Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the stupidest question you have ever been asked??

• 25-09-2011 10:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭

These are from a book called Disorder in the American Courts, and are things people actually said in court, word for word , taken down and now published by court reporters who had the torment of staying calm while these exchanges were actually taking place.

ATTORNEY: Are you sexually active?
    WITNESS: No, I just lie there.
    ATTORNEY: This myasthenia gravis, does it affect your memory at all?
    WITNESS: Yes.
    ATTORNEY: And in what ways does it affect your memory?
    WITNESS: I forget.
    ATTORNEY: You forget? Can you give us an example of something you forgot?
    WITNESS: My name is Susan!
    WITNESS: We do.
    ATTORNEY: You do?
    WITNESS: Yes, voodoo.
    ATTORNEY: The youngest son, the twenty-year-old, how old is he?
    WITNESS: Uh, he's twenty-one.
    ATTORNEY: So the date of conception (of the baby) was August 8th?
    WITNESS: Yes.
    ATTORNEY: And what were you doing at that time?
    WITNESS: Uh.... I was gettin' laid!
    WITNESS: None.
    ATTORNEY: Were there any girls?
    WITNESS: Are you ****tin' me? Your Honor, I think I need a different attorney. Can I get a new attorney?
    WITNESS: Now whose death do you suppose terminated it?
    WITNESS: Guess.
    ATTORNEY: Doctor, how many of your autopsies have you performed on dead people?
    WITNESS: All my autopsies are performed on dead people. Would you like to rephrase that?
    ATTORNEY: Do you recall the time that you examined the body?
    WITNESS: The autopsy started around 8:30 p.m.
    ATTORNEY: And Mr. Denton was dead at the time?
    WITNESS: No, he was sitting on the table wondering why I was doing an autopsy on him!
    ATTORNEY: Doctor, before you performed the autopsy, did you check for a pulse?
    WITNESS: No.
    ATTORNEY: Did you check for blood pressure?
    ATTORNEY: Did you check for breathing?
    ATTORNEY: So, then it is possible that the patient was alive when you began the autopsy?
    ATTORNEY: How can you be so sure, Doctor?
    WITNESS: Because his brain was sitting on my desk in a jar.
    ATTORNEY: I see, but could the patient have still been alive, nevertheless?
    WITNESS: Yes, it is possible that he could have been alive and practicing law.

Can't think of any personally but thought this worth posting:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I am often asked am I gay because I am single..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Pandora2 wrote: »
    ...Can't think of any personally but thought this worth posting:D:D:D

Smaller text would have been much better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

C&P Would not allow me to reduce size :D Does it take longer to read in large text?? ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

Only in America eh :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

Is Army of two......two player?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Biggins wrote: »
    Smaller text would have been much better!

Or NOT C&P text from a email doing the rounds for the last decade ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Pandora2 wrote: »
    C&P Would not allow me to reduce size :D Does it take longer to read in large text?? ;):D

You copy and paste it temp' into a new plain text file on your desktop.
    Save it as plain "TXT" - then re-copy and paste back into the forum. Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Sweet jesus, the size of it ;)
    Fixed.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Or text NOT C&P from a email doing the rounds for the last decade ?

Jeez Mike 1972.......relax!!! I'd never seen it before!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭badgerbaiter

Guy: what did u just ask me?
    Me: i didnt say anything
    Guy: ok but if u had asked me something what would u have asked?
    Me: umm.. ??

A guy i was standing near asked me this one day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

"is it raining?"

Was asked this by an elderly woman in the middle of town while it was pissing rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

"Whats the stupidest question you have ever been asked" is clearly the most stupid question I have ever been asked! jk :)

Closely followed by "What are Argentina's chance of winning the European Cup?" & "Are Bosnia good at Comogie?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I got a new phone from 3 the other day after signing up to a plan.

A few days later I got a call from the call centre from the guy that sent it out to me asking if I was happy with the phone. I replied yes. He then asked if I knew of anyone else that would be interested. I said no, but if I did think of anyone I would let them know the deal I was on blah blah.

I thought that was the end of it. He then said OK, so maybe um, what about your partner? I said I was single. His reply 'Oh, I am very sorry to hear that'. :confused: I replied it was OK, I'll live. He said 'sorry?' (he was foreign and obviously didn't get the joke.

Not so much a stupid questuion, more a stupid reply I suppose :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

"What am I thinking?"

Used to get that about once a week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭peterk675

Are you really that sexy ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Was once asked if my Dad was "born with his glass eye?" before.

True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

An American guy asked me if the famine in Ireland was over yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I was once asked "What age were you when you were born?". I'm sure they meant "what weight", but I just answered "I don't know, 3 maybe?". They didn't get it.

Ghandee wrote: »
    Was asked if my Dad was born with his glass eye before.

True story.

Worth Mike 1972 giving out to me for this:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

TEACHER: Right now, we need to be careful there may be an inspector coming in.
    STUDENT: Miss, what do inspectors look like?
    TEACHER: They have four eyes and tentacles.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Do ye speak english in Ireland? is ireland in europe? are their leprachauns in ireland?

yes,yes and mother****ing yes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

"Can blind people cry?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

"Do you work here?"

No I just wear the uniform and stand behind the till for the craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭julyjane

Woman I was talking to in work one day, around February when I was about 6 months pregnant

Her: That project won't be starting until July
    Me: I won't be here then, I'll be on maternity leave
    Her: Oh, are you pregnant? :eek:

Now this woman had a young child herself so she can't have been that green about pregnancy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Oh that's easy. It's "What is the stupidest question you have ever been asked??"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

How much are the penny sweets ? emmm a penny :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭julyjane

Will the 24 hour garage be open in the morning?

I can't believe there are people so stupid in the world but I was asked this once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Paparazzo wrote: »
    An American guy asked me if the famine in Ireland was over yet

Did you tell him it's not,we're the great Panini and Breakfast Roll famine since mid 2007.

Stupidest thing an American asked me was if I got to America via the Channel Tunnel-told her I came on the bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

jackie1974 wrote: »

Are they not 2 cent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭k4kate

Seachmall wrote: »
    "What am I thinking?"

Used to get that about once a week.

Then you left her;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    Are they not 2 cent?

Is that an example of a stupid question :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

jackie1974 wrote: »

Have you got any big pints of milk?

How many slices of meat will I get in a half pound?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Or NOT C&P text from a email doing the rounds for the last decade ?

Do you mean 'an' email???? ;)

Me: answers phone, "hello <input job name> how can I help you?
    Him: hello, are you there now?? Is it open
    Me: hang up phone

:rolleyes::rolleyes: ehhh, did you not just dial the number for here ye clown :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I picked up a friend of mine one night and he said will you stop at a TSB atm,grand i said,while i was driving i spot a AIB bank and pull in,he says what are you doing?,i said you wanted to go to the atm?,yeah but a TSB one he said,why i asked whats the difference?,he said because im with TSB and my atm card will only work in there atm's!,i just looked at him and said,fuck off boy are you actually serious,and he was.It turns out that he was only using TSB atm's since he joined the bank about 4 years ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

carlybabe1 wrote: »
    Do you mean 'an' email???? ;)

Me: answers phone, "hello <input job name> how can I help you?
    Him: hello, are you there now?? Is it open
    Me: hang up phone

:rolleyes::rolleyes: ehhh, did you not just dial the number for here ye clown :rolleyes:
    Its very hard not to be sarcastic so best bet is to hang up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

Abroad:

Random guy I worked with: Look, these are birds! Do you have birds in Europe?

Me: Nope, we have only dinosaurs...

I still after 12 years can't believe this lad was for serious.