Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help with Jacking up Car (hydraulic jack)

• 13-09-2011 10:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭

Ok... im clueless about cars so i need help from somebody who is a mechanic or a experienced DIY mechanic....

- Today i bought a hydraulic car jack and axles stands from halfords... i wanted to try and sort out an oil leak and change my coolant too.

- Anyway i used the hydraulic jack on the same place as where you would use the scissor jack that came with the car... notch type place.

- Im guessing i shouldnt of done that... because when i was lowering the jack after removing the axle stands, i heard a very audible noise...cracking..crunching..not to sure...

Anyway there was little flakes of metal on the jack (not much)...

I have since discovered that this is where i should be using the axle stands...(see image below from workshop manual.. the regular owners manual doesnt give details about where to put axle stands and where to use the hydraulic jack etc)

Now im worried i may have made the notch unsafe to use, and that it will be unsafe to get under car. Have pictures beforehand but didnt think to take a photo afterwards, but will do in the morning and upload.

I might just get mechanic to sort out the oil leak and do the coolant change (I have the coolant/anti freeze mixture.. just wanted to save money as im broke)...

Anyway, any thoughts in the meantime would be good... thanks.
    6145493748_19aee7035d_z.jpg
    2011-09-13 15.36.33 by help212, on Flickr

6144941001_d4c67bedb4_z.jpg
    axle stands by help212, on Flickr

6145492340_9dc255fc79_z.jpg
    car jack by help212, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Alan b.

personally, i jack off the wishbone, or the chassis box section, and slap a spare wheel in under the sill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,693 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

You haven't a clue what your doing. Get a mate over that knows something about cars before you kill yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Help2

You haven't a clue what your doing. Get a mate over that knows something about cars before you kill yourself.

No i havent got a clue, thats why i made this post to ask for advice!!

Have you got any!!!??

Dont worry i wont be going under the motor till i know what im doing!!

everyone has to start somewhere, but at the same time, it helps to always have a buddy with you if you are working on a car. especially if you are new to it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Alan b. wrote: »
    personally, i jack off the wishbone, or the chassis box section, and slap a spare wheel in under the sill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭iphone4g

In all fairness if you can't or dont know how to jack up a car you shouldn't be working on it.
    If you can't do that much what makes you think you can fix what's wrong with it.
    Take it to someone who knows what they are doing before you hurt yourself or somebody else please.

USe the cross member as per the manual to Jack it up. Then place the axle stand where indicted, lower the car so the weigth is on the stand and also on the Jack, the car would then be supported by both as per the manual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

No i havent got a clue, thats why i made this post to ask for advice!!

Have you got any!!!??

Dont worry i wont be going under the motor till i know what im doing!!

If there is any metal tabs on the axil stands make sure you push them in before use

iphone4g wrote: »
    In all fairness if you can't or dont know how to jack up a car you shouldn't be working on it.
    If you can't do that much what makes you think you can fix what's wrong with it.
    Take it to someone who knows what they are doing before you hurt yourself or somebody else please.

Just looking for help mate... thats why im on this forum... the instructions with the jack are pretty useless.

If im not happy its safe ill take it to the garage. And i might do that anyway to save the hassle.

i know what needs to be done to fix it... oil is leaking and need to change the oil and put in a new washer....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

Just looking for help mate... thats why im on this forum... the instructions with the jack are pretty useless.

If im not happy its safe ill take it to the garage. And i might do that anyway to save the hassle.

i know what needs to be done to fix it... oil is leaking and need to change the oil and put in a new washer....

In fairness with your posts you may be a greenhorn and lads here are shocked you want to go in under car and you dont know what your at. They are just thinking of your safety... Potential for you fecking up is death hence the harsh replies

Just get a handy mate to give you a hand. If you do it once youll know how

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Its good to know that some people were born with the knowledge of how to work on cars pre programmed in their brain:rolleyes:

The guy is on here, looking for advice on how to do something BEFORE he tries it.
    In most other threads where lads ask about who can change their oil or service their car they are told to go and buy the stuff and do it them selves so how do you win?

dev100 wrote: »
    In fairness with your posts you may be a greenhorn and lads here are shocked you want to go in under car and you dont know what your at. They are just thinking of your safety... Potential for you fecking up is death hence the harsh replies

Just get a handy mate to give you a hand. If you do it once youll know how

Yeah ill probably get someone who knows what there at to look at it tomorrow. no point taking any risks. Some decent replies!

Once ye get it jacked up and supported be sure to remove the oil filler cap before opening the sump plug, allows venting so the oil flows out nice and smooth :)

helps to do it after the cars been ran to bring the temp of the oil up too so it flows easier

I think this oil leak should be sorted now (and i was happy with the support points!!) ... the washer was very bent... photos:

Drain plug beforehand

6146522443_81d6a6d4e2_z.jpg
    2011-09-14 11.15.25 by help212, on Flickr

Old washer and New washer

6147072768_74d1dbc5ea_z.jpg
    2011-09-14 11.28.23 by help212, on Flickr

Afterwards

6147073082_2bf550dc5f_z.jpg
    2011-09-14 11.35.40 by help212, on Flickr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Well done, looks like a grand job.

Whatever rock ape installed the original washer in that condition wants to be battered with the jack handle! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Good job!

That crack you heard was actually from the jack, not from your car. I often thought the same when using a hydraulic jack ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Alan b. wrote: »
    helps to do it after the cars been ran to bring the temp of the oil up too so it flows easier

This is a good idea but don't run it up to full operating temperature or you'll scald youself.:eek: