭carveone

Remit to any employer who hires a new employee (without firing anyone in the meantime) a significant portion of the dole.

This can be done more carefully. Certainly with better thought than the WPP scheme.

Here's what an experienced financial guy in the US said (Phil Davis) and I think it's a pretty good plan:
    Credit back 25% of increased workers salaries (more US head count than 2010) towards taxes paid (not unpaid). That is a 100% credit to small businesses who make new hires but nothing for GE and others who pay no taxes anyway and nothing for people who outsource. It’s revenue positive for the Government because you are giving the business a $10,000 credit on a $40,000 salary but the salary is new and the worker pays $14,000 in taxes and gets off unemployment. See how easy that is?

In Irish terms, that $10,000 credit is about what the dole costs here so it's revenue positive regardless... Swap "GE" for "Google" who got a massive amount of free advertising yesterday for adding a whole 30 jobs (and a massive bloody great new grid load).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭BANZAI_RUNNER

another suggestion/ plan was to take all our ' newly unemployed construction workers, and make them PS workers, but use them for all capital infrastructure projects , their welfare payments go towards paying part of their wages, and add an extra €200 per week to that , now the government does not need to put anything out to tender as they have their own workforce ,so they can have the infrastructure in place for when things finally start to look up, plus as they are PS workers , they have to pay all the levies etc , so the public finances improve in the long term , then the government can go about tackling the remainder on welfare, This is just my idea in broad strokes , I have the plan on paper complete with costings, and already submitted it to FG a few months back and got a ' canned reply ' and nothing more.
    I know some of you will jump at the fact i said add €200 more to their welfare payments and that will be their wages, and will be wondering where this extra money can come from, well , they will save by not having to put projects out to tender, they will save by reforming social welfare for the remainder of those on it , and don't forget, they will be getting the taxes and levies etc back on the new workforce, plus ensuring they are contributing to their pensions , I am not an economist or accountant, so my plan probably has some holes in it, but surely someone in the government would be able to adjust it to make it work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

^^^^ I can see where you're coming from but don't forget that the cost would be a hell of a lot more per person thatn é200 a week.
    Benefits, insurance, management, expenses, etc, etc.

AFAIK such infrastructure projects were traditionally carried out by state employees, council workers and the like but these projects started getting contracted out to save money.
    Asides from the labour, such projects usually involve specialised plant and equipment as well as skilled professionals all of which the state wouldn't want to have to pay for.

Ok here is my idea, could be developed

It is based on how the ESB Group reformed before

Short pitch:
    Create a "shared services" department (similar to ESB Group) for the {civil/public services + local authorities} in order to eliminate redundancies and waste.

Long pitch:
    * Areas of {civil/public services + local authorities} experience much duplication and waste, with many jobs that are frankly redundant (sorry but i think even the public servants here would agree!)
    * A "shared services" department could be created (rehiring people from {civil/public services + local authorities} with relevant expertise)
    * Services such as IT and HR would lend themselves very well to this (as is successfully illustrated in the ESB Group) where there is much duplication and waste in these areas, other areas such as accounting and maybe payroll might lend themselves as well, maybe also planning could be plucked out of LAs
    * So lets say people working for IT division of shared services would involve themselves in everything from fixing computers for LAs to developing systems for the likes of Revenue to fixing networks and so on

Thats pretty much it, and yes it can be done, one just has to look at the ESB group with its seveal "sub companies" being services by a single shared services dept

Anyways of course there will be resistance and all this ****e but yeh its real reform that would eliminate waste and duplication as well as concentrate expertise that might now be spread all over the place, done right the good workers benefit and the wasters get to walk the plank

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Grand so, now round up a backbencher and prepare the pitch with them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭mistermouse

The idea of hiring the Construction workers is great except our Public Service in general cannot run things like this, it would bloat the PS even more and probably be mismanaged like everything else.

Also, the biggest problem would probably be an objection by the EU. Is it not true that all these big projects have to be put out to tender to the wider EU community.

I think Ireland to get back on its feet may have to stop being the good EU puppy and start to be a little more a la carte with EU instructions and obligations . If Germany etc can be protectionist towards its banks, Ireland surely should be able to stand up for its economy and citizens. Unlikely though