Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cancer Scares

• 26-09-2011 8:05am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

This morning I had the pleasure of having a middle aged man rub gel on my balls for an ultra-sound, which I must say adds to the Monday morning misery after a very restless night, petrified doesn't even come close to how I felt.

But it all went well, I'm not dying, yay!!! :)

I read once that 1 in 3 people will have cancer in their lifetime, I don't know how accurate this is but it wouldn't surprise me. So I was wondering how many here have a their own cancer scare?

Have you had a cancer scare? 137 votes

I'm a man - YES
    0% 0 votes
    I'm a man - NO
    30% 42 votes
    I'm a woman - YES
    51% 70 votes
    I'm a woman - NO
    18% 25 votes

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

You're one post off 20,000 :eek:

Glad to hear you were ok, I would have been terrified. Cancer definitely scares me, it just feels like a lottery as to whether you get it or not, no matter how well you look after yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I wish your 20,000 post was about a man rubbing gel on your balls.

OT,
    I haven't had a cancer scare but I'm still young and definitely fit the demographic for someone particularly susceptible to cancer.

Also, congrats(?) on not having cancer.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

This morning I had the pleasure of having a middle aged man rub gel on my balls for an ultra-sound, which I must say adds to the Monday morning misery after a very restless night, petrified doesn't even come close to how I felt.

I read once that 1 in 3 people will have cancer in their lifetime, I don't know how accurate this is but it wouldn't surprise me. So I was wondering how many here have a their own cancer scare?

Found a lump in my neck when I was 13. Still there a year later so got it checked out. Onwards another year or so, they thought it was benign but took it out anyway. Further tests then showed it to be acinic cell carcinoma. A "little cancer" as my doctor told me. I was to start radiotherapy when something came up in my MRI that they weren't sure about so I had a second surgery that removed my parotid gland and paralysed the right side of my face for several months. On the bright side, I then didn't need radiotherapy.

Four years later and I'm fine. Have yearly check ups but nothing has come up yet. Thankfully.

The "C" word scares a lot of people but often you can get it without it ever even having a chance to kill you. I don't think mine ever could of. The treatment can be horrible though.
    So many cancers are just small ones but the only ones people hear of are the big scary ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Not sure if it counts, but my first smear came back with Abormal cells. Had to have a repeat of it to check it out further, thankfully came back all clear :D doc has told me I have to go back for regular tests (despite being under 25). Scares me how a lot of docs tell girls under 25 to go away when they try to book smears, if mine had been left they could have progressed to dangerous territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I found a lump on my left ball a year back, when I was 22. I was ****ting myself. I tried to put it out of my mind, pretend it was something else, tell myself I'm too young to get cancer, blah blah blah, etc.

But it didn't go away so I went to the doctor. It was an infected hair follicle. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

I've been paranoid over testicular cancer for years now. Had them checked by doctors about 4 times now. Always been fine even though before the check-up I've convinced myself I've cancer.

Well done on the all clear. That would scare the life out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Not had anything so far (thank jaysus).

Check regularly though! Once a month for the boobs (easy way for most chick to remember that). And I have smear reminders. Had moles n stuff checked out, but thankfully nothing.

Glad you went and got your balls smeared with jelly though, a lot of blokes seem to feel mortified at the idea of anyone check their genitals out, so you never know, you may just have sparked someone to go get checked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

While doing sessions on a sunbed I noticed a patch of scaly looking skin forming on my breast, I stopped doing the sunbeds and hoped it would just clear up but a year on I still had it so went to the doctor. I had a couple of sessions of cryotherapy to have it removed and it's fine now just a small scar. I have no doubt it was caused by using sunbeds and thank God it was in a fairly obvious place or I would have just continued on tanning while skin cancer was developing. I felt like a right idiot risking my health for a tan after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Glad you're ok OP. Never really had anything myself.though I must go for a smear in a bit.

My sister had some moles removed out of precaution years ago. And as I've mentioned loads,my mam died of bladder cancer two years ago at 47.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

A mate of mine had it pretty damn bad and was lucky to get through it.

1 uncle had testicle cancer and I think my dad has been treated for cancer, not sure what though. He's never really talked about it.

Unfortunately another uncle of mine died of cancer as well. It's terrible seeing someone just wasting away while on treatment for it. I feel sorry for his son who's only memories of his old man are going to be of what people tell him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I had a scare like that when I was 19. Found a lump on my testicles, was too scared to get it checked. Eventually I did and it turned out to be a cyst. I imagine you'll be going through that rush of relief I did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

jackie1974 wrote: »
    While doing sessions on a sunbed I noticed a patch of scaly looking skin forming on my breast, I stopped doing the sunbeds and hoped it would just clear up but a year on I still had it so went to the doctor. I had a couple of sessions of cryotherapy to have it removed and it's fine now just a small scar. I have no doubt it was caused by using sunbeds and thank God it was in a fairly obvious place or I would have just continued on tanning while skin cancer was developing. I felt like a right idiot risking my health for a tan after that.

WOW, that's scary sh1t! Those bloody sunbeds are so dangerous and yet used by so many people. Ya might as well just pour baby oil all over yourself and sit in the hot Spanish sun, cos it does the same fecking damage :mad::mad::mad: (rant over)

Glad you seen sense and all is ok!:)

A mate of mine had it pretty damn bad and was lucky to get through it.

1 uncle had testicle cancer and I think my dad has been treated for cancer, not sure what though. He's never really talked about it.

Unfortunately another uncle of mine died of cancer as well. It's terrible seeing someone just wasting away while on treatment for it. I feel sorry for his son who's only memories of his old man are going to be of what people tell him.

Your poor cousin. You do realise though, that it's possible that cancer could run in your family. If there is anything that looks/feels strange you really should get it checked out!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Your poor cousin. You do realise though, that it's possible that cancer could run in your family. If there is anything that looks/feels strange you really should get it checked out!

I know, which is why my mother had mentioned it to me about my dad. Heart problems run in the family also.

The uncles are through marraige and general I don't think there's history of cancer running through the family. But yeah, it's always good to be aware of odd changes in your body and get stuff checked out regardless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I have every disease and condition you could think of except hypocondria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

This could be a very important thread OP - well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I'm higher risk for osophageal cancer due to having GORD and am probably due an endoscopy in the next few months. My uncle is currently dying of osophageal cancer :( He's not genetically related to me, but it's a bit scary how fast that type of cancer spreads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭280special

Magicmarker, glad all went well for you.

And well done for starting a tread like this, It raises awareness and that is something well worth doing !

I had a bit more than a scare in the early 90's .Massive blood loss led to the discovery of a large tumour, but only after the first hospital either missed it, ignored it or didnt recognise it. Had a fairly serious op to remove what was a benign lump and thankfully havent had a re-occurance. But it was very, very scary.

If anyone finds difficulty swallowing, starts coughing up blood or notices changes in the products of their waste disposal system :o Go get it checked out !

Cancer is all too common around here, on the small country road were I live , up to about 5 years ago there were only 6 houses. Of those 5 have been visited by this horror and in at least three cases more than once.

Again well done for starting this tread !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Out of a family of 6, my dad has prostate cancer and I've a benign brain tumour. Statistic sounds about right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

A couple of years ago I found a lump on my left ball. I got it checked out by a doctor as soon as I could and it turned out to be nothing.

On my right ball I have a mole. When I first discovered it, I was terrified that it was cancerous since it had a lot of the signs of a melanoma but thankfully it wasn't. I check it once a month to make sure it hasn't changed.

• Constantly. I've had abnormal smears for the last five years and have had 3 ultrasounds in the past year to check for tumours after I had some worrying symptoms. It's really awful, it's always in the back of my mind and it's starting to affect my life now as I've had to put off moving abroad while I sort out more medical issues.

I don't think there are many people who don't have any relatives with cancer in this day and age. My aunt just had treatment for bowel cancer and my 18-year-old cousin has just been diagnosed with lymphoma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Yeah i got this lump on my neck about four years ago, didnt get it checked for another two :rolleyes:
    Turned out to be just a cist but it was so scary at the time i was afraid to go to the doctor incase of bad news. Stupid of me I know but thats me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

I got the ultra-sound for a suspicious lump on my balls...turns out it was just a gummy bear.

Seriously tho, i did find a lump on one of my testicles, got the ultra-sound turns out it was a bit of calcification, harmless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

I'm sure at some stage we'll all face a scare with The Big C! We'll all get older and ehhh things won't work as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Good news OP...difficult to find a lump in a bag of lumps!
    Brother just texted to say a lump on his brain is benign and docs gave him the all clear...good news all round!!

*raises pint glass*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

Yeah i got this lump on my neck about four years ago, didnt get it checked for another two :rolleyes:
    Turned out to be just a cist but it was so scary at the time i was afraid to go to the doctor incase of bad news. Stupid of me I know but thats me.

Its not stupid perfectly normal to have some fear/doubt

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

In the middle of investigation for skin cancer.Awaiting results.

Had a colonoscopy a while back all ok, bar the stuff they give up to clear you out beforehand.:D

Tip for anyone having a colonoscopy: take day off work when you are drinking the laxative stuff and wear a tracksuit or skirt, you won't have time for buttons or zips.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Had a tumour removed from my neck twice before having to undergo two months of radiotherapy. Left me with a cool scar, and no facial hair on half my face. I have to shave every two days otherwise I look like a crazy, but the alternatives would have been much worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭donegal11

The "C" word scares a lot of people but often you can get it without it ever even having a chance to kill you. I don't think mine ever could of. The treatment can be horrible though.
    So many cancers are just small ones but the only ones people hear of are the big scary ones.

All cancers are small ones at the beginning. They turn into big scary ones if left untreated and spread. And of course it would of killed you eventually if left untreated. What do you think would of happened if you didn't get it removed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Testicular cancer I check my balls 3 times a day 6 times if I am bored,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭softmee

I've had a bad smear test results about year ago... Not a cancer yet -but close. The worst thing is, my GP didn't explain it good enough for me and I was sure I have a cancer for few weeks. The worst few weeks in my life. I was seeing myself in a coffin. Nobody who never went through this could understand how scary it is.
    I wish similar experience to all the people who ever think about suicide.. you will value your life 100 times more after that.
    The thought that you go away somewhere in eternal dream -just disapear forever, not feel love, desire, sun shine -nothing ever again or you wont have children etc... this is scary place to be. ( I think its easier if you belive in God, in paradise ..)
    The only positive thing out of this experience is actual appreciation of life after and the fact that we are all in this together - everybody hurts... sometimes.

(forgive my spelling)

ps: but it also "breaks" something in you.. your "light-heartnes" (not sure if you can say that) I am afraid this black cloud will stay behind my head forever..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Yep had a growth on my parotid gland. Was benign but now I have a massive scar and a numb ear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

Had chronic discomfort in my nuts, one time ~ looking back; A good fapping session probably would've sorted it! :rolleyes:

Went to get myself checked out. Next thing ye know? Yeah. Some middle aged woman is smearing my bits with jelly and putting a phone receiver against them.

Turned out the original Doctor (not a bad looking female, as it happens. But, under Those circumstances, who gives a fuck?! She'd found a frigging Lump!) She'd found the scar tissue from my vasectomy, decades earlier!

Here's the scary bit though: Not long afterwards, another Doctor decided he had reason to grope my nuts. He announced, in no time, that he'd found something too ~ happily, I reassured him it was just the scar and he agreed it would be.

But; Fiddle and feel as I may. I can't 'find' fuck all down there. Bit naughty. A potential cancer of the balls then can be That hard for the untrained to detect? So, by the time we find we have three balls, we're finished anyway? Fuck :(

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Yep had a growth on my parotid gland. Was benign but now I have a massive scar and a numb ear.

pleomorphic adenoma?
    That's what they thought I had originally.

I have the same scar, twice! Had two surgeries in the same place!

I don't know which is worse the cancer or some of the terrible treatments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭flyaway.

Yes... age 15, lumps in my neck and very ill. Had a biopsy and all, turned out to be nothing serious. I was terrified though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Had breast cancer scare twice- most recently 3 years ago.
    The scariest thing about cancer is it's not a judgemental disease-it doesn't care who you are ,what responsibilities you have ,whether you're young or old- it just strikes at random.

www.cancer.ie

Irish Cancer Society do fantastic work -
    Free helpline 1 800 200 700 Mon - Thurs 9-7,Fri 9-5

October is breast cancer awareness month and November for all you guys out there,Movember prostate cancer awareness month.
    You've only got one chance to rock this life,so get cracking!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 lolabunny

hi i am a cancer survivor ,i was diagnosed with womb cancer ,it was caught on a smear test i am a live today because i went for a smear test please do not put off any test that can save your life the key is to catch early,i have a way to go still on treatment but looking good

Had a lump in my breast at 17. Scared the beejeesus out of me, and my mother. Was nothing to worry about though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

In the middle of investigation for skin cancer.Awaiting results.

Best wishes to ya, cannot be easy waiting!!

I had a scare due to my periods going haywire and all other unmentionables related to them about 4 years ago. Had a rake of scans, blood tests etc done but it turned out to be something completely fine.................

It seems that after almost 20 years on the pill that my menstrual cycle was so used to the pill telling it what to do that once my hubby had a vasectomy and I came off the pill my cycle lost the run of itself:D

I was so relieved.......I just thought "Oh no, typical Fluffy!!!! Get the kids almost reared and boom, along comes the big auld C to deal with.......It was scary but an eye opener at the same time...

**Really made me realise what is actually really important in my life*

**I'm aware how corny and cliche that sounds but it's true!!:)

You know the way men are meant to think about sex 3 times a minute, well I am in my 40s so that thought about sex becomes one about death.

So everytime I get a pain here or an ache there I automatically think it must be cancer.

But then they go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Just last week I went to the doctors with this gigantic painful lump on my arse. Hard to walk hard to sit down etc. Ive had it for about a year but it never hurt until last week and I thought nothing of it. Turns out it was only a perennial abcess but I had to spend some time in Hospital for surgery (which never happened in the end :pac:)

Now, the thought it could be cancer crossed my mind occasionally but I was never overly worried, and wasn't sure if there was such thing as arse cancer.:confused:

There's nothing like laying on your side in A&E, pants down & legs curled up into your chest waiting for surgical consultants, doctors, nurses etc coming in one after the other to have a nice inspection. If you know what I mean.....:(

I've also come across a lump beside me testicles occasionally but Google says thats just a "lymph node" so Ill be graaaaaaaaaaand shur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

I had that experience myself when I was 16 - glad to hear it went well!

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Just last week I went to the doctors with this gigantic painful lump on my arse. Hard to walk hard to sit down etc. Ive had it for about a year but it never hurt until last week and I thought nothing of it. Turns out it was only a perennial abcess but I had to spend some time in Hospital for surgery (which never happened in the end :pac:)

Now, the thought it could be cancer crossed my mind occasionally but I was never overly worried, and wasn't sure if there was such thing as arse cancer.:confused:

There's nothing like laying on your side in A&E, pants down & legs curled up into your chest waiting for surgical consultants, doctors, nurses etc coming in one after the other to have a nice inspection. If you know what I mean.....:(

I've also come across a lump beside me testicles occasionally but Google says thats just a "lymph node" so Ill be graaaaaaaaaaand shur.

Bowel cancer which accounts for 5% of fatalities its is a deadly form of cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

4leto wrote: »
    Bowel cancer which accounts for 5% of fatalities its is a deadly form of cancer.

:o

4leto wrote: »

- and if its removed, your bowel "contents" goes through the hole in your belly to the plastic bag, my uncle had it.. very secret form of severe, awful disability. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

7 years ago i had the joy of getting my testicles gelled up and scanned, luckily it was just trapped fluid so after a little surgery (after a 5 month wait by which time my sac had grown to the size of a grapefruit) it had been drained and back to normal, im now 5 months into a 12 month waiting list for a brain scan for something that they think is hereditory, i still blame harney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

softmee wrote: »
    - and if its removed, your bowel "contents" goes through the hole in your belly to the plastic bag, my uncle had it.. very secret form of severe, awful disability. :(

yeah, except the secret part.

I only mean its not obvious like missing leg or something - nobody can see whats wrong with the person, just maybe sometimes hear or smell. :/ Must be horrible for any kind of social life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

apparently mouthwash and cigarettes don't go

is this another ploy in the campaign to eliminate smoking amongst drinkers? Or in general rather.. as the general consensus is all Irish drink.. again are they saying "choose drink!"?! Thought mouthwash would only help fight that stuff :/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

hairyslug wrote: »
    7 years ago i had the joy of getting my testicles gelled up and scanned, luckily it was just trapped fluid so after a little surgery (after a 5 month wait by which time my sac had grown to the size of a grapefruit) it had been drained and back to normal, im now 5 months into a 12 month waiting list for a brain scan for something that they think is hereditory, i still blame harney

I assume this is all public? Go private and you'll probably have a brain scan in a matter of weeks.