Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grey lake 10km in loughrea on sunday

• 15-09-2011 1:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭

A friend of mine told me Jorge Torres from the USA running this race.He is a 27min 10k guy and would be worth going up just to see him race in the flesh.Anyone doign this race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

Its on the 25th of this month, not this coming Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭lway

Its on the 25th of this month, not this coming Sunday.

Yup, it's on the 25th. I've entered and looking forward to it, my first 10k :D.
    Jorge could easily lap me though :o.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Could be some merit in this as he was racing in the UK today in Manchester which means he this side of the Atlantic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

ecoli wrote: »
    Could be some merit in this as he was racing in the UK today in Manchester which means he this side of the Atlantic
    sorry got the date mixed up btw he is 100% starting so it's not merrit :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Ceepo

I'd want a bike to watch him Race :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Mick Rice

Folks,

This is a real quality event, run by a great club. I'm really looking forward to running this. I can't believe it's a year since a ran a 10km. Have run nine marathons or longer this year and no 10kms - bonkers.

See you there,

Mick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Have heard very good things about this race alright.

Barring any last minute injury shenanigans, I'll be toeing the line on Sunday too in my ongoing attempt to break 40 mins.

Has it been confirmed yet if Jorge Torres is running? Would be great to see him running (albeit off into the distance at high speed)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭pmcd22

lway wrote: »
    Jorge could easily lap me though :o.

He be in Shannon on the way back home for when i finish.. Popular enough race especially when it was sponsered by Bupa.. Sonia O Sullivan did it before.

Nice route. Hilly enough for first 5km.. hit the church (water stop last year.. i went in for holy water instead) and pretty much level or downhill from there.

pmcd22 wrote: »
    Nice route. Hilly enough for first 5km.. hit the church (water stop last year.. i went in for holy water instead) and pretty much level or downhill from there.

Yeah, I drove the course a couple of weeks back when in Galway for a weekend to see what I signed up for and there were people off their bikes pushing them up one of the hills, think it was the first big one after you turn off the Loughrea to Gort road :D. Seems to flatten out a bit after the church alright but a small sharp rise when you join the road back into Loughrea village. All hopes of getting under an hour disappeared after that trip :D, just looking to make it around.

lway wrote: »
    . Seems to flatten out a bit after the church alright but a small sharp rise when you join the road back into Loughrea village. All hopes of getting under an hour disappeared after that trip

With the downhill/flat in the latter stage and once ya see the lake, that little uphill at the end even though steep enough won't be much a threat.

I didn't expect to hit under the hour as it was my first race: Cool Race report
    haha, well its a report anyway.

I was out for six months with some illness so hoping for the same time again. Hopefully weather be good.

And last but not least.. Loughrea TOWN.. ;)

pmcd22 wrote: »
    And last but not least.. Loughrea TOWN.. ;)
    :) I had seen your report a couple of weeks ago and gave it a read, i'll keep an eye out for you as i'm hoping for a time around the hour mark too.

As for the Village/Town, well as a Craughwell man born and raised if you can't have a sneaky dig at the neighbours then who can you ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 ChampsEvrywhre

This is exciting times with our first post as a boardsie. We were in Boulder, Colorado (a.k.a. the running center of the universe) last week doing some training and getting our Lydiard Coaching Certification at the first invitational seminar.

So anyway Steve Jones is sitting beside us and we get chatting and he's telling me the runner he coaches is running a race in Ireland. If this legend didn't have my attention in the first place he really had it now. When I hear its Jorge Torres it really got me excited at the prospect of him leading any Irish challengers on a Merry dance, even if he does have the GNR Half in his legs.

I was staying with Lorraine Moller for a few days and on our way back from the evening run we bumped into Jorge and I said I would love to get an interview with him since he is a Lydiard trained athlete and will be running in a 'remote' part of Ireland. He asked if we ate and then we went for a Burger with his friends he ran with in University when coached they were all coached by Mark Wetmore from 'Running with the Buffaloes' fame. But that's a whole different article for our site!

So we were fortunate enough to do an interview with Jorge in his home afterwards. We talk about Lydiard training and it's effect on his career, the GNR, Steve Jones his coach and most importantly the Grey Lake 10K ;)

Here is the result (our first production too!): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g5dQQefA8po

Jorge is a great guy so make sure you say hi to him and 'Jonesy' if you see them there, they are both very approachable guys and great craic. Best of luck to Keith and all in Louhrea A/C in their preparations and to anyone running.

The CE team.

"There are champions everywhere. Every street's got them. All we need to do is train them properly." -Arthur Lydiard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Just after waking up after a post race nap :pac:

I found the course itself quite challenging to be honest. Tried to start out conservatively with the hope being to run a negative split & scrape in under my PB and possibly sub-40.

Got thru 5k in just under 21 mins so knew it was going to be a real challenge to meet my targets. Have done plenty of hill training but mainly on long-drag type hills - the constant rolling hills in the first half really drained me so struggled a bit on the way home.

Was a bit disappointed to finish in just over 42mins but happy enough overall (esp. seeing that Jorge Torres 'only' managed to finish in 30:58 :D). I haven't been able to run more than 10k in any run since March thanks to a pesky Morton's Neuroma (a by product of pesky broken toes in January :mad:) so severely lacking on the mileage front - intervals & tempo runs will only get you so far!

Anyway, enjoyed the race and glad I made the trip down from Limerick. Very well organised and marshalled etc. and featuring one of the most practical & useful goodie bags I've ever got. Overall, it was great value for money & I will deffo be returning at some future date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Is it true that the winner was hit by a car on his cool down yesterday?

pgibbo wrote: »
    Is it true that the winner was hit by a car on his cool down yesterday?
    From the Craughwell AC website "Unfortunately after the race he was involved in a minor traffic incident and went over on his ankle - hopefully it's nothing serious. " wishing Jorge all the best, was looking out for him on the day but didn't recognise him.

Really enjoyed this event, managed to hit my personal goal of finishing under an hour in what was my first ever 10k race by a few minutes:). A couple of cars on the course which must have been locals as all junctions were marshalled with Gardai on junctions with the major roads. nearly got pushed into a field by an ambulance which was passing us on the rhs of the road and met a car coming the other way and had to pull in to the side with the runners. Heavy overnight rain left a few sizeable puddles on the backroads which one unfortunate runner in front of me ran right into while adjusting his iPod. Having specified (and gotten) an XL technical top in my goodie bag was confused to find the reflective jacket in the pack was size M and of not much use to me. Anyone know what the Asics tablet/sweet is for, do you dissolve in water for an energy drink or eat it:confused: haven't tried either yet just to be sure :).

Sad to hear what happened to Jorge Torres. That was my friend that ran into the puddle. We had a laugh about it.

Myself ended up in some pain.. not happy with time at all.. There be other days. Nice t-shirt and sweat yoke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭clubcard

This is exciting times with our first post as a boardsie. We were in Boulder, Colorado (a.k.a. the running center of the universe) last week doing some training and getting our Lydiard Coaching Certification at the first invitational seminar.

So anyway Steve Jones is sitting beside us and we get chatting and he's telling me the runner he coaches is running a race in Ireland. If this legend didn't have my attention in the first place he really had it now. When I hear its Jorge Torres it really got me excited at the prospect of him leading any Irish challengers on a Merry dance, even if he does have the GNR Half in his legs.

I was staying with Lorraine Moller for a few days and on our way back from the evening run we bumped into Jorge and I said I would love to get an interview with him since he is a Lydiard trained athlete and will be running in a 'remote' part of Ireland. He asked if we ate and then we went for a Burger with his friends he ran with in University when coached they were all coached by Mark Wetmore from 'Running with the Buffaloes' fame. But that's a whole different article for our site!

So we were fortunate enough to do an interview with Jorge in his home afterwards. We talk about Lydiard training and it's effect on his career, the GNR, Steve Jones his coach and most importantly the Grey Lake 10K ;)

Here is the result (our first production too!): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g5dQQefA8po

Jorge is a great guy so make sure you say hi to him and 'Jonesy' if you see them there, they are both very approachable guys and great craic. Best of luck to Keith and all in Louhrea A/C in their preparations and to anyone running.

The CE team.

"There are champions everywhere. Every street's got them. All we need to do is train them properly." -Arthur Lydiard[/QUOTE guy doing the interview sounds like this guy : http://www.imra.ie/runners/view/id/6484/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Raighne

clubcard wrote: »

The CE team.

"There are champions everywhere. Every street's got them. All we need to do is train them properly." -Arthur Lydiard[/QUOTE guy doing the interview sounds like this guy : http://www.imra.ie/runners/view/id/6484/

You've got a good ear, good memory or both ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli