Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Average public sector pay in UK is £23.6 k a year - ours is € 48k a year !

• 13-09-2011 7:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭

Average public sector pay in our nearest neighbour, a G7 nation ( one of the worlds main economies and one which is helping to finance our IMF package ) is £ 23600 per year - about € 26k. in euro. They are even complaining that that level of public sector pay is too high over there !
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/economics/7036131/Record-gap-between-public-and-private-sector-pay.html

Average public sector pay here, after pay cuts, is still high - not far off double, at € 48,000 a year, according to the governments own central statistics office, who should know.

http://www.cso.ie/statistics/public_sector_earnings.htm

As many things are cheaper in this country, and with no residental property tax, cheaper petrol/diesel etc, and cheaper new property prices ( new 2 bedroom apartments can now ne bought in parts of Ireland for less than one years average public sector wage )...what will happen ? Will Heinz the cop in Berlin and Harry the cop in Birmingham continue to subsidise Hector the Guard in Ballyhaunis ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The thread about the German guy who wants Ireland to be Humiliated might give you a few pointers in that direction ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

On no! :mad:

Not another one! :eek:

gigino wrote: »
    As many things are cheaper in this country, and with no residental property tax, cheaper petrol/diesel etc, and cheaper new property prices ( new 2 bedroom apartments can now ne bought in parts of Ireland for less than one years average public sector wage )...what will happen ?
    Not that much cheaper here if at all, things are going to get a lot worse after Xmas and the budget, what with property tax, water rates, septic tank charges, waste collection increasing, no doubt fuel will go up too in the upcoming budget and god only knows what other taxes and cuts we will be hit with.

Way things are going we will all need to be on wages of €48k or more a year just to get by lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Rabble **** fodder ftw...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

A €500 a week salary for a Garda in 2000 with 4% inflation per year is around €700 by 2008. The salary was actually ~€800. So, salaries were around 14% higher than they would be if they simply matched the countries inflation rate.

Wwith the pension levy and subsequent salary cuts in the public sector, it's not far off and probably exactly right now. Adjusting it down with inflation might be a better idea, but not of course the schadenporn that so many here love.

Not too sure why you want a Garda who has worked pretty hard for a decade to suddenly get half the salary! We need police, but can do with less bitter construction industry workers who, at the end of the day, were the cheerleaders who f ucked Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

OP, you're correct but your facts won't prove anything to the CPA elite protection squad.
    Look, we all know that Kenny & Gilmore aren't stupid swing the axe themselves.
    Queue some carefully choreographed charade where we're at the last chance saloon, the IMF storm in & dictate the cuts.
    PS cut 20% across the board, probably 30% for those on €80k +.

I thought it would be 2013 but this Greek threatened default is spooking everyone so it might be this year.

Don't forget the semi-states - ESB and Bord Gais call-centre workers are on 80 grand don't ya know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

due to the way these things work, the word "average" here does not represent the average public sector worker on the front lines, making crappy money and listening to the same people who were telling them to get a job in the private sector since public sector wages were rubbish tell them that they get paid too much though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Betaketone

As many things are cheaper in this country, and with no residental property tax, cheaper petrol/diesel etc, and cheaper new property prices ( new 2 bedroom apartments can now ne bought in parts of Ireland for less than one years average public sector wage )...what will happen ? Will Heinz the cop in Berlin and Harry the cop in Birmingham continue to subsidise Hector the Guard in Ballyhaunis ?

Having lived in different parts of England for far too long I'd say that on average prices here are circa 15-20% higher. Ireland is an expensive place to live but I think the surcharge is worth it, hence my return. That 48k pay average is here to stay too, the IMF are begining to decamp and we should be back on the bond market soon enough aswell.

Edit: Some guess!

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    PS cut 20% across the board, probably 30% for those on €80k +.

no

what you need to do is cut lumps out of middle management who've done nothing to earn their money apart from be there the longest, then you need to impose a maximum wage for civil servants at the top end

cut the bottom end MAYBE 3-5%. maybe. if the above cuts arent enough

Helix wrote: »
    due to the way these things work, the word "average" here does not represent the average public sector worker on the front lines, making crappy money
    Ah now, don't let facts, realities, silly things like that get in the way of good auld vitriolic attacks.

And of course we all know too that the public sector is really cushy across the board, even for nurses, psychiatric nurses, cleaners, street cleaners, paramedics, construction workers. Fecking sweet they have it... :mad:

Dudess wrote: »
    Ah now, don't let facts, realities, silly things like that get in the way of good auld vitriolic attacks.

sure theyre all on €50k a year for licking envelopes and taking half days joe

No need for the sarcasm Helix - I heard (can't remember off whom) of some guy who works in the civil service (no idea what department) and it's true!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

So how much more does the Irish private sector worker make compared to the same job in England?People like to quote the public sector figures, but never seem to compare the private ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

Having witnessed multiple Public sector pay arguments I wish to pose a question.

Can anyone tell me which is Civil service, Public Service and the rest of those employed by the Government?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Average public sector pay in our nearest neighbour, a G7 nation ( one of the worlds main economies and one which is helping to finance our IMF package ) is £ 23600 per year - about € 26k. in euro. They are even complaining that that level of public sector pay is too high over there !
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/economics/7036131/Record-gap-between-public-and-private-sector-pay.html

Average public sector pay here, after pay cuts, is still high - not far off double, at € 48,000 a year, according to the governments own central statistics office, who should know.

Go way...are you serious. Why don't we sack all PS and recruit in england..........saving god knows how many billions, pesky ps workers should be sacked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Betaketone

hellboy99 wrote: »

Way things are going we will all need to be on wages of €48k or more a year just to get by lol

Thats right. Everytime I turn on the radio it seems prices are going up along with paycuts and job losses. Something is going to have to give.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Dudess wrote: »

And of course we all know too that the public sector is really cushy across the board, even for nurses, psychiatric nurses, cleaners, street cleaners, paramedics, construction workers. Fecking sweet they have it... :mad:

What vitriol ? back up that assertion missus or keep your beak shut !

Now what amuses this poster is Government Goons telling people to tighten their belts and all of their top boys ..The Sec generals ...retire in mid fifties with handshakes of €750K and a pensions of €140k,,,,index linked !

An while I'm at it ....how come we are lumped with an insurance levy of 2% to pay for that nice Mr Quinn and his family ?

How did they get to the stage where they were so insolvent....where was the regulator....Oh sorry..pardon my stupidity ...retired with trouser loads of dosh and pension 5 times the industrial wage.

Pick the vitriol outa that missus ........:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

So how much more does the Irish private sector worker make compared to the same job in England?People like to quote the public sector figures, but never seem to compare the private ones?

What's the point?

Unlike the PS, taxpayers are not forced to pay private sector wages.

Every PS worker's pay is serviced by the tax paying public whether the tax-payer likes it or not and whether they get value for money or not.

There are constantly vitriolic attacks on public sector workers here - and the "top boys"... as if the vast majority in the lower ranks deserve the same abuse as them.

mrsoundie wrote: »
    Having witnessed multiple Public sector pay arguments I wish to pose a question.

Can anyone tell me which is Civil service, Public Service and the rest of those employed by the Government?

Doesn't matter a fvck kill em all...............

Fair play to anyone on an annual wage of €48k I say, personally I don't care what they are on, what really gets to me is when you hear them crying about it not being enough and they can't get by :mad:

€48k is nothing to be sniffed at and if you can't manage on a wage like that then your doing something wrong.

Talk to joe,talk to joe...............hello caller your on air.

Eh howya joe, I know someone who heard from a friend that works in the local pub that those durty PS workers even get a pension. Imagine that joe, working for 40yrs and paying superannuation and all and they expect a pension.............................

whats to become of us joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Betaketone wrote: »
    Having lived in different parts of England for far too long I'd say that on average prices here are circa 15-20% higher. Ireland is an expensive place to live but I think the surcharge is worth it, hence my return. That 48k pay average is here to stay too, the IMF are begining to decamp and we should be back on the bond market soon enough aswell.

Edit: Some guess!

That's very optimistic of you but I'd say it will be at least 18 months before we hit the bond market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Fuppin' Public Sector Barstards!

How dare ye have a job!

Sack them all & replace with cheap Foringers!

Put them all on the Dole! Problem solved. Thats right I said SOLVED!!

Then we can lynch the Foringers for DEYTUKRJABS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

€48,000 is more than I make, and I actually add to bottom line :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Gigino was banned from Irish Economy & Politics forum for going on and on and on about the same subject. I really couldn't be bothered discussing the same old tripe with him.

If anyone is interested in reading all the arguments on this question. Just go through a history search on gigino & Irish Economy.

Scofflaw wrote: »
    gigino, you've been banned twice already for trolling and persistently making inflammatory claims about PS workers. Last time I warned you that further behaviour along the same lines would result in a permaban.

And here we are. So, permabanned from Politics.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

woodoo wrote: »
    Gigino was banned from Irish Economy & Politics forum for going on and on and on about the same subject. I really couldn't be bothered discussing the same old tripe with him.

If anyone is interested in reading all the arguments on this question. Just go through a history search on gigino & Irish Economy.

Ah but he's a tryer !

And even better nobody seems to be taking him seriously here.

The icing on the cake is that he is a PS worker himself (or so he claims anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

In an attempt not to offend annyone or break any rules I'll just say that all of Gigino's posts are Foopin stupid C-nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Vizzy wrote: »
    The icing on the cake is that he is a PS worker himself (or so he claims anyway)

I read that yeah. Extremely doubtful. Who would invest so much time and energy rubbishing where they work and screaming for their pay to be slashed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

The merry-go-round is still going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

Betaketone wrote: »
    Having lived in different parts of England for far too long I'd say that on average prices here are circa 15-20% higher.

As Gay Byrne once said, " we wanted our independence and we have to pay for it".

However, with the IMF pumping / lending our government ( at high interest rates ) € 20,000,000,000 per year just so we can pay our recepients of public money almost double the UK rates, how sustainable is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

Well that seems a lot. Yet the front liners seem to not be raking it in.
    So who exactly is pushing up the average? And who's allocating them so much?

Golden parachutes and backscratching.

whubee wrote: »
    Yet the front liners seem to not be raking it in.
    Like the teacher on the radio who was whinging about finding it difficult to keep up the repayments on the holiday home in Croatia ?
    Someone is raking it in when the C.S.O. found that average public sector pay in Ireland is nearly double what it is in the U.K.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

whubee wrote: »
    Well that seems a lot. Yet the front liners seem to not be raking it in.
    So who exactly is pushing up the average? And who's allocating them so much?

Golden parachutes and backscratching.

Pssst !

Have a look at what the University guys get......fair make the hair stand on your head.

Remember the goon down in WIT ......TAXIS to Dublin an all that. ?

The music boy in Dublin with the tax funded house parties ?

Oh! Just another thing to remember....the senior lads in the PS/SemiStates....they are all at it....trust me.

:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

I see where we are all going to be paying a levy for the foreseeable future on our insurance to pay for another private sector speculator ( Quinn insurance). Most sectors of the private sector in this country have proven themselves to be grossly inefficent, overpaid and a rip off, our shops, builders, banks, garages, Taxi's, resturaunts, phone companies, pretty much all sectors. But it's easy point the finger at the public sector. if the Private sector speculators in this country weren't so greedy we wouldn't be in the **** we're in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭podge3

Average public sector pay is twice that in the UK but the dole is three times the UK rate.

Here we go again while there probably is a point to be made about pay in the public services there is a much bigger point to be made about the inflexible working arrangements in the public services and ever the most dim witted person must realise that the cost of living is much lower in the uk.

My daughter lives in the uk she is a nurse, she earns about 27k and while there is council tax, hers is a about 100 a month there is also free health care, subsidised school meal, free school books, subsidised swimming pools etc..

My daughter and her bf enjoy a much higher standard of living than they would have here if they were doing similar work here. Food is cheaper, cars are cheaper, housing is cheaper ( except in London where housing is expensive ) holidays are cheaper, they are going on a half board holiday to a nice part of Spain next week for £216 for example, the last time I was over we went to a lovely pub near her and a bottle of good wine was £8 so we had a night out for £8 the list of things that are cheaper is endless. The best one I found was a packet of paracetamol for 16p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Why did you use CSO statistics from 2008 for Public Sector wages? :confused:

There have been cuts since then. If you are gonna try have a rant about something, at least try to make sure your baseline is correct.

And they had a combine broadband, T.V, Phone package ( with free uk calls ) for 19.99 a months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Gigino I seem to recall doing a full comparison between the wages of a PSNI officer and a Garda just for you in the economics forum. If you recall, after the different tax rates and levies were taken into account the wages of both were pretty similar. And after you take into account that Ireland is 15% more expensive than the rest of the EU, the difference becomes negligible. Of course you ignored all this and kept harping on about your "average pay" figure which, if I may say, you have an unhealthy attachment to.

The reasons the average pay figure is so high are 1) they don't take into account the recent pay cut ( known as the pension levy). 2) There are too many people in middle management. 3) the top level staff are overpaid. Yet because of people like you who have no understanding of the figures the spout, those of us in the public sector who are struggling are forced to justify are pay constantly.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

This is very misleading. The income a lot of public sector staff are earning - support staff, domestic staff, a lot of lower grade admin staff in hopsitals for example would be about 28 - 32k. The average wage is brought up by the extortinate wages of CEO's and other such bigwigs in the public sector.

Of course some receptionists in the public sector have been there 30 years or so and some of them are on about 60k for answering phones, filing and such like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I wish that accurately reflected average public sector wages-it doesnt, it highlights the massive difference between CEO/high level staff and lower grade staff payscales.
    I earned far more when I worked in the private sector, the only difference really is job security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Uriel. wrote: »
    Why did you use CSO statistics from 2008 for Public Sector wages? :confused:

He was the last person to find out about JFK too. You should have seen his little face when he heard :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭otwb

mrsoundie wrote: »

Civil Service are essentially the administrative arm of the government - Revenue, Departments of X,Y,Z, Attorney Generals office, Office of Public Works etc. They provide permanent support for the government of the day and try to ensure that policys etc are evidence based and sensible. Job roles range from manning the front desk in your local welfare office to Secretary General of the Department of the Taoiseach.

Public Service is wider than the above and includes nurses, teachers, guards and other 'frontline staff'. Civil Servants are also public servants as they are paid from public funds.

Semi-State are bodies such as ESB / Eirgrid etc (and some banks now?) where the company is run for profit but is substantially owned by the State. These bodies are not subject to 'public sector' pay cuts and pension levies. They generally have not had their pay and benefits touched as they run critical infrastructure, have strong union representation, and a strike would be high impact.

The Government also employs a number of advisors etc whom I assume are paid from public funds but are outside the civil service. These are generally people from the relevant political party or people with backgrounds in press/media and are used to advise the government/ministers. These tend to change when the government changes.

Am not sure where the state agencies fit in - whether they are public service/semi-civil service or semi-state - mabye someone can clear this one up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭jimmmy

This is very misleading. The income a lot of public sector staff are earning - support staff, domestic staff, a lot of lower grade admin staff in hopsitals for example would be about 28 - 32k. The average wage is brought up by the extortinate wages of CEO's and other such bigwigs in the public sector.
    Do you think "CEO's and other such bigwigs in the public sector." do not get "extortinate wages" ??? They do, and their wages are included in the average public sector wage there. Its clear that there are too many bigwigs in our public sector though ( we all know some ) , who are getting paid far too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

the average public sector wage is in the 30k, i do agree that those in the SEO/CEO are probably earning more that their counterparts in the UK

the average public sector wage is in the 30k,
    not according our our own Central Statistic Department, who should know. The link was provided earlier. Average public sector pay in UK is £23.6 k a year - ours is € 48k a year

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

the average public sector wage is in the 30k,
    not according our our own Central Statistic Department, who should know. The link was provided earlier. Average public sector pay in UK is £23.6 k a year - ours is € 48k a year

for a start convert the £23.6 k into euro! Maybe you might share with us your own occupation I'd like to compare it to the UK. I'm sure you will have no difficulty with this as it's very relevant to the debate! People in glasshouses etc

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

jimmmy wrote: »
    Do you think "CEO's and other such bigwigs in the public sector." do not get "extortinate wages" ??? They do, and their wages are included in the average public sector wage there. Its clear that there are too many bigwigs in our public sector though ( we all know some ) , who are getting paid far too much.

What? Did you read my post? :confused: You've pretty much just said the same as me there...

My point is that the 'average' person in the public sector is not on anywhere near 48k a year. The 'bigwigs' are earning four or fives times as much as the 'average' public sector worker. This pushes up the figure...