Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

O'Gara NOT retiring after the World Cup

• 21-09-2011 7:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭

Now I'm confused; from http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/worldcup/2011/0921/rwc_ogara_ireland.html

Ronan O'Gara insists he has no intention of retiring from Test rugby after the World Cup, declaring only "losers" walk away when confronted by a challenge.
    The Ireland fly-half suggested in a television interview after Saturday's stunning 15-6 victory over Australia that his 11-year international career was almost over.

"I'm done with Ireland in a few weeks. I've had a great time in this jersey but I want this to be the biggest time," he told RTÉ Sport.

O'Gara today clarified his comments by stating that he was referring to the end of the World Cup and not his own position. The 34-year-old - the oldest member of the squad - has lost his place as first choice fly-half to Leinster's Jonathan Sexton.

"Retirement has crossed my mind plenty of times over the last few years," he said. "There are plenty of thoughts in your head when you're disappointed but it's losers who quit when things aren't going so well for them."

"Retirement hasn't entered my head seriously in that regard. I'm a fighter and I'll keep fighting until the end. I'm not sure when that is. Playing for Ireland means so much you don't walk away from the team until it's right.
    You take advice from people you respect on that front. I'm not at that stage yet."

O'Gara is adamant the meaning of his words during the interview were misinterpreted.

"On Saturday I was speaking in the context of being done with Ireland in six or seven weeks' time in terms of this World Cup," he said. "I said I'm done with Ireland in a few weeks and there are different interpretations of that. It was a great night, one of my best nights. I was so proud to be part of the team. From my point of view, when you set goals as a professional player everything ends with the World Cup final."

"That's where I stand at the minute. It's important for me to put an end to this because it's a distraction the team don't need.

"In my own head I'll reassess at the end of the World Cup. But I want to be part of this team because it's a great team at the moment.

"It's about being part of an Ireland team that will do itself justice in the competition and give the supporters at home something they deserve."

O'Gara has kicked 1,039 points for Ireland during his 113-cap career
    He made his debut in 2000 and has been on three Lions tours, and could yet reclaim the number 10 jersey given Sexton's unconvincing performances against the United States and Australia so far this month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

It's not all that surprising.

Look I think like a lot of people on here do, that it was a toys out of the pram situation.

But having said that, let's just forget about it.. He's clarified his position, rowed back on what he said and has eaten a bit of humble pie. The whole matter is a silly distraction when we need it to least. Hopefully the manager has had a word over the inappropriateness of what he said and the way in which he said it. And that should be that.

Normaly, He's a professional about things and I think in this instance passion and emotion clouded his judgement.

Whatever your provincial allegiance ROG is an important player for us and he'll be important for the remainder of this tournament and beyond. He should be allowed just to get on with the job and prove himself on the field

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Glad to see he clarified the comments. Looks like it was discussed behind the scenes and the need for him to speak was identified. It was causing a distraction and it needed to be dealt with. Interestingly, whilst the furore can now die down, he does still say he'll reassess his situation after the tournament so we might still yet see the end of his international career although I personally doubt it. I suppose it may depend on how the tournament pans out for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Damage limitation from an Irish PR point of view. They just want the story to go away so O'Gara will have been told what to say here. I don't think we can believe anything we hear either way in this regard until the World Cup is over and everyone is back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

like i said when i heard it, he was on a central contract and couldnt walk away from that without being seriously out of pocket financially.

he'll play an important role in nursing Ian Keatley & Paddy Jackson through over the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭michaelduignan

Uriel. wrote: »
    It's not all that surprising.

Look I think like a lot of people on here do, that it was a toys out of the pram situation.

But having said that, let's just forget about it.. He's clarified his position, rowed back on what he said and has eaten a bit of humble pie. The whole matter is a silly distraction when we need it to least. Hopefully the manager has had a word over the inappropriateness of what he said and the way in which he said it. And that should be that.

Normaly, He's a professional about things and I think in this instance passion and emotion clouded his judgement.

Whatever your provincial allegiance ROG is an important player for us and he'll be important for the remainder of this tournament and beyond. He should be allowed just to get on with the job and prove himself on the field

Ronan O'Gara doesn't have to prove anything on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

"clarification" my arse. He's either lieing or he blurted out something he didnt mean at the time. Either way just say so. What he said was fairly clear cut imo. If he didnt mean it or was too hasty thats grand. Making stuff up is just silly.

It's a PR line, I wouldn't hold ROG responsible. It's no coincidence he was at the press conference. I'm sure he was told to get out there and tell them he weren't talking about walking away now and get everyone's mind back on the task at hand. They've dealt with it, drawn a line under it and from here on in it's about the games. Story should be dead by the weekend now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

On Sat did he mention his wife and kids at home? I think he did and that would indicate he let slip something in the heat of the moment.

He has been mentioning retirement loosely for the last while which at his age and his family commitments make sense. He is very much needed for both Ireland and Munster for the next season if not more.

Next June we go on a three test tour of New Zealand so it'll be interesting to see what happens then.

I don't think the "toys out of the pram" is the right analogy either. He is now 34 and is becoming second choice to Sexton. He can see the writing on the wall and it's only human for him to think of moving on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

He one flakey dude.

Lets hope he gets his head into a good space for the Wales game.

Safe to assume he is still going to retire after the world cup though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Good man ROG.

I dunno, that's kinda what I perceived it as when I first talking about it - as he was speaking in context to his family, so he was kind of saying 'I'm done here in a couple of weeks', which is true.

I would post Brendan Fanning's article here but I think the thread might explode. I'll settle for a link: http://brendanfanningrugby.wordpress.com/2011/09/21/ogara-sent-out-to-take-one-for-the-team/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

Great. Hopefully now this story can be put to bed. Lock the media thread, IRFU!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

GerM wrote: »
    I would post Brendan Fanning's article here but I think the thread might explode. I'll settle for a link: http://brendanfanningrugby.wordpress.com/2011/09/21/ogara-sent-out-to-take-one-for-the-team/

I know every player wants to be first choice and start in the big games but that article made ROG sound like he didnt give two shítes about the team. And was putting on a show for the media to try force Kidneys hand.

I dont think for a second he said what he did to put pressure on Kidney through the media. ROG is a clever fellow and he will know Kidney wont take kindly to ROG criticising his decisions in the media and it certainly wouldnt help him reclaim his spot.

ROG said what he did because he was emotional, he said what every player was thinking about not being picked and trying to make an impact when he did come one. As for the "I'm done with this jersey in a few weeks time" he either muddled up his words or he was planning on retiring after the world cup. Either way that comment had nothing to do with the rest imo. He was probably just trying to say he wanted to make the most of the world cup as his days were numbered and this is the last chance to achieve something in an Irish jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

That sums up exactly what I think of the whole situation. Brendan Fanning has gone way up in my estimation over the last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

It takes some serious nerve to wrote what Fanning did and to be honest, while I admire O'Gara and what he's done for Ireland - I do question his motivation for making his remarks after the Australia game. I mean, if he was actually serious about quitting after the World Cup he would have known that that was something not to mention until Ireland are out of the tournament.

Talking about it while we're still there only causes unwanted distractions. He's smart enough to know better which makes me feel that he's used this as a type of bargaining chip.

I agree with Fanning.

It takes some serious nerve to wrote what Fanning did and to be honest, while I admire O'Gara and what he's done for Ireland - I do question his motivation for making his remarks after the Australia game. I mean, if he was actually serious about quitting after the World Cup he would have known that that was something not to mention until Ireland are out of the tournament.

Talking about it while we're still there only causes unwanted distractions. He's smart enough to know better which makes me feel that he's used this as a type of bargaining chip.

I agree with Fanning.

Players judge their careers by what they achieve though. And for ROG this is his last opportunity to achieve something in an Irish jersey. I think thats what he was talking about. I dont believe someone of ROG's calibre that has the experience he has would be so naive as to think mouthing off to the media would help him get a starting place in the team.

I think it incredible that Fanning would lay it all down to ROG being selfish and sneaky. ROG's interview was honest, you dont get that from other players. He said it was a tough week, he felt he did enough to be picked to start, he was nervous coming into the game. I dont think anyone would say that was all premeditated and designed to influence kidney so why do people think his last comment was premeditated and designed ?

People must have a very low opinion of the man if they think that at the pinnacle of his career he's gonna be up to this kinda stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Fairly objective article there from Fanning :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Fairly objective article there from Fanning :rolleyes:

What are the rolling eyes at exactly? It's not an article, it's a blog, almost by definition it's an opinion piece. An opinion far better informed than any of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭MLC61

I'm not sure why "it takes some serious nerve to write that"? The article only crystallises what most rational thinking people thought in the wake of watching the interview.

Anyone who has watched O'Gara over the years knows there is this side to his personality - indeed many have no problem with it and admire him for it. Watching him against France in the friendly was like watching someone play a trial match - he had no regard for the team but simply how he himself played.

To remain at that level for that length of time requires that level of conceit.

MLC61 wrote: »
    I'm not sure why "it takes some serious nerve to write that"? The article only crystallises what most rational thinking people thought in the wake of watching the interview.

It's sticking your neck out. Lets see how successful he is at getting interviews from ROG or any players that he's tight with for the rest of the WC. They might take no heed of it or they might take it to heart. David Kelly was frozen out in 2006 by the squad who refused to do interviews with him after he was critical of them in the southern hemisphere tour if I recall correctly.

ROG seems like he'll take all the airtime he can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

danthefan wrote: »
    An opinion far better informed than any of us.

Better informed for what, exactly? I cant imagine how any matter of understanding or knowledge of the sport comes into play here. What I see in that interview is a man just after winning one of the most significant games of his career. He's in an extremely emotional state (surprise, surprise?...) and began to speak his heart. How can anyone with even a lick of common sense suggest that what they saw was a sly, contrived speech attempting to send Kidney a few digs and nudges. There's a man being genuinely honest, let slips a few things with more weight than he could have given thought at the time, and you get people saying this; it's no less than disgusting.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Bit of a come down tbh, and I think he realises he was wrong to say what he said, when he said it.

He also admits it was a distraction to the team. Fair play to Fanning for telling it like it is tbh.

19543261 wrote: »
    Better informed for what, exactly?

Better informed for having dealt with ROG in a professional media capacity and for having met the man repeatedly. Better informed for having being actually present in the press conference and being able to see the comments being made along with intonation and body language. He's not just hypothesising like the rest of us, he can base his opinions on personal experience.

19543261 wrote: »
    Better informed for what, exactly? I cant imagine how any matter of understanding or knowledge of the sport comes into play here. What I see in that interview is a man just after winning one of the most significant games of his career. He's in an extremely emotional state (surprise, surprise?...) and began to speak his heart. How can anyone with even a lick of common sense suggest that what they saw was a sly, contrived speech attempting to send Kidney a few digs and nudges. There's a man being genuinely honest, let slips a few things with more weight than he could have given thought at the time, and you get people saying this; it's no less than disgusting.

Nice rant.

Fanning is better informed than we are because he's been a rugby journalist for years and will have met and will know personally a lot of people involved in the set up, including ROG.

As for talk being disgusting, you must have odd priorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Brendan97

Is it not obvious! he got caught up in the moment after the australia game that he blurted out something he was supposed to announce after the world cup to stop any unrest or unnessary publicity while in the world cup.
    Now DK and other coaches have told him to say he isnt retiring.
    the irfu are falling over themselves to cover this up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

Am I the only one who picked up what ROG said in the context that it was meant (supposedly)? I *assumed* at the time that he was saying that this was his last chance at a World Cup and not the end of his international career. I never thought it was a threat to retire prematurely until it hit the forums and media a day or two later.

Assuming he was throwing his toys out of the pram, then I think it would be best that he did retire. If he's not in it for the team or for his country then he has no place in the squad. I'm sure Kidney would say the very same. You don't want a primadonna blowing hot air in the middle of a World Cup. But then, I really don't think he meant it that way.

I know Fanning will have had more contact with ROG and know him better than any of us. But it still doesnt change the fact that what he wrote as an assumption. It was an assumption based on how he interpreted the interview.

Fanning interpreted it as
    We agreed that this was a case of: ‘All right lads, that’s enough about Ireland, let’s talk about me!”

I dont understand it to be honest. He was asked bout what it meant to him personally and he answered. Same as Drico did, Drico talked about the fact that making everyone happy was what it meant to him.

ROG was honest in his answer. He said he wanted to start, like we all knew he would have. He said it was huge for him and it had been in his mind for a long time.

Whether he actually had retiring in his mind or whether he messed up what he was trying to say is debatable. But I dont think he said what he did in the hope of pressuring Kidney. Because if he did he's not only sneaky but incredibly stupid. Kidney or the rest of the team would have no problem pushing him aside to protect the team and the campaign.

To think that it is the way Fanning sees it you would have to have a pretty low opinion of him. Basically think he's a selfish, sneaky man who would sell out the team for a bit of personal glory. I think its a sad opinion to have of a man who had done so much for Irish rugby.

To think that it is the way Fanning sees it you would have to have a pretty low opinion of him. Basically think he's a selfish, sneaky man who would sell out the team for a bit of personal glory. I think its a sad opinion to have of a man who had done so much for Irish rugby.[/QUOTE]

I think you may be over exaggerating what Fanning is saying. And again personalising it by saying that its a sad opinion to have of a man who has done so much for Irish Rugby is a distraction. The fact that he has played for Ireland for 10 years doesnt mean that he can't be sneaky and selfish. However - I repeat I dont believe that this is what Fanning implied.

I think he is saying that in the aftermath of a big game when he was not quite ready to deal with an interview, O'Gara has said some things that on reflection he wishes to retract. He opines that it was to put pressure on Kidney - this is no more than a lot of other posters here have said in a round about manner - he was naturally upset that he wasn't playing etc.

I think you may be over exaggerating what Fanning is saying. And again personalising it by saying that its a sad opinion to have of a man who has done so much for Irish Rugby is a distraction. The fact that he has played for Ireland for 10 years doesnt mean that he can't be sneaky and selfish. However - I repeat I dont believe that this is what Fanning implied.

I think he is saying that in the aftermath of a big game when he was not quite ready to deal with an interview, O'Gara has said some things that on reflection he wishes to retract. He opines that it was to put pressure on Kidney - this is no more than a lot of other posters here have said in a round about manner - he was naturally upset that he wasn't playing etc.

That is what Fanning got from the interview though isnt it?. He thinks ROG said what he said to put pressure on Kidney through the media. You think Kidney was unaware ROG would have wanted to start or that this was his last world cup ? Kidney would know ROG better than most people and will know exactly what it means to ROG. He wont be swayed by ROG crying into the camera, and ROG knows that. I think it a bit unfair now that Fanning is taking an honest and emotional interview and making out that its an underhanded attempt at forcing Kidney to play him.

If we accept that O'Gara was emotional (which he certainly was) and maybe not best prepared for the interview then I think that we can also consider that he may have made a bad judgement call. Although in the cold light of day he would be aware that Kidney is unlikely to react to that sort of blackmail, he wasn't thinking clearly.

No one is denying that this is what he is thinking, they were just surprised that he said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

It's a cover-up, IMO. In the heat of the moment, ROG said what he meant, and know the IRFU are falling over themselves to stop the story in it's tracks till mid October.

If we accept that O'Gara was emotional (which he certainly was) and maybe not best prepared for the interview then I think that we can also consider that he may have made a bad judgement call. Although in the cold light of day he would be aware that Kidney is unlikely to react to that sort of blackmail, he wasn't thinking clearly.

No one is denying that this is what he is thinking, they were just surprised that he said it.

But what about his personality or past deeds leads you to the conclusion that this wasnt just him being emotional and honest but also having an ulterior motive for saying what he said. I see no reason to take his emotion to be a plea to Kidney. If anything he was trying to express to the public how hard it has been for him, and thats why the win is so big for him. Maybe he was having a little "poor me" moment but to assume it was designed to influence kidney is a stretch I think.

Skunkle wrote: »
    But what about his personality or past deeds leads you to the conclusion that this wasnt just him being emotional and honest but also having an ulterior motive for saying what he said. I see no reason to take his emotion to be a plea to Kidney. If anything he was trying to express to the public how hard it has been for him, and thats why the win is so big for him. Maybe he was having a little "poor me" moment but to assume it was designed to influence kidney is a stretch I think.

You could very well be right - as Fanning put it "that's enough about Ireland, let's talk about me".

Either way, it hasn't reflected well on him.

It also maybe explains why most interviews straight after the event are so dull - this will only reinforce that watchfulness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Whilst I strongly disagree ROG went into that interview thinking about using the media as an outlet to try and get a starting spot, I have no doubt that once the moment got to him he made an emotional jab at the coaching staff for not being selected.

TBH I think the retirement part (if it was that) was less damaging then him explaining how tough of a week he was having mentally for not being selected...

Toys out of a pram maybe? Maybe, maybe not... TBH, it's very hard to tell because none of us were in that state of mind at that time.

Only ROG knows what he truly meant, if anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

Anyone else think this is just a mountain out of a molehill which is best consigned to the history books? Onwards and upwards says I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭nathan99

My uncle is friends with rog and my uncle said that ronan said he will retire from international rugby after the world cup but continue for munster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

I never really understood the hate from the irish of ROG, At times you would think most of the posters on rugby boards want him to fail, Its the same thing with Robbie Keane we just always want our own to fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

astonaidan wrote: »
    I never really understood the hate from the irish of ROG, At times you would think most of the posters on rugby boards want him to fail, Its the same thing with Robbie Keane we just always want our own to fail

What you typed isn't what this thread is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭A Disgrace

I think we all agree his comments were unnecessary as they deflected from the great win. I'll be honest, and it's only an opinion, but I do genuinely believe that he was bitter about not starting in arguably our biggest win ever, and as I said before, it was toys out of the pram stuff..

I think O'Gara has a big role to play, and I think we'd all be confident whether it's him or Sexton starting.. O'Gara needs to get over it, and do what he does best. The last World Cup was dominated by talk of O'Gara (the rumours, his poor performance) and this is beginning to turn into the same, and it shouldn't. It does a massive disservice to the other guys on the team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

nathan99 wrote: »
    My uncle is friends with rog and my uncle said that ronan said he will retire from international rugby after the world cup but continue for munster.

Well, he won't and he isn't even if what you claim was true, .
    He has two years of a contract left with the union and a lot of money at stake in tax rebates upon completion of that contract.

This isn't Sonny Bill Williams we're discussing for whom a contract isn't worth the paper its printed upon.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

JustinDee wrote: »
    Well, he won't and he isn't even if what you claim was true, .
    He has two years of a contract left with the union and a lot of money at stake in tax rebates upon completion of that contract.

This isn't Sonny Bill Williams we're discussing for whom a contract isn't worth the paper its printed upon.

Justin so if ROG or any player breaks his contract or retires early he is not elligible for the tax rebates. Is this correct?

Say John Fogarty and Trevor Hogan who retired through injury were they eligible for the tax rebate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Justin so if ROG or any player breaks his contract or retires early he is not elligible for the tax rebates. Is this correct?

Breaking a contract and retiring early are not the same thing. Players may have to retire early due to injury or in accordance with medical advice. Ducking out is different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Brian2850

Fannings piece is completely over the top...ROG has a pretty decent track record of saying stuff in the press that doesn't appear to be that well thought out. Just because it was about his career this time does not mean it should be treated any different to the rest of the grenades that he frequently throws.

I'm sure elements of ROG's personality are well described in Fannings piece but to portray him as a villain on the back of a superb victory for the team (that he contributed to) is bullsh*t. I'd love Fanning to take that piece to RTE and see can he get it published in his column there rather than on his blog....