Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Work In Santa Ponsa For Summer 2012!

• 24-09-2011 11:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Im a 18 year old female and me and 1 a my friends are planning on going to santa ponsa for the summer 2012 to work in a bar.. Anyone have any advice? Or anyone doing the same? smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Given that Spain has an unemployment problem considerably worse than Ireland just how confident are you of getting work ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

Have a look at www.jobsinspain.ie for English language jobs in Spain.

If I were you I wouldn't limit your search to Santa Ponsa. As the above reply says, it is hard to find work in Spain at the moment.

Saying that though, I've been to Santa Ponsa and really liked it there!

As with all foreign jobs, it is always a lot easier to get one when you're there in the country rather than a thousand miles away in your bedroom. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Penisland

Hey OP,
    My advice to you would be not to go to Santa Ponsa but go to Magaluf just up the road. I have been to santa ponsa 5/6 times with my family, with the lads and with the girlfriend over the years and it is just dead now!

Magaluf is much much busier with a lot more bars/clubs/restaraunts etc. and is just better craic in general! It has been given a bit of a bad name in the media but I was there for two weeks last year and didnt see one bit of trouble! There are police and bouncers everywhere so its pretty safe IMO! There is also palma nova which is basically the same resort as magaluf being about a 10 minute walk from maga! This is a lot quiter and is way more of a family place! It depends of what job you want!

You could always apply for a reps job with one of major holiday companys! They seem to have it tough with working hours but seems like an easy enough gig!

Just my two cents! Best of luck!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

You'll deffo get work in a bar, but you will need to be good and experienced. Also remember you'll be working very long hours, for aprox €20 per day/night. At 18 yrs of age, unless you're very experienced, you haven't a chance of getting a job as a travel rep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Km09

Hey Babydoll, Im thinking of doing the same, heading alone tho caz none of my friends are up for it, i was thinking of heading over end of april start of may,when u thinking of going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 babydoll77

Ok tanks guys!! I plan on getting loads of experience befpre i go in watress's & bar work.

Km09: I plan on going over the end a april also.. what age are you? Have you ever been to santa ponsa? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

babydoll77 wrote: »
    Ok tanks guys!! I plan on getting loads of experience befpre i go in watress's & bar work.

Km09: I plan on going over the end a april also.. what age are you? Have you ever been to santa ponsa? :)

i have been there many times and its true that its way quieter now than it was 10 years ago. the irish scene there is generally working class , lots of construction people went there and thats why its quiet now. load of celtic jerseys and tattoos around the place as well - people drinking all day and puking all night while goign around singing ira songs so enjoy !!

its also true that you will work for 20 euro, sometimes you wont get a wage at all - just a place to stay and free booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

As you are going over so early I don't think you will have too much bother getting a job for the summer over there. A couple of my friends went there in mid May and got bar work easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭lezza

ok i would really consider this as i have a female friend who went and got a job in a nightclub, all was grand until she wanted time off and the bosses were turning nasty, basically the club was run by the mafia and she had to literally go on the run, i hope u dont think this is made uo, its not most clubs and bars in santa ponsa and magaluf are mafia run so please be careful, hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Dannyboi3k

Done the season in Ibiza last year, mad craic.
    San antonio is the place to go and trust me there is plenty of work in Ibiza..

Be prepared to work long hours for certain jobs thought. Ticket selling and bar crawls are popular day jobs, with the bar crawls meaning you get plastered n basically paid to party.

Variety of jobs out there. Know lots of friends who have done it.
    If your looking for any info on where to go to look for work and accomodation and the likes PM me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭eire2009

Worked on the mainland and one of the islands, theres a lot of work for reps(pulling people into clubs) you`ll be lucky to find bar work straight away without experience. I personally wouldn't go until the end of May as its just not busy and there will be less jobs available.

A bar is the best place to work as with nightclubs they dont finish until 7am and you dont get home till around 8ish so it mens sleeping all day food and then work again for 6 days of the week its not a nice life to be honest but definitely worth a shot for the summer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 11dolly11

Im a 18 year old female and me and 1 a my friends are planning on going to santa ponsa for the summer 2012 to work in a bar.. Anyone have any advice? Or anyone doing the same? smile.gif

Hi babydoll, im 20 and am thinking of going over at the end of May if you haven't gone over yet...have you any plans exactly on where you're going etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 shauna ahearne 2013

hi me and my friend are hoping to go 2 santa ponsa in may until september but we havnt got a clue hoq to go about getting jobs or accomodation cud any1 help or give us advice about this plz :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Km09

hi me and my friend are hoping to go 2 santa ponsa in may until september but we havnt got a clue hoq to go about getting jobs or accomodation cud any1 help or give us advice about this plz :):)

Hey Shauna, Im 100 percent going santa ponsa start of may heading alone tho. I didnt end up going last year as i decided to book a holiday with my friends instead. Im just gona book a weeks holiday end of april/Start may. and try every bar for work while im there. Ive never worked there before but been there on holidays and know the place well, When ye thinking of going? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 madden931

Think of heading over at the end of May, u try the sites like sunkiss and air-pro?
    Costs about 600euro for the month. Going alone but trying to find a job is over there i think will be hard because i dont even know where to start.....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 gladiators

Km09 wrote: »
    Hey Shauna, Im 100 percent going santa ponsa start of may heading alone tho. I didnt end up going last year as i decided to book a holiday with my friends instead. Im just gona book a weeks holiday end of april/Start may. and try every bar for work while im there. Ive never worked there before but been there on holidays and know the place well, When ye thinking of going? :)

Hi I am thinking of doing this for the summer. Just wondering did you do it in the end and how you got on? Did you get a job, was it enjoyable etc?