Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Passport Expiring

• 26-09-2011 10:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭

Hi All,

Not sure if this is the right thread or not but here goes.

Quick question, I am flying to Edinburgh at the end of October and my passport expires in December, will I be allowed to fly?

I have heard people saying you can't fly if your passport is near expiring?

I am only going for 3 days and flying with Ryanair.

Thanks in advance smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

My wife had the same issue but she had no problem. Ryanair are only interested in ensuring you aren't travelling on someone else's ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Truck wrote: »
    Hi All,

I have heard people saying you can't fly if your passport is near expiring?

These people are talking through their hole. If your passport is valid on the date of travel then you can travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭extraice

passport is valid on the date of travel out of ireland and back in to ireland (if it irish passport then you can travel .

if i was you i get your passport renewed ASAP after your travels as can take up 10 weeks to renew , as there back loge ... ( could be there work to rule there )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭alan85

You will be grand. You actually don't even need I.D. travelling to and from Britain. It's a common travel zone. Ryanair require the same I.D. throughout its network and that is why you are asked for passport or National Identity Card I think.

The '6 month validity after date of travel' is a customs issue, not airline. You usually find it where you need a visa...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭happy_head

Some countries will not allow you entry if your passport is going to expire within 6 months, but these are mainly african and asian countries, the only European country with this rule is Belgium (they may have changed this rule lately)

Other countries hav a 3 month rule, but Scotland dont give a hoot! You will have no issue travelling ob your passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭lynchie

happy_head wrote: »
    Some countries will not allow you entry if your passport is going to expire within 6 months, but these are mainly african and asian countries, the only European country with this rule is Belgium (they may have changed this rule lately)

Other countries hav a 3 month rule, but Scotland dont give a hoot! You will have no issue travelling ob your passport.

Belgium cant enforce a 3 month validity rule for EU citizens.
    All EU citizens have the right to enter and reside in the territory of any other Member State of the Union for a period of up to three months simply by presenting a valid passport or national identity card: no other formality is required. Member States cannot set additional conditions concerning the minimum validity of duration of the identity card or passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭dubdaymo

You actually don't even need I.D. travelling to and from Britain. It's a common travel zone. Ryanair require the same I.D. throughout its network and that is why you are asked for passport or National Identity Card
    That's interesting. I wondered why Ryanair insisted on passports and don't allow other forms of ID. So, it's just because they want a common system throughout. But why, when checking in online do they need such info as DOB, Passport No. and expiry date. They don't check that info at the gate. It would take far too long.

On the subject of general travel between ROI and UK I've yet to fly on any airline that didn't require you to show ID of some kind at the gate at either end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭RadioRetro

Last time I flew to and from the UK I couldn't find either of my passports (put in a 'safe' place etc.) so I used my driving licence for ID, had no problem with Ryanair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭emanresu

RadioRetro wrote: »
    Last time I flew to and from the UK I couldn't find either of my passports (put in a 'safe' place etc.) so I used my driving licence for ID, had no problem with Ryanair.

What year was that though? You couldn't do it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭RadioRetro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 652 ✭✭✭jeckle

alan85 wrote: »
    You actually don't even need I.D. travelling to and from Britain. It's a common travel zone.
    You do.

The Common Travel Area means that there are no passport controls in operation for Irish and UK citizens travelling between the two countries. Since 1997, some controls are in effect on arrivals in Ireland from the UK but this does not mean that you are required to carry your Irish or UK passport with you when you travel between the countries. You must, however, carry an acceptable form of photo-identification, examples of which are listed below. (On arriving in Ireland you may sometimes be asked for valid official photo-identification such as a passport or driving licence which shows your nationality. This is to prove you are an Irish or UK citizen who is entitled to avail of the Common Travel Area arrangements.)
    • A valid passport
    • A driver's licence with photo
    • An international student card
    • A national ID card
    • A bus pass with photo
    • A Garda ID with photo
    • A work ID with photo
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/moving_abroad/freedom_of_movement_within_the_eu/common_travel_area_between_ireland_and_the_uk.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭alan85

I stand corrected...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

From Ryanair's website....

"TRAVEL DOCUMENTATION

It is each passenger's personal responsibility to ensure that he or she has valid travel documentation which meets the requirements of Ryanair, immigration and other authorities at every destination. Please also note that

A valid travel document is required by all passengers travelling on Ryanair flights (including infants)
    A passport for travel outside the EEA (European Economic Area) must be valid for period of intended stay
    If a visa is applicable any children/infants must be travelling with the adult named on a visa vignette

In order to ensure compliance, passengers should carry a valid passport (and visa if applicable) or EU/EEA government issued national identification card on all journeys. Any fines, penalties, payments or expenditures incurred as a result of breach of these requirements shall be paid by or charged to you.

Ryanair does NOT accept driver licences, residence cards, family books, seaman books, a police report (issued in the event of travel document loss/theft), military ID cards etc. Expired or damaged forms of photo-id will not be accepted on any flight.

Details of all passengers’ travel documents (including those of children and infants) must be entered during the online check-in process. All passengers must present their valid travel document along with their online boarding pass at airport security and at the boarding gate for all flights.

THE ONLY FORMS OF TRAVEL DOCUMENTS ACCEPTED ON RYANAIR FLIGHTS ARE:

A valid passport – (see below - */and ** below)
    A valid National Identity Card issued by the government of a European Economic Area (EEA) country. (Only the following EEA countries currentlyissue National Identity Cards acceptable for carriage on Ryanair flights: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland)
    A valid German Government issued ‘Kinderausweis’ travel document
    A valid Italian ‘Certificato Di Nascita’ (for use by children under 16 years) which has been endorsed as ‘VALIDO PER L'ESPATRIO’ for travel on international flights, no endorsement is required when travelling on Italian domestic flights.. It is the passenger's personal responsibility to ensure that this document meets the requirements of immigration and other governmental authorities at the destination airport - see ** below.
    A valid Italian AT/BT card (for Italian domestic flights only).
    A valid UN Refugee Convention Travel Document – (issued in accordance with Article 28(1) of the 1951 UN Convention, by a Government in place of a valid passport.)
    A valid Convention Travel Document – (issued in accordance with Article 27 of the 1954 UN Convention for Stateless Persons, by a contracting state in place of a valid passport)
    A valid Collective Passport issued by an EU/EEA country

* It is acceptable for children under 16 to travel on the valid passport of the parent with whom they are travelling, if they are included on that passport.

** When a child is listed on the valid passport of the parent with whom they are travelling the accompanying adult’s travel document details must be duplicated in the child’s document details section during the online check-in process."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭dubdaymo

There seems to be different approaches here. :)

If I land at Gatwick from Dublin there is a special exit channel for passengers from ROI (and a few others). The only requirement is that you show your boarding card. Sometimes the Agent will take it from you as you pass through. Other times they just look at it and give it back to you.

If I land at Heathrow from Dublin I walk out the front door with no checks whatsoever. Same at Manchester and Birmingham.

But landing in Dublin I still have to join a queue to show my ID even if I have arrived from an Irish provincial airport. I have used both a passport and a driver's licence (when the passport was in for renewal). The length of the queue depends on how many booths are open - usually not enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Government policy according to Wiki;

The Irish government has imposed immigration controls on people entering the state from the United Kingdom since 1997.[2] These controls have been compulsory for air travellers, selective on sea crossings and occasional for land crossings. In 2008, the British government announced that it planned to impose similar controls on travellers entering the United Kingdom, which would, if implemented, effectively bring an end to the passport-free zone.[3][4]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

veetwin wrote: »
    Government policy according to Wiki;

The Irish government has imposed immigration controls on people entering the state from the United Kingdom since 1997.[2] These controls have been compulsory for air travellers, selective on sea crossings and occasional for land crossings. In 2008, the British government announced that it planned to impose similar controls on travellers entering the United Kingdom, which would, if implemented, effectively bring an end to the passport-free zone.[3][4]

That Wiki entry is complete rubbish. The reason that you have to queue for passport control even when coming back from the UK is because by the mid 2000s or so, the volume of traffic into Dublin meant that they could no longer segregate the UK traffic so people coming from Heathrow or Manchester had to merge with passengers arriving from other countries as a result of which everyone had to queue at the passport counters.

Technically you could just show the boarding card to show that you have landed from the UK and they'd have to let you through but since most people carry their passports these days it makes sense to just hand over the passport even though technically you are not subject to immigration controls. In the early days I used to flash the boarding card to the Garda at the passport desk but when Aer Lingus started asking for ID at the boarding gate I just presented the passport because I was carrying it anyway.

You can still arrive in Heathrow Terminal 1 and nobody asks for for ID unless you are randomly pulled over because you look suspicious. I haven't been asked for ID in any UK airport for years when coming from Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

The reason there are more checks on this side from British flights is the refugee and illegal immigrant problem. People were smuggling themselves in via Britain. That's the main reason for the ID checks in Irish airports. It's also the reason trains from Belfast are boarded by officials demanding to see your papers like a scene from some old wartime spy movie. Bluntly if you look a bit foreign and don't have proper ID. You might have some explaining to do. If you bounce up with a freckly face and a broad Limerick accent. It's unlikely you will be deported.

On the other hand Ryanair are only interested in stopping people snapping up all the cheapest airfares and re-selling with a mark up. Touts in other words. They asked for photo ID but got bad publicity when situations arose where people were denied boarding on internal flights because they didn't have the right ID in the viewpoint of the gate agent. There were some bloody silly moments. So they narrowed it right down to what they have now and probably told their agents to exercise common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

coylemj wrote: »

You can still arrive in Heathrow Terminal 1 and nobody asks for for ID unless you are randomly pulled over because you look suspicious..

That would not be random then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Hi

To the OP , I was flying in 2010 up to 3 days before my passport expired ( to UK and Holland ). The guy in Holland mentioned that my passport was expiring that week , but it was not a problem

Now as regard passport checks , as people say here ( Dublin ) they now seem to require passports even if you are arriving from the Common Travel Area . I used to make a point of showing my boarding pass only out of principle , but now I show my passport ( got bored of that game ), in theory I imagine they can't argue if you arrive with just a boarding pass and the ID you used for the airline ( Aer Lingus this can be a work pass or virtually anything , Ryanair it HAS to be a passport or Gvmt ID card , for example if you are French their ID card is ok ).

Now arriving in the UK , at Gatwick you give your boarding pass in , in LHR because the Irish flights are seperate you show nothing, I can't remember at other places .

Of course on the ferries you seem not to need anything , I think they say you should have something but I have NEVER been asked on either side for ID.

Remember Ryanair you HAVE to have your passport , if if you were flying internally to Cork or Kerry before they stopped those flights .

Confusing isn't it :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Sysmod

From Ryanair's website....

Ryanair does NOT accept [...] a police report (issued in the event of travel document loss/theft),

So, you lose your passport abroad, and you can't travel home until you get a new passport and pay Ryanair for another flight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,142 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Davidth88 wrote: »
    Now as regard passport checks , as people say here ( Dublin ) they now seem to require passports even if you are arriving from the Common Travel Area . I used to make a point of showing my boarding pass only out of principle , but now I show my passport ( got bored of that game )

Nary a word said by the Guards in Dublin if using driving licence, as I generally do for travel to the UK.

I've actually forgotten to bring my passport to the UK a few times recently as its of zero advantage (would rather take the ferry home than fly Ryanair even in an emergency...)