Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ron Paul says it like it is...

• 14-09-2011 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭

Probably not the best place to upload this but in a recent US presidential debate, Ron Paul gets booed and ridiculed for pretty much saying the truth. If american's can't grasp such a fundamental fact their their actions are going to have repercussions, then how can we trust them in doing the right thing with all the wars they're currently waging...

Skip to 5:52 for his bit on the war and the reception he gets for it.

Sad thing is he'll probably not get elected as the next US president and this is pretty much the last time he'll be standing up for presidency, americans will once again most likely elect another warmongering politician to lead their country...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

They gave a large boo when he mentioned Palestinians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Blitzer tried to throw him under a bus with that uninsured question, and every time Paul leaped out from under it with the crowd cheering Blitzer is like "omg thats not what you're supposed to say let me rephrase that..."

People boo'd him because of his wording - basically when he explained why we got attacked on 9/11/01. And all he was doing is repeating what Al Qaeda told us about their motives for their attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

He hasn't a hope in hell of bringing gaining traction against all those special interests in the U.S.

I wouldn't count him out, he's got a pretty big favor in the populist vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Probably not the best place to upload this but in a recent US presidential debate, Ron Paul........

Didn't he do a duet with Elton John? Googles..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Overheal wrote: »
    I wouldn't count him out, he's got a pretty big favor in the populist vote.
    It's between Romney and Perry according to the bookmakers. Ron Paul is a distant 3rd favourite and is available at 10/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Blitzer tried to throw him under a bus with that uninsured question, and every time Paul leaped out from under it with the crowd cheering Blitzer is like "omg thats not what you're supposed to say let me rephrase that..."

People boo'd him because of his wording - basically when he explained why we got attacked on 9/11/01. And all he was doing is repeating what Al Qaeda told us about their motives for their attack.
    Come on, you should know that Republicans don't like to hear that kinda talk.

As for the uninsured question, I haven't heard the audio but I was sadly not surprised to hear that people in the audience cheered when Blitzer asked if rather than the provide insurance, uninsured people should just be left to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

It's bizarre seeing such common sense coming from an American. That other idiot who spouted out that insane dribble that Muslims only attacked 'innocent' America cause America is so brilliant and free and nice and all that other crap, its people like him are ruining that country.

One has to wonder if he really is that stupid, or is he just saying it because he knows how utterly mindless so many American's are when it comes to patriotism, believing that crap. It would be funny if it wasn't so incredible dangerous. Did people learn nothing from WW2?

It scares me that Americans allow people like that to go on tv and say such shocking propaganda. Even in the UK a politician would be laughed off the stage for coming off like that. America builds off a strong fear it instils in its people, 'if do not agree that everything your country does is right and it can do no wrong, you are anti american"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

...and the 9/11 commission report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭dublin 16 lad

Sisko wrote: »
    It's bizarre seeing such common sense coming from an American. That other idiot who spouted out that insane dribble that Muslims only attacked 'innocent' America cause America is so brilliant and free and nice and all that other crap, its people like him are ruining that country.

One has to wonder if he really is that stupid, or is he just saying it because he knows how utterly mindless so many American's are when it comes to patriotism, believing that crap. It would be funny if it wasn't so incredible dangerous. Did people learn nothing from WW2?

It scares me that Americans allow people like that to go on tv and say such shocking propaganda. Even in the UK a politician would be laughed off the stage for coming off like that. America builds off a strong fear it instils in its people, 'if do not agree that everything your country does is right and it can do no wrong, you are anti american"

We elected and then re-elected Bertie and his crew. We can't judge any other countries without being hypocrites!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

repeating what Al Qaeda told us about their motives for their attack.

Al Qeada doesn't exist.

Blitzer tried to throw him under a bus with that uninsured question, and every time Paul leaped out from under it with the crowd cheering Blitzer is like "omg thats not what you're supposed to say let me rephrase that...

Blitzer is a Zionist. I can't see him being too supportive of Ron Paul's view of U.S. foreign policy seeing as that foreign policy is almost indistinguishable from Israel's when it comes to the Middle East.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Sisko wrote: »
    It's bizarre seeing such common sense coming from an American politician.
    Fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Ron Paul doesn't believe in evolution

Pighead wrote: »
    It's between Romney and Perry according to the bookmakers. Ron Paul is a distant 3rd favourite and is available at 10/1.
    They also put Obama at poor odds too.

Some people got might damn rich on that bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

He's one of those guys who would be great to have a conversation with over lunch, and honestly not many politicians would be.

Having said that, I kind of don't understand why he is still in the political game. He's up against a population at large who swallow MSM propaganda on a daily basis, don't inform themselves enough about the state of the world, and only believe in 'pragmatic' candidates.

Paul obviously has more patience than I would if I worked in DC, but he won't get elected, because a large number of people aren't brave enough to vote for a true radical.

Having said that, one of the few great Americans of his time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

There was a candidate before who had huge support on the internet

His name was Howard Dean and Paul will be doing well to get as far as he did.
    Which wasn't very far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

Spunge wrote: »

What's he gonna do? Ban it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

Watched the bit the op quoted. Its funny, the next candicate to speak was talking about 9/11 and how he said "it was our (yanks) fault" thus trying to make him appear in a bad light. (cheap tatic mentioning 9/11)

I dont know why people watch these debates. Its just trying to twist everything. They're one step short of accusing each other of all sorts. "you're gay!" ... "well, you regularly cheat on your wife!" .. "oh really? pot head!" etc etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

mikemac wrote: »

Which wasn't very far

Ron Paul is actually doing better this time than he ever did, mostly cuz I believe most americans are sick of the wars and are starting to see the sense in what Ron Paul says. Still the media don't like to talk about him and completely ignore him like he doesn't even exist. Its like they don't want many people listening what Dr. Paul has to say.

Here are a couple of examples:

Its like they don't want many people listening what Dr. Paul has to say.

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Many don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

woodoo wrote: »
    They gave a large boo when he mentioned Palestinians.

No surprise there. Palestinians, schmalestians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

Seaneh wrote: »
    Al Qeada doesn't exist.
    No but you have say Al Qeada to mean terrorist from the east as it pretty much covers all of them.
    Usa[Al Qeada = any fight back from the east]

mikemac wrote: »

Which wasn't very far
    :o

I dont discredit people for believing in God either, and sometimes I even vote for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

We elected and then re-elected Bertie and his crew. We can't judge any other countries without being hypocrites!

This is ridiculous, as much of a feckin eejit bertie was, he didn't go off an invade half the damn planet. You would be hard pressed to find an Irish person unwilling to ridicule Bertie for fear of being deemed "un-Irish". There's no comparison. We most definitely can judge.
    El Weirdo wrote: »
    Fixed.

That's actually what I meant.

Shame, so close. Yet so far.

Ron Paul is actually doing better this time than he ever did, mostly cuz I believe most americans are sick of the wars and are starting to see the sense in what Ron Paul says. Still the media don't like to talk about him and completely ignore him like he doesn't even exist. Its like they don't want many people listening what Dr. Paul has to say.
    Those videos are way off.
    John Stewart shows are just funny and not real news.
    He plays off the I'm jew think a bit much.
    RT.?Just don't watch it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭stealinhorses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I came across this guy during the last election cycle.

While I don't agree with him on everything, he is someone that I can't help but admire. Throughout his career, he hasn't changed his tune. All that time, he has been a strict constitutionalist and a libertarian. That's pretty much it.

He knows that some of his ideas are unpopular but he has never been afraid to admit them publicly. This is in stark contrast to the likes of John McCain who sold out to the nutters in the Republican Party, for example.

People like Ron Paul are rare and I think that a lot of people recognise this. He's not just another politician and I think that this is why a lot of people like him - even people who disagree with him. I think that as a candidate, he would have a pretty good shot but he needs to get on the ticket first.

Unfortunately for him, getting the nomination will be difficult. He's very radical and while ordinary people might vote for him, the establishment will do what they can to prevent him from getting the GOP's nomination. We see that already with the lack of coverage that he gets despite his strong polling.

Both parties would also prefer that he wouldn't run since his ideas are at odds with both of theirs. The two parties love expanding federal power despite the GOP's claims to the contrary and Ron Paul is dead set against it. Both parties love to spend tax-payers' money in their various pork repositories and Ron Paul dislikes government spending in general. He genuinely believes in small government. The GOP claim to be for this but their history suggests otherwise. The Dems don't even bother to claim to be for small government. Ron Paul's ideas are incompatible with those of the major parties.

Despite those difficulties, you'd never know what might happen. I can't really tell the mood of the Republican voters at the moment but there are reasons why they might vote for him. They might agree with enough of his ideas, they might see that liberals would vote for him, they might admire his honesty or they might just like his face. It's hard to say.

I wouldn't rule him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Oh dear... I was with him until the bit about Austrian economics.

I think Ron Paul's son will be president some day but not Ron.
    He is doing will since last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Jesus Christ American's phucking piss me off. They are so blinded by their phucking patriotism that it skews their views on absolutely everything.

"voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is tell them they are being attacked and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same way in any country." - Hermann Goering, Nazi founder of the Gestapo.

Ron Paul won't win any elections by being intellectual and logical because intellect is invisible to those who have none. Democracy fails due to the majority of people being phucking idiots and all these idiots have a vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

thee glitz wrote: »
    Oh dear... I was with him until the bit about Austrian economics.

The main thing over anything else with Ron Paul IMO is that he's in favour of states' rights. When it comes down to it Austrian Economics is just pure market forces. States would individually be allowed to have universal health insurance etc., but it wouldn't be mandated from Washington.

As he's said himself, the two parties at the moment are two sides of the same coin, one is all for raising taxes and the other is all for spending it on wars. Politicians, and people in general if we're honest, don't tend to get behind someone who wishes to decrease the jobs pool in their area of employment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Dodd wrote: »
    Those videos are way off.
    John Stewart shows are just funny and not real news.
    He plays off the I'm jew think a bit much.

I have to disagree here. Despite being a comedy show, the daily show is one of the most accurate sources of news available in the States. His dissection of Fox is brilliant, yet hilarious. Stewart goes to great pains to show how the media can twist the news to suit an agenda. And it's funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Dodd wrote: »
    I think Ron Paul's son will be president some day but not Ron.
    He is doing will since last year.

I don't see his son being as strong and radical with his believes as Ron Paul. It might give him a better chance at getting elected as the president but I don't see him being as good a president as Ron Paul can be given the chance.

If Ron Paul becomes the president, he will put an end to the war (unlike all the politicians who only talk about ending the war), completely transform the financial system, health system and pretty much change USA into a different country from what we have come to know it. Also he's all up for talking to Ahmedinajad and all the "enemies" of America and with his steady head and common sense, he might as well end all this crazy political and military aggression.

And this is exactly why he will not become the president. The one's at the top can not let it happen. Ron Paul's policies are their worst nightmare and they'll do whatever it takes to prevent him from winning the elections even if it means a media blackout for him, skewing poll results and labelling him a nutter.

Any other politician can be moulded by the lobbyists into whatever leader they wish to have. Ron Paul hasn't changed his words since more than a decade and he is not a candidate who will be moulded and manipulated by lobbyists. And as lobbyists pay for most of the presidency campaigning, they'll make sure Ron Paul's support remains only to his small group of internet followers.

I have to disagree here. Despite being a comedy show, the daily show is one of the most accurate sources of news available in the States. His dissection of Fox is brilliant, yet hilarious. Stewart goes to great pains to show how the media can twist the news to suit an agenda. And it's funny.
    You say he's show is news so then it is media no.?
    Then he goes to great pains to show how the media twist the news.
    Then he does that exact thing him self all the time and it looks funny but he does it to the people he wants to.
    If Ron Paul was likely to win Stewart would have made him out to be a nazi.

Ron will never get in as long as he wants to get the fed res out.Never will happen.

jive wrote: »
    Jesus Christ American's phucking piss me off. They are so blinded by their phucking patriotism that it skews their views on absolutely everything.

"voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is tell them they are being attacked and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same way in any country." - Hermann Goering, Nazi founder of the Gestapo.

Ron Paul won't win any elections by being intellectual and logical because intellect is invisible to those who have none. Democracy fails due to the majority of people being phucking idiots and all these idiots have a vote.
    interestingly he did just that though, exposed a danger to the country cause by our aggressive foreign policy. roll the video to 6:26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

He's one of those guys who would be great to have a conversation with over lunch, and honestly not many politicians would be.

Having said that, I kind of don't understand why he is still in the political game. He's up against a population at large who swallow MSM propaganda on a daily basis, don't inform themselves enough about the state of the world, and only believe in 'pragmatic' candidates.

Paul obviously has more patience than I would if I worked in DC, but he won't get elected, because a large number of people aren't brave enough to vote for a true radical.

Having said that, one of the few great Americans of his time.

The MSM is almost completely liberal New York Times, CNN, MSNBC, Washington Post, LA Times, NPR.

The problem for them and you is the majority of the people over there are conservative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

USA
    USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

Why not join in ...

USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I like your hustle!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Ron Paul should have done what everyone else does. Tell people what they want to hear, lie through his teeth and when he gets elected just do whatever the fcuk he wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭mise_me_fein3

http://firstread.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2011/08/19/7420378-ron-paul-finishes-second-at-ames-gets-ignored-why

They are trying to ignore him but at the grass roots level he has a lot of support.

Look at this video of his predictions in 2002:
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=pvlUx5ECD2w

I love this guy. I'm into a lot of what he and Peter Schiff say. He just wants America to go back to basics. He wants to get rid of income tax as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Uh oh, Heuston we have a problem. That pretty much tells me all I need to know about him then so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Greentopia wrote: »
    Uh oh, Heuston we have a problem. That pretty much tells me all I need to know about him then so.

Meh, I'd tend to look more at what someone is going to do rather than what they believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Eggy Baby!

Heuston we have a problem.

Heuston Station?

QFT

That guy at 8:30 is just pathetic- look at his face when Ron Paul is telling the truth; its like he's watching 2 Girls 1 Cup- or pretending anyway. I can't believe that the audience booed him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

The problem with Ron Paul is behind all bull**** he is totally self serving.

His call to return to the gold standard for the dollar is idiocy and he only wants it because he himself has substantial ammounts of gold in his investment portfolio.
    Gold is not money, gold has no real value, it certainly isn't worth $1900 per oz.

People have thought for years that raising gold prices was linked to housing prices, but this has been proven false in the last 5 years where wven when there was a downward curve in house prices in every developed economy in the world, gold continued to raise.
    This activity points, very obviously, to one thing. Gold is a bubble, just like housing was in Ireland/The US/everywhere else.

People like Ben Bernanke and Warren Buffet have been saying it for years now.

Buffet is a self made man who is currently worth around 50billion.
    Paul is from a wealthy family and currently worth about 7million, despite several attempts to increase his fortune, which have, almost completely, failed miserably.

When it comes to financial advice I'd trust people like Buffet over Pual any day.

Paul isn't what people make him out to be, he's no different than any other half arsed businessman who enters politics trying to make things better for himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

Ireland desperately needs a Ron Paul.

It's pathetic that our politicians are not fit to wash this mans boots - the cowards and parasites that they are. They'll drive us further into debt to please the E.U. Parasites.

Check this video out: I'm sure you'll be astonished by his brilliance. And for all those people that went down to Dame Street to see Obama - shame on you, you servile sheep.