Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Special Branch ordinary crime?

• 15-09-2011 2:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭

Now I know some of the lads here who like to keep AGS surrounded in mystique will throw a fit when they see this post but I said I'd ask it anyway.

Namely, is there a cross-over between Detectives units in the Gardai, such as is it possible that a SDU member would attend an ordinary incident? I ask because a Detective that showed up recently to a routine call out may have mentioned he was of "Garda Special Branch" but I may have misheard him and maybe he meant the ordinary Detective Branch.

My intention is not to compromise operational security or anything, but I'm just curious as to whether it was possible that the former could have been the case (i.e: he could actually have been SB/SDU)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

I'd be surprised if a member of Garda Special Branch identified himself as such to members of the public , it is possible you mis-heard him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Also, officially it isn't the "Garda Special Branch", its the "Special Detective Unit".

Any Garda can respond to any incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Contra Proferentem

Delancey wrote: »
    I'd be surprised if a member of Garda Special Branch identified himself as such to members of the public , it is possible you mis-heard him.
    Hi, yes it's highly possible I misheard as he was a distance away from me when he said it and I can't remember clearly now that a few days have gone by. He produced his ID, the wallet with badge but didn't see the actual card as it was dark and very wet outside.

Either way, it was a very worthwhile visit and prompt response for which I and others in the area are grateful about.

EDIT: Sorry, Victor, I know it's officially SDU but "Branch" was definitely in his sentence, it was probably Detective Branch he said though.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Sorry, but we don't discuss anything regarding operational Gardaí procedures on this forum, no matter how trivial the question might seem.

Thread closed.