Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How come Jessica Fletcher never got whacked?

• 15-09-2011 2:34pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 265 ✭✭unclejunior

Does it not suprise you that jessica fletcher never ended up on top of a mafia hit list? Look at all the people she helped put behind bars. Realistically, somebody should of taken her out along time ago so we wouldnt have to watch re runs of this sh.it on rte.

image.bluesweaterandbook1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

It's the delightful theme tune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

yeah i hate that bitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Maybe she did but with her gone there was no-one to write about it. You'll note from the programme title she's pretty fundamental to the documenting of such crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

She was probably some kind of Keyser Soze character, evil looking b1tch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Slip me an envelope with €50,000 and I'll see what I can do !!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Hey, take that back :mad:

Growing up in the 80's with only 2 channels on TV (one of which was closed for half the day), I can tell you, she was as good as it got (after Teresa Lowe & Biddy of course)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Wings Hauser fired a couple of shots at her, though sadly missed. If she died, Dr. Mark Sloan would step into her shoes anyway. The crimes would still get solved, maybe less prolific with the popular crime fighting fiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Slang_Tang

How come murder followed her everywhere she went and no one ever suspected her of being the killer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

she was the hitman, everywhere she went someone was murdered :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 265 ✭✭unclejunior

charlemont wrote: »
    Slip me an envelope with €50,000 and I'll see what I can do !!:rolleyes:

a carbomb similar to the end scene in casino would be great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

If the zombie craze was big back then they could have done an episode where she solves her own murder.

Wicked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

FatherLen wrote: »
    yeah i hate that bitch

I hate the bitch as well :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

It was pretty accurate though. Nosy old bitches always seem to know everything happening in a town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭ItsNoAlias

I have had this discussion on many occassion. I believe the reason she never got wacked was because she was secretly a mass murderer who manipulated other people into committing horrible acts on her behalf.

Alls I know is if she ever turned up anywhere I was or was due to be I would hightail it outa there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Shes not real you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

Slang_Tang wrote: »
    How come murder followed her everywhere she went and no one ever suspected her of being the killer?

She was definitely a suspect in one episode I saw :) But there were loads!

I remember one I saw (I used to watch them during summer holidays:o) where she went away on holidays, someone was killed back home in Cabet Cove and like the niece or someone was in contact with her, and she solved the case... FROM OVERSEES! :eek: Some woman, I'll tell ye that:)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

And father Dowling too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I've heard that she has a house down in Cork, and that the set of Cabot Cove is now used as the setting for the Jaws attraction in Universal Studios.

Also, she seems to put a lot of trust in the fact that killers confess their crimes before offing her. The amount of times she's had Amos, or some other local sheriff, hide next door and hear the confession gives strength to her bravado and the trust she places in the human need to share our darkest secrets. Jessica Fletcher had balls of steel, and, I imagine, worked as a stern head-mistress in a former life, teaching such young bucks such as Stephen Segal and Chuck Norris how to forge an iron discipline and apply it to all facets of life.

because the police (from any town, anywhere) are always hiding behind the curtain or just outside the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

I'll sit back and wait for Ruu to post the pictures of her in her younger hotter days.

All is forgiven Ms Fletcher, you can whack me anyday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Now now leave Jessica alone, what else are us unemployed meant to watch in the afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Ben Moore

I blame the casting director in this movie for all your Jessica Fletcher woes.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0081163/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

How could you whack that fine piece of ass.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

RichieC wrote: »
    And father Dowling too.

Aww Jaysus used to love Father Dowling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

irish-stew wrote: »
    Shes not real you know?

Ah stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

bluewolf wrote: »
    because the police (from any town, anywhere) are always hiding behind the curtain or just outside the door

The police in a town not too far from mine hid behind a curtain... in the pub when he was drinking pints on duty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Classic split personality sociopath :

Dissociative identity disorder is a psychiatric diagnosis and describes a condition in which a person displays multiple distinct identities or personalities (known as alter egos or alters), each with its own pattern of perceiving and interacting with the environment.

Columbo would have put her behind bars in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

My house mate and his girlfriend watch this all the time. They even make sure to record episodes in case they miss it. And they're not taking the piss, they actually really enjoy it.

I'll hear the theme tune and then he'll shout up the stairs 'COME DOWN! MURDER SHE WROTE IS ON! as if it was some sort of event not to be missed.

They're only about 24 or 25. I can't figure it out at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Slang_Tang wrote: »

Definitely wouldn't invite her to a party. The Dunnes Store party selections wouldn't be out of the oven when there'd be someone in a heap in the middle of the dining room and she would be standing there googly eyed and then come out with the classic accusation "Well I didn't see you about Plazaman, that's strange".

"Fúck off Fletcher, I was keeping an eye on the onion bhajis".

I may or may not have had previous Murder She Wrote nightmares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

They had loads of IRISH Episodes which are so bad / they're Good !

The must see ones ARE :D

"The Wind Around the Tower" November 1, 1992
    While they are visitors at an estate in Ireland, Jessica and her friend are convinced that their host's demise is not from natural causes.

"A Killing in Cork" November 21, 1993
    While visiting Ireland, Jessica searches for clues when a widowed friend's son is suspected of killing an American relative.

Another Killing in Cork" May 7, 1995
    While Jessica is enjoying her stay at a fishing lodge in Ireland, she finds out the owner is beset by a consortium that wants to buy his land for a strip mine.

"Nan's Ghost: Part 1" November 2, 1995
    Jessica is in Ireland visiting an old friend and staying at a bed and breakfast at Ballynook Castle. A haunted spirit and antique smugglers are just a few challenges Jessica faces on her Irish vacation.

"Nan's Ghost: Part 2" November 9, 1995
    Jessica is trapped in the rat-infested dungeon of an ancient Irish castle, but uses her ingenuity to get rescued and find the treasure and a murderer.

"Murder, She Wrote: The Celtic Riddle" May 9, 2003
    Jessica travels to Ireland, where she attends the reading of an old acquaintance's will. The will contains the clues to finding a secret treasure, one that will require an already strained family to work together in order to solve the mystery. It was based on The Celtic Riddle by Lyn Hamilton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Trevor O

o1s1n wrote: »
    My house mate and his girlfriend watch this all the time. They even make sure to record episodes in case they miss it. And they're not taking the piss, they actually really enjoy it.

I'll hear the theme tune and then he'll shout up the stairs 'COME DOWN! MURDER SHE WROTE IS ON! as if it was some sort of event not to be missed.

They're only about 24 or 25. I can't figure it out at all!

My girlfriend is obsessed with it aswell. She's only 25 too. Wants to drive down to her gaff in Ballycotton and rock up to the front door to see if she'll invite her in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Good old Jessica..

to be fair, the show kept **** actors in work for YEARS!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Does it not suprise you that jessica fletcher never ended up on top of a mafia hit list? Look at all the people she helped put behind bars. Realistically, somebody should of taken her out along time ago so we wouldnt have to watch re runs of this sh.it on rte.

As she was in the Sound Of Music, she was blessed by the nuns in the convent.
    Subsequently she is protected by the Rome Mafia! NO ONE bumps off any of the Rome Mafia and their friends! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 yobgod

she is a walking death trap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭nirvanaholic

Jessica is some ride alright:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭grohlisagod

Inconvenient for storyline!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

DominoDub wrote: »

The must see ones ARE :D

"The Wind Around the Tower" November 1, 1992
    While they are visitors at an estate in Ireland, Jessica and her friend are convinced that their host's demise is not from natural causes.

"A Killing in Cork" November 21, 1993
    While visiting Ireland, Jessica searches for clues when a widowed friend's son is suspected of killing an American relative.

Another Killing in Cork" May 7, 1995
    While Jessica is enjoying her stay at a fishing lodge in Ireland, she finds out the owner is beset by a consortium that wants to buy his land for a strip mine.

"Nan's Ghost: Part 1" November 2, 1995
    Jessica is in Ireland visiting an old friend and staying at a bed and breakfast at Ballynook Castle. A haunted spirit and antique smugglers are just a few challenges Jessica faces on her Irish vacation.

"Nan's Ghost: Part 2" November 9, 1995
    Jessica is trapped in the rat-infested dungeon of an ancient Irish castle, but uses her ingenuity to get rescued and find the treasure and a murderer.

"Murder, She Wrote: The Celtic Riddle" May 9, 2003
    Jessica travels to Ireland, where she attends the reading of an old acquaintance's will. The will contains the clues to finding a secret treasure, one that will require an already strained family to work together in order to solve the mystery. It was based on The Celtic Riddle by Lyn Hamilton.

i watch the episodes as well , (although i don't let on to people that i do :D ) any of the episodes in ireland have actors with really dodgy accents as well. i remember one episode of MSW where magnum was in it, like others its amazing how she can remember even the most minute detail that seems key to solving the crime. i have alibi (tv channel) and msw is on all day nearly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

DominoDub wrote: »

The Irish ones were brilliant!

Jessica: It's great to be back in Killarney, Shamus. Is Nellie around?

Shamus: I just left her 25 minutes ago. She's in Donegal. But we're meeting for lunch in a while in Waterford, if you want to join us?

Jessica: Begorrah, I will!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Yup, death followed her around like a putrid stench. Murder she Wrote? Murder she commited, more like. Repeatedly.

She's a genocidal maniac who writes books and likes potted plants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭DermotOH

Nostalgiad hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Jessica was the killer all along in every one of the murders.

She'd then twist the story that somebody else did it so she could sell her books which funded her worldwide lust for murder. The episodes we saw were just enactment of her stories with characters switched around so she couldn't be held accountable.

She was smart enough to become good friends with those who were cops so as to keep suspicion down.

Truly one of the most elusive serial killers of the 20th century who was always one step ahead of the authorities. Who would ever suspect a dear ol' woman who just writes stories..............muuuuuurder stories!

You could say she....

*PUTS ON SUNGLASSES*

......made a killing selling books.

YYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

Apparently many years ago in West Cork a body had washed up onto a small beach which the people walking their dogs, joggers etc saw and rang the authorities.

It took no time at all for the locals to gather round and being nosey. As some might know Angela Lansbury is very fond of West Cork, stays there a lot and this particular morning she came down to the beach to see what was going on.

The guy who was telling this tale on the radio said that Angela barged into the middle of the crowd asking people did they know who the corpse was and were the guards on the way.

The guy said that some of the locals were in absolute fits of laughter at having none other than Jessica Fletcher on the case!!!

Urban legend or truth, you decide but the guy on the radio seemed to be telling the truth!! This must be going back ten years since I heard it on the wireless!

Jessica is some ride alright:D

lol yeah she kinda is alright

jessica never seemed to have a bf as such in any of the episodes, just that she was friends with everyone. you'd have though they would have created a love insterest for her considering they mention that her husband died some years ago when the first few episodes started

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭TheBunk1

She definitely killed someone at some stage. Schnake!

The thing that annoyed me was that stupid f**king still image at the end of her smiling or laughing at some retarded comment someone has just made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

jessica never seemed to have a bf as such in any of the episodes, just that she was friends with everyone. you'd have though they would have created a love insterest for her considering they mention that her husband died some years ago when the first few episodes started

I wonder what happened to him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Here you go. Jump to 3:10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Da_Doc

Thats that sorted so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

"Oh by the way sheriff, I couldn't help but notice the 45 Magnum lying under the coffee table earlier."...."I suggest your deputy collects it for foresnsics."

"Gee Miss Fletcher, great job."

I couldn't bear that utter shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Am I right in remembering an episode, possibly something to do with Louisiana, one where the person who dies is tripping of their balls driving down the road, and sees a ghostly head thing? And crashes?

And then later on in the episode, the Bold Jessica is driving down the same road, sees the same ghostly head, and crashes herself?