Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need a quick bit of buying advice.

• 18-09-2011 12:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭

right chaps, i'm going to buy a diesel banger today. max 2k budget.

i will be doing a motorcheck on any car i go to view, so i'm covered in some respects.

basically i've narrowed it down to 3 cars, i can only go to view one today.

Reliability is number one what i'm after here. it just has to be very reliable. which would you go for?

00 corolla 1.9d 110k miles
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2540609

99 bora sdi, 150k miles
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2501215

01 mondeo tddi 105k miles
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2541654

For maximum reliability 20 votes

Corolla 1.9D
    0% 0 votes
    Bora 1.9SDi
    85% 17 votes
    Mondeo 2.0TDDi
    15% 3 votes

andyseadog wrote: »

Reliability is number one what i'm after here. it just has to be very reliable. which would you go for?..............
    01 mondeo tddi 105k miles
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2541654

Not that anyway, I had a new one, awful bucket of sh1t.
    Reliability wise it has to be the Corolla, although in every other regard it's the worst car. You won't have any trouble from the Corolla.
    Mondeo is the best car but reliability wise it's the worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

ironically i thought the mondeo was the least reliable too, but its winning the poll.

the corolla is the only one without NCT. its also the one i'm swaying towards. comfort/ looks aren't bothering me here, i just want reliability.

didn't those corollas have a peugeot engine? were they any good?

ironically i thought the mondeo was the least reliable too, but its winning the poll.........

How many of those who voted had one ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

ironically i thought the mondeo was the least reliable too, but its winning the poll.

the corolla is the only one without NCT. its also the one i'm swaying towards. comfort/ looks aren't bothering me here, i just want reliability.

Are you making a decision based on a poll ???:eek:

I vote corolla

thats also what i thought. honestly i thought the Bora would win out. but its early days yet. going to look at the rolla in an hours time.

any pointers on sussing out a healthy diesel engine?

Yep, the 1867cc yoke, lasts forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

right chaps, i'm going to buy a diesel banger today. max 2k budget.

i will be doing a motorcheck on any car i go to view, so i'm covered in some respects.

basically i've narrowed it down to 3 cars, i can only go to view one today.

Reliability is number one what i'm after here. it just has to be very reliable. which would you go for?
    This is a completely insane way to buy. Find someone who knows a bit about cars and have them help you. Above all else, take your time.

To be honest I'd take the Bora, I know looks etc aren't the criteria but the Bora offers the best of both worlds, the 1.9 in them will do double that 150k no bother if it's sound. The Corolla is a depressing looking car really.

€2000 is a good lash of cash to be spending, lots of stuff out there for that that are reliable and comfy and light on diesel and that look ok. If you're not in a rush to buy I would broaden your search a bit.

Anan1 wrote: »
    This is a completely insane way to buy. Find someone who knows a bit about cars and have them help you. Above all else, take your time.

Just saw the bit about you are buying one today, Jesus, insane as Anan1 has said. In fairness though, you do know your beans so I don't think you'll buy a sh1tter.

Is the panic really necessary to buy today?

i have to go view one today, really, i'm in college 9-4 monday to friday and work 6-11 monday to friday nights, and saturdays are spent studying followed by more work too. sundays are the only day i have to do other things.

im not going to buy a pile of **** today, but i need a bargain basement diesel and today is the only day i have to go shopping, i've been browsing donedeal for weeks :P

...i'm in college 9-4 monday to friday and work 6-11 monday to friday nights, and saturdays are spent studying followed by more work too. sundays are the only day i have to do other things.

Fair play to you, that's a busy week :). What you doing at college if you don't mind my nosiness.

there's always next Sunday ;)

Architectural engineering.

how do i get to college without the car :P i need the independence of the car to leave and be on time for work, to get money to pay for college. its a vicious self reliant circle :)

i just done a motorchecked on the corolla. its clocked :(

https://www.motorcheck.ie/report/00CN2977/XVAX7A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Personally, having owned one, I'd go for the mondeo but I'd be looking for some sort of history, at those miles it'll be due or have received a new clutch and DMF (if not then budget another €1k) and check the fuel injection system, if not perfect then that'll be another €1k.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Out of the 3, the ford is my choice, reason being is the milage is reasonable. Plus its got as chain as opposed to belt, so no BIG QUESTION on when the belt was last changed or dodgy tippex to be had.
    Also, parts for the ford are cheap - like a rear wheel bearing hub can be got to your door off ebay for €50 complete with abs sensor.
    Them rims on it are ghia x rims btw.

Architectural engineering.

how do i get to college without the car :P i need the independence of the car to leave and be on time for work, to get money to pay for college. its a vicious self reliant circle :)

i just done a motorchecked on the corolla. its clocked :(

https://www.motorcheck.ie/report/00CN2977/XVAX7A

Bummer, stroke of luck though, awful bus really, how bad is the 1.6 Corolla you have on the petrol?
    Best of luck with the college.
    bladespin wrote: »
    Personally, having owned one, I'd go for the mondeo but I'd be looking for some sort of history, at those miles it'll be due or have received a new clutch and DMF (if not then budget another €1k) and check the fuel injection system, if not perfect then that'll be another €1k.

Good point about the injectors, hard to check though. Regarding the DMF, it could well be due a 2nd one if the first one was done early, mine went under warranty at 20k kms ish. Ford garage folk said it was a very common fault, as we all know now, back then I never heard of a DMF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

bora. it looks basic spec so most of the electrical problems the high spec ones suffer from wont be a problem. the sdi engine is dead as a dodo but will go forever. and with the timing belt and water pump done you have a lot of driving before it needs doing again. recent nct too so bushings/bearings cant be too bad. you will even have enough left out of the 2k to tax it for a year!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Something with a turbo if you want fuel economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

You really should be considering a 406 HDi. They're a superb car reliability wise, look decent, drive well, won't bore you to death and come cheap. Even Toyota use a Peugeot diesel engine. Something like this is what you need to be looking at. Don't get a Bora SDi, I've seen quicker glaciers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Where is the none of the above option on this pole?

Corolla 1.9d is a Peugeot engine with no turbo, only a stop gap until the D-4D engine arrived. Reliable once maintained but unrefined and would not pull the skin off a sausage.

Bora 1.9 SDi again dog slow, engine is reliable once maintained but the same is not be said about the rest of the car. Gearboxes can be soft on these and electrics can be iffy.

Mondeo TDDi you could be facing a large bill for replacing the DMF soon on it. Noisy engine but other than that they tend to be ok.

€2k will get you alot better choice imo. I'd be looking at something along the lines of these:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201133203957392

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201129203428727

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201130203650017

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

RoverJames wrote: »
    Mondeo is the best car but reliability wise it's the worst.

Nah. Your car might have been a lemon, but it's not representative of the model as a whole.

http://www.parkers.co.uk/cars/ford/mondeo-estate-2000.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

For €2k you have to be able to find something better than any of those three yokes! :eek::eek::eek:

Keep an eye on the Bangernomics thread and it's hardly the end of the world if you have to take a morning of college during the week to go view a car. Don't go panic buying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    For €2k you have to be able to find something better than any of those three yokes! :eek::eek::eek:

Keep an eye on the Bangernomics thread and it's hardly the end of the world if you have to take a morning of college during the week to go view a car. Don't go panic buying.

+1 I would buy neither of them. The SDI Bora is slower than a wet week.

Nah. Your car might have been a lemon, but it's not representative of the model as a whole.

http://www.parkers.co.uk/cars/ford/mondeo-estate-2000.aspx

OF the three mentioned its the worse, I'm not at all bothered what parkers have written about them.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

OF the three mentioned its the worse, I'm not at all bothered what parkers have written about them.

A matter of opinion RJ.

Parkers isn't perfect, but it's way more representative than 1 persons view based on their experience of a single car.

Consequently perhaps yours is the opinion which should be more readily dismissed?

A matter of opinion RJ.

Parkers isn't perfect, but it's way more representative than 1 persons view based on their experience of a single car.

Consequently perhaps yours is the opinion which should be more readily dismissed?

Miaaaaaaooow!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I know someone that put massive mileage on a tddi Mondeo without issue. Nice spec. Corollas got the old pug engine which is a plus if a bit slow. Prob get best mpg too.

what a mad deluded assertion.....i've had quite a few mk3 mondeo diesels in my life in all flavours, and all are great cars to live with. :confused:

coolbeans wrote: »
    You really should be considering a 406 HDi. They're a superb car reliability wise, look decent, drive well, won't bore you to death and come cheap.
    Was just thinking the same thing myself. OP, if you really have to buy today then go an extra €400 or so and buy this: http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201133203955670
    I spoke to the owner on the phone a few weeks back, he has it from new and spent 20 minutes detailing an absolutely complete maintenance history from new. I haven't seen the car, but I can't remember the last time i've been so impressed by an owner.

Was just thinking the same thing myself. OP, if you really have to buy today then go an extra €400 or so and buy this: http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201133203955670
    I spoke to the owner on the phone a few weeks back, he has it from new and spent 20 minutes detailing an absolutely complete maintenance history from new. I haven't seen the car, but I can't remember the last time i've been so impressed by an owner.

its overpriced.

A matter of opinion RJ.

Applying your logic I'll bin nous opinion too. I stated the Mondeo was the better car in everyway except reliability of the three cars in question, the other two don't have much to go wrong the Mondeo does, get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

+1 for a 406 HDi, should be easy to get a half-decent one in your budget. I got one earlier this year and though the 90bhp HDi won't win any races, there's no DPF or DMF to worry about (unlike in newer cars like that Mondeo), it's very comfortable and will return decent fuel economy (see below, and that's mostly urban driving).

There is a 110bhp version too but I don't know how common they are in this country and they do have a DMF.

Citroen Xantia might be worth considering too, but they weren't around as long with HDi engines.

MidlandsM wrote: »
    its overpriced.
    Perhaps, if you calculate value by simple 'make/model, age, miles' formula. In the real world, and assuming the OP needs good, reliable motoring for a few years, I think it's a very good buy at €2500.

what a mad deluded assertion.....i've had quite a few mk3 mondeo diesels in my life in all flavours, and all are great cars to live with. :confused:

SO reliability wise they would be better than the other two, yes or no is fine as an answer.

Applying your logic I'll bin nous opinion too. I stated the Mondeo was the better car in everyway except reliability of the three cars in question, the other two don't have much to go wrong the Mondeo does, get over it.

I didn't understand your first sentence, so will ignore it.

Having more things to go wrong doesn't mean they will though. MkII Mondeos are reliable cars, including the diesels. I've posted a representative link to back it up too.

Your quite entitled to post your views, but I'm equally entitled to challenge them if I feel they are incorrect and/or unfair.

Having more things to go wrong doesn't mean they will though. MkII Mondeos are reliable cars, including the diesels. I've posted a representative link to back it up too.

Your quite entitled to post your views, but I'm equally entitled to challenge them if I feel they are incorrect and/or unfair.

So of the three which do you think is the most reliable?

Isn't it a MkIII the OP was looking at?

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Isn't it a MkIII the OP was looking at?

OBvious typo, I let it go, was tempting to claim the sentance made no sense though :pac:

So of the three which do you think is the most reliable?

Inherently there's no significant difference between them I'd say. At that age though the quality and regularity of servicing could be an issue however.

Lol, fianna fail type answer.

No it's a considered and reasonable answer, unlike yours.

Get a pre D-4D Avensis. Suspension is simple, electronics are robust, the engine and gearbox is nigh on unburstable.

I got 600 miles from my last tank (all motorway) which is the most I've ever got.

No it's a considered and reasonable answer, unlike yours.

It's also incorrect, which also makes it unlike mine ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,218 ✭✭✭bigroad

i will second that on the avensis 2.0td.they are a very durable car .i know i drive one currently doing 850miles commute per week without fail.pick up a 00 with the lowest milage you can get .1500 will cover it and plenty left over for tax.

Perhaps, if you calculate value by simple 'make/model, age, miles' formula. In the real world, and assuming the OP needs good, reliable motoring for a few years, I think it's a very good buy at €2500.

but the seller does'nt want €2500, he wants top dollar, hence why it has'nt sold, so its no attainable to the OP. But I do agree on the 406hdi or Zantia hdi or c5 hdi. I've had a few, sold a few, great under-rated jammers.
    SO reliability wise they would be better than the other two, yes or no is fine as an answer.

Typically RJ feels the need to pre condition any answer?
    But to give you an answer, Yes. Depending on the car the OP will buy and how it was maintained in the past and how it'd be looked after in the future. Also, servicing a tddi mondy is cheap, theres no belt change ever required and a service kit will be only €50 bobs or so (excluding brakes).
    Its also a more comfortable ad safer car to be in in the event of a shunt.

Typically RJ feels the need to pre condition any answer?
    But to give you an answer, Yes. Depending on the car the OP will buy and how it was maintained in the past and how it'd be looked after in the future. Also, servicing a tddi mondy is cheap, theres no belt change ever required and a service kit will be only €50 bobs or so (excluding brakes).
    Its also a more comfortable ad safer car to be in in the event of a shunt.

I felt the need to precondition the answer as I had an inkling you'd be blowing on about safety, price of service kits etc, none of which is relevant to the OPs question which was which would be more reliable. Seems as you are so keen to go down the price of the service kits, have you priced a DMF lately? Servicing a 1.9 Corolla is hardly going to be more expensive now is it? Nor a recently belted Bora.

The poll results are interesting at the moment, 9 - 5 in favour of the Corolla over the Mondeo.
    I suppose Henry didn't vote as he reckoned the cars were inherently the same reliability wise.

just to update lads, the reliability of the mondeo put me right off to be honest, as we now know the corolla was clocked so that was that out and the bora was just too poverty spec, wind up windows for fook sake!

the search continues.

I felt the need to precondition the answer as I had an inkling you'd be blowing on about safety, price of service kits etc, none of which is relevant to the OPs question which was which would be more reliable. Seems as you are so keen to go down the price of the service kits, have you priced a DMF lately? Servicing a 1.9 Corolla is hardly going to be more expensive now is it? Nor a recently belted Bora.

The poll results are interesting at the moment, 9 - 5 in favour of the Corolla over the Mondeo.
    I suppose Henry didn't vote as he reckoned the cars were inherently the same reliability wise.

Solid flywheel conversion kits for a mondeo is €230 at my ford dealers, i think thats one of the cheapest dmf replement kits around for any brand, don't see the issue and it reinforces my point about the parts being cheap for diesel fords. Also, whats the harm in expanding information and sharing my experience to to the OP. You are not a mod here or a big lad and you will not brow beat me or anyone else who posts here. More fool you if you try :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

just to update lads, the reliability of the mondeo put me right off to be honest, as we now know the corolla was clocked so that was that out and the bora was just too poverty spec, wind up windows for fook sake!

the search continues.

'ARRRRrrrrrr matey. A wise choice lest thar be treasure to be found next week

but the seller does'nt want €2500, he wants top dollar, hence why it has'nt sold, so its no attainable to the OP. But I do agree on the 406hdi or Zantia hdi or c5 hdi. I've had a few, sold a few, great under-rated jammers.
    The seller's asking €2850, he'll take €2500 or maybe even a bit under. I know it's a bit over what the OP wants to spend, but if there's any way they can stretch to the extra few hundred IMO it'd be money very well spent.

I can see anans logic here. It'd kill me to spend that on a 406 but spending a few hundred can pay off down the line