Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So It's Junior Night Again..

• 14-09-2011 8:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭

Can't believe it hasn't been mentioned already but just saw a troop of them heading out on the lash, the color of Sunny D with mini skirts up to their bellybuttons...

Anybody else think that the attire worn by the young ones seems to be getting worse and worse every year? Sure aren't they only about 15 anyway? So why are their parents letting them out looking like street walkers? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Anybody else think that the attire worn by the young ones seems to be getting worse and worse every year? Sure aren't they only about 15 anyway? So why are their parents letting them out looking like street walkers?

No, you're just getting older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It's the first week of university, they're likely to be students who missed "Black Monday".

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Can't believe it hasn't been mentioned already but just saw a troop of them heading out on the lash, the color of Sunny D with mini skirts up to their bellybuttons...

Anybody else think that the attire worn by the young ones seems to be getting worse and worse every year? Sure aren't they only about 15 anyway? So why are their parents letting them out looking like street walkers? :confused:

Pics or get th.... Forget it actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

If there's grass on the pitch...then pl....actually...maybe not...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

And the music these days, it's all bang bang bang, just noise! Put them in the army, the lot of them! Wasn't like this in my day, we had wars to kill ourselves at 16 instead of fun to grow up with, oh yes!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

....and snyper's not online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Breadcrusts

Confab wrote: »
    No, you're just getting older.

I know... It makes me sick :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

....and snyper's not online

There's a reason for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

http://www.google.com/imgres?q=victor+meldrew&hl=en&biw=1366&bih=624&gbv=2&tbm=isch&tbnid=57n223kz3_i2qM:&imgrefurl=http://www.eyeonspain.com/blogs/justin/4250/the-victor-meldrew-of-manilva.aspx&docid=3-Cp59xaRWHuPM&w=468&h=493&ei=Eg5xToS-H8mw8QP_l-XcDQ&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=353&vpy=162&dur=2203&hovh=230&hovw=219&tx=84&ty=246&page=1&tbnh=124&tbnw=128&start=0&ndsp=24&ved=1t:429,r:1,s:0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Where would be a good place to go tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

it is , holy f*ck , time to go kerb crawling with a bag of sweets so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Maybe they are street walkers out earning money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Where would be a good place to go tonight?

Snyper's place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

We need pics to complete this discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

Report on RTE News earlier about them... dumb young ones from some Dublin School yelping and actually crying about their Junior Cert Results.

Why do people feel the need to ball their eyes out at the most insignificant of events these days?!

I blame the influence of overly emotional sh!te on TV that celebrates mediocrity with disproportionate outbursts of emotion such as "Glee" and "The X-Factor".

I call it The X-Factor..... eh.... Factor.

Edit: They should be saving their emotional energy for the task of getting their hands on enough booze to get themselves through a good Nights's Knacker Drinkin'

all these 15 year old girls walking around in shorter and shorter outfits.

every year it just gets harder and harder to look at........(im ofcourse talking about my cock)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

I did the JC two years ago, I spent the results night listening to every Beatles album.

The remastered albums came out that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭bfocusd

My cousin got her results today and the all girls school were very clever they arranged the day for them, they went bowling etc. and then for dinner, I though it was a brilliant idea as when I was in school I was 14 collecting my results because I was the youngest in my year I didnt get to go out as they were all getting wasted drunk and my mam wasnt too happy with that at 14 years old. It was the same for the deb's I didnt go because it was in the middle of the country side and they all rented rooms and had a bar, but I couldn because I wasnt 18. I didnt really mind too much as I didnt really get on with my class, but my cousins school went the correct way about it, it wasnt revolving around alcohol for once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Superbus wrote: »
    I did the JC two years ago, I spent the results night listening to every Beatles album.

The remastered albums came out that day.
    I absolutely love The Beatles, but you should have hit the naggins that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Leering out your window were we old man? :D

just remember lads, 2 west coast coolers and shes all yours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

mossyc123 wrote: »
    Report on RTE News earlier about them... dumb young ones from some Dublin School yelping and actually crying about their Junior Cert Results.

Why do people feel the need to ball their eyes out at the most insignificant of events these days?!

I blame the influence of overly emotional sh!te on TV that celebrates mediocrity with disproportionate outbursts of emotion such as "Glee" and "The X-Factor".

I call it The X-Factor..... eh.... Factor.

Edit: They should be saving their emotional energy for the task of getting their hands on enough booze to get themselves through a good Nights's Knacker Drinkin'

See, when something of real significance happens, like their Dad dies or their puppy needs to have a leg amputated - they'll probably have eyes drier than the Sahara while browsing Facebook on their I-Phone which their pocket money bought..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

For my junior night my mam and dad brought me to pizza hut, then I went to my nan's and she gave me a tenner for doing so well. And I can honestly say....that it was a load of shite and i should have went out on the tear.

I hope they have a great night!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

This, more than anything, else shows your age :D

woodoo wrote: »
    Leering out your window were we old man? :D

I'm a lady :o

So no certainly not leering... I've a teeny young one myself and am worried about her possible future clothing choices though. Girls I saw earlier left NOTHING to the imagination :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

expect pics in herald/mail tomorrow with title-

JUNIOR CERT DRUNKEN SCANDAL

This, more than anything, else shows your age :D

Nothing wrong with a bit of Sunny D! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I've a teeny young one myself and am worried about her possible future clothing choices though. Girls I saw earlier left NOTHING to the imagination :eek:

Would you rather people looking at her were forced to use their imaginations more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I drank a shoulder of vodka and puked on my results.

I got 4 A's and the rest B's all at higher level.....

I went on to get around the 300 point hundred mark in leaving.

The summer after them and the resulting few years are the reason I'm in a pretty crap position today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sparkle_23

mossyc123 wrote: »

The Junior Cert is a big deal when you're that age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

A WKD blue and they are F*ucked!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

For my junior night my mam and dad brought me to pizza hut, then I went to my nan's and she gave me a tenner for doing so well. And I can honestly say....that it was a load of shite and i should have went out on the tear.

I hope they have a great night!
    Did you buy a bag of cans with the tenner the following day?

Would you rather people looking at her were forced to use their imaginations more?

Jesus! :eek:
    *Sparkle* wrote: »
    The Junior Cert is a big deal when you're that age

*It never was for me or my peer group.

We were 15/16 doing it and pretty much knew from the start of the year that it didn't really matter despite what we were being told.

Understand it's a big deal for people who have difficulties with academics throughout their youth and do well...and fair play to them!

The majority of 15/16 year olds though aren't dopes and know it doesn't really matter a sh!te.

That's why I find the young ones emotional outbursts as pack mentality BS... they can't really care about it that much and just see it as a chance for some "drama" ...as is their wont!

*Edit: We were a cynical bunch of f*ckers though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

i assume boots will be busy tomorrow for the pill.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

i get older but they stay the same,i feel so ashamed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

The National Day of Sly Naggins.

just thinking back to my own junior night in 1996, £10 got me beer, smokes and my share of the taxi home

i assume boots will be busy tomorrow for the pill.

hah you know me too well

just thinking back to my own junior night in 1996, £10 got me beer, smokes and my share of the taxi home

i suppose 1 can is alot for a 15 year old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

A WKD blue and they are F*ucked!!! ;)

what kinda light weights live near you:eek:

pmcmahon wrote: »
    i suppose 1 can is alot for a 15 year old

6 cans for a fiver and just 3 quid for the smokes and i was 16

ah, 6 dutchie,i remember

i get older but they stay the same,i feel so ashamed

It's biologically natural to be attracted to 15/16 year olds.

(Don't try that excuse with the Judge though... :pac: )

ah, 6 dutchie,i remember

i remember the local off licence was selling kilkenny 6 for a fiver so i got them, and got served cause i was a lounge boy there. how i remember i dont know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭barbarians

Think this sums it up -

"Our youth now love luxury. They have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for their elders and love chatter in place of exercise; they no longer rise when elders enter the room; they contradict their parents, chatter before company; gobble up their food and tyrannize their teachers."

Socrates circa 400 B.C.

barbarians wrote: »
    Think this sums it up -

"Our youth now love luxury. They have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for their elders and love chatter in place of exercise; they no longer rise when elders enter the room; they contradict their parents, chatter before company; gobble up their food and tyrannize their teachers."

Socrates circa 400 B.C.

The ole "youth have always been criticized by their elders" quote.

Yawn.

Doesn't make the criticisms any less valid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LC2010HIS

Sure aren't they only about 15 anyway? So why are their parents letting them out looking like street walkers? :confused:

It's a disgrace. Leaving Certificate is one thing but where did it become ok for 14-16year olds to go out and go on the lash for a minimum certificate?!!?

What exactly do parents think theyre gonna go out and do? Just dance with friends?

NO!

I know if they do very well, it's something to be celebrated but come on! Junior cert is basic. Ridiculous!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭nimrod86

I'm very proud of myself, Most of my year are off puking in a field and I'm voluntarily sitting at home with Minecraft! (Mainly cause we have a school trip tomorrow morning that we all have to go on!!!)

nimrod86 wrote: »
    I'm very proud of myself, Most of my year are off puking in a field and I'm voluntarily sitting at home with Minecraft! (Mainly cause we have a school trip tomorrow morning that we all have to go on!!!)

next stop,mid-life crisis.